You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 01 19Article 298223

Mahama And His Father Abused The Northern Scholarship

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Ekuoba Gyasi, Leeds, UK 10 years ago

Northeners still enjoy free education till today? Mahama, you are a thief.That is why you don't allow Nana Akuffo-Addo to give free education to all ghanaians.

Why Mahama why this greediness? You want your people to enjoy ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

Gentleman, Justice Sarpong or whatever they call you. I don't agree with you at all. Your article is very discriminatory, and induces hatred. If the President says he won't disappoint Northners, which crime has he committed i ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Be objective! We are trying to a nation, not only the North!

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

GHANAian, I do not normally comment on tribal/racist articles but this one is certainly is not tribalism or racist. The article discusses a subject that is sensitive but must be discussed. In fact, whilst you accused SARPONG ...

• william 10 years ago

While northerners benefited from 'free' deducation sarpong was busy loading free literacy! Or beytter still imbibing a little knowledge which is dangerous for him and his community! Sarpong, the simple message of President M ...

• william 10 years ago

'free' education

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

Perhaps, back then, the aim of President Kwame Nkrumah and the guiding principle of his Government's Free Education for the people of the Northern Regions was trying to up the number of the educated citizenry.

Indeed, Nkru ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Do you remember Mahama accusing teachers and nurses being offered incentives to make their professions attractive as FREEBIES. Mahama is a hypocrite, a thief, and a selfish fool.

Why should the country continue to provide ...

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

You are the same as sarpong

• Yaw 10 years ago

Fool, stop being an asshole and accept the truth.

• ABONGOLAPUTA 10 years ago

I think the President with all apology forgot to apply his communication skills. The statement, "I will not disappoint Northerners" is unfortunate. This is because you cannot rob Peter to pay Paul, the national cake must be s ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

Gentleman, Justice Sarpong or whatever they call you. I don't agree with you at all. Your article is very discriminatory, and induces hatred. If the President says he won't disappoint Northners, which crime has he committed i ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

• JAK 10 years ago

guess he is one of those black short hairy dwarfs with a tail behind him calling himself ashanti. mercy on u

• Boss 10 years ago

He doesn't have a skin disease that afflict you smelly skunk. You smell like toilet.

• GHANAian 10 years ago

• YA TE ABRE 10 years ago

Was Nkrumah from the north.Go to Nkroful where Nkrumah grew up and you will appreciate his selflessness.Did he develop western region first,even though it is the most productive region in all the ten regions? YOUR ARTICLE IS ...

• Bunga Bunga 10 years ago

I think people like shallow minded Sarpong are the some of the semi educated literate who cannot address modern issues but have to resort to insults based on tribal pines. What has Mahama's father got to do with modern day p ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Who is Norman? A cowdung like your cracked heel self should go and take a shower and don't forget to schedule an appointment for brain transplant to remove your dependency atrophied brain.

Anybody who touches this issue is ...

• asa 10 years ago

It is unfortunate that people like justice sarpong will invoke the spirit of the Presidents father and insult northerners. The NPP wants to provide free education? Then why scrap the one for the north even if it is still ava ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Anytime I hear Northners talking about COCOBOD Scholarship, it makes me want to puke. COCOBOD scholarship is awarded to only academically gifted children of cocoa farmers and not everybody who is a child of a cocoa farmer.

• Popo,HK 10 years ago

You make some valid points.50+ years is enough time to bridge whatever gap there was.if the free education is to continue it should be for day students and those who want to be in the boarding house should pay for it.Alternat ...

• 50yrs free education for north is eno 10 years ago

Too much free stuff for our cattle brothers in the north is enough.

• Pero 10 years ago

I think those of you holding this opinion have the right to do so but you're ignorant of the facts that led to the institutionalization of the policy till date. Sarpong Justice wickedly and foolishly accused Prez Mahama and h ...

• Danso 10 years ago

For you to compare western countries aid given to Ghana to that of the north shows your level of understanding of such policies.

When are our brothers up north going to bridge the so-called gap when every single wealthy or ...

For how long do you want to get free education!

• jingoisis 10 years ago

Mensema, would please clam up? You ought to know better.....50 years is a relatively short time to close a glaring gap of economic inequity.....you sound like a far right Tea Party bigot calling for the elimination of affirma ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

So is it only Northerners who are poor in Ghana? You are right on the point about even a Southerner not tampering with this policy because all politicians in Ghana are cowards.

It was a democratic President in USA who put ...

• AbasZ 10 years ago

If Asantes are lazy,then compare their region to yours. Kwasea, all what Ntafo know is to marry more and produce children like 'Mice'. Their children with dirty nose,following cows. They only get bath when in The South. Pepe ...

• Dauda 10 years ago

yes you are one of the by-product, when your mom couldn't get right person in your community

• Bernard 10 years ago

Good morning Sarpong,

Less than 24hours after your stupid and tribalistic comment was placed on Ghanaweb with the sole purpose of inciting your primitive Ashanti(ieves) against the Northerners, the President responded in ...

Oh! Pluuuze! Get real and stop your tribal card!

• Kyenky3hene 10 years ago

Under which Cocobod scholarships are awarded to the wards of rich and influencial persons in society,as opposed to these grants going to the children of poor cocoa farmers, the truly needy but promising/talented youngsters,et ...

• Osei Kofi 10 years ago

Few cocoa farmers children get scholarships because this scholarship is based on academic performance and not tribe or geographical location of a region.

• Kyenky3hene 10 years ago

Why do some of you folks always want to distort the truth?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

What is the truth? Cocoa scholarship is not given to all children of cocoa farmers but only those who excell academically. It is also available to all Ghanaians not only Southerners. Northerners who are cocoa farmers also ben ...

• Ghana-ba 10 years ago

And so it was proper for taxes levies cocoa timber. you name monies to be used to offer FREE EDUCATION to the NORTH but not NATIONALLY?
    Where are all your wealthy Northerners living? Today you think it is okay because you h ...

• asunafo 10 years ago

The Northerners are enjoying free education but Grants and Subsidies for training colleges have been cancelled. Let the President know that What is good for the geese is also good for the gander. I totally agree with Mr. Sarp ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

All I asked from you Northerners to do is to be responsible for your own children education like the rest of Ghanaians. Your culture where the value of a man is measured by how many wives and children he has is archaic and do ...

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

You are tribalistic fool, you only know how to write gibberish, bush educated dighead

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Douchebag, you know what I said is true. Deny that your primitive culture does not measure the worth of a man by how many wives and children he has.

You want to breed like rabbits and stick the responsibility on me? No, n ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

All I asked from you Northerners to do is to be responsible for your own children education like the rest of Ghanaians. Your culture where the value of a man is measured by how many wives and children he has is archaic and do ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Mahama is very tribalistic and thinks and behaves as such with corruption and fraudulent thinking as as his second nature.
    it is time laws and controls are put in place to deal with tribalism, ethnocentrism, nepotism. For i ...

I like your boldness! There are those who will come here to insult you because what you havesaid touches

• paa 10 years ago

look at all this,ooooooooo sham on n p p

• oppong london 10 years ago

stupid ghanaians don,t listen when these foolish ndc cants are speakng,but when npp utters anything then it becomes topic of the day,ndc has been spoken of tribal,tribal all the time and none is taken seriously,john mahama b ...

• Dauda 10 years ago

Sarpong why don't you go and look for your father. who your real father is. At least the President knows his.

• Ghana-ba 10 years ago

Idiot, do you who Sarpong@s father is? Has he told you he has no father? Even RAWLINGS HAS A FATHER.

• Patriot 10 years ago

No wonder it is hard for peace to reign in the North because you people are a different breed. You all reason like cows.

• Gyeabour 10 years ago

empty barrel

• Kwesi 10 years ago

You are a bastard and a son of a whore, what is wrong with what Mr Sarpong said.

• pacha 10 years ago

even what you have just published is discriminatory.have you forgotten of'y3 akan fo'? by your defunct three times defeated flag bearer? wake up and stop this animal behavior.next time, think well before publishing such an ar ...

• Foyoso 10 years ago

Huh? Come up with a better argument why this policy that is discriminatory should be continued instead of you people being responsible for yourselves. It is not only Northerners who are poor, ok? Get rid of that poverty ment ...

• FRANCIS 10 years ago

WHAT IS REALLY WRONG WITH THIS NPP GUYS, THAT CLAIMS TO BE MAKING ALL SORT OF MOCKRY TO THEMSELFS IN THE MEDIA, WHAT I WRONG WITH WHAT THE PRESIDENT SAID, THIS GUYS HAVE SHORT MEMORY, WHEN NANA ADDO MADE THE SAME COMENT BOUT ...

Despite enjoying free education, you can't even express yourself well and you want to insult others.

• vindja 10 years ago

Travel to any part of Northern Ghana and you wonder if you are still in Ghana. Until the last two decades, the only paved road in all of northern ghana was 100 miles from Tamale to Bolga. Most of the nations revenue was used ...

• KOFI PRAH 10 years ago

FUCKING IDIOT!WE WENT ON A SCHOOL TRIP IN 1974,TO TAMALE,NAVRONGO,BOLGA.PAGA WAY UP TO UPPER VOLTA. THE ROADS FROM YENDI TO PAGA WERE BETTER THAN THE ONES IN THE COCOA PRODUCING AREAS.CUT THE CRAP!

• koffi kokodoko 10 years ago

Stop talking bullshit!!! Where is the TRIBALISM, in what he said!!! You are one of those who write stupid article.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

When Akuffo Addo said "Yen Akanfuo", you people said it is tribalistic. "I am from the North and will not disappoint Northerners" is worse than what Akuffo Addo said.

If this would have been the first time, it would not h ...

• TEE 10 years ago

THANK YOU JUSTICES SARPONG I ALWAYS ENJOY READING YOUR ARTICLES BLESS YOU FOR THE INFORMATION WHICH YOU BRINGS SOMETIMES TO US. I ALWAYS SAYS IF WE WILL ALL BE NORTHERNERS IN GHANA I THINK BY NOW WE WOULD HAVE KILLED EACH OTH ...

• Mère 10 years ago

If you are peeved let your polilitcal party put as a manifesto promise for 2016 election

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Peeved is the wrong word. Use justice. I am crying for justice for all Ghanaians. It is not only the Northerners who are poor and the the time has come to stop accepting the expired freebies education coupons.

• KKO 10 years ago

Yes, the policy ought to be debated as a national issue. The only reason why this discriminatory policy has continued for nearly sixty years is because most people in the southern regions of Ghana do not know about it.

Wh ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

KKO, this isn't, exclusively, the fault of Northerners, and neither is it that this policy continued for nearly sixty years because most people in the Southern regions of Ghana do not know about it.

To argue on my first li ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

"However this issue is a political hot potato no Southern politician wants to handle".

Exactly. This is an issue I will not blame the Southern Polititians for being quiet about. Any Politician who has a Presidential ambiti ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

KKO you are damn right about it.

• Mama. HOPE 10 years ago

Mr. J C Akosah(Aka) Kofi Yesu had 86 children at the time he died all educated by him. He was a. DC during President Nkrumah era.

President Mahamas father gave birthwort 19 children and the state funded their education bec ...

• SADIQ BRAIMAH 10 years ago

JUSTICE, HOW CAN U BE SO JEALOUS OF A PERSON AND STOOP SO LOW TO INSULT HIM AND HIS FATHER? WHERE DOES HON. E.A. MAHAMAH COME IN HERE? AS FOR SOME OF U ASHANTIS, THE LEAST SAID ABOUT U THE BETTER. THE LATE GENERAL AFRIFA WENT ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Predident Mahama father abused the system for educating his 19 children for free despite him being a rich man.

What is wrong with you people common sense seems to have eluded you. Justify for me why a mogul like Agambire ...

• Goodnews 10 years ago

Mr Sarpong, while the major thrust of your article,the re-examination of the policy of free education for our brothers from the Northern Region is right on point, your style of personal insults directly at our President and t ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Sorry if calling people to be responsible is an insult, I apologize ok?

The time has come to discard the ptimitive culture where the value of a Northern man is measured by how many wives and children he has. This culture ...

Not insults; it's parody!

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Time long-long over due to stop the up-north free education nonsense since these people do not even respect the huge contributions from the hard working Southerners and despicably call the poor hard working Ashante cocoa farm ...

• TEE 10 years ago

THESE NORTHERNERS ARE EASY TO BE FOOLED BY THE VISIONLESS PRESIDENT. HE IS GOING TO BUILD A ROAD FOR THEM AND THEY WILL CHOP COOL ON 2016 IDIOTS MAHAMA SENSELESS

• Dia 10 years ago

Justice Sarpong, it is quite clear that you did not research your subject well but rather engaged in diatribe. If you did you would have known that just one year after Kwame Nkrumah became leader of government business fee fr ...