You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 03 24Article 304124

Akufo-Addo’s Dicey Pursuit of the Ghanaian Presidency!

Read Comments Comments (50)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WHO R THE OLDEST LEADERS ON EARTH. LOOK AT THE PROGRESS OF THEIR NATIONS

• yaw b 10 years ago

Daniel price you have said your mind.....all your arguments against Nana Addo doesn't hold water.....we will surely vote for him

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

"...all your arguments against Nana Addo doesn't hold water..."

"arguments doesn't hold water"?

now you see why Ghana needs quality education?

• NPP - Nana's Personal Property? 10 years ago

Massa Pryce, thanks for proffering your candid opinion on 2016 polls. I like Nana Addo for his inspiring ideas but like you, I also took some of your pointers to heart such as the following:

In fact, most po ...

• ATWOMO! 10 years ago

As always, you've hit the nail right on the head! I like reading your piece because you always sound unbiased! Ignore the Oyokobas, the Akadus, the Sarpongs and the Okuoampas and keep hammering more nails on the roof!
    What ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Once Nana failed in 2008, he was finished, and perhaps a Kufour’s strong campaign could have made a difference for him though I believe Kufour was himself so tainted with corruption accusations just as Clinton was tainted ( ...

• Daniel K. Pryce 10 years ago

Gye Nyame,

I really enjoyed your own analysis of the situation on the ground. Ghana has great thinkers, indeed.

• Okonko 10 years ago

I don't think that Bawuamia has as yet overcome the credibility problem incurred during the petition.He came across as a blatant liar and lied through his teeth.His "you and I were not there mantra will expose him to ridicule ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

No one is arguing about Akufo-Addo's candidacy except NDC Ewes and Northerners! It is that simple. Drawing on American political traditions does not cut it. Akufo-Addo will stand in Ghana, not in America! You should help your ...

Akadu,

Why do you take pleasure in maliciously tagging me as an NDC operative/supporter? Why don't you scan through my 150+ articles, since 2007, to see where I stand on party politics in Ghana?

Every honest person who ...

Haba, I have read most of your essays here and know where you stand.

• DOUBLE STANDARDS 10 years ago

ON THE DENKYIRA DENKYEM!!! SHE TOTALLY MISSED YOUR POINT AS USUAL....AFTER SMOKING HER WEED, SHE HAS TO COMPOSE HER NEXT USELESS ARTICLE THAT, IN HER FUGUE STATE, SHE DARES TO CALL POEMS AND THEN SUBJECTS YOU TO THEM ONLINE! ...

• Eric 10 years ago

NPP's new name NANA ADDO's PERSONAL PARTY

• mojingles 10 years ago

Imagine a tribal bigot like Akadu imploring others to celebrate nationalism.....and not tribalism. Ironic.

The fact of the matter is that Addo has a stranglehold on the NPP and this dominance is slowly eating away at the s ...

• KKA 10 years ago

If there are any groups of Akan speakers who are historically (and geographically) close to Ewes, it is Akyems and Kwahus, then Akuapems. The Ewes in northern parts of Volta Region are most familiar with Kwahus, Akuapems and ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

Good analyses, but I guess these ideas will be too much for the cocaine-infested brain of the Denkyira Denkyem.

Duh!

• Ayi Koi Otu 10 years ago

With your so called PHD you still lack in debating skills, the highest point of all your debating skills on this forumn ends with Tribalism.

Check the thread of comments and you will relaize that every one is been analytic ...

I take prode in my fooooooolishness! It is called opinion

• Ayi Koi Otu 10 years ago

You see why you were denied a job offer in Ghana? They realized you cant reason. All you did in school was "Chew, pass, and Pour"

Ghana doesnt need that now, we had far too many of such without and meaningful results. Keep ...

• Say It Loud. 10 years ago

Daniel K. Pryce tribalism will kill you. Since it's not Nyabro who's calling the shot's in NDC now, it isn't good and you went ahead to say NDC dont have the men.
    Keep on demonstrating those inferiority complexes to Ashantis ...

• Julie 10 years ago

Age aside, the fact that Nana is seeking for the presidency three times got me scratching my head. Mahama sucks as a leader & don't deserve reelection, but Nana seems eagerness to be president is questionable. He appears too ...

• Julie 10 years ago

But Nana eagerness to be president is questionable

• Monika 10 years ago

Mahama is not doing well and doesn't deserve a second chance. But Akufo-Addo? Not him. It's not his age or tribe but there's something sinister in his determination to get there. Unless you're in his inner circle and have som ...

Monika,

I think your short contribution has captured the essence of this entire article: while John Mahama has not performed creditably so far, many do not believe that Akufo-Addo is the answer to Ghana's problems.

• Utopia 10 years ago

I wholeheartedly agree with your argument. Mahama lack leadership skills and therefore must be dethroned, but Akuffo Addo is not the best person for the job because like you said, he's too hungry to be the president

• abu okyeman KIBI 10 years ago

NONSENSE MR.WRITER,WITH ALL THIS DEGREES ,YOU ARE AN IDIOT PERIOD ,.LOOK AT HOW GHANA IS MOVING TO /.

• Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

It has become very convenient and fashionable for people to tag onto this ‘floating voter’ theory.

Who at all are the floating voters? They are voters who vote on issues and have the propensity to shift their votes fr ...

• Eric 10 years ago

A whole Scientist with such a small brain. HOW POSSIBLE Dr Yaw Ohemeng ?

• Kobena 10 years ago

Yaw,
    Another thing that the "Akufo-Addo bashers" convenintly forget is the strange situation whereby Mahama obtained nearly 500,000 more votes than his NDC parliamentary candidates put together.

The rate of increase of e ...

Yaw,

Thanks for your contribution. Sadly, however, your analysis only partially discussed my arguments in the article.

First, let's talk about the issue of the floating voter. In Ghana, floating voters vote along two di ...

Dan, you have not presented to us any studies that say NPP lost the last two elections because they presented Nana Addo as a candidate. You also did not present any study that says voters would warm up to the NPP if they brin ...

• KKA 10 years ago

"I can sense a new wind blowing in the country - people are prepared to put competency ahead of those personality issues."

That's what you cannot be so sure of. It's only middle class voters who are ready to look into comp ...

KKA I am not an insider please. I do not have a membership card of any political party. I actually agree with you that more competent individuals abound outside the NPP and NDC. I can name Dr Nduom, Nii Moi Thompson whose wri ...

• KKA 10 years ago

Yaw, I apologise for the assumption that you were an NPP insider. I don't know what got over me. Perhaps it was an article I read some weeks ago by someone whose name looked like yours or who made a comment to another comment ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

NDC has served 2 terms and it has performed poorly.We need change of govt to make politics an effective vehicule to advance our aspirations.I think NPP should change Nana Adoo because he doesn't have effective stragegy to win ...

Boy Kofi, let me explain what is only a hunch and not inside knowledge. I accept that Nana Addo is a divisive character not of his own making. Those who like him do so with a passion matched equally by those who dislike him. ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

If what you have said is correct then Nana Addo should have been the president since 2008.I want you to understand that Nana Addo's campaign strategy was ineffective even to the middle class electorate.How can you campaign on ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

What is wrong with being a farmer , albeit a cocoa farmer. I protest

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Dan, can say that I disagree with you that Mahama was the proper incumbent in 2012. He was the President of Ghana at the time of the elections and his party was the ruling party so that made him nothing but the incumbent whic ...

Kofi,

First, I want to thank Ohemeng for a lively, respectful debate. That's what we need on this platform, and not baseless insults that have tended to drive away fine minds from discussing the issues.

Second, my argum ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Daniel, You wrote, "One of Akufo-Addo's mistakes was to have kept Kufuor on the sidelines when the party was preparing for Election 2012. Kufuor would have buoyed the NPP's chances, especially in regions like Ashanti, Brong-A ...

• Dantankwa 10 years ago

Kofi Ata, I cannot wait to read your next article on Akufo Addo's chances. I read the first articles, I must say you presented a well-balanced analysis than Pryce did here. Pryce although is one of the objective writers on th ...

• Kojo Foli 10 years ago

Stupidity one more time. "The Ndc lacks men to perfom" Useless talk. How long is the Mahama led government power? Not to talk of the 8 months of the useless and diabolical court case brought againt him by the tribal bigots? ...

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 10 years ago

PRYCE, YOU HAVE RATHER FALLEN FOR THE NDC PROPAGANDA. THE REASONS YOU GAVE FOR THE PEOPLE TO REJECT NANA ARE IMMATERIAL. THEY ARE NOT THE BREAD AND BUTTER ISSUES. ON THE OTHER HAND, YOU FAILED TO REALISE THAT, GHANAIANS NOW K ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

A very delightful article from Dr. Pryce.
    But apart from the rather ageistic argument, not much can be gleaned from this article to persuade one that Akufo-Addo should not stand. For better or for worse, he is the best the N ...

Brother Sammy,

I understand fully why you'd not agree with me. If Akufo-Addo has what it takes to improve the economy, then the party must work hard to get him elected. I feel, however, that he has exhausted his opportunit ...

Wonders never ends! Dr. SAS used to atack those holding doctorate degrees. Now he has abandoned his anti-intellectualism, plucked a a law degree from some backwater college, and calls those who don't even have one DOKITA!

• Sam 10 years ago

He/she wants to be the only Doctor in Ghana from Akyem. Kwasia man pretending to be a woman. fagot Ass!

• TEE 10 years ago

NANA ADDO WILL GET STATE BURIAL WHETHER PRESIDENT OR CIVILIAN PERIOD