You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 05 06Article 308219

Nkrumah was Significant but Neither Great Nor Visionary

Read Comments Comments (71)

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 10 years ago

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THIS ARTIKEL AND WHAT DO U PLAN TO ACHIEVE?

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

He either has too much time on his hands, or else is just plain nuts.

• Koo 10 years ago

The one-party state thing and the President for life thing Okoampa-Ahoofe is referring to was something Ghanaians agreed to in a bid to curb all the excesses of the multi-party democracy we started with but which was seriousl ...

• Agyeman 1 10 years ago

WEll done Kojo Azometi, I tell you there are some people in Ghana still who have no brain to think so is that idiot Okoampa who says he had Phd. Just imagine, some one who claimed he had such degree, but had no idea about how ...

• Cliff Haizel 10 years ago

Nkrumah was Africa's worst tyrant who killed all political opponents in prisoners and denied them decent burial. Nkrumah, Hitler, Iddi Amin, Maumar Gadafy and Pol Pot were all dictaors and all suffered the same fate; they all ...

• Quesi 10 years ago

Kwasia man in NY. Nkrumah brought Ghana together, he was no tribalist like you fool

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

As the saying goes: "Those who know the least, speak or shout the loudest.

This diehard miserable fool will die a wretched death in his cockroaches and rats infested NY Ghetto apartment and nobody will miss him.

Ahoota ...

• Koo Pia 10 years ago

Ghanaians never gave in to ONE party state. Stop that nonsense and lies.
    If Nkrumah knew he was going to ALWAYS win elections why would he even table a motion of one party?

And twerps like most of you on this thread are ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Shut your mouth. How old were you when the referendum for a one-party state was held? Maybe your father did not even meet your mother by then.

Just get this straight: You and the mad Akyem dog and bastard Ahoofe can paint ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Nkrumah had a de facto one party state. Those splinter parties could not effect change , NLM, NPP, Freedom party Muslim party were all sectional and could articulate their needs through a broad based forum. 2 Nkrumah achieved ...

• Appletus 10 years ago

Wow...what a piece! Why don't you turn this into a rejoinder? I bet many readers would be happy to be informed of this pristine thought provoking but objective analysis.
    Please do turn this into a rejoinder.

• Koo 10 years ago

china is a one party dictatorship bu they are doing great. Has western democracy taken any third world nation anywhere?

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

This mentally challenged Community College teacher was rejected by Harvard,NYU and Columbia,and had to settle for a third level college in Pennsylvania to get his doctorate.
    And he has the nerve to question Osagyefo's schola ...

• Adam 10 years ago

Danquah may have obtained a real PhD (it was the writing of a booklet in those days) but the fact still remains that Nkrumah was far far more significant in Ghanaian and African politics than Danquah.

Yes, Nkrumah made mis ...

• TEE 10 years ago

KWAME NKUMAH HIS NAME NEVER DIES AND HE WILL HUNT AFRICA/GHANA FOR EVER AND EVER. FORWARD EVER. OSAGYEFO KWAME WE MISS YOU

• Mark Osei 10 years ago

WHY ARE YOU WASTING YOUR TIME,AHOOFE?NKRUMAH IS UNIVERSALLY ACKNOWLEDGED AS THE GREATEST AFRICAN OF ALL TIME.HAHAHAHAHA.WHAT A COMIC RELIEF.I JUST CAME BACK FROM WORK AND I AM TIRED.AHOOFE GIVE ME MORE.

• Jonas Amponsah 10 years ago

Ahoofe,whether you like it or not Nkrumah is the greatest African.J.B.Danquah and Busia,the imperialist and neo-colonialist agents were no match to Nkrumah.

• James Appiah 10 years ago

In African politics,there is only ONE visionary and that is the great Kwame Nkrumah.AHOOFE,I challenge you to name one person who had a better vision for Africa than Nkrumah.

• TEE 10 years ago

THE IS NO MATCH IN AFRICA YOU CAN COMPARE OSAGYEFO WITH PERIOD, GHANAIANS SHOULD BE THANKFUL AND BE PROUD AS A BLACK STAR ALL BECAUSE OF NKRUMAH. K?AME NKUMAH NEVER DIES

• OSEI TUTU 10 years ago

Ahoofe has not published anything noteworthy

• KK, USA 10 years ago

That is very true from reading his articles. Good observation!

• Kojo Samla 10 years ago

The Busia -Danquah comedians have done everything possible to wipe the name of Nkrumah off everything but have failed miserably. What is this certificate stealer saying?

• OKOE 10 years ago

YOU LEARNT ENGLISH AND MASTERED IT WELL AND CAN BABBLE IN ENGLISH LANGUAGE MAY BE BETTER THAN THE QUEEN, SO WHAT? I WILL REGARD YOUR SCHOLARSHIP MORE IF YOU WERE BETTER IN TWI. THIS IS THE LANGUAGE WE SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND. OU ...

• Kojo Azemeti 10 years ago

The one-party state thing and the President for life thing Okoampa-Ahoofe is referring to was something Ghanaians agreed to in a bid to curb all the excesses of the multi-party democracy we started with but which was seriousl ...

• Francis Kwame Oduro. 10 years ago

Kojo,thanks for your thought-provoking response.I hope all anti-Nkrumah writers will read your response.

• Kofi Badu 10 years ago

Ahoofe,you have been challenged by Francis Kwame Oduro to name one African who had a better vision for Africa than Kwame Nkrumah.Some of us are anxious to read your response.If you are not able to respond, then you must be as ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Excellent Kojo.

• Observer 10 years ago

Kojo, your comment is an eye opener.

• JOE 10 years ago

Ahoofe is a nincompoop lacking critical thinking skills I doubt he will take up your challenge. Thanks for a very insightful response to the rantings of an imbecile.

• Colegate 10 years ago

I immediately new the sauce of this article when I saw the header.

• Shabi 10 years ago

Suffice it to say, this writer is clearly on the precipice of some monumental mental melt-down.

The paranoia that he and a few other characters of his ilk, have inflicted on themselves, is derived from the foolhardiness o ...

Thanks for your observation. The idiot is always over-reaching himself in the use of grandiloquent language.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

Thank God no one knows of your fucking J.B. Danquah and Busia.

• Azumah Nelson 10 years ago

This guy is insane.

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Are you, Dr. KOA, describing yourself as a fanatic of JB Danquah and are you also saying that Akyem State, Cest moi, KOA?

• Kplamasi 10 years ago

I do not think that thousand of you will make one Nkrumah. You see you are a failure and you can deal with it. It is only in US in which a Clown like you would be allowed to teach. What a jerk

• Agya koo 10 years ago

Dr Nkrumah really fascinate you and it's for this reason you want to him for your own gains but it's not working.he was very grat and wise so to bring him down is impossible so stop it now.

• ASHKENAZI 10 years ago

AHOOFE IS AN INSIGNIFICANT ANT WHO CAN NOT READ HISTORY SO HOW CAN HE WRITE ONE?

• samson 10 years ago

Your jaundiced view cannot change world history. Nkrumah was voted the greatest African of the millenium in a global poll by the BBC. Your puny mind and thinking cannot change that. Period!!!

• Mike 10 years ago

Please stop all these lies.You guys hate this man so bad that it smells on you every time you open your mouth or pen down info.

AHOOFE IS A MAD MAN WHO DESERVES TO BE KILLED LIKE A CAT

• Meemuna Ibrahim 10 years ago

"The adjective of 'foolish,' in our particular context, simply means somebody who is so pathologically star-struck that his/her admiration for his/her icon largely emanates from sentimentality or sheer emotions, rather than c ...

• still rastafari 10 years ago

is Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr. okay??

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Prof, fortunately or unfortunately you fit perfectly the definition of a fanatic you provided when the table is turned around to J B Danquah, otherwise you would not have described him as "the putative Doyen of Gold Coast and ...

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 10 years ago

Go and read about Sir Albert Kitson, on Nkrumah's purported "vision." Akosombo, Bui, Ajena, Kpong, the Kyebi, Nyinahin and Okwawu bauxite deposits. Don't feed unsuspecting readers with your tired pabulum.

Any idiot can tra ...

• Bonsu 10 years ago

And you have the gut and effrontery to reply to Kofi a superior mind and more broadly a scholar than you.Sometimes when you come up with such ridiculous headlines,we tempted to reluctantly read what you are up to again and s ...

Ahootan the raving lunatic who knows the least but shouts/speaks the loudest at it again. The poeple of Ghana are not so green like your stupid self. It is you despicable ape who come here with hearsay (yesi yesi) which is th ...

Shut up you Akyem dog and bastard. Yes, all those projects you mentioned were undertaken by Mr. J. B. Danquah! Are now satisfied?

Lest I forgot, you are still on our hit list.

• YAW 10 years ago

Ahoofe,posses that veneer of manners which reveals an infinite capacity for contempt. An aesthetic blot on academia.Keep writing Kwame,we are capable of reading between the lies.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Prof, thanks for your response to my earlier comment. Prof I am not going to argue with because you stated it stated it so succinctly in your article and I quote "any attempt to debate such a person is akin to running starkly ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Internationally, no one ever heard of this JB Danquah; yet, Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, who writes very bad English language that don't make sense, is known to to do his level best to link him to universally known Kwame Nkrumah to ...

Don't mind the idiot. Yes, Dr. Nkrumah rightly and justly jailed his uncle, the grey-haired fox Mr. J.B. Danquah, and so what?

If Mr. Danquah resurrects tomorrow, Dr. Nkrumah would also resurrect to jail him a second time ...

• YAW 10 years ago

Ahoofe, hates,detest, despise and loathe Nkrumah

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

It amazes me that so-called educated Ghanaians can be this stupid and incapable of ideas and or ideals derived from their classroom earned intellectual prowess. Peoples of Western democracies do not raise their children alike ...

• YAW 10 years ago

Kindly assail him [Ahoofe] both with pen and tongue in English.

• NUKOMEKO 10 years ago

DO YOU KNOW WHO IS A DICTATOR? YOUR STUPIDITY ON PEOPLE WHO ARE ALIVE AND INTO DEATH MAKES YOU A FOOL...

This Akyem dog and bastard has nothing intelligent up his dirty sleeves to deliver. If he is not busy pouring acid on Rawlings or Ewes then he would madly keep himself busy with anti-Nkrumah bullshit!!

You can scream till ...

• OKATAKYIE 10 years ago

This article is just a load of disingenuous nonsense. Pathetic little old sod.

• KASBAND 10 years ago

*Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D.???????????????????????????????????
    Are you a serious Ghanaian or what? "
    You write: "There is absolutely no doubt that Nkrumah thought the African world revolved around his personal procliv ...

• Someguy 10 years ago

I'm happy we live in a world where such a clueless individual with a 3rd rated PhD has access to a computer to type such nonsense.

The CPP were great and Dr Nkrumah will still live on long after this fool Ahoofe has joined ...

• JC 10 years ago

If you have to attack Okoampah, attack his facts not his face OR anatomy. That cannot change the facts. Who does not know of Nkrumah's subversive activities in Africa? Who does not know how the UGCC paid him and fed him and t ...

What "Facts" are you talking about? In each paragragh of Ahootan's writing it is just vile writing.

In the first paragraph he attacks the previous writer with tautology of words.

The second paragragh describe Ahootan to ...

• Dan Amadu 10 years ago

KWAMI U ARE A PSHYCIATRIC PATIENT. GO FOR CHECKUP. UR NAMESAKE OSAGYEFO DR KWAMI NKRUMAH WAS AND STILL IS A HERO WAI. wabodem paa for attacking d dead.

• Andy 10 years ago

I am sorry to tell you that ruling and managing humans is not by the Phd which accompany your name but it is by intuition. In this age and time people like you are still thinking like this. What you should no is those with th ...

• Nana Kwaku 10 years ago

This is supposed to be part 1. I wonder what part 2 will be like!!

• Atikopo#2 10 years ago

Dishonest Okoampa-Ahoofe

This is from Okoampa-Ahoofe from Chapter 2 ( "Harvest of Foolery") of his collection of essays published on 2004. When did his lobotomy occur? When he found out that he was related to J. B. Danqua ...

• Cola L Clark 10 years ago

All over the USA and world there are millions who disagree with you based on their living experience. Please rethink your conclusions.
    Colia Clark

• solomon 8 years ago

You claim to be a Dr. yourself and think Dr. Nkrumah is less of an intellectual than you are? Your name tells us why you are bitter. In a young independent nation trying to develop, tribalism and segregation could least be to ...