You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 09 15Article 325828

Colonialism -The Scottish Experience

Read Comments Comments (12)

• kwesi kotoka 9 years ago

de wofie asem

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 9 years ago

I personally love the British and the greater union since 1620/1707, but I cannot speak for the Scottish because he who wears the shoe knows where it pinches. All the same, there is synergy in union but if a marriage is not w ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Brother Kwesi,

You are all over the place!

Hahahahahah....

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

Scots should not listen to their politicians.

THEY SHOULD, RATHER, LOOK AT WHAT INDEPENDENCE ELSEWHERE HAS ACHIEVED FOR COUNTRIES THAT HAVE ATTAINED "FREEDOM" FROM THEIR COLONIAL "OPPRESSORS".

My reason is this:----

• GHANABA 9 years ago

These Scottish people were prime ministers of UK when the Gold Coast/Ghana was colonized.John Stuart,Arthur Balfour,Henry Campbell-Bannerman.Ramsey Macdonald,Andrew Bonar-Law.More recent ones are Tony Blair and Gordon Brown. ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

After the Scots, then the Catalonians are voting to secede from Spain. And who would be next?
    Cronyism,corruption, cynicism are at the root of these secessionist referendums. Would Ghana be next?

• Obiba 9 years ago

Yes the british have done a lot of
    evil to a whole lot of people all over
    the world,how about we the ashantis
    thinking about independence while we
    are being cut from the national development!!Is the present asantehene
    th ...

• Kwame Joe 9 years ago

Read what massa is saying, it is not only colonialism. massa also mentioned cronyism, cynicism and corruption as necessary conditions for break ups.

• Cyrus ,Luxemburg 9 years ago

I Think sefwiland will be the nest.we have the hightest GDP in ghana,.we are biger than central,upper east,g accra and eastern region.

What independence? Were they ever colonized? They willingly joined England in 1707 when they went bankrupt.They were the most ardent enforcers in subjugating us.

• Jim Jones 9 years ago

Please do not forget that the scots agreed to the union when their country was down and almost out. Bashing the English as imperialist is not helpful. We have now realized that all your socialist cronies also have imperial am ...

• Gana 9 years ago

Papa Appiah, stop the clownish ignorance!