You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 03 19Article 303606

Open Letter to the IGP, Ghana Police Service

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Ghanaman1 10 years ago

These mpepefuo can't manage and they just talk nonsense. Listen to the stupid IGP and Mahama.

• Son of Ghana 10 years ago

Tribe is not the important thing for Ghana. It is the competence of the IGP that is the issue.

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

We know the police are to maintain peace& order but rather they intimidate people most especialy(trotro driver) they are also working for the betterment of this country.ofcourse they pay huge taxes.treat them eaqualy PLS.if u ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Fully agree with you Dentaa. That institution has been and is still full of corrupt bastards. Imagine a seized cocaine held in the headquarters turning into flour. Funny isn't it?

• gretchy 10 years ago

am fully in agreement also how damn pathetic.Makes me wonder who trains the police academy.and to see them at public demonstratons fully loaded with gun's and bloody Tanks geeze.I thought the army uses those vehicles ummm min ...

• The Mask 10 years ago

Good policing is needed in order for companies to operate effectively. How many detectives has the Ghana police service got and to what extent do they pursue cases?

• FRANK OKINE 10 years ago

Efua, the Ghanaian police organisation is a comic body. Did you read the funny thing said by this IGP yesterday on the web? He was beging the public to stop harasing his men with bribe. This is the man chosen to lead and clea ...

• goza gotoro 10 years ago

The Police Inspector General (PIG)is not brought from the moon. He is a product of the rot he is now heading. As for the police PROs, we better call them Self-Image-Damaged managers.

• Garth 10 years ago

The truth of the matter is that our police service is corrupt, yes very corrupt indeed.Every Ghanaian knows that our policemen are very very corrupt. The present IGP cannot stop his men from taking bribe, no he can`t.

• CITIZEN 10 years ago

If nothing goes to touch the palm branch, it does not rattle. Which one of you cares when 2013 salary arears have not been paid to police? Who cares when police officers use their monthly salaries to rent rooms due to inadequ ...

• Team Bravo 10 years ago

The Police system has been that all along,this administration is the best I have seen in my life time. This IGP is the only one trying to do something about the rot. Please give him some credit.

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

I'm aware police officers in Ghana receive periodic training and write exams to test their knowledge about police work and duties. That's all laudable but how effective are they? How about a yearly fitness test for all police ...

• CONTRACT IGP 10 years ago

In fact, the IGP is doing tribal policing across the country in terms of his appointments to various offices.He has become a stooge simply because he is on contract.Who takes bribe more than Rose Bio in front of the IGP'S off ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Mr. I.G.P, why have u taken huge bribes from unqualified persons and recruited them into the service at the expense of the genuine applicants who have being on waiting list since 2011? Shame on u I.G.P, I thought u would talk ...

• Akwesi 10 years ago

Please is the case under investigations? If so then let them do thier work and foward any evidence you have to them.

• koffie 10 years ago

Hmmm

• Sylvanus Agbemenyah 10 years ago

A person qualifies into the ghana police if he or she can stand for long hours and beg for money from drivers.
    2. If the person after forcefully demanding the 1 cedis and having been refused can become peeved as to seize the ...

• John 10 years ago

@sylvanus: the entry requirements 4 recruitment into the ghana police service is between Ghc2,000 and Ghc3,000.

• still living 10 years ago

the ghana police should stop harassing its citizens with thier cronic sicken corruption.they are BT's.

• vincent 10 years ago

is high time the police service considers giving tasers to it officers which to me will be a step in the right direction rather than than giving real firearms to some crazy officers to handle.and officers must be screened to ...

• PRINCE OPOKU ASARE 10 years ago

PLEASE IGP,WE SSS LEAVERS WILL BE HAPPY THAT THE POLICE SERVICE RELEASES RECRUITMENTS FORMS THIS MONTH BECAUSE WE ARE READY AND HAVE THE SPIRIT OF PROTECTING GHANAIANS IN ALL SUITUATIONS.PLEASE WHEN WILL THE POLICE FORMS WILL ...

• as are Bruce 9 years ago

Not happy with some comments, pls if u have something to tell the igp, fine but pls don't insult him . He is somebody's father. Don't bring tribalism into this.

• folitse festus 9 years ago

I GP pls when will the 2014/2015 forms be out for recruitment pls I want to no. If possible to text me on 0546860713

• Agyemang Bernice 9 years ago

Mr Alahasan pls what qualify a person to be accepted in to Ghana police service

• Owusu 9 years ago

We have devoted ourselves to join Ghana police service, so if you also think you can do the job why don't you come join. Instead of you people join hands to help mother Ghana, you shunned the Ghana job and do your own illegal ...

• opayin fianko 9 years ago

if you have read this letter some hours after its publication u would realsed u did no pr at all but u rather released yr emotions.i know no pr lecturer at diploma level teaches what you presented to the IGP

• crorkz 9 years ago

RN5hTK Major thankies for the post.Much thanks again. Will read on...

• matzcrorkz 9 years ago

FN17UQ Very informative blog article.Really thank you! Great.

• Vagas 8 years ago

A police officer with Odorkor police station by name C.I.D Addo has collected my money ,an amount of 20000 ghc and dont want to pay back.I have tried through S.I.D AND the C.I.D OFFICE in Asylum down to get my money back ,but ...