You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 03 18Article 303595

The President doesn't pay tax? Oh, Ghana!!!

Read Comments Comments (31)

• kka 10 years ago

Thanks jj rawrings,the accountability
    man, and he's poor.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I knew that Bakor was a useless person the very first time I read his article. This idiot keeps on churning articles about the state and government without taking time to read the constitution.

And these useless people we ...

• Nanasei 10 years ago

Bogus constitution in Ghana. What do you mean by the constitution , the so called " Nyansasem" guy? This is really serious issue. Thanks Dr.Bokor for such an insightful article.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

So you just found out that the President, Vice and many other leaders in our Nation don't pay taxes. Don't you know it is in the constitution and without reading it, how will you know about that? Shame on both of you.

What ...

• Diana morm 10 years ago

this is a seriuos issue which i think shoud trigger a national discussion. but this nyansasem guy is either a serial caller or just aplain idiot or a moron. he should be smart and think through his head and not his stomach

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

And the Thief ex-president did not see it fit to make changes to the constitution for the President to pay taxes but instead took advangtage to loot Ghana.

Any wonder Kuffuor is a crooker & thief?

• Kwaku(France) 10 years ago

That was reason Ghanaians did not vote
    for Nana Akuffo-Addo.How can Ghana advance when our leaders are not oaying taxes and cannot control corruption in the country? Let us ask
    our leaders to pay their taxes from
    1992 ti ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

We are the problem,to elect a president,who do not pay tax.those who wrote the dam bush backward law are the enemy of the people but not a single past or current sitting prez secondly our prez,do swear to protect the nation i ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Bokor has exposed himself. For someone who comments on national issues and presents himself as someone who knows what is best for the country, not to know that these officials don't pay taxes until a few days ago, really show ...

• kka 10 years ago

thanks to jj rawrings, the accountability man.
    And he still says he's poor.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Tweaa Bokor always running away from JJ!

• Bossman Antwi 10 years ago

You continue to be the certified fool that everybody visiting Ghanaweb knows you to be. What has this opinion piece by Bokor got to do with JJ Rawlings alone?

At least, he has throwen the searchlight on all the beneficiari ...

• Nanasei 10 years ago

How come the president of Ghana doesn't pay tax? Is it for real? oh my goshhhhhh!!may he lord have mercy on us! Thanks.

• afevi 10 years ago

My goodness. I'm dumbfounded. The prez should give an executive order that every citizen including himself should start paying taxes with immediate effect to show that he is really concerned about this abomination. What a big ...

• KWADWO 10 years ago

WHY ORDINARY PEOPLE IN GHANA IS PAYING TAX,EVEN KAYAYO AND CURRENT PRESIDENT OF GHANA AND HIS EXECUTIVES ARE NOT PAYING TAX.MOTHER GHANA GIVING THEM EVERYTHING TO ENJOYING AND WHY THEY ARE NOT PAYING TAX.I SUGGEST THAT OUR C ...

• Mudus 10 years ago

Can't believe these people do not pay taxes. And they enjoy the best of comforts in the country. What a shame. Cud not believe this is happening in Ghana. This situation must change immediately by executive order. It is appal ...

• Offei Ansah 10 years ago

Have you read the Constitution since 1993?

• Atul 10 years ago

wicked leaders

• Francis. EU 10 years ago

Ghana, is indeed rotten beyond salvation. There is something seriously wrong somewhere. I would have made lots of money and come back home by now, but for the tax I pay every month, I´m still here. In all, I pay 667.14 euros ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

DR Bokor,I agree with you completely.Because the president,chief justice,parliamentarians,ministers and lawyers are exempt from paying taxes and enjoy freebees from housing to electricity,water to patrol,phoning to allowances ...

• NANA 10 years ago

Those who wrote the constitution should be blamed. The so called political gurus are really brain dead. How can such people be exempted from paying taxes?It will never happen in a civilized country. It is sad to read people c ...

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 10 years ago

Oh my God!Is it true that the president,vice president,speaker of the house and others do not pay taxes?It was a shocker to me.Who the hell created this law and why should Ghanaians tolerate this? Even in America(USA),the pre ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

I knew that long ago. It's nothing new. That is why for a President to allow any Ghanaian to suffer economic hardships is unacceptable because we've given them so much. The little we expect from them is initiate the right nat ...

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

The Constituent Assembly was composed of NDC Nkwaseafoo who did the bidding of The Greedy Fascist Rapist dictator JJ Rawlings. KWASEA BI NTI we suffer

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

Dr. Bokor's ignorance about the non-taxable status of Ghana'sf presidential income is startling. However, this omission is mitigated by his willingness to write on issues salutary to the national interest. He must be encoura ...

• Dantankwa 10 years ago

I agree perfectly with you. This is the direction he must be taking and he surely got it right with his last two pieces. Let us hope he goes back not to what he has been used.

• Bossman Antwi 10 years ago

Who told you that Bokor didn't know? He just framed that title to capture the attention of fools like you.

The emphasis is on the harm done to the economy by the non-payment of tax by the President and all those people, no ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

Bokor, masquerading as Bossman, seeks to impute my prepositional skill when he claims that I am wrong to write "In the quest of" and that the correct phrase should be "In the quest for". For his information, both forms are co ...

• Diana morm 10 years ago

eii so its true the president and all these people don't pay tax and our so called jounalist have not even mentioned it before. anyway they also have insentives to shut them up so they don't discuss such issues. i have to fin ...

• David Amoateng 8 years ago

oooh! what a shameful country

• Amoateng David Pizarro 8 years ago

How can a president and the leaders of a country don't pay tax ? If this is true , then what a shameful Ghana are we living in ?