You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 01 04Article 296896

My opinionated 2013 Africa starting XI

Read Comments Comments (30)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• dave 10 years ago

Kwasia sem saa. how does your foolish rantings relate to the soccer topic.silly boy

IM generaINGe debate and stirRING up some controversy as usual with my own views

WITH AN EXPERIENCED TD IN HIS CORNER AT AFCON2013. AA WOULD HVE EASILY WON THE TROPHY. RATHER THAN USING THAT AFCON AS A YADSTICK TO ASSESS HIM. THESE TWERPS ARE MENTALLY BLIND N CONSTIPATED. THEY RELYING SOLELY ON EMOTIONAL ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

I think you were rather hard on your compatriot.
    Apart from Asamoah Gyan, I'll include Agyeman-Badu, Central Midfielder, Christian Ateu, Holding Midfielder , and Jerry Akaminko, Centre Back.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Typo - I meant Christian Atsu.

• Robert 10 years ago

I am shocked if you can forget about a player like Kwadwo Asamoah even if you are selecting best 20 in the world.your selection is bogus

• Africanus 10 years ago

Robert, I think he is right for not including Kwadwo Asamoah. The writer's selection is based largely on performance on the African continent, notably participation in AFCON and the WC qualifying. From that perspective I agre ...

• Fred 10 years ago

I agree with all your views. I think u are spot on and very objective. I heard someone mention Agyemang badu. I disagree becos AB hasn't been good this year either at the African cup or qualifiers where he was rightly overloo ...

• Fred 10 years ago

Kwadwo Asamoah has proved himself with juventus but has hardly made any impact on the continent. He is inconsistent even in the ghana set up so why shd his name be on the list? Wo paaa

• askantwi 10 years ago

IT IS because he is constatly being played at left back, out of position. HE IS THE BEST PLAYER IN AFRICA CURRENTLY when he plays at his usual attacking midfield position. How many of those players can play at the left back a ...

• Fred 10 years ago

Antwi, u are not getting the point. The last time Kwadwo played left back for Ghana was at the AFCON!! He has however not made any impact in his favorite midfield position with Ghana apart from the goal he scored against Zamb ...

I WILL PICK KASA OVER BURKINABE PITRIOPA ON THE LEFT WING.

• Probable Squad 10 years ago

GHANA vs USA - June 16
    -----------------------------------

Adam Larsen Kwarasey (Goalkeeper)

David Addy (Defender)
    Harrison Afful (Defender)
    Jerry Akaminko (Defender)

Kwadwo Asamoah (Midfielder)
    Michael Essi ...

• kofi 10 years ago

not bad.

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH.USA) 10 years ago

I like your team, but instead of Atsu I would love to have Sulley Muntari start or come in for him, because to me Muntari is a more tactical midfield player and he falls deeper to help the defense than Atsu does. Atsu is mor ...

• Fred 10 years ago

Youre right on Atsu! He also struggles on big occasions like he did at the AFCOn. He always performs better when he comes on when the job is done!! Very immature in his play and has hardly made any impact in Holland. I always ...

• Starting XI against USA in Brazil 10 years ago

GHANA vs USA - June 16
    -----------------------------------

Adam Larsen Kwarasey (Goalkeeper)

Daniel Opare (Right Fullback)
    Jonathan Mensah (Central Defender)
    Jerry Akaminko (Central Defender)
    Kwadwo Asamoah (Left Fu ...

• Fred 10 years ago

I agree with your selection except I will start Rabiu rather than Essien! Considering whether to start Prince; These injury prone players got to be preserved until the match hots up or the opposition is tiring!!

• OGA DABIDA yum yum 10 years ago

thank you

• Sintim 10 years ago

Fred is damn right,KPB specially have to start from the bench not only against USA but Germany also.He is the player to be dealt with according to their soccer experts as such hardcore defenders will be assigned to that task ...

• Fred 10 years ago

I will play Opare instead of Addy. I will play Boye instead of Akaminko. I will [lay Agyemang Badu or Wakaso or even Muntari before considering Astu (who is still immature in his play). For a first match Atsu will tense up ju ...

SQUAD FOR BRASIL AS OF TODAY, TODAY:
    The Best Offense is a Good Defense
    AKWARA, ADJEI, DAUDA, ...3
    R/LB: OPARE, AFFUL, D ADDY, NANA ASARE..4
    CB: AWAL, J.MENSAH, LEE ADDY, AKAMINKO....4
    DM: ESSIEN, MUNTARI, RABIU, BADU... ...

• BJ 10 years ago

I totally agreed with you. This is a fair and unbiased selection. U really understand d Game. U follow Africa footballers both home and abroad. There is another player in Nigeria that is playing nice football here in Europe, ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

The guy is deadly on the wings! My two cents.

• Fred 10 years ago

Aubameyang is the player missing. But can understand why the writer prefers Gyan in the hole! Aubemayang is Africas answer to Neymar without question!!!

AUBEMEYANG WAS GREAT IN FRANCE, BUT HAS FAILED TO RISE UP TO THE OCCASSION WITH DORTMUND. ESPECIALLY WITH BIG CLUBS...

• Fred 10 years ago

Aubemayang was on the final list of BBC Africa Player of the year not for his achievements in France but for his play at Dortmund!! Please go to youtube and see what he is doing at Dortmund!!

• Paa 10 years ago

No serious coach in our continent would prefer Djan to Drogba. Besides, African can boast of many better attackers equally in the 'hole' than Djan. Using AFCON as a yardstick for your analysis makes your analogy very weak. I ...

• joseph nargwah 10 years ago

i think COACH KWASI APPIAH deserves coach of the year for the 2013 african XI equally! Despite he has helped qualify GHANA to the 2014 FIFA WORLD CUP,beating ZAMBIA( GHANA's rival for 2013) and also 7-time african champions, ...