You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 07 10Article 367807

The Issue of the Origin and Meaning of Kente (aka Kete)

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Ewes are Clones. A timewaister blowing horns about an Asantes weaving tradition of Majesty. Asante is kente. Get valuable information from Manhyia and stop fooling yourself .How could this writer write to steal Kente from A ...

• Isaac Mensah 8 years ago

WHEN EUROPEANS ARE COMING TOGETHER FOR AND MANY PEOPLE ARE SEEING THE ECONOMIC AND POLITICAL VALIDITY IS UNITING, WE ARE FINDING WAYS TO FURTHER DIVIDE OURSELVES.

THIS ARTICLE IS DIVISIVE AND USELESS. LETS SEE OURSELVES AS ...

• Kobooh 8 years ago

Thank you. His is only a booklong nonsense.

• Fugar 8 years ago

u guys find it difficult to accept the truth, but the truth can only be one

Have you ever written anything about anybody just shut up.and read and learn.

• Fiifi 7 years ago

You can't be an.Asante or Ewe so just shut up you dont exist. You probably are a bastard who don't even know your root or history.

• Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II 7 years ago

Wow Great writeup you said it all. The only
    reason Tsala disn't bother about Anlos was
    because they were not fighting among
    themselves and were already great with
    Tsali his twin brother staying in Anlo whose shrine still ...

• Captein 8 years ago

Sorry the history written on Ghana by Prof Adu Boahen was mostly flawed. And even on slavery he said the Africans sold their brothers into slavery
    You are right on the research, anthropology, anecdotes and record about first ...

• DR JONES 8 years ago

KENTE IS THE HERITAGE OF ALL GHANAIANS. STOP THE DIVISION.

• Nii 7 years ago

When it is for asantes it should be for asantes but if for Ewes then it should be for all Ghanaians hypocritics and cultural thieving asantes.

• TONY AMENU 8 years ago

Boahen is right. How many Europeans went to the interior to enslave Africans?

• Only Fools Say We Enslaved Ourselves 8 years ago

If I trade in human and you refuse to buy will there be any slavery. It was the agenda of the Europeans to enslave us and had they been able to cope with our environment at that time, they would have wiped out us out and made ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Market. African sold and White folks bought. Don't absolve us from guilt. We are as guilty as the Whites.

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Why this forced comparison. Asante don't waste a lot of time on this EWE/ASANTE thing. Direct you energies into something productive. Historical masturbation at its worst.

You these asantes matimeho people have been.deceiving yourselves for so long in the bushes of asante now they have brought you enlightenment too you are complaining that you.dont have the energy to get knowledge that will set ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

That is what you want to believe. You can't change history. Example, there is this movement to reduce Akwamu might by describing their hegemony over Ewes as equal partner. Shoot, the Akwamu simply kicked everybody's ass until ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Akwamus didn't defeat the Anlos in any war and so didn't dominate and rule over Anlo. The Anlos forged friendship with the Akwamus by luckily supporting the winning side in their succession dispute. So, when the Ga fugitives ...

• Korbi 7 years ago

You are so right Andy-K you have good oil in your head. Well read

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

Read your history very well. Did Africans not sell their brothers into slavery? By brothers, Prof. Adu Boahene meant "your own kind" or people not blood brothers from the same father and mother mother. Asem ben nie?

• Opoku 8 years ago

Ewe or Ashanti is Ghanaian. Variety is the spice of life

• proud Ashanti 8 years ago

I don't care about who invented Kente even though I'm from Bonwire in the Ashanti region. My only concern is how modern day Ashantis and Ewes hate themselves even though their ancestors were allies. We have broken the bond th ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Blame politics for the break up of the bond,may be one day we have to think again about our history to repair the damage.

IT WAS AN AN EVIL AND PREDATORY ALLIANCE FORGED BETWEEN SOME EWES STATES (NOT ONLY ANLO, BTW) WITH THE AKWAMUS AND ASANTES to be plundering, raiding and selling into slavery others, including some Ewes who were not in the all ...

• Korbi 7 years ago

Never Again the asantes are selfish and inward looking always wanting to use others.

• nature 8 years ago

Infact this black, short and ugly looking asantes should spear us, this is the fact and if u don't like it u can go hell, offsprings of dwafs.

• Afiafetor 8 years ago

get a break from ur capenter job and go shave your armpit..3no na 3hia. for we are one nation ghana

• Korbi 7 years ago

Afiafitor indeed you these asante thieves even steal historical events and make them yours

• AGYA KOO 8 years ago

This article makes an interesting reading. This is an intellectual piece designed to educate, and instead of looking at it this way, I see some people using it to insult and reacting to it the same way they always do. Please, ...

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Dear Agya Koo,

I agree with!

It is indeed an interesting piece, no doubt. It raises important questions about our shared history.

It is a thought-provoking piece as well.

I shall be exploring this further.

T ...

• ANKRAH 8 years ago

Typical Ewe pronunciation: SPEAR = spare

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

You have a lot of negatives too. So shut up.

• Evra 8 years ago

So four ewes (Contributors: Dr. David Tay, Mad. M. Amitor Aidam, Mr. Daniel Dzakpasu, Mr. Doe Ladzekpo) decided to writedown Ashanti and this is what they managed to come up with???

• busumru 8 years ago

aspects may be true but smacks of desperation!

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Be confident in yourselves. It looks like that is what they lack. And have found that about all who indulge in this. Confident and self assured Ewes don't travel this way.

• Korbi 7 years ago

Evra no one cares about writing down asantes they are already down dwarfs. They are just setting the records straight. Period those are histirical truths if you don't agree go and change them in the past. lol

• Anane Kyeremeh 8 years ago

I think this work deserves applause on the content of its research and analysis. Reasonable questions have been asked by the writer(s);which needs to be addressed logically. I believe that it would make a lot of academic sens ...

• History Student 8 years ago

The idea that kente is an Akan word informed nonacademic conclusions of the history of this unique symbol of Ghana. I couldn't of course care less whether it originated from Anlo or from Asante except for the fact that histor ...

• Obrefo 8 years ago

When did Ewes come to Ghana? In the mid 1700's. When did the Europeans first come to Ghana? Way before the Ewes arrived. Go and read the early history regarding the meetings between the Europeans and the Akans some 200 years ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

They conveniently forgot about the Ewe migration to modern day Ghana. When the states That became Asante were already there and kente had been referenced to Asantes already.

Cotton was not cultivated in Asante, trade with ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Another clueless one whose parents wasted money sending him or her to school who calls him or herself NANA BONSU
    Who told you Ewes joined modern Ghana when Asantes were already there,who were on the land the Ewes currently ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Dunce Corney. The Ewe group from Notsie push the original settlers out. The fact is when that group arrived, the Akan migration had already occurred. Don't be overly sensitive, I am not saying Ewes are not Ghanaians. That re ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

The Akans were in present day Ghana before the Notsie Ewes got here. Read your own history too. Consult (AB) ELLIS book on Ewes. Why are folks so sensitive about anything which exposes your late arrival. Don't worry we are al ...

Indeed, you are clueless! Ewes were already settled on the land they now occupy and beyond long before the rise of Akwamu and then Asante.

Ewes migrated with the Gas from Nigeria, and some actually joined the Gas to form ...

• KOFI ELLISON 8 years ago

Looks like someone did not have enough Akple to eat!!!!

I expect your next topic is going to be that Okomfo Anokye is fron Notsie!!!

(I am Afeto Amega Kofi Ellison and approve this message!)

• AWUKUGUA MAN 8 years ago

This people will claim all good things. You wonder why five people will write this bogus essay taking shots at anything/anyone Akan. Adu Boahen was peerless. Tweea what did D E K Amenumey write?

I don't think reining insults is the apt way to respond to this piece dealing with a topic of academic interest to many.

By now, I was hoping, you'd have brushed up your history to the extent that I can fully accept you a ...

• Gidi Makpeza 8 years ago

"They simply embraced the kete weaving culture with a passion."
    Not true Andy, I am from Agotime Kpetoe and will provide more historical perspective if you care to know.

Gidi, don't get me wrong. The Ga-Adangmes settled among Ewes at
    Agortime after they left Avatime due to a control with their hosts there. So the natives have every right to be part of the original kete weavers. But the desc ...

"And, of course, there are also large clans of Ga-Adangmes with Ewe origins, so it is rather a complex mix of heritages." I agree!!

• ZZTOP 8 years ago

Another chest-thumping Eweman. Hei, Andy-K, good for you to pass through.

• GORGORDUTOR 8 years ago

TWEAA OBI A OKRA BROFODIN ORIKAKIKA W) ADI3 ONTIASE!! OWURA ELLISON WU DING NU EFI HEE?

• Kofibaboni 8 years ago

The tone and tenor of this article is very demeaning. If you are trying to make a case for Ewes teaching Asantes how to weave kente, why do you have to be so belittling about it? This article is laughable. Just make your poin ...

C'mmon, why are you whimpering about the tone of the article? After taking all those insults and high-brow raising and looking down upon others, you don't want your noses to be rubbed into the dust???

Do you know the story ...

• ben 8 years ago

If they were the originators they could have developed other designs than the ones taught them by the agortimes. The different ketes used in nigeria are woven by ewes.

• TONY AMENU 8 years ago

Long tired essay!

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Thanks. Just finished reading a very nice Ananse story.

• Boss(Amansie Ba) 8 years ago

Kente is the symbol for Asantes alone and nothing more.Ewes only use small piece of cloth to cover their waist ,so how can you compare them to Asantes used to cover their entire body with kente clothe?

• CORNEY 8 years ago

How can you say kente which is woven in almost every village in the southern part of the region from Kpetoe is Asante cloth when it is only one or two villages weave kente in the entire region,do you know when Ewes started we ...

"We have seen that even the foods we cook you guys are trying hard to change the names for them only that it is hard for your women to learn how to cook them that is why we still have some of the names still there." Common Co ...

• MP 8 years ago

Hahahaha! Ei people can write ooo. This piece is like a burning charcoal. Well let those who know about this react, I mean good historians not any empty head who thinks through his anus.

• Nsia 8 years ago

Can somebody tell me the first group of people in Ghana that successfully turned solar/wind/bio-mass etc to solve our "dumsor" problems?.Any group of people that designed a good drainage system to solve all the annual floodi ...

• Bernard 8 years ago

It is really appalling that people for whatever reasons would attempt to rewrite history. I call on forumers to dismiss this jaundiced article with all the contempt it deserves. I shall not be surprised to hear another fairy ...

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

ASK THE DUNCE CORNEY!!!!!!!

• Jato Kaleo 8 years ago

I expected someone with a PhD to write a good historical account that is neutral.

If you are Ewe trying to reclaim for your ethnic group, something that has been attributed to another ethnic group, then it is even more ne ...

• me 8 years ago

long does not equal good writing

• Marcus Chris Lawson 8 years ago

History as l learnt it in form one at zico, is said to be the true accounts of people. The way they lived, do things ,eat etc etc. This piece is illuminating

• Amakom 8 years ago

According to tradition, Bonwire was one of the five Kente centres founded by exiles from Denkyira, who settled around Kumasi after their people were conquered by the Ashanti in the late 17th century.

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 8 years ago

The Asantes are the last of the Great Akan states and kingdoms. Mr. Dotse had better study Akan civilization before presuming to make such facile connections between Anlo-Ewes and Asantes.

Attempting to reduce the most el ...

• Richmond Nii Armah 8 years ago

sometimes, speak fact and stop this shit. kente we all know is for Ashanti's made for Ghanaian's & WW in reference from text books and pure articles not this crap.

It is very funny that the writer uses basic linguistics to explain the origins of kente. Across Africa, one is likely to find his/her native language in another's. That explains that we were once the same people or co-existe ...

Go to Awukugua, the man's relatives are still there today. Again, why will Komfo Anokye be called "Obiri Komfo" and not the Komfo from Nortsie the way Akans usually add one's town to his/her name when last names are non-exist ...

• Monica 8 years ago

I have observed something for a long time now, i started observing this since the time of the last Asantehene, and the current one. Though they are the costodiabs of the Ashante stool they do not boast. I grew up to see on ...

• Derek 8 years ago

Thank you so much for educating broading our scope on kante A.k.a kete,it really fascinate me to understand the fact that the Asantes and the ewes worked hand in hand like brothers and sisters in a uninanimous alliance to ach ...

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

Okomfo Anokye ( Atsu Tsali Akpormada) was the twin brother of Togbui Tsali of Anlo. The middlename therefore is not ' Tsala ' but Tsali. A good job done. Ashanti history is an exaggerated nonsense from Ashanti/Akan academics ...

• Owusu 8 years ago

The jealousy of you people knows no boundary. You wish your tribes were as great as the Asantes.

They fought and conquered your forefathers.

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

Clanishness and inferiority complex will kill you. You invest too much time in trying to change unchangable.

• chief abrampah Okoampah 8 years ago

Bonwire weavers are royal weavers from Denkyira who later settled in Asante kingdom after the defeat of Ntim Gyakari.This weaving skills was brought from Mande land(Ghana and Mali Empire) to current Akanland.so was it Ewes wh ...

• Adomakoh Froboo 8 years ago

Fist time I have read such utter rubbish. A group of Ewe intellectuals trying to rewrite history. Kofi Awonoor all over. There is no Ghanaian intellectual who is more revered than the late Adu Boahene. Did I read it right tha ...

• Ama Acheapomaah 8 years ago

nobody can change the history to suit himself we all know the history of kente so stop writing these useless articles in any case are you jealous of the great Ashanti Empire

Wow Great writeup you said it all. The only reason Tsala disn't bother about Anlos was because they were not fighting among themselves and were already great with Tsali his twin brother staying in Anlo whose shrine still exis ...