You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 08Article 281878

A reply to Prof. Prempeh

Read Comments Comments (39)

• kk 10 years ago

Great commentary, well researched article keep it up Bro. The prof goofed.

• OZA 10 years ago

Sir, you are simply too good a lawyer. This is the first time a learned person has explained his opinion so clearly on this forum without confusing us with those unnecessary (show off) BIG words and chains of adjectives. I ho ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I think I have said in few words what HKP had said in very many words in his response to this critique.

Simple Man,

Yours is a brilliant contribution on the evolution of fundamental rights, and I wish many readers read ...

• holy smoke 10 years ago

This was I expect from well meaning and educated Ghanaians. To argue the point without insults. This what happens in civilized societies. The Prof can then reply and we all learn something.

• Seko 10 years ago

If so why were some Ghanains denied the right to vote becuase the BVM could not pick their finger prints? We also do not need CI 74 or any other regulations to govern the elections. the only think needed then is the prove of ...

• van-london 10 years ago

Good job. Well done!

• Ken 10 years ago

Justice Sai, how can something be natural and unnatural at the same time? If the right to vote is God given right, then why do we bother to register before we can vote? God given right is given to any human being including on ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

Ken, please do you also know that it is God given right for every human being to have/enjoy sex but do you allow your one year old child to have sex? Kwasiaaa analogy from you Ken. Hahahaaa.

• Sumanguru Kante 10 years ago

There is a difference having a right and not being able to exercise it; the fact that children are not able to have sex because they are not allowed to or because they are not in the state to do so, does not mean that the rig ...

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

These are arguments about jurisprudence transposed into the political arena for political expedience.The old arguments about the values of natural law and positive law is being twisted as if the on going debate is now settled ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Is fundamental not God given ! H Prempeh is right

• God is great 10 years ago

They have the right to vote but the have to come to Ghana. Prof. is wrong

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

This is matter of commonsense. Our leaders, parties, governments do not represent God, neither is our governance designed based on a 'godly' instrument and instruction. Constitutions are human and meant to guide the way we r ...

• David Atugiya 10 years ago

Paul, for once I beg to disagree with you. Tony Lihtur as briliantly argued by Justice in this write up was right, when in his address to the Supreme Court on Wednesday he asserted that the right to vote in Ghana is “fundam ...

• Musa 10 years ago

Kindegarten kids dont vote abi. If God given, they should. All God given rights are not limited in any way until you cause wahala.

But David, let's be real here. Is it GOD who gives the right to vote? The voting process is a human institution, not a decree by God. If voting was such a God-given right, why did it require a lot of fighting and deaths of pe ...

I think Dr Amunia is giving the emphasis by Tony Lithur's semantic "God given right" its literal meaning.In fact is a phrase that has evolved under the human rights acts to mean the same as fundamental Human Rights.Which mean ...

Fair point, but Lithur should have qualified it to avoid this apparent confusion, Okonko. It is that which creates the 'political opportunism' you refer to. My point is, why give your political opponents 'cheap' grounds for a ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Paul don't take "God-given" literally. Consider the use of "Act of God" when a natural disaster strikes. Justice is right.

I will go along with that explanation, but some people are arguing as if it is a 'decree' of God, when in fact it is not.

Hi Paul,
    Sorry for misspelling your name and thanks for acknowledgement.

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

The United states Law professor Kwasi Prempeh should do more research before making public utterances.

• Akwamuni 10 years ago

Paul I am with you on this one. Excellent essay from Srem-Sai though but as you said we have to raise the "offside" flag on this because it does not pass the commonsense test. We need to raise the standard of discurse a bit. ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

I wish I had seen and read your piece before posting on the topic. Your argument is better updated version of my opinion. You went way beyond the popular notion to tap in the most modern precedents and legal substantiation. ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

The so called 241,000 plus voters who according to EC comprised of Ghanaians working for international organizations, students under government scholarship and others didn't come to Ghana to register. EC supposedly went to wh ...

• Akora Oteng 10 years ago

Do not make unnecessary arguments.You did not make any sense here. Now the EC was given a lot of money to acquire all that they demanded to make our Democracy move forward and better. How did he not decide to train the much n ...

• NANA HAKIM 10 years ago

Hello Mr. & Mrs. Ghana & Justice,

THIS IS A CRISP AND BRLLIANT PIECE for public consumption.

Justice, you're, indeed, a bright lawyer who personifies academic brilliance! I WISH YOU MORE THAN YOU NEED IN HEALTH AND WIS ...

• Tutui 10 years ago

I am not a lawyer so bear with me. The right to life and speech are God given. It is not controlled by any law. You can say anything you want to say so far as it does not do any harm to another person. However when you have d ...

• Dada 10 years ago

What Law do you practice in UK? Is it not immigration law and the arrangement of fake marriages?

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

It takes a dangerous leap of faith for the author to suggest that Prof. Prempeh's statement,“the right to vote is, in Ghana as everywhere else, a right that emanates from "positive law" could necessarily imply the contrapos ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

Well Prof Prempeh has replied to this article on his facebook and it looks like Sai misunderstood the Prof.and we are waiting for his reply.

• Simple Man 10 years ago

Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law .Please all the ink you pour on paper has not help anyone one bit.Your thesis can only be understood with the help of a dictionary.In fact you have not communicated.Have you ever been a teacher? Learn ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

List three vocabulary items or phrases that you think is too difficult to understand. I think I was very simple in my post!

• Kelly 10 years ago

Erudite commentary. You are right on the money. This is what we must use this platform to educate ourselves. I hope Daily Graphic would curl this article for a wider readership.

• CHEMICAL ALI 10 years ago

And not the charlatan who prides in knowing the law.

• ATO 10 years ago

THIS IS CERTAINLY ONE OF THE VERY BEST ARTICLES I HAVE READ HERE AT THIS SITE.

• seidu 10 years ago

great insight lawyer these so called professors of law are so opionated and bais in political colour that they keep fooling we the laymen.I hope prof. prempeh will know that interpretation of the law is fundamental to the pro ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

You are missing the point.

No did the Prof assert that A law cannot be both God given and man made.

He specifically stated THE VOTING RIGHT is not a God given right.

Voting right is not God given right.

Voting R ...

• crorkz 9 years ago

nVa9gB Really enjoyed this blog.Really thank you! Great.