You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 12 01Article 293763

Rawlings is the man!!!!

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Obeng Rago - 10 years ago

Who was the President of Ghana at the time of this OIL Drill saga? Answer - John Jeremiah

Rawlings!!! I THEREFORE ASK HIM THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

Was J J Rawlings aware of the loan deal between Tsatsu led GNPC and a ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Shut up kortiborto Ashanti man wo hu bon. Comment on the article dam fool

• anette 10 years ago

the woman behind this great man. she gave him what it takes. amen

• kojo 10 years ago

Absolute nonsence!!!. After all these years of autocratic power from Rawling, are we successful??. He killed people who were only enjoying the benefit of their jobs but came misused our resources by ordering expensive 4x4 suc ...

• Ashkenazi 10 years ago

EVERY ONE GOD HAS GIVEN TO US AS A LEADER HAS DONE THEIR PART IN THEIR DAYS ACCORDING TO THE TIMINGS OF THE TIME. LET US BE THANKFUL FOR ALL OF THEM

• SADIQ BRAIMAH 10 years ago

Hardi, this is the bast tribute that we can py Papa Jay. We do not have to wait till after his death to remember all these. Thank you very much Hardi. May the Almighty bless you, for He says express gratitude to your neighbo ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

Sadiq, see the quality of your written English. Obviously you are not well educated. If your hero, Rawlings, had been a better and selfless leader of the country and had taken good stewardship of our country's resources and i ...

• Amecole. 10 years ago

Kobina, Sadiq got his point across, and remember people have a right to their views, this is what "education" teaches us.
    Of course mistakes happened under JJ's rule (especially AFRC and PNDC). Those were difficult times, an ...

• SULTAN 10 years ago

KOBINA,JUDGING BY THE VEHEMENT ELOQUENCE OF YOUR ENGLISH,AM I RIGHT IN ASSUMING YOU WERE EDUCATED IN A HIGH QUALITY SCHOOL IN THE UK OR IRELAND?

• Kobina 10 years ago

I was educated in Ghana in Nkrumah's free education system, continued at Komenda Teacher Training College, studied privately for the GCE "O" and "A" levels while teaching at Tarkwa, and ended up at Legon. Rawlings came to mes ...

• SULTAN 10 years ago

Kobina, thank you very much for you answer.I have always been pissed off as to why Rawllings changed the whole education system for the worse.Frankly,i wanted to know whether you were schooled during THE PNDC/NDC ERA.THANKS.

• Shamu 10 years ago

Look! this is not about English, is about the fact. Thank God that you understand what this gentleman means. Please, I want you to check your mental capability before criticizing someone.

• SULTAN 10 years ago

SHAMU, ANY NORMAL PERSON WILL AGREE THAT KOBINA"S MENTAL STATE IS PERFECT,JUDGING BY THE ARTICLE AND ITS RELEVANCE TO EDUCATION AND THE HYPOCRISY OF JJ. SENDING HIS KIDS ABROAD FOR A BETTER EDUCATION AND GIVING SADIQ A DREADF ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Kobina do you think Sadiq can read or even worse-still, understand your level of English? He is happy being an idiot so leave him alone. By deliberately destroying the educational system, Rawlings created millions of such peo ...

• Obeng Rago - 10 years ago

Between 1996 and 1998, Tsatsu Tsikata entered into transactions with a French Bank called Societe Generale for a Bank Loan. The Bank asked for Ghana's Oil Drill Ship as guarantee before the loan was given to the Ghanaians. T ...

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

You should be glad your family member was not executed by 30 something year old Rawlings and his posse. In the end, his legacy is ede be keke. You are a moron for writing this crap.

• pulinjasco 10 years ago

Humm did you consider that in every action there's good and bad in His era the peace we enjoy up to date is what kill our dear friends to me let us pray for them too they have also die for the peace of their beloved country.M ...

• RUTH 10 years ago

THIS WRITER ADORES MURDERERS.

• Justice 10 years ago

There is no civilization (NONE) in this world that has peace today that was not won by the power of the gun or through violence. From the Roman empire, Vikings, to the USA to corrupt and crime riddled Ghana its the same. Sure ...

• Asem! 10 years ago

Thank u very much IBRAHIM I will call u. You hv the GOD given sense.As Einstein stated,"Great minds hv always encountered violent opposition 4rm mediocre" J.J. Rawlings has a great MIND.

• FRANK OKINE. 10 years ago

FOR ME, ONLY ONE THING SUMS UP THE ACHIEVEMENT OF THIS GREAT SON OF GHANA. WHILE DEMOCRATS ACROSS AFRICA WERE TURNING TO BECOME DICTATORS, HE ON THE OTHER HAND WAS A DICTATOR WHO BECAME A DEMOCRAT, PAVING THE WAY FOR ALL THE ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

Frank, Rawlings didn't become a 'democrat' by choice. He was compelled by desperate circumstances to convert, albeit reluctantly. After grossly mismanaging the economy, he had no choice than to turn to the IMF for help throug ...

• FRANK OKINE. 10 years ago

KWABENA, THAT IS TRUE BUT THERE ARE DICTATORS WHO UNDER THE SAME PRESSURE STILL REMAIN DICTATORS AND WOULD NOT YIELD TO PRESSURE FROM THE IMF. MUGABE,BONGO AND MANY OTHERS ARE STILL AT THE HELM OF AFFAIRS IN THEIR COUNTRIES, ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

Frank, my friend, I like the way you tenaciously defend your viewpoint. I agree entirely with your submission. He changed and that was good for our country. I was just asserting the fact that his transformation was neither al ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Are you sure that if he was not "compelled my desperate circumstances to convert" and that the country was ruled by the military, [we] would not be far ahead with a more successful state?

Sure, he would be called all derog ...

• Shamu 10 years ago

You again. Do you have anything personal against this great son of Ghana. I can tell from your views that, instead of generalizing people idea, you rather turn to personalize them. Frankly speaking, you need to go back to sch ...

• RUTH 10 years ago

ARE U SURE HE WAS 'WINNING' THE ELECTIONS GENUINELY? IT WAS RIGGING ALL THE WAY LIKE WE HAD IN 2012!!!!!

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

He was worse than the cancer that he thought was ailing the country. His actions did not cure anything, rather made things worse.Recently, a man stole GHC800, and gets 20 years jail time, but a politician steals Millions and ...

• DP 1500i TAMROCK 10 years ago

Ghanaians can not take away Rawlings achievements for Ghana. Rawlings is truely the man.
    He nearly got himself into a situation where Ghanaians started to loose respect for him. All the same he is my man.

• koffi kokodoko 10 years ago

The whole world recognize his greatest achievement,so if there are two or tree people who think otherwise it is not a big deal.I am sure 80% of Ghanaian love
    J J Rawlings.We forgot when Nigeria deported millions of Ghanaian, ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

80% of Ghanaians love Rawlings? What have you been smoking, Koffi? You are obviously hallucinating.

• Obournana 10 years ago

I believe Kobina is the son of Kweku Baako who despised Rawlings but later became pocket PRO for the Rawlings family to achieve his failed political ambition for NPP in 2012. Yes 80% of Ghanaians love him and what have you? T ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

Obournana, I would be greatly honoured if I was the son of Kweku Baako. After all, he is the most outstanding and indefatigable journalist in the country. He would surely debunk your bogus 80% support theory with proven resea ...

• Shamu 10 years ago

Kobina hahahahahaha. you need medication please. I will advise you to check in any available mental hospital

• RUTH 10 years ago

GHANAIANS LIKE KILLERS, EH?

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

...just leave them to accuse/crusify the BRAVE/SAVIOUR RAWLINGS and praise the man KUFOUR the 50 CENT...WE NEED HIM THIS TIME AGAIN,but he can't just be doing donkey works for thieves/profiteers...RAWLINGS IS THE MAN!!!and ch ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

sorry,not addressed to you pls,rather to koffi

• Paa Smart 10 years ago

And let me add to the last writer that: and he can never understand why Mr Rawlings is viewed negatively by many people inspired of the so called "great
    things" he did for Ghana until the end of his life because he refuses ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

fearless J.J is the man...!

• Abebrese 10 years ago

You are blind deaf and a BIG FOOL.Who is the only president of Ghana who lined up people at Teshie and gunned them down. That atrocities have not prevented your party members the NDC to create loot and share.AFOO KOKRO.

• Agbovi 10 years ago

Hardi, how much did you receive to write such thrash? He killed because somebody borrowed Money from a bank with interest to pay back.What are we seeing now in the NDC ,he stole Ghanaian tax payers Money to form? Is still Raw ...

• acu, London 10 years ago

That is why most Nigerians are praying for Rawlings Incarnate to appear in their 419 country to put things aright.

• Kobina 10 years ago

Ghana will be better off if Rawlings got reincarnated in Nigeria. I wish Nigerians good luck. Hope it happens and soon.

• Humanity 10 years ago

Even Jesus Christ was a revolutionist .A revolutionist is hated by the few elites and embraced by the majority poor who have no any prospect. That is why Jesus is hated by the few elites and worship by the majority who are wa ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

HUUUUUM/RAWLINGS IS THE MAN...they will not be happy because it wasn't KUFOUR but rather the BRAVE WARRIOR JJ RAWLING,they would have be calling to make HIM(KUFOUR) a living SAINT or name GHANA after him,if it was he who took ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

you are right. Like they did to Kwame Nkrumah and now Rawlings. Unfortunately, the only Ashanti president Kuffour came to steal Ghana money to amass wealth for his family and cronies. Nothing, Nada, to boast of, hence the jea ...

• Cash 10 years ago

Are you really serious?

• attu zongo 10 years ago

thank you mr. kuffuor for sparing this useless stupid criminal call rawlings else he should be in ukraine prison by now, all this massive hardship and unemployment is one of the numerous crimes committed by this criminal murd ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

lucky your "50 CENT KUFOUR came after the JUNE 4th revolution,if not he would have been the first and only one to face the realities of that time...it takes a REVOLUTION to find a SOLUTION...RAWLINGS IS THE MAN!!!

• TEE 10 years ago

WELL YOU KNOW WHAT, I AM NOT SURPRISED BCOS I KNOW WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM AND FOR THAT REASON I WON'T EVEN BOTHERED TO WORST MY TIME PERIOD. TELL RAWLINGS HE WILL SUFFER BEFORE HE CLOSED HIS EYES. THE WORST LEADER FOR 30 Y ...

• Ghana will outlive them 10 years ago

stupid

• RA 10 years ago

Good one there. There story must be told in black and white. Long live JJ. Long live JM.

• oforiwaa 10 years ago

love him to death.

• Stephen B. 10 years ago

He is the man of everything I appreciate that but remember 20years is a lot.

• kwaku USA 10 years ago

Do we still such sycophant and naif guy in Ghana?

• EE 10 years ago

SS

• Nii 10 years ago

Nonesense who told you that Tema oil refinery was built by rawlings, you fool
    go and check your records . if you dont ask and you will be told ok. Rawlings destroy all the factories at Tema. TTL ,GTMC GTP VALCO ,ATL ,JTL BO ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Acheampong that he cold blooded murdered performed far better than him(Rawlings)

• kofi atta 10 years ago

All these things u listed as JJs achievement, which one put food on the table of Ghanaian masses....u r one of the northerners that invite insults for northerners becoz of foolishness....

• jacktolonto 10 years ago

and also lined up 8 army officers and killed them by firing squad and the judjes too

• Ebenezer Nii Amu First-Quao 10 years ago

....Ghana's international standing was high enough to earn us the election of Kofi Annan as UN Secretary-General(two terms and a Nobel Peace Prize). Our diplomatic service thereafter could not even transition KY Amoako of the ...

• George debuzzy clan 10 years ago

I am so happy that we have people like Ibrahim who recognizes the important role Ex president Jerry John Rawlings played in the development and more so the history of our Dear nation Ghana.Infact a section of Ghanaians especi ...

• Alhaji muntala 10 years ago

u did ua best

• Joseph Mensah 10 years ago

Yes. Let the foolish ones start talking nonsence because they have no brain and will still be foolish. They are perished because they lack knowledge. Rawlings is the man. Yes he is and God bless him always. I love Rawlings a ...