You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 08 17Article 375472

Asantehene Brags About Being Above the Law

Read Comments Comments (85)

• adumtumi nyansafuo 8 years ago

Please, you are taking his words out of context. The you tube video is only fifteen seconds. Please, find a job or a career. And stop being envious of the Otumfuo.

• Daydreaming Adofo. 8 years ago

Adofo again? Rockson, please give us peace. You don't seem ever to get tired with your animosity towards the Asantehene? You must be a paid clerk of some feuding illiterate group - their champion. And yet you have a very weak ...

• Kofi Twentoh 8 years ago

I am not an Ashanti hence I speak with an open mind expressing my opinion. It is not taking sides in any conflicts but objectively comment on the utterance of Otumfuo Osei Tutu. I believe the specific utterance by the Asanteh ...

• Kojo T 8 years ago

He seems to have an axe to grind with the Asantehene

• Fred Amoah 8 years ago

The Asantehene cannot be arrested in Kumasi for committing any crime.Asantes say he is infallible,and cannot be criticised under no circumstance.Even the most educated Asante has this bizarre 14th century mindset.I am not in ...

• who else 8 years ago

Aaah Adofo! Don't you know he is!! Kwasea!!

• dd 8 years ago

Africans and stupidity.It is okay for Britain to respect and honor the queen but not okay for Ashantis o respect and honor their king because they are blacks,right?

• Omanba 8 years ago

What are you saying Kofi Twentoh? Your mindset is really scary, what he said was not taken out of context. Yes he was trying to intimidate Kumawu sub-chiefs, but what he said was in general terms and it should be taken as th ...

• who else 8 years ago

I feel happy inside of me when I read some comment it's really good to be an Ashanti because ye Nyankopcn so! God bless Otumfuo the more

• Thanksman 8 years ago

Nonsense he is only a tribal head. Remember the Gas defeated them basaaa at dodowa and were ones slave to the Denkyires. Gold dust coated stool. Apuuu tuuu

• Nana Poku 8 years ago

You guys are stupid to make bad comments over the Ashanti kingdom are you jealous or what we are superior and he is above the law.idiots

• Tweaks! 8 years ago

And you are now fighting among yourselves. You even fight over your traditions. Give your rooms for rent and sleep on the varenda. Tweaaa, useless people. You better shut up.

• Thinker 8 years ago

Hey!!! Stinky Rockson, if know better come to Ghana and manned up.

What are you doing about your bad smelly mouth odor????

• gaba 8 years ago

This Adofo guy is a lunatic and shouldn't be taken seriously. He's uncultured lad, so he can hide behind Ghana web with his broken English and insult people.

He should be caught and hanged alive.

Learn to show respect. ...

• Osofo 8 years ago

Adolfo, what is your beef with the king? Did he steal your girlfriend?

• Thanksman 8 years ago

No the chief of Ashanti's is foolish and asantes are dwarfs. One tribe head in a republic with about 47 tribes think he is a king. Paramount chief of asantes. The book biggest tribal war is coming and we northerners and our b ...

• dukes 8 years ago

hahaha...............##i'm sooo scared##...or betterstill,##we are sooooo damn scared##!!..........bring it on thanksman.go gather your allies and let the battle begin.....we are very scared yh...nonSENSE!

• Real African 8 years ago

47 tribes ? Are u sure ? I thought is more than that. Anyway I don't think the paramount chief of the Ashantis meant what he was said, just ignore that . No one is above the law of the land. People should advice him to refrai ...

• J. Acheampong 8 years ago

Stupid statement by Thanksman. Why are some of you so stupid? Instead of thinking of how to improve the living conditions of our brothers and sisters, some of you hide behind computers and spew out nonsense. Grow up and find ...

• who else 8 years ago

If you are a man do a video like the leader of boko haram and let the whole world know that you are the brave man fighting for the people that you fool think are oppressed in kumawu I bet you like you will join your ancestors ...

• Kay Eghan 8 years ago

This man Adofo Rockson what do you won't from Asantehene? I dont take you serious anymore because it is now very very clear you hate the Asantehene so you are doing everything to spoil his name but it will not work so you bet ...

• Kluvi 8 years ago

Asantehene is above parochial Asante laws

• Yao 8 years ago

Mctwwwwwwwwwwww!

• kutsii 8 years ago

Adofo,Welcome back to ur trumulous nonsense of chieftancy litigation. A word to a fool is not enough, unless is is accompanied with ten hefty slaps.

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 8 years ago

ADOFO, ARE YOU NOT IN GHANA? WHEN NDC 'FOOLED' SOLDIERS AND THE NDC GOVERNMENT ITSELF DO NOT RESPECT THE LAWS, WHAT DO YOU WANT THIS PIECE TO ACHIEVE? MISCHIEF AND DAYLIGHT FOOOLISHNES!!!!!

• Future President¹²³ 8 years ago

Ghana practices democracy and monarchy. You can check the facts online. Read about the Ashanti Empire. More than half of Ghana belongs to the then Ashanti Kingdom. All Chiefs are still under his command up till date. It will ...

• Oheneba 8 years ago

NOT all Chiefs are under the authority of the Asantehene. He also has no and I mean No power to separate the Asanti Kingdom from Ghana. Please, Check your records well.

• Dan Buduh 8 years ago

If Asantehene can disassociate the Ashanti Kingdom from Ghana, this is sad indeed. That being so, Ashantis can be described as miserables following one person who can decide to suit him. May God have mercy on Ashantis.

• Barnabas Oware 8 years ago

Ashanti is an integral part of the Republic of Ghana and Asantehene like all tribal leaders is only a ceremonial king.Only educated Ashanti fools like you think Ashanti is still in the 16th century.

• Thanksman 8 years ago

Asante shd break out ghana will United without Asante who insults all other tribes

What are you taking about ? Am a northerner, my chief is not under Asantehene, so please get ur facts right ok , we are not living in 13th century . Asantehene have power over his subjects , and am not one , so is Ewe, Ga, an ...

• whoishe 8 years ago

they hail him as a god because they have been indoctrinated. He can only say this shit in his homeland.

• Obaako Nyarko 8 years ago

I don't believe that the statement attributed to the king is very true judging from the intellectual status of the King.. I believe he was referring to Ashanti kingdom and his people for who in Ashanti can say no if the king ...

• R K boakye 8 years ago

Asantehene is not above the Law if only the Law does not condem the ASante's kingdom but if the Law condem the ASante's kingdom then ASante's hene is not asantehene. Of which asantehene is right.becouse asantehene was als ...

• ASHTOWN 8 years ago

I,M SURPRISED AT MOST OF THE COMMENTS TODAY REGARDING THE ASANTEHENE,S COMMENTS,...THE ASANTEHENE,S STATEMENT IS WRONG AND SHOULD BE CONDEMNED AS SUCH;HE IS PART OF A SOVEREIGN STATE AND A BINDING CONSTITUTION AND LAWS.NO ONE ...

• Krissy 8 years ago

Mr. you are talking of democracy and saying no one is above the law in Ghana, how can doctors be on strike,over 500 lives been lost and the president and his ministers are still ruling.Where would this happening in the wester ...

• Ottawa 8 years ago

Please the mam is very respectful aside been a king, he the laws of the country and respect them. No one is above the laws not even the president. Mr journalist check up facts . I disagree with you.

• JOHN 8 years ago

ROCKSON ADOFO IS SIMPLY AN IDIOT

• Quojo 8 years ago

This is what i have been waiting for. I am really looking forward to the day a radical Asante King will lead we the Asantis to fight for our statehood just like the Catalans in Spain.Asanteman would have been far developed if ...

• Cyrus 8 years ago

Quojo, I have been fighting for this for so long.Let's us have our independence and have our own small country with rich resources and we will be better off. Let the Ashanti haters have their shit country.

You guys are very tribalistic , what do the Ashanties have ? Apart from Juju money and crimimal activities , Ashante man want to make money by any means , Ashante man brings his wife or his mother to work as a prostitute in E ...

• KOFI AMASS 8 years ago

THIS IS MERE JEALOUSY AND ENVY.

• Mr Wise 8 years ago

Adofo you are playing with fire,you dont know what you are talking about.Ashantis are calm because we are aiming in life.Dont joke with our King.A word to the wise is enough.

• Thanksman 8 years ago

And what will happen , we the rest will wipe out Ashanti's who insult other tribe completely.

• Abrantie 8 years ago

You think the Overlord of Asante is bluffing? Adofo, be very careful ok!
    A stupid animal like you can just write what you like about a great king like Otumfo).
    He is above the the law in Ghana. Do you even know before Ghana ...

• Thanksman 8 years ago

Abrantie you are stupid, there were all other tribes too. Denkyires who enslave asantes and GA who kill Ashanti's at dodowa

• Thanksman 8 years ago

Abrantie you are stupid, there were all other tribes too. Denkyires who enslave asantes and GA who kill Ashanti's at dodowa

• oluwa 8 years ago

@ thanksman Idiot who told you Ga's defeated Asantes Tweaaa if you want your good for nothing tribe to be relevant than start making a history yeah.

• GORGORDUTOR 8 years ago

Mr Adofo please be aware Asante in particular and Pre-colonial African states in general were never absolute monarchies. The kings powers were circumscribed by the great lords of the realms those Obrempongfu were likewise hel ...

• SKIN PEOPLE 8 years ago

DUMSOR IS MORE ANNOYING AND A GREAT ENEMY OF CIVILASATION.IF YOU KNOW HOW TO WRITE PLEASE WRITE ABOUT PROGRESSIVE THINGS AND STOP THE JEALOUSY!

• John k 8 years ago

No one is bigger than laws of a country if only the people of that country agree to make their leaders bigger than the laws in search country even in developing countries the control the leaders more than any one because they ...

• OYIKO 8 years ago

Asantehene is famous in the whole world, and not in Ghana alone. If the writer comes to Ashanti region, the abrafoo will chop off his head, and nobody in Ghana can say anything.

• Joe Mensah 8 years ago

Listen to the Ashanti educated fool"if the writer comes to Ashanti region,the abrafoo will chop off his head,and nobody in Ghana can say anything."

• Oheneba 8 years ago

Before you can be a chief or whatever within his kingdom you have to swear an oath of allegiance to him, so if you go to court then you have to swear to the Judge if he/she judges in your favour, its a priveldge to be a subje ...

• tsatsu 8 years ago

I believe the law courts can overturn any rulling, the Supreme Court can even overturn
    the lower courts

• kaketonti 8 years ago

I AM FROM THE COASTAL "BELTS" OF GHANA.ADOFO, PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE.ASHANTEHENE IS A GHANAIAN.HE HAS POWERS,SPECIAL STATUS.RESPECT HIM

• kwaku boateng 8 years ago

u cant talk to our king like that,we are proud of our king.may he live long.mind the way u talk?if u doesnt respect ur king,we do wai,respect ur elders

• Boss(Amansie Ba) 8 years ago

Find work to do.

• Kofi Adu Swaziland 8 years ago

First place who is Adofo.? to talk to our Great King like this,we Ashanti ar proud of him,bcoz he is the only King in Ghana take it or leave it long,live Nana TuTu

• Thanksman 8 years ago

Lie there 46 tribes and 46 kings. Kingship is dead in a republic fool

• Tetteh James 8 years ago

Intimidating ur sub Chiefs will not make u a good king but rather rubbing them from their rightful inheritance. He should rather reason up with the sub Chiefs and stop cheating

• Alfa n omega 8 years ago

Asantehene is a chief only for the Asantefo3, so he should stop his bragging and obeys the laws of the Land,After all he will leave the stool one day.

• Edmond kusi 8 years ago

You are trying to disrepect our King but wait time will expose u.

• thomas 8 years ago

the ashantis should know their King is not a president and has limited powers. he is only the King of the ashantis not Ghana,Ghana is not made of the ashantis alone so they should stop regarding him as the over lord of Ghana ...

U damn right bro, the Ashantes think Ghana belongs to them, there are no any other tribes in Ghana but them, that alone tells u, these people are living in the 13th century . Wake up Ashanties those days are long gone .

• Thanksman 8 years ago

is serious a tribal chief asantes are only 10 % of ghana and bragging. Where is the Roman Empire, Greek empire, masa musah Mali, Songhai they are all republic now and ghana is a republic. If there is a king then that shd be p ...

• yaw b 8 years ago

Ofui!! Kwasea! Your entire family would be proud to be slaves to the King go ask them and you are here talking trash who told you we want Accra a place no one respect the little chiefs wanting to be kings Apuu you come to kum ...

• who else 8 years ago

Am so happy and proud inside of me after reading some comments Otumfuo nya nkwa daa evn Jesus was hated so fellow Ashanti's don't be worried when some idiots hate our great king!!

• kofi twum 8 years ago

If you want to know why Otumfuo is above the law the answer is simple because he's Asantehene!!

• sam uh 8 years ago

Aren't you butressing the adofo guys argument. No one is above the law in ghana. let the ashante paramount chief dareand break any. He will spell paper from his so called royal ass

• KOFI Kwame 8 years ago

Ashanti Hene is Right to says,He is Above The Law of Ghana,what your problem,Today in Ghana,Even Armed Robber,present day politicians,Doctors ,are all aboved the laws of Ghana,How about our only Great Ashanti Leader,Ashante H ...

• ghanaba 8 years ago

Aaah Ghana, Adofo does democracy appoints ur PA for you? Who can reverse ur decision on who should take care of ur property? He was talking of tradition not ur "***"

• Kojo Gyabeng 8 years ago

That the Law is no respecter of person is a MYTH. Surely the Asantehene, President, Chief Justice, Army Chief of Staff etc are all above the Law in practice. Leave Otumfuor alone

• Danger London 8 years ago

I am sad to read such article on ghanaweb. It's sad that most ashantis even educated still are ignorant thick . asantehene is only the paramount chief of ashantis and no other tribe. His reign is only in ashanti region ...

• M-Jay 8 years ago

Hey my man Rockson!!!.....Ur mind no dey Job proper anaa......Asantehene no be smoker ooo....He get sense pass and will neva make a decision contrary to the Law so He have every right to brag about that....U for think bettez! ...

• OMANBAPA KD 8 years ago

Adofo, remember your own quote about Asantehene and KEEP QUIET!!
    Do you remember you once wrote,"When Asantehene Speaks,The Wise Listens"
    You are frustrated in a foreign land and hiding behind The Web to spew your nonsense. ...

• Zuarungu Atindana 8 years ago

Adofo you stupid buffoon don't start your nonsense. If you have any problem with the Asantehene go to Manhyia and sermon Otumfuor to the elders of his kingdom. Big Ape.

• military major 8 years ago

this foolish ashanteheni,if he thinks he is above the law he should go against the law or do something stupid,and he will know who has power over another.

• Kwabena 8 years ago

Adofo don't forget that before democracy was introduced , somebody was in charge. Human beings make laws, laws didn't make human beings. So stop talking nonsense and write better articles

• Siiba Anamzooya 8 years ago

hu iz asantehene at all? mschewww!! diz stupid ashantis wudnt allow us to breath wit thier illiteeacy. hu is an ashanti to dare wit a northner or an Ewe? aaah, plz wake up dwarfs, its abt tym u ppl realise dat Ghana is better ...

• Nii 8 years ago

Katamanso is not Katamanso. Is orhene Kan entam a osufo. That's were the GA killed the Ashanti king.. We don't respect any forking king from Ashanti

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

This fool has come again with his stupidity and reckless posting.
    Where does kwasiaman live? His postings are so absurd.
    Does he want the Golden Stool? What at all does this foolishman want? Aba!!

• Kewaw Madugu 8 years ago

Rockson,what he said should never be so but it exist in our part of the world- GHANA,where some people and institutions doesn't know their jobs. There are thousands of people who are indirectly above our constitution.

• yaw,USA 8 years ago

It is only a miserable, pathetic, and lazy fool like Adofo Rockson who will devote his entire life attacking others with impunity. After failing to bring commotion to the Kumawuman with his verbal retupratives, and out of d ...

• Kay 8 years ago

This is why Ghana is the way it is. Instead of demanding more from your traditional rulers, many of you come here hailing and deifying some chief somewhere. Look at the entire Asante region and see how much development you n ...