You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 03 26Article 522036

Akufo-Addo encounters the stigmatic disgrace of open defecation

Read Comments Comments (74)

• A. Ayisi 7 years ago

Well written and message well articulated. Keep it up, bring out our short comings as a nation for them to be addressed. Hammer and drum it hard for them to hear. All they care about is the money that goes into their pockets ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 7 years ago

It's very pathetic, a woman will carry a pregnancy for good 9 months in her womb an finally give birth to an such an imbecilic thing like francis kwarteng that we have in our midst today, very sad!

• ADJOA WANGARA 7 years ago

It's very pathetic, a woman will carry a pregnancy for good 9 months in her womb and finally give birth to such an imbecilic thing like francis kwarteng that we have in our midst today, indeed it's just too sad!

• Bc 7 years ago

I think you guys are so ridiculous to blame the dirtiness of a country on just a party. Some people can be dirty, unclean, don't care or value our commons. We need to learn to protect our country and stop blaming the governme ...

• John ghanaba 7 years ago

Eii adjoa! If you are indeed a lady by this name ,and not using an alias,then I wish to tell you that I like your name and would like to call you my sweet sugar paw paw,but I am afraid because haven read your article it seems ...

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

RE. KUFFOUR HAS DONE HIS BEST. FOR MAHAMA HE SHOULDNT BE GOVERNMENT AGAIN. TOO WEAK A LEADER FOR DINAMIC COUNTRY LIKE GHANA. THOUGH A GENTLE MAN BUT CANT DO THE JOB. FOR ME HE USE IS A NO NO NO NO NO LEADER. THE GUY IS NOT ...

• KWASI TOUGH 7 years ago

STOP THIS HYPOCRISY AND THINK OBJECTIVELY. YOUR PARTY NDC WAS IN POWER FOR 8 GOOD YEARS WHAT DID THEY DO? NANA ADDO HAS BEEN IN POWER FOR A LITTLE OVER TWO MONTHS AND YOU HAVE STARTED MAKING NOISE. LET ME BE BLUNT WITH YOU GU ...

• jonas 7 years ago

A very foolish article.

• Amaapaa 7 years ago

They even accused kuffour of doing nothing with hipic money apart from toilets. Now we know who has done something about the problem before. Npp. Npp will tackle this problem again so easy brother and watch this space.

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

We must say the proposal by the Akufo Addo government "...to build 1 million toilet facilities across Ghana...a toilet in every house...", is one of the the most hare-brained ideas we've heard Akufo Addo's government make to ...

Ah! Prof lungu I can't believe your criticism of this brilliant idea by akufo addo. Community toilets? Yes but that should be secondary until people clean up their acts and learn to use them properly.have you ever visited any ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The truth is that the open defecation was encourage by NDC thieves.We all bear witness and can attest to that NDC criminals and fools that you Francis Kwarteng support proclaim that only Kuffour achievement was constructing t ...

• Kk 7 years ago

I'm surprised that we still can't see that the political system we have adopted has misirably failed us. Ndc Npp etc are all the same. Old thief go new thief come and the ordinary Ghanaian will continue to suffer.

• Esi Atta 7 years ago

Open defecation, open gutters, garbage, everywhere, corrupt politicians and law enforcement agents - these are problems that need to be addressed. They did not start on January 7 when Akufo Addo became president. In fact, G ...

Esi atta baby, you have written a very good piece.you are right in every way. I know a lot of our people and other Africans who are experts at criticizing, but ask them for solutions and they draw a blank, or start talking ab ...

• Guanka 7 years ago

My brother you have said it all. What an indisplined nation we live in. Most often we rely on our so called leaders when in actual sense they are failures.
    I wonder why we should wait for dona support for keeping our environ ...

• Francis Tabri 7 years ago

Guanka or whatever you call yourself, do us a favour and go back to Togo where you come from, if you don't feel comfortable in Ghana.
    An idiot like Kwarteng living in Maryland-USA, can't tell even a (carrying) porter in Gha ...

• NA 7 years ago

I concord you, bro.

• AZAA 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo will not turn these negative tags around but just interested in persecuting his opponents and condoning violence with his EVIL FORCES.

• NICH 7 years ago

Kwateng don't hide behind an Akan name spew nonsense. Be true to your self

• NICH 7 years ago

Another sore loser. He has the mandate to arrest all the looters in your party.

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

The NPP said they will build 1 million
    toilets across the country.Give them a little more time to achieve this

• C.Y. ANDY-KWAWUKUME 7 years ago

The writer, Francis Kwarteng, encounters the stigmatic, inferiority, and attention seeking madness, hence posting such idiotic nonsense!

• A. Ayisi 7 years ago

Why is this too known Ewe, Andy-K attacking without any plausible reason, is it the usual Ewe Primitiveness and enviousness, that the writer is Akan? You Ewes are pathetic folk.

• Kwansa 7 years ago

Just forget about the Trokosi Trokosi refugee Ewes parading themselves as being on-top of everything, but are in actual fact nothing but bloody nonentity thieves!

• Makuz 7 years ago

You're a great idiot who needs to be reared in the forest.Hopeless fool what have the ewes done to you. Evil dwarfs.

• Klinker 7 years ago

After telling us that there was nothing in the public kitchen I don't know where they had the kanzo to feed the public servants and themselves for three continuous months. Which civil or public servant had complained that sin ...

• Honest Truth 7 years ago

Strange how some of us dwell on the blame game against those we hate. Four 8 years your NDC was powering and ruling Ghana. Why you never said a word about open defecation in their watch? To be blunt, Kwarteng, tell your mom a ...

• Uncle P. 7 years ago

You must simply see this Kwarteng guy as an idiot who just want to be heard and not more. He will post all sorts of garbage to Ghanaweb and Modernghana copied from other writers in the internet.

Kwarteng is such an illite ...

• Mr. Smith 7 years ago

Francis, yours seems to be an attack on Nana Addo alone. You should have pointed out that public toilets sprang up especially during JJ's time. He should have solved this problem when he came through the back door twice. His ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Please go back and read the article again.

I shan't be back again under this article.

Done.

• YAW 7 years ago

Kwarteng you should go back and re-read your crap.

Francis Kwarteng, you stupid illiterate fool! ...Kufuor provides some areas in the Volta Region with Public Toilets but the tribal and partisan primitive Ewes refused to ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

A suitable number of poly-johns provided at vantage points all over the country with regular and effecient maintenance 24/24 hours, will definitely and quickly solve the problem of stigmatic disgrace of open defecation and pr ...

Yes mike,a well proffered solution that will help, but MAINTENANCE IS KEY! "24/7" AS YOU RIGHTLY SAID"regular and efficient maintenance "is absolutely vital.and those who maintain them should be very well paid as well, for ob ...

• Rexlondon 7 years ago

This is absolute nonsense . Why are blaming AKUFFO ADDO, when did he assume position? Shame unto you

• Rahman 7 years ago

You are on point, but defeated your claims because your political colors are clear and you are one of the reasons why open defecation is in an increasing rate. Get to the ground and adopt CLTS Approach towards your people.

• AUTHENTIC C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

One again, Nyebro Yaw hit the nail on its head and carried his singular campaign against the disgraceful open defecation to the logical Commander-in-Chief to do something about it.

Yes, that's the situation Nana has encoun ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Hahahaha....you made my day Nyebro Yao.

The "intellectually warped midgets" and "modicum of literacy" parts are cracking my ribs.

Thanks.

I am out for the day.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

1).Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2).Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

3).Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

4).Enhances Weight loss.
    5).It reduces ageing process ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

RID OF YOUR ......
    1). STRETCH MARKS,
    2). SCARS,
    3). ACNE,
    4). DARK SPOTS,(0572174551)
    5). DRY SKIN,
    6). SUNBURNS,
    7). RASHES & OTHER SKIN
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO G ...

• abi 7 years ago

this is really good. Mr, persident please kindly listen to this voice and deal seriously wiyh this issue,which is disgracing our country

• abi 7 years ago

the change starts with us too. we are the government.lets help keep ghana clean

Abi i second your statement. Very well put.brief and to the point.

• Knee Klantey 7 years ago

Kwarteng Mr., what does this ruling government owes you?. Publish things you can do to help mother Ghana. Too much gate ooooo

• Knee Klantey 7 years ago

it is a disgrace to all Ghanaians, for lack of knowledge Ghana will perish. Mr. Kwarteng you are too political. Where you not given a share of the cars stolen, Pls go to Domelo for the rest hidden. be more factual and stop di ...

• W. A ADU 7 years ago

In as much as you may have a point, such dirty and intemperate language from you worsens the whole story. We are from somewhere all these years and this problem will have to be fixed as soon as possible.

In spite of that ...

• YAW 7 years ago

Politics is not for the faint-hearted.
    Ever heard of the saying "A week is a long time in politics"?. There is nothing intemperate,unreasonable or unjustified about the language used by the writer. Some of us do not worship ...

• Nana Kwame 7 years ago

Well said. We hope Nana's NPP government will not follow in the regrettable footsteps of Mahama's NDC government

• Kojo Kan. 7 years ago

It is a pity we find ourselves in this situation. We can get out of it if leadership has the will and courage to move. Am afraid our current crop of leaders don't have the will, they are in there for their own survival. God ...

• Emperor 7 years ago

Kibi now the garbage capital of Ghana

• Honest Truth 7 years ago

No, the garbage capital is in your stomach.

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Francis where have you been all these time. Could you have advised Mahama to tackle the problem in the last years.

Your political stance colours your argument for change

Enough of complaints let's start acting as a peop ...

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

Articulate and very long winded article, more of a thesis but true. Your frustration is apparent and you bemoan the sitting government but never once did you offer a suggestion for the end to this national disgrace. So here i ...

• QuoJho 7 years ago

What are u doing Atetekwa thing! Blaming a Government that has only being in power for just three months and even running on a budget put in place by the previous government? Indeed u r atetekwa thing.
    The how much did ur g ...

Wow ,kwarteng,your article oozes high class education,competency in writing ,and observational analysis.there is no doubt you know what you are talking about.your article or post here is so good and I enjoyed it immensely.if ...

• .... 7 years ago

Deadgoats are good writers of corruption

• Mho 7 years ago

Ghanaians are fools. This guy is telling the truth. I sometimes feel ashamed to be called Ghanaian.

• .... 7 years ago

West have to rid Ghana Of all The smelling carcases Of deadgoats all over The country They stink too much after They were slaughtered åt The BATTLE OF THE LORD

• Papa G. 7 years ago

Yes, the politricksians are only interested in celebrations so they can bloat celebration figures and pocket the rest. More important things need to be done instead of celebrations.

• Kwasi Ajin 7 years ago

I will not celebrate Ghana @60 while Ghana is crying for deliverance from very wicked and corrupt leaders,Are we celebrating because Ghana is crying for deliverance?

• Paul siaw 7 years ago

Francis Kwarteng thinks that, the ability to read and write, and to be able to express yourself in English language makes one literate! all he does well is to write English language with ill intent couples with dangerous and ...

• Shaibu 7 years ago

Those who claim our drinking water here in Ghana contains feacal matter should have their head examined. In the western world most of them drink soda instead of water because they know their water bodies are contaminated with ...

• Matete 7 years ago

Kwashiah like your NPP ASSHOLES . ABOA LIKE AKUFO LITTLE GORILLA ADDO.. TO BE HONEST THIS DEVILISH DWARF HAS NOTHING TO OFFER GHANAIANS PERIOD.
    HES USING OUTMODED IDEAS TO GOVERN GHANA. HE WILL BE A BIG TIME FALURE . AND TH ...

• Mo 7 years ago

Fool, idiot foolish boy insulting our president

• David F. Asamoah 7 years ago

The message is so clear n straight forward and d change i sure we seek should start from our homes.. I feel so sad when I see environmental policies being flawed and d masses having no choice than to attend to nature calls by ...

But I stand to correct that the politicizing and dentrimental comments on d president is not so so so right massa

• Kookum. 7 years ago

Long, boring and ineffectual article. The grammar is good but it's irrational and shows a clear political bias.

How long has this administration being in power? Therefore, if you want to talk about who causes defecation i ...

• Ponko abodam 7 years ago

Go to Nigeria and see , you will vomit out. All africa is dirty apart from maybe south Africa.. so don't bring this in at all. Onaaaaapo...

• Robert tachie menson chicago usa. 7 years ago

The minister for lands and mines who sole job is protecting the environment of ghana is now begging the Chinese people to help him end galamsay in ghana. Are u freaking serious? Can any ghanian just go to china and start digg ...

• Frank, Mataheko 7 years ago

Well said Mr Kwarteng. we're a complete embarrassment to ourselves. and our so called leaders, or rather misleaders drive around in V8s with the title of 'honourable' or rather dishonourable hanging over their heads.

• Emperor 7 years ago

Excellent piece. Not like Okoampa's ranting and grammatically outrageous pieces. Please Okoampa, register for GCE English.

• Charles J Amoyaw I 7 years ago

As Ghanaians we are very indiscipline cheats and self conceited people .We live in a country that all people think the only way to succeed is to take advantage of the other,how can you built a house and not provide toilet fac ...