You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 05 25Article 310379

Q and A, with a Ghanaian Atheist.

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Jane 9 years ago

Take your propaganda atheism somewhere.

• Lala 9 years ago

The gay agenda didn't work & now we're being bombarded with atheist agenda. You won't succeed with that one either.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

It is clear that God has filtered those with inhuman feelings into NPP. They are so greedy that if given any power they use it to appropriate resources meant for the wider society for themselves. For example, after spending 8 ...

• Twea 9 years ago

Oh ghanaians, why turn every conversation into politics?

• Nii 9 years ago

You guys fool pass! The person dey talk atheism, you dey there dey talk politics and nyaa and agenda! Weytin you get for this country wey "dem" no fit do? Your heads die pass!

• Graham 9 years ago

I guess it can be threatening for some when they have to share the public space with other views which challenge the superstitious-authoritarian opinion.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

Excellent exegesis.
    The religious charade cannot go on forever. Very soon, the blind will see!

• Pelicles 9 years ago

You have Samuel as a name which comes from the Bible. Why not change it into something else? Imagine you grew up in places like Pakistan, Afghanistan, what exactly will be your views on religion? We are blessed to have our ...

• Frank Appiah 9 years ago

Dr Samuel Adjei Sarfo (Dr SAS)loves his name Samuel,yet he believes in the non-existence of the Almighty God.What a moron!

• James Bamfo 9 years ago

"No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path. Look within, thou art the Buddha."

• Oheneba Asare 9 years ago

Dr SAS,your infantile comment is shocking.In fact,it has belittled your academic status.There is overwhelming evidence that there is a CREATOR.Even those who believe in the BIG BANG THEORY,cannot explain to elementary school ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Oheneba, don't waste your precious time defending creation with atheist. I certainly regret clicking on this shameful article.

• One Who Cares 9 years ago

Is dr sas a real name or a pseudo-name? Whatever it is I can't dignify the name by using capital letters. Fools die many times before their death. How apt the Biblical verses are: "I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, the ...

• Graham 9 years ago

Quoting from a book because you are unable to think for yourself is exactly the sort of ignorance encouraged by religion. Because you think something is evidence because it's in a book and that makes it real, is why young Gha ...

• ONE WHO CARES 9 years ago

Graham you sound interesting. You look like one who didn't pass through the various stages of growth: that you all of a sudden became an adult wondering how you got here. If you had passed through the stages, you would have ...

• Graham 9 years ago

I hope you can live with your patronising arrogence and the childhood beliefs indoctrinated into you. Feel free to choose your superstition. I see many smart young Ghanaian men & women understanding that evidence is more impo ...

• God's Love 9 years ago

I don't know how many smart young men & women have come to declare their point of view to you. Are you the chief atheist? - poor role to play. Yes, when you've so many young declaring there no God, why won't it be to your pro ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Indeed, kudos to the interviewee for broaching his views in public, and the writer for making it possible. Bravo to both of them. It is a small step in confronting the religious obscurantism bedeviling we Africans.

But th ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

If extricating Nkrumahism from obscurantist religiosity is what you demand as the price for agreeing with me, so be it, my dear Brother Andy!

• Nii 9 years ago

Thank you, Sir

• Asiwome 9 years ago

Check out Carl Jung's definition of religion, and theism is not just about Christianity.

• JC 9 years ago

Many scientists thought like you until they saw a 'demonstration' a you put it. So I don't think there is any point arguing with you.

• Utopia 9 years ago

Hmm, so ghana is now the target for atheist agenda. Most of these people defending this writer are probably an associate of him or the writer himself posting several comments using different names. Most Ghanaians will never d ...

• Nii 9 years ago

Ah! See this unthinking nitwit!So what also does the number of pastors who de-converted to atheism mean? Make you shine your eye den think oo!!

• Kwame VS Kofi 9 years ago

Fake pastors, Miracle propaganda, prisoners in prayer camps, pastors persueing sick people not to go hospitals, but pray, Mallams promising riches but demanding evil scrreficed, Sakawa, Sharia law, islamic polygamy, Child mar ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Our problems are purely man-made so, leave God or religion out of it. How many pastors etc are in parliament or are ministers? As long as these so-called "Atheist" or whatever cannot define or come up with exact nature of t ...

• FARRASINNO 9 years ago

the best way to control or even enslave a people is through religion. No wonder wise people say RELIGION IS THE OPIUM OF THE MASSES.

• One Who Cares And Loves You 9 years ago

"Seek the truth and it will set you free" (John 8:32). Who are the wise people you are talking about? Only foolish people see those opposing God as wise. Those masses who are abused because of religion are those who have not ...

• One Who Cares And Loves You 9 years ago

The atheist reasoned like the child in him that makes him an atheist. Who knows, by him coming out so openly, it may be God's way for him to get help. May God who has helped me so openly through His wonderful Son, help you al ...

• Mark Antony 9 years ago

Where was the Christian GOD when 6 miliion Jews were being roasted by Hitler?
    He enjoyed the smoke from the gas chambers I suppose....... Monkeys

• Frank Okine 9 years ago

Who cares whether you believe in God or not. The new worldly trend is one is either gay, humanist, atheist or satanist which certainly would lead you to hell, and to say that there is no hell, you wait till you get there.

• Moira 9 years ago

Stop it! Such statements are the reason some people doubt the existence of God. No loving father will torture a person in a place called Hell. Didn't the Bible teaches that the dead are conscious of nothing & once you're dead ...

• Nii 9 years ago

think a little, it's not criminal yet

• Boat 9 years ago

Psalm 14 v 1.the fool says in his heart there is no God.

• Nii 9 years ago

Even the fool has seen in his eyes ... what does that say of you!

• Larry Rhodes 9 years ago

Myabe this post will help.. I wrote it to help people understand when their loved ones don't believe anymore. p://bit.ly/1bIQSVT

• ... 9 years ago

Only the extremely IGNORANT & STUPID would say there is no God. You, my friend, are truly pitiable!

• Graham 9 years ago

Luckily we don't care what you think although you have the freedom to believe whatever superstition you choose. The rest of us will use reason and evidence not faith.

• Nii 9 years ago

On the contrary, atheists like myself are happier than you'll know and admit. If there's anyone that needs pitying, it is you that prays to a big brother like a little kid and then he kicks you in the face with disappointment ...

• Jamaican 9 years ago

There's a strong possibility the West & the homosexual community is behind this sudden surge of atheist articles. This is another of their ploy to promote that agenda by attacking Christianity. Africans need to be on guard wi ...

• Graham 9 years ago

The west brought their superstition which formed the foundation for slavery and colonialism. The minority Right-wing fundamentalist pastors use Africa to sponsor anti-gay hate as no one is interested in the West. You may want ...

• Nii 9 years ago

Don't be an idiot! Where in Africa did Christianity originate? And you're here fighting for Christianity like it started in Africa and its for Africans! Meanwhile,hating on your own brothers and sisters with whom you could li ...

• Abu 9 years ago

I really feel sorry for you. You are displaying worldly wisdom. Dont worry, God has a time for everyone...you will have an experience that will cause you to run to God and acknowledge him openly.

• Mel 9 years ago

Atheist are coming out of the closet & becoming more vocal about their message that, there's no God. Their position of no-belief is actually an irrational statement. They can't even explain the complex of the genetic makeup o ...

• Graham 9 years ago

No we don't pretend to know things we don't. The genetic makeup of humans has been explained by science not religion. All discoveries about the universe are being made by science not religion. Because you can't explain someth ...

• Odurose 9 years ago

All religion is superstition. This article is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise obscurantist and superstition ridden Ghana. Bravo to the writer! There is still hope for rationalism in Ghana.

• Kwapps 9 years ago

1. How do you explain destructive phenomenons like earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanoes etc, that claim thousands and thousands of lives, is your so-called god responsible for them?

2. How about diseases caused by viruses and ...

• OB 9 years ago

I think the bible says something about this ... "Only a fool says there's no God".

• Reppy Joe 9 years ago

well said bro ... you have said it all

• Graham 9 years ago

Indeed the anonymous writer of that partial quote certainly attempted to disuade people from thinking. However, if a fool can see the truth, what's wrong with you?

• Nii 9 years ago

Even the fool can spot it, what does that say of you?!

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

Go ahead with your "sweet" atheistic ideas and beliefs. You're not the first, and will never be the last to spew out such farrago of misguided effusions. After your death, you'll realize too late,that you had been fooled, bli ...

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

Go ahead with your "sweet" atheistic ideas and beliefs. You're not the first, and will never be the last to spew out such farrago of misguided effusions. After your death, you'll realize too late,that you had been fooled, bli ...

• Graham 9 years ago

It's significant that all you can do is make threats exposing the underlying fear in your belief system. Sadly, when you die it's likely you won't realise how you wasted your life as I doubt there is consciousness after death ...

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

• Nii 9 years ago

You died before? And 'realised' that YOU had not been fooled? How are you so sure?

• ONE WHO CARES 9 years ago

If you die and you realize that you've been fooled is it more painful than the reverse where you fooled yourself while living and died to meet the truth? How do some fools think? Strange World. What is the fooling in acceptin ...

• Graham 9 years ago

If you die and realise you should have worshipped Zeus, Mithras, Thor, Krishna or any of the 100s of gods & godesses what then? You think believing is about morality and good behaviour? Really? Can you think of examples of be ...

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

• AKAKE_62 9 years ago

YOU BELIEVERS PRAY FOR ME. I'll WILL DO THE THINKING FOR YOU.

• Gaspa 9 years ago

These are not enough questions for the ethiest not to believe in the existence of God. If he was at the time of Moses, he would have felt the power of God. Pharoah stubbornly did not believe and he felt the power of God. Unle ...