You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 09 28Article 287209

The Statistics of Atuguba's Petition

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Kay 10 years ago

OUR GOD WILL BE OUR JUDGE.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

You are saying this because you put your trust in the bullshit that Danquah Imbeciles aare peddling.

• Justin 10 years ago

I think all of these legal gymnastics by Sam Okudzeto are of no moment since Akuffo-Addo has already conceded. Nothing stops Sam Okudzeto and his ilk from going to the Supreme Court for a review if they genuinely believe that ...

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Does pronouncement of innocence on one count negate quilt on other counts?

• Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

This is scant justice to Mr Sam Okudzeto’s observations. You have to consider the totality of the petitioner’s case, the reliefs they sought, the issues set out for trial and the final ruling before you can appreciate wha ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

If you re run an election in an NDC stronghold polling station where the Presiding Officer failed to sign the pink sheet, what are the chances of the outcome been different to the previous election? Nil I'll say. And that wil ...

I don't know whether you were responding to my posting. The argument you are presenting here has been beaten to death whilst the petition subsisted.

Let me join your argument though. First of all I agree with those who are ...

The first thing you must support is a law which prohibits a party from declaring the results in its favour and having done so seek all manner of dubious means to substantiate its claim.

Then you must also support the conte ...

• Santo 10 years ago

Did the irregularities affect the outcome? Only if 4 million votes were annulled otherwise a re-run suggested by the Judges would have only confirmed the results.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Your opinions are not necessary correct, and in this case I would say that they are flawed. Why did the petitioners argue against (and supported by the same SC ruling 6:3) the EC submitting in evidence biometric datar, voter ...

• KING 10 years ago

General, ur reasoning is not reasonable enough.because re run as directed by some of de judges was not necessarily to overturn the results but to give meaning to the law and confirm the winner if the winner had truely won .no ...

Re run to give meaning to the law? I am lost for words.

Yaw, why or why did the petitioners not ask for a simple reconciliation of biometric data, voter register data and the ballots cast which would have answered all three reliefs they asked for, taken less time and frankly saved ...

Paul, I do not know if you have followed some of my writings on the petition. I have always said that the petition took too long and that all that was required was a scrutiny of all electoral records.

However the Rules of ...

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

Yaw, the consistent stance of those making alternative argument to yours is that those administrative errors did not adversely affect the result of the election so the exercise was an exercise in futility.To suggest that thes ...

Nii, you are questioning my stance based on what others have said by labelling 'irregularities' as 'administrative errors'? What demonstration have they given that these were errors that did not affect numbers?

I consider ...

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

Yaw,these irregularities as you prefer to call them did not alter the final outcome of the votes caste.At least there was no evidence to that effect.What you are seeking to do is to use technicalities like the signature examp ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Yaw Ohemeng, in the light of the observations made by the Carter centre as reported by you, what was their overall verdict on the election and results?

As far as I am aware, every one of the observer teams declared the ele ...

For 2008, I agree. But with the closeness of elections in Ghana, these canno be ignored further. I am by no means asking that results should be reversed. However we will be storing trouble for ourselves if we continue to igno ...

• Rockson Adofo 10 years ago

When all are said and done, why do idiots go on analyzing what can never reverse night/day to day/night. Have these jokers thought about doing something better with themselves other than losing their childish brains. Go kiss ...

• Kojo KOMANU 10 years ago

As women suffer from menopause, men also suffer from andropause and are unable to correctly remember what they had learnt in the past. The oldman has lost his knowledge of the principles of the law. Thus, he has failed to und ...

• Mahomet 10 years ago

Komanu, You should go a children's playground. You are too young (in thinking) to contribute to something so deep.

It is beyond you and that's why you responded in such childish and childlike fashion.

• Chabba 10 years ago

Atugba's analysis and decision seem wrong to me. I agree with lawyer Okudzeto's assertion that Justice Atugba was disingenuous in handing out the judgement in favour of John Mahama. This is because judgement decisions cannot ...

• Brother 10 years ago

/why do you talk about Atuguba JSC as if the other 8 were only mere observers Chabba?

The DI and the merry band of pettifoggers say they won by 5-4. The petition asked for the annulment of 4 or perhaps 3 million votes and for the re-computation of the results which would have given Akuffo Addo was it 52% or 51 ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• AMB 10 years ago

And John Mahama will still win to prove that Nana and his cohorts are indeed liars and that the judges did a fantastic job

• AMB 10 years ago

Let's not be theoritical about this. Fortunately all the Judges are alive and the judgement was read on their behalf without a dissenting voice. The choice of method is theirs and not bigots and political prostitutes like Sa ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Stupidity can no be re-born.He fell from the stage-podium,lost election by the bailot-box,dismissed/disgraced at the court.Is not proper to find remedies for his hard-luck!

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

If per Sam Okudjeto's analysis, Justice Baffoe-Bonnie upheld only the claim of voting without biometric verification, and dismiss all the other claims, this means that except, the issue of voting without biometric verificatio ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Nana Addo himself knows that he lost the élections alright but was forced to go to court because some clerical errors were detected somewhere.What we should be concerned about is the ballot and the will of the people.Thank y ...

Why do you seek to confuse yourself and with it others?

First, you create the impression Sam Okuidjeto's truncated, confused, biased and daft analysis had any merit and / or that it was important or significant. It is not ...

• Alhajj 10 years ago

As a young Lawyer, I was baffled when the judgment was pronounced. We were all witnesses to the fact that the SC itself came out with the Summons for Direction. 1. Whether or not there were statutory violations, malpractices ...

As a "young lawyer" you have just made a vague and confusing posting. What exactly are you trying to put across? And if indeed you are a lawyer, then it seems to me you have been poorly trained. That you cannot examine the fa ...

• Speedy Gonzalez 10 years ago

Go to the library and research,that will do you a lot of good.

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 10 years ago

Why is everyone saying that Justice Atuguba got it wrong as if the final say on the Petition rested with him? Was the Presideing Justice not reading what had been agreed upon by all the 9 Justices? Was the Presiding judge al ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Jojo, you are absolutely right.

Please see my earlier posting for a more detailed analysis.

Okudzeto is numerately challenged and needs education in basic arithmetic.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

The simple answer is that none of the SC judges voted in favour of the petitioners. The petitioners had wanted 4 million votes cancelled and the election awarded to Nana Addo. None of the judges granted this plea.

The nea ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

How many times didn't the supreme court through the presiding judge remind you NPP ignoramuses that as superiro court of adjucature, they are not bound by the procedures and laws of the lower courts and that they are followin ...

• Kwobia,Toronto 10 years ago

Some more legal stupidity.this article is about rewriting the petition to get the verdict the writer wants.Atubuga's verdict will always stand.

• Eric London 10 years ago

Corrupt judge like Atuguba. God will judge him for what he has done to the poor Ghanaians.