You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 01 04Article 404967

The Bickering PhD Farts! (Okoampa and Bokor)

Read Comments Comments (33)

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Indeed, this is delightful reading. No big words nor convoluted expressions. Perfect score. Surely, Okoampa can learn something here. And for brevity, Bokor too can learn something here. Me?

Well, as I have been arguing a ...

• James Bamfo 8 years ago

Andy-K, everyone knows you very well on Ghanaweb. You bite, soothe, and disappear. Please, don't exempt yourself from this all important pathetic mess. You'll also benefit greatly from this wonderful write-up.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

James,

Been busy.

Of course, I am smart without any reservations. I earned my TK title deservedly. I can dance around you all! This writer hasn't taken and passed any methodology courses for a PhD as I had done with fly ...

• A GERSIS 8 years ago

A Gersis reporting

Felleow Ghanaians

The fart is a horse flatulence!

I am not trying to reduce the acid in their bloated egos as much as I am trying to protect the mucosa lining of their stomach. Rapid phd changes fr ...

• Kwadwo. 8 years ago

A brilliant well written piece of life in the academia. A fat idiot like Bokor some how feels justified in spewing his garbage on Ghanaweb to justify every corrupt deal involving his beloved NDC. Only an out of touch academic ...

• Godd 8 years ago

Having a PhD is good and advisable. It has several advantages the most important of which is that it can get you a job and make you attain a position in the workplace. Then, especially in Ghana, it gives you a certain social ...

• K Boye 8 years ago

If having a PhD is good and advisable, then Ghanaian PhD holders must use theirs to create change and solve our problems. In my experience, half of those I've met have not done much other than dictating notes in lecture rooms ...

• Paa 8 years ago

While PhDs can go on to do other things besides teaching and research, that is what they are essentially trained for: to teach and research. Those who go into the practical professions are the ones supposed to solve the probl ...

• Godd 8 years ago

K. Boye, you say half of those you've met have not done much other than dictating lecture notes. That leaves the other half who may have done something worth their PhDs because they are brilliant.

The point I am trying to ...

• Paa 8 years ago

Godd's comment on "crack PhD" versus PhD in English or Communication reveals a certain silliness in our thinking. In the UK, I met people who studied Classics and English and are crack investment bankers. There are people who ...

• Godd 8 years ago

Paa, let's face the facts. PhDs in English and Communication are not bad in themselves and they can be employed even in IT and other production lines. But take the balance and you will see that only a few of these PhDs will b ...

• Paa 8 years ago

"Most of the Arts PhDs in Banking may not be doing things directly related to the theses they wrote."

The same is true of most PhDs in engineering who join management consulting, banking, insurance, IT, and other industrie ...

• Godd 8 years ago

Paa, you're right about PhDs being employed more for their general analytical abilities than their narrow areas of specialization. But let's not miss the general thrust of my initial argument. It is that PhDs are good (but th ...

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Well ä PHD is one who knows a lot about little, and little about a lot" That is why we have okoampa

• Danso 8 years ago

I agree, the gentleman has done a good job. You see, he censures Bokor and Ahoofe, albeit courteously. You can rebut furiously without appearing somehow offensive. Whether you like it or not, Bokor and Ahoofe stooped so low b ...

• Soomui 8 years ago

First of all Im not a student of the English language and I wouldnt know how to describe or in what academic category to place Papa Appiahs style but needless to say, it clearly stands out as one of the most appealing pieces ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

To me the word flatulence is a big word. I will rather use , "passing wind".
    And Papa Appiah, it is a normal biological process, like breathing, perspiring, or burping.

I read somewhere that the average human being pass ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 8 years ago

Nice article but I also know lecturers with PhDs who become uncomfortable with brilliant students. On campus, one Maths student knew a smarter way to solve a problem much to the annoyance of the AFRICAN professor. At exams ti ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Come on, Marcus, a little of bantering doesn't hurt. I prefer Papa Appiah's calling out the PhDs. on their endurance of flatulence from their Profs to the cruel, life-altering hazard of undercutting each other.

What do ...

• kwasi oduro 8 years ago

Papa, maybe it's modesty, maybe you just can't suffer flatulence in all its forms, but I'll bet my last cedi, your writing is music, it's poetry, regardless of everything you say to the contrary. As for the dueling writing ...

• Kwobia (Toronto) 8 years ago

In this Internet age opinion piece writers are just that.PHD or no PHD you too can post one.
    The content of the article is what counts.

• ghanaman 8 years ago

For every PhD, there is an equal an opposite PhD! Pure and simply true. So, enjoy your life brother.

• Paa 8 years ago

So your riting is impressive and I share your distaste for the purveyors of tribal and political bigotry on Ghana Web. But your sweeping caricature of PhDs is rather unfortunate. One is left also wondering exactly what so man ...

• Paa 8 years ago

Typos in first line acknowledged.

• Emmanuel Bombande 8 years ago

what a nice piece

• kutsii 8 years ago

Okoampa has chronic constipation and this allows bacteria to act on the stinking and putrefied shit of McOkoampa. Mr. Appiah shd therefore forgive the stinking flatulence of McOkoampa.
    McOkoampa has metamorphosed from a be ...

• AKPE 8 years ago

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG IN STUDYING HARD.IT IS GOOD TO AIM HIGH,GHANAIANS, INSTEAD OF AVERAGE LIFESTYLE ALL THE TIME.DO NOT ENVY THOSE WITH PhD.
    MR APPIAH SHOULD ALSO TRY TO BE A BIT DECENT IN HIS ARTICLE AND STOP USING THE ...

• OBUOM 8 years ago

YOUR ARTICLE SEEMS GOOD AND CONSTRUCTIVE BUT THE USE OF THE WORD 'FLATULENCE' MAKES IT DISGUSTING TO READ. WHY CAN'T MR APPIAH BE A BIT ENLIGHTENED AND CIVILISED IN HIS WRITING. PLEASE,PLEASE, YOU ARE NOT A CHILD AND SO BE DE ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

OBUOM, What is wrong calling Okoampa a flatulating flatuler of stinking flatulence? Call a spade a spade and not a flatula. Some people flatulate through their anus and others like Okoamoa through their already stinking mouth ...

• Okai 8 years ago

You wish you could do a PhD! Your anti-intellectualism is burdening you.

SILLY WORDS. BE PROFESSIONAL AND WRITE INTELLIGENTLY INSTEAD OF STUPID WORDS LIKE 'FARTS' AND 'FLATULENCE'. DR OKOAMPA AND BOKOR DON'T USE SUCH WORDS. WHEN WILL SOME GHANAIANS LEARN TO BEHAVE NOT AS ANIMALS BUT AS CREATURES I ...

• Osofo 8 years ago

PhD has nothing to do with peoples' stupidity and bloated egos

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

I see your point on all the headaches and, sometimes, our deflated egos that the Ph.Ds like Dr. Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr. and Dr. Bokor drag us through.

But we cannot really do without them, even if we wanted to, because they ...