You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 02 27Article 301796

Why South Africa, Otumfuo?

Read Comments Comments (49)

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

The rumour is that the missing baby at KATH was used for rituals for Otumfuo.

• NAMESON 10 years ago

So do you mean the baby was taken to SOUTH AFRICA?MASA TALK SENSE ABY!

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

The ritual was to prevent his death. He is still sick.

• nii Ashitey 10 years ago

OKOAMPA, FOR THE FIRST TIME YOU SAY SOMETHING SENSIBLE. YOU COULD HAVE SAID IT BETTER BUT I GIVE YOU A B+.

• ODURO! 10 years ago

I totally agree with kwame this time! We need to stop pointing fingers and get the job done! If we keep on asking what about this? What about him and so on and so forth, nothing is gonna get done in the country! Otumfuo wield ...

• gg 10 years ago

Idiot, you were Obuor a minute ago now you are Oduro. Typical Ewe idiot hater. Tell your Afede to fix Ho hospital. As a matter of fact we should tell every chief to fix hospitals and clinics under their paramountancy.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

They are busy munching otwibini and dankwasere.

• gg 10 years ago

And your filthy skunk trokosi self is busy fucking your daughter.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Ghanaians should insist or pressure our leaders to refurbish our hospitals so that the poor the rich and the powerful can all enjoy good health facilities.

All the same, even if we upgrade our health centers to meet Intern ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

OKATAKYIE SARPONG, I totally agree with your post, and very much like how you've pointed out the 'BAFFLING HYPOCRISY' of Dr. Okoampa-Ahoofe.

Could Dr. Okoampa-Ahoofe, just explain why his cousin, Nana Akufo-Addo, a Presid ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Kwame,you are very funny.For a man who is always crowing about democracy and free enterprise ideals,you have the guts to write this nonsense? The Asantehene is not using state money, and we dont know exactly what medical cons ...

• OBUOR! 10 years ago

We need to stop pointing fingers and get the job done! If we keep on asking what about this? What about him and so on and so forth, nothing is gonna get done in the country! Otumfuo wields enormous influence and power so his ...

• Hayford 10 years ago

You are a moron. When did Asantehene start collecting taxes from Ghanaians to fix Okomfo Anokye hospital? Do we ask the Ya Na to fix Tamale hospital or Ga Mantse to fix Korle-Bu hospital?

This moron should tell the Nana A ...

• Hayford 10 years ago

Well said. You said it all. Asantehene does not collect taxes. He is a private citizen and can access health care anywhere he has money to get the best care.

• Ken Mensah 10 years ago

Thank you SARPONG for exposing this 2-faced hypocrite..is he still a Ghanaian?? I bet he swore allegiance to the US flag..

• OZA 10 years ago

When Okoampa needed a PhD,he went abroad to have it. Why didn't he get it from Ghana? For the same reasons that the Otumfo went to seek better health care abroad as a private citizen. You double standard hypocrite!

• BIN LARDIN 10 years ago

If it were to be NPP in power, he would have gone to Britain for his medical check up. But you need to understand that, NDC are now in power. they have no such treatment for Otumfuo as a result of been jus an ordinary king of ...

• Kwabena Atta 10 years ago

You people are fools.Now Mr.Okoampa Ahoofe,why did the Okyehene(your Overlord)refute allegation that he was behind the Galamsey in his kingdom?Why did he not stay silent? Anyway,whatever you do or say,Okyenhene is not Asanteh ...

• HMMM 10 years ago

ALL WHAT THESE KINGS AND CHIEFS KNOW IS BUNKING OF YOUNG GIRLS.IS IT BAD FOR THE GREAT KING TO HAVE HIS PRIVATE HOSPITAL MEANT TO SERVED HIM AND HIS PEOPLE?OTUMFUO IS MORE RICHER TO DO THAT BUT WHAT DO WE SEE.NKWADA TWE!

• Bombardier 10 years ago

Another faceless guy!.South Africa because your illiterate & uncouth parents asked him to do so! Idiot!

• Owusu Achau Nyameani 10 years ago

Otumfuo,mesr3 meka but the man is right. You have the capabilities to upgrade the health facilities in your kingdom if not the whole country.With all respect,take your stand and make your mark,let your name remind us of your ...

• Kofi Miawo De 10 years ago

His wife even had to fly to New York City to give birth. This tells you what he thinks about the health facilities in Ghana.

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 10 years ago

OTUMFUO IS NOT THE TO SEEK TREATMENT ABROAD . GHANAIAN DOCTORS STILL HAVE LONG WAY TO GO IF COMPARE TO DOCTERS FROM SOUTH AFRICA AND WESTERN COUNTRIES . HE CAN AFFORT IT SO WHY NOT ?

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

No that is not what Kwame is saying here.

While not disagreeing to the Asantehene's long shuttle to South Africa, Kwame thinks the King needs to visit the hospitals of his region to appreciate their conditions in view of ...

• Ibn Batuta Abugri 10 years ago

Mr. Ph.D,your article did not mention Akufo Addo flying out in the mist of the election petition to seek medical treatment abroad.

• Quainoo 10 years ago

that is how hypocrites behave. It is by their behavior that they are known. This okoampah is saw nothing wrong when Akufo Addo travelled to the UK for medical treatment but has the audacity to question Otumfuo. These are the ...

• NAKED 10 years ago

Asante kingdom have a lot of money and Gold and other natural resources but many Asante people are living in abject poverty why should it happen in that way with money and resources but still poor? the reason been that since ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Mr Beauty, did the late Prez Mills use any facilities of our hospitals! Was he not constantly having treatment abroad. Leave Otumfuo alone and let him reign the good people of Ashanti in peace.

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Going abroad for treatment is wrong

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

This is exactly what Kwame is worried about; that our leaders don't have to go to foreign countries if they can make our hospitals good. Please think.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Asantehene as a private citizen has done enough for KATH and has every right to seek medical attention anywhere he want. He does not collect taxes from Ghanaians to assume or allocate to himself government functions.

Leave ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Ashanti land is rich. Rich with cocoa and gold so why are the people so poor and uneducated? Asanti hene do something for your people

• kweku firi 10 years ago

what happened to his gods that protects
    him?

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

BECAUSE HE IS A BIG THIEVE ..... AND HAS MORE THAN ENOUGH OF YOUR MONEY TO GO ANYWHERE HE WANTS FOR MEDICAL REASONS. YOU WILL ALWAYS PAY THE COST, ANYWAY.

• CAPII 10 years ago

GHANA IS BLESSED WITH GOOD DOCTORS,POWER,WATER SITUATION MAKE HEALTH CARE ADMINISTRATION DIFFICULT. THE ALTERNATE IS OVERSEAS FOR THE RICH & PRIVILEGED AND THE ASHANTI KING,NANA ADDO ARE TWO EXAMPLES.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., PhD. can you please leave Otumfuo alone! What's your beef about the great King of the Ashanti Kingdom seeking medical attention outside Ghana? Is he obliged to go for medical checks only in Ghana? M ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I meant to say I live and work... not I leave
    thanks

• gg 10 years ago

I agree with you until you compared the SUNY college to Teacher Training college in Ghana. That school will be the best University in Ghana if it was to be in Ghana.

Even the ghetto high school in Bronx, New York has more ...

• Peter 10 years ago

Maybe the patriotic Okoampa-Ahoofe ought to have taken an exemplary cue from the immortalized former teacher Ephraim Amu, by teaching at Akropong PTC, or any of the other major training colleges and facilities dotted all acro ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Its about statesmen and private citizens. Poeple with power to transform Ghana hopping across the globe for medical check up instead of improving Ghana s for us and posterity.Eg:Akuffo Addo, Late Mills, and influential King w ...

• Peter 10 years ago

Cindy,you have a valid point. In fact not even the Minister of Health would patronise our healthcare system.But what I find curious and rich about Ahoofe's position is that at the time when the 'influential king' was on his w ...

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 10 years ago

For your information, Peter, "Okoampa" is not an Akyem name. Maybe you may want to check with the Asantehene and the Dwabenhene. Don't be presumptuous.

• Efienyansa 10 years ago

Links to the Amaniampong Silver Stool of Mampong? Are those links now being viewed with askance? Just checking!

• kwame 10 years ago

Mr. Akoampa,the writer. himself is domiciled in America. He should come home and lecture in one of our Universities to prove that we equally have good Universities here. He should set the ball rolling first.

• NANA APINTOHENE OF OBURONIKROM 10 years ago

We should try and reflect on the validity of Okoampa's article. Here, he is demonstrating distinguished criticism. However the reaction is natural and is a measure of the effectiveness of his write up. The repression or denia ...

• Ken Mensah 10 years ago

Mr Okoampa-Ahoofe, do you hold a Ghanaian or a US passport? Just asking..wondering if you swore allegiance to the 'stars and stripes'??

• confucious 10 years ago

A white leader uses his position to create names for him/herself but a fuckin' black nigger with the same position will be chasing for money. This the so-called otumfour is a typical example of a leader who has failed his own ...

• Prosper Ahialey 10 years ago

'gg' what is your concern? Whether ODURO or OBUOR, this person has not done anything different from what many of you do, i.e having many pseudo names. It is Kwame Danso aka Osei Danso, Yaw Oduro, Kwame Danso, Kofi Bonsu etc. ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

To even conceive the idea that, the Asantehene might have had any influence on the declaration of election result by the EC or the petition verdict by the SC,is diabolical to start with. It is only people who have immersed th ...