You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 18Article 282725

Legacy of Danquah-Busia and Nkrumah Traditions – Part 2

Read Comments Comments (38)

• CARDINAL OF ILLITERATES 10 years ago

Kwesi Atta, there are more to talk about the irresponsible way Busia handled Ghana in the shortest period.

I have always known that Busia cancelled teacher training colleges allowances depriving the poor of quality educati ...

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

Akwesi Atta, you got ythis wrong. Ankrah inaugurated the center for civic education and made Busia the first chairman.

You are feeding the public with lies.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Akwesi, I can appreciate the enormous task of summarising such a large span of events into an article size post but the number of factual errors, besides the nuances overlooked, made me grit my teeth at points reading through ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

JB Danquah was a step brother not a blood brother. Nana Ofori Attah II shared a father who was a step father to JB Danquah through marriage. JB Danquah was a toddler when his mother married Nana Ofori Attah II's father. Nana ...

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

Nkrumah obtained his MA from the University of Pennsylvania(a member of the Ivy League and one of the foremost universities in the world(Ahoofe,eat your heart out!),and not from the Univ. of Philadelphia.

PEACE

Ok, so the correct choice of phrase is step-brother, not half-brother. Also, Univ. of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Below is a review which does more and better justice to the subject.

Andy-K

Afr.j. polit. sci. (1997 ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

JB Danquah's hometown is Akyem Tafo, though he was born in Kwahu Bepong, near Kwahu Mpraeso. Kwahu Bepong is often refered to as "Kwahu Russia". His mother hailed from Akyem Old Tafo that is why he was qualified to become the ...

• CONCERNED GHANAIANS 10 years ago

Related to Nana Bosompem? You don't mean it! Btw, where is Nana Bosompem?

• KAB 10 years ago

At least I still remember that Ghana dropped to second and later to third position in world cocoa production under PNDC.
    Again, it was under the Limann regime that the leader of the opposition in parliament Hon Kwaku Baah b ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

After the fall of Mozanbique, Angola and Zimbawe, with the help of the Cubans, the Apartheid regime found herself surrounded and therefore felt pressured to negotiate. Had it not been the armed struggle, the Black Southern Af ...

• KAB 10 years ago

With all respect, I wish to remind Nana Yaw that Ian Smith was not overrun by any army of the nationalist forces. Rhodesia did not fall through any armed struggle, but through dialogue at a round table conference. Let's not d ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The UK begged the Zimbabwean freedom fighters not to invade Rhodesia. Rhodesia saw the end coming when South African Apartheid regime could not afford to support them any longer!!! The White Boers south Africans, like the Zio ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Busia owned the 1966 coup and was the tutelary think tank behind all its policies. Why would Ankrah a soldier and not the sociologist/educationist Professor Busia be the brain behind the Center for Civic education? Good try b ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The elitist buffoon traitor and a CIA agent could not even win a seat to the parliament. He was beaten by his own nephew in his own constituency on the CPP ticket. He was a villain in his own home tuff. He was affiliated with ...

• JUDA 10 years ago

J.B DANQUAH WAS A CIA AGENT, NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT. HE SOLD HIS CONSCIENCE TO THE WHITEMAN & BETRAYED HIS COUNTRY.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Nkrumah was a KGB agent.

• Biko 10 years ago

"Kufour is one of the greatest and astute leaders we have ever had in Ghana." What an exaggeration ! Built bridges where? Just because be buried Fathia beside Nkrumah? So Ghana got developed thereafter? You contaminated what ...

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

I think the author of this article is a bit timid as he got most of the things wrong.

Center for Civic Education was inaugurated by Ankrah NOT Busia. Ankrah made Busia the first chairman but this author is too timid to hav ...

• Sam 10 years ago

Hi Biko
    Do not talk about hotel de Waawa. Look, your Rawlings and his ahantan wife Konadu a wantumi anye man stole Ghana money to establish a diamond jewerely outlet in Europe,ask them what happened to the diamond outlet in ...

• Biko 10 years ago

Sam, I only commented on what was presented in the write-up. I hold no brief for the Rawlingses who were not praised. I also made no comparison with the Rawlingses. Thanks anyway for admitting that 'Hotel De Waawaa' was a fra ...

• ????? 10 years ago

Your comment show's how you hate the man Kufuor but you can never match up his success, whether hotel the wawa or the papa he has served his beloved country well.You can have sleepless nights about him who care's you stressin ...

• kweku abraham . london 10 years ago

Thank you very much for this rich history .

• kusi 10 years ago

foolish idiot don't con us with what u don't know much stupid man

• Joni 10 years ago

Danquah and Busia didn't call themselves Matemeho. That term was a derogatory one given to them by their opponents. You should make that clear and not pass it off as their historically correct name.

The CMB scholarship was ...

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 10 years ago

Joni,

Thanks for correcting my wayward cousin, whose long articles are mostly filled with half truths.

I read his article late and was too tired to correct him. Well done for the corrections.

Drink one up on me.

• Kwame Asante 10 years ago

Joni, thanks so much for your correction to this useless historical revision. A lot of people try to write and twist truths to suit their whims and caprices. Korlebu hospital was not established by Kwame Nkrumah. Governor Gor ...

Thanks for your additions and corrections. I was going to mention some of the things you mentioned in my own rejoinder above but gave up in order to concentrate on what puts bread on my table.

Andy-K

• Y.S. 10 years ago

Egya Attah, Thanks for your interesting treatise Nkrumah Traditions Part 2. Unfortunately I have also noticed one or two minor impressions that I need to bring to your attention:
    Prempeh I, was exiled to Seychelles durin ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

That was A Lang's 600th Job!

No governmnet before or after has ever come anywhere close to Busia's Rural Development Programme. It eradicated guinea worm, yaws and cholera from the countryside. If he had been allowed anot ...

• AJ-USA 10 years ago

mr writer,give us a break.we are tired of past event been revisit.even a six years old boy in Ghana as at now knows there is something wrong with our dear nation.yet we always wants to tell the ppl the problems rather then ta ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Ghana is like an open wound. She needs a medicine that will help heal her wound. These old news or whatever, is dead. Just imagine how taxes have been raised. Workers have not been paid. Our roads are crumbling. Hospitals a ...

• Concern Ghanabi 10 years ago

Say that again.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Say it again bro. We have lots of the living but dead people in our midst .

• Ghanaba Babs in the Diaspora 10 years ago

Danquah canvassed for the then Ashanti Colony and Northern Territories to join the Gold Coast Colony to form the Ghana we know today

Danquah joined the National Liberation Movement (MLM), which became known as Matemeho or ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Your knowledge of the history of Ghana is pathetic!

Oh so neo-colonialists and imperialist stooges are just the ones who are influenced by the west uh? What do you call the ones the Russians made asses of?

• Ghanaba Babs in the Diaspora 10 years ago

I reserve my right of silence Kobena. No need to argue further. I have made my point clear about the poor deductive reasoning underpinning the writer's logic. Nkrumah's legacy particularly in Education is unparalled . State i ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

There are few omissions about projects Nkrumah established, but the important ones need mentioning in this comments are the Tema harbour and township.

• Nusex A 10 years ago

LUCKILY GHANAIANS CAN READ AND WRITE, MORE ESPECIALLY, ANALYSE POSITIVELY. I STILL INSIST THAT THERE IS LEGACY FROM THE DANQUAH - BUSIA REGIME. PLEASE DO NOT ATTEMPT TO CONFUSE YOURSELF. NKRUMAH'S LEGACY DISTINCT. DANQUA ...