You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 07 31Article 280938

Tithing is robbing and stealing from god's people !

Read Comments Comments (111)

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

Who will feed the prophets?

• Pastor Ntiamuah 10 years ago

THE REAL TRUTH ABOUT TITHES

No topic excites many pastors more than tithes and tithing. Waxing eloquent, pastors with fiery zeal, would teach about how if you pay tithes God would bless you. How your business would flour ...

• G.K 10 years ago

You are 100% right, pastor.

• servant of the most high 10 years ago

Who will feed the prophets?

JESUS AND HIS APOSTLES DID NOT TAKE TITHES FROM ANYONE. HOW DD THEY EAT? THEY LIVED ALRIGHT AND SPREAD THE GOSPEL. THEY LIVED SIMPLE AND HUMBLE LIVES. THEY DID NOT NEED ANY TITHES. ACTUALLY, TH ...

• Pastor Mireku 10 years ago

DEUT 14:22-27

Tithes--DEUT 14:22-27
    22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the pre ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

You have made my day and if you are in the US, I will try hard to join your church because you have spoken the truth. Truth is only one. Thank you.

• Sir Jay 10 years ago

THE TRUTH ABOUT TITHING IS THIS; WHEN PASTORS WANT TO COERCE CHURCH MEMBERS TO PAY TITHE, THEY SAY IT IS A DECREE FROM GOD AND CANNOT BE CHANGED. IT MUST BE OBEYED, AS IT WAS IN THE DAYS OF OLD, SO IT IS NOW, BUT WHEN IT COME ...

• K K 10 years ago

Christianity has absolutely nothing to do with God. It was made by man for man. ALL religions are man made. It was man who made the laws and says it is God that made them. That's a BIG lie. The Bible, Quran, etc were all writ ...

• K K 10 years ago

All the imperfections we see in Christianity and other religions is because they are all man made. Human beings make imperfect things because we are imperfect creatures. If Christianity were really about God, it would be PERF ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Every region of the world has these tools Arabs have islam, Indians have hinduism , Chinese have theirs as well as other Asians.
    If Ghanaians had been colonized by Japanese, we would have been Buddhists without a question, a ...

• *** 10 years ago

GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND.JESUS IS LORD

• Dave Mensah 10 years ago

tithe never money

THOSE TAKING THEIR TITHES TO THE TEMPLE IN JERUSALEM WERE ADMONISHED NOT TO TAKE MONEY TO THE TEMPLE. THE BIBLE SAYS IF THE THE FOOD YOU ARE TAKING TO THE TEMPLE WOULD SPOIL BECAUSE YOU ARE FAR AWA ...

• *** 10 years ago

Mr.Mensah,you expect the Church to be sitting down receiving and consuming food items as the tithe,when the ancient devil is racing sooo hard to destroy the human race?I'm afraid it is a BIG NO.I'm gonna use ALL ma money and ...

• Adam 10 years ago

God who created the universe does not need your ill-gotten money. You are a sakawa pastor . stop fleecing the poor.

• *** 10 years ago

Bro. Adam,I thought you were given an option to choose from?Again,ALLOW GOD TO BE MY JUDGE.JUST GET IT.Thank you

• K K 10 years ago

And we also had our own religions which is just as good and as bad as their own. Yet they deceived us that ours is not good, only theirs is good. But all of them are man made - with good parts and bad parts.

If Christiani ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Christianity was not something invented by whites, they tried everything possible to destroy it including throwing believers to lions. when they failed, they joined so that they can control it through the catholic church.
    A ...

• Ali Kameni 10 years ago

There is not strong evidence that the historical Jesus was black. It is most probable that he was not black but a Jew.

It is difficult to know what is the original teachings of Christianity which you are urging us to get b ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

You agreed with with me there is a lot of deception about and that was my point.I actually watched a documentary about the jews hitler killed. Some of them were actually Asians, Africans like the Ethiopians and whites who re ...

Concerned,

You're right that Jew is a religion rather than a race. But it is still true that the core of the Jewish religion is made up of a particular Semitic race which is why many people mistakenly(?) equate the religio ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Thanks for the reply.My position is that I am still learning and through prayer I gain more understanding about the ways of the world.My position on tithes is that it's a good thing as it helps the community as a whole irresp ...

On tithes:
    I also accept the principle that people can give to help the society. I think many people will accept that. The question is whether it should be done because God says so and that is what I doubt very much. Help to ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

A very educative and civil discourse.
    Congrats to Ali Kameni and Concerned. You set a good trend for conversation here.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Keep it up and your children's children will surely be free and powerful.
    "EMANCIPATE YOURSELF FROM MENTAL SLAVERY, NON BUT OURSELVES CAN FREE OUR MINDS"
    B. Marley.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

I cannot follow the logic and coherence of your discourse. I am tempted to believe you are an Atheist, going by your penultimate sentence, and I quote: " All this must tell you, God does exist and his religion is not just som ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

The funny thing is you correctly quoted me.Please explain what you mean

• servant of the most high 10 years ago

ARE PASTORS TOADAY LEVITES?
    SOME SAY THAT SINCE PASTORS DO NOT WORK AND DEDICATE THEMSELVES TO THE SERVICE OF THE LORD, THEY ARE THE LEVITES OF TODAY AND MUST BENEFIT FROM TITHES.
    TH ...

• Brother Yaw Boamah 10 years ago

This is a really beautiful and insightful article.Thanks you brother in Christ for exposing the false prophets taking tithes from the body of Christ.

Yes, tithes is not Biblical. In the past it was dmeant for the poor Levi ...

• Rev Sam Oduro, USA 10 years ago

God bless you bro Amartey. many pastors have been blinded by the lull of money. They are in the ministry for the money and material things. This is a very good and truthful write-up. I shall post to many. This is the Biblical ...

• Atta Panyin 10 years ago

Tithe was not meant for the Otabils and Duncan-Williams etc. They ahve used tithes to rob the poor people in the church. Thanks you brother Amartey. God abundantly bless you.

• *** 10 years ago

Pentecostals pay their Tithes NOT because we are forced to but because we undrstand and it TRULY WORKS for us by faith.The tithes helps our Leaders to accomplish their GOD-GIVEN assignments through which many are GREATLY help ...

• *** 10 years ago

They are rather GREAT SONS of the land.RETRACT,REPENT & JESUS LOVES you.

• Joe Mensah, Denmark 10 years ago

They are rather GREAT SONS of the land. RETRACT,REPENT & JESUS LOVES you

PAUL WAS A MAN OG GOD, JOHN WAS A MAN OF GOD, PETER WAS A MAN OF GOD. BUT WHY DID THEY NOT TAKE TIT ...

• *** 10 years ago

A Prince OF HEAVENS EMPIRE,Prized Servant,Prince OF PROPHETS and ABOVE ALL A Bona fide JEWEL OF GOD.REDEEMED to serve HIS KINGDOM with our time,money,energy and gladness.Can't afford to be stingy.GOD IS SOOO GOOD!

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Them lazy pastors should take a second job. and stop the untrue that something that is bleeding you is working for you.

• *** 10 years ago

When was the last time you exercised your spiritual muscles thru' fasting and praying,ELINAM?Try it,to get an easy answer to your comment.You'll be blessed.JESUS LOVES you.

• FORMER PENTECOST MEMBER 10 years ago

Pentecostals pay their Tithes NOT because we are forced to

THIS IS A LIE. I USED TO BE A PENTECOSTAL. U ARE FORCED TO PAY. EVEN THE POOR AND OLD PEOPLE ARE GIVEN TITHE CARDS. EVEN THOUGH THE BIBLE SAYS THE POOR D ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

Most Pentecost members are illeterates, I went to the Pentecost in Maryland once and that was it for me. Nothing was I impressed with.

• *** 10 years ago

Take very good care of what you have.It's yours not mine and let us leave it to GOD TO BE THE BETTER JUDGE.Thank you and JESUS LOVES you.

• *** 10 years ago

Correction

• Dr Kwame Oduro 10 years ago

This is what i have been thinking about for a long time. You have articulated my thoughts. For many pastors, the church is a business. They are in it not for salvation but for riches. May God have mercy on those who have turn ...

• church tithes 8 years ago

Although Joel Osteen is charismatic and is good seed pastor. He gets people to start thinking positive and about god. I have a serious issue w one of his many.houses. It's 10.5 million. Sylvester Stallone.house in la just wen ...

• James Anti Jr, Japan 10 years ago

Wea re so tired of pastors getting rich by milking the church. Jesus never made any money using the church but his ministry has become a place of business. All Ghanaians have to read this article. This is the selfless and gos ...

• Rev Richie 10 years ago

bro Amartey. I would love to educate a bit on tithing regardless of its abuse by some charlatans. The tithe is our covenant connector to the blessings etc. Please I will be glad to explain and expand on this truth to you. I a ...

• Pastor Ntiamuah 10 years ago

bro Amartey. I would love to educate a bit on tithing regardless of its abuse by some charlatans.

SO EDUCATE US. GIVE US BIBLE VERSES AND LETS READ DFOR OURSELVES. WE NEED BIBLICAL FACTS.

The tithe is our covenant con ...

Please stop spinning the gospel of Christ for material gain. Jesus never received tithes. None of the apostles received tithes. This financial connector thing you are talking about is just your own creation. It is not Biblica ...

• Kokroko 10 years ago

Rev Richie, we would have loved to hear your side of this piece as to how biblical it is to pay tithes in this dispensation. I lived in Israel for twelve years and had to ask if they still paid tithes and the answer was negat ...

• Jane 10 years ago

According to 2 Corinthians 9:6,7, Christians are supposed to be cheerful givers as led by the Holy Spirit, not giving under compulsion or out of necessity but instead, out of love. Most of these church leaders uses dubious me ...

• rsamoah@yahoo.com 10 years ago

@ Rev Richie,
    Please read the Free Facts about tithing below to get more informed. It is not true that the Christian economy is based on tithing. Christian ministers have no right to the Levitical tithe. It was only those Le ...

• Brother Amartey 10 years ago

No, the tithe is not our covenant connector.This is one of the arguments of tithers, but that's not the case.The new Covenant is solely based upon the blood, not tithes.Matt 26:28.

• jd, usa 10 years ago

LIAH LIAH PANTS DOWN

• Bonney 10 years ago

SOME PEOPLE HAVE BECOME SLAVES TO THEIR CHURCH ESPECIALLY THE CHURCH OF PENTECOST. ON A VISIT TO THE US IN 2008,I REMEMBER THIS ELDER IN THE CHURCH OF PENTECOST, AFTER TITHING & COLLECTIONS OF MANY KINDS TOLD THE CONGREGATION ...

• Kofi-Houston 10 years ago

My brother say that again... Most of these so-called men of God calling themselves doctors'/prophets/apostles/bishops etc are rather cowards and childish, exploiting humans' innate vulnerability and ignorance about the meanin ...

• aboo 10 years ago

you are right. I attended a Pentecost church for a wedding in Maryland and the congregants were asked to pledge that the tithe they were offering was their truthful 10%.
    The problem is not only Pentecost but the Methodist ch ...

• POKO A POKO 10 years ago

TITHING IS A COVENANT BETWEEN YOU AND YOUR GOD, AND YES, YOU WILL BE BLESSED ACCORDING WHAT THE BIBLE STATES IN MALACHI 3:8-12. THE BIBLE NEVER LIES.(MY OPINION)... GIVING IS NOT TITHING.
    ISAIAH 55:11 GOD ALMIGHTY DOES NOT E ...

• FAYOL 10 years ago

I agree with you. Good comment!

POKO A POKO

TITHING IS A COVENANT BETWEEN YOU AND YOUR GOD, AND YES, YOU WILL BE BLESSED ACCORDING WHAT THE BIBLE STATES IN MALACHI 3:8-12. )...

Deuteronomy 26:12, clearly states that when all the tithe is coll ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Did the disciples of Jesus and John pay tithes, if it were that important as covenant between oneself and his creator.
    why dont the priests allow the tithes they collect trickle down to widows poor strangers and the fatherle ...

Read Galatians chapter 3
    Verse 11. So it is clear no one can be made right w god by trying to keep the law for the scriptures say it is through faith that a righteous person has life. This way of faith is very different fro ...

Thank God this truth is coming out for people to know. Jesus said, " You shall know the truth and the truth will set you free"

• Nana kofi - Assin - fouso 10 years ago

Amartey try reading the Bible well.do not base your story on one verse.

• ********** 10 years ago

And what are the verses that supports tithing? We would like to, read them!

• Nyame Ye 10 years ago

Give us the verses in the Bible that say you have to tithe income
    .... verses that say money was used as tithes.
    ......verses that say pastors are Levites and can receive tithes.
    ......verses that say poor people have to ...

• rsamoah@yahoo.com 10 years ago

Permit me to just add up to my good brothers revelation.

1. Tithing did not originate with Abraham or the Israelites as it is wrongly taught. Nay, it did not even originate with God. It was a common ancient Near Eastern tr ...

• KOFI NTI BAFFOUR 10 years ago

2COR 3:4-18 CHRIST HAS PERMITTED US NEW TESTAMENT WORSHIPERS.
    1COR 16:1-4 THIS IS COLLECTION.
    2COR 9:6 WHAT MAN PROPOSES THAT HE/SHE SHOULD GIVE BUT GOD LOVES CHEERFUL GIVER.NOW THIEVES RUBBING INNOCENT PEOPLE.WE ARE UNDER ...

• Kofi Twentoh 10 years ago

I like open-minded discussions about the word of God because there is only one truth and when we seek the truth we shall find the truth and the truth that we know shall set us free from all ignorance.
    Reading carefully this ...

• Pastor Ken 10 years ago

Where in the Bible did God ask for 10% of your income? Tell me where income was mentioned regarding tithes in the Bible?

Fishermen in the Bible did not pay tithes. Goldsmiths did not pay tithes, soldiers did not pay tithe ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

Amartey did explain all that you talked about in your comment. I guessed you wrote this comments based on the Title of the article but not the contents.

He said its good to give but from the heart, it shouldnt be forced by ...

• NR 10 years ago

Citiens pay taxes to government under whose jurisdiction they are right,members of all gangs and association make their periodical contribution to their affiliated groups beit good or bad right.I mean for every organized grou ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

A good govt uses your taxes to provide you with municipal obligations like your roads,streets in front of your house ,your trash disposals and free schools for your kids ( like in the USA) teachers and school board's salaries ...

• Mr. B 10 years ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Fnjq9qko12o

• Mr. B 10 years ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXgSYwMBGM4&feature=player_embedded

• AFRICAba 10 years ago

Where are we really going? we as Ghanians has abandoned the idea of collective Salvation for indevidual salvation.
    The men of God has become sign boards showing where the congrigation should go, however they are going no ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

Nana Kofi-Assin-Fouso, POKO A POKO, REV Richie and many gullible of you please read your bible every slowly and you would come to appreciate Brother Amartey's teachings.Christianity started from ACT 2:42 and those who were ba ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Two men were shipwrecked near an island. When they landed ashore, one of them began screaming and yelling, “We’re going to die! We’re going to die! There’s no food! No water! We’re going to die!”
    The second man l ...

• Godwin 10 years ago

First, when Abraham pay tithe to Melchisedek, it was not in the old testament.
    When Abel gave his firstfruits to God, it was not in the old testament ,
    The quetion then is Who is Melchizedek?
    He was a priest higher than th ...

• Freddy Osei 10 years ago

NO ONE PAY TITH AND REMAIN POOR. This is what the Lord taught throughout the Bible. Will you believe Him or not?
    The recipe is this, if you found yourself poor, Prove the Lord who owns the universe to make you rich by start ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Some people have experience spiritual things and those in the know especially reformed witches and priest do confess about how they fear the name of Jesus. In respect of tithes , according to ZAC, God says give tithes so that ...

• Lee Darko- Hamburg 10 years ago

CONCERNED
    God says give tithes so that there will always be food in my house

GOD NEVER ASKED FOR INCOME TO BE TITHES. THAT IS WHY CARPENTERS AND GOLDSMITHS DID NOT PAY TITHES. GOD ASKED ONLY FARMERS AND ANIMAL HERDERS TO ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Happy to learn.Thanks

• Samuel Boakye Asamoah 10 years ago

Our Lord Jesus told us,Render therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesars ,and to God the things that are Gods.Tithe is of God,to pay tithe to help the work of God is good.You can not follow the false churches and destroy ...

• JOHN THE GREAT 10 years ago

Tithe is not for the pastor or church alone. You can pay tithe to orphans, widows, strangers and pastor. Pastors are only to take tithe if they are not been paid by their churches. I will send you lesson note on tithe. Stay b ...

JESUS AND HIS APOSTLES DID NOT TAKE TITHES. ONLY THE POOR LEVITES AND NEEDY COULD TAKE TIHES. WE PASTORS TODAY ARE NOT LEVITES. WE HAVE NO TRIBAL CONNECTION TO LEVI. IT IS UNLAWFUL AND SINFUL FOR US TO TAKE TITHES.

• K. Boakye 10 years ago

In Matthew 23:23, Jesus rebuked the Pharisees for omitting the weightier matters of the law that the ought to do but not only pay tithe. He said they should not leave the tithe and do along with the weightier matters.

• K. Boakye 10 years ago

Amartey, you couldn't convince me with just one quotation in the New Testament that forbid tithe. CONVINCE ME PLEASE!!!

• Pastor Ken 10 years ago

K BOAKYE, THE PHARISEES SACRIFICED ANIMALS. THEY OBEYED ALL THE 613 MOSAIC LAWS BUT JESUS DID NOT REBUKE THEM. WHY? BECAUSE THEY WERE STILL UNDER THE LAW.

JESUS DID NOT REBUKE THEM ABOUT ANIMAL SACRIFICE. BECAUSE MANKIND ...

• Koo Tweneh 10 years ago

DID JESUS RECEIVE TAKE TITHES

Did Jesus, Mathew and Paul receive tithes?

Jesus was from the line of Judah so could not receive tithes. Only Levites from the line of Levi could receive tithes. Though the twelve apostl ...

• ASHKENAZI 10 years ago

Mt 23:23 never forbade paying tithes but it admonishes mercy justice and truth whilst not neglecting tithing. THIS OUGHT YE TO DO AND NOT TO LEAVE THE OTHER ALSO UNDONE

• Joe Osei Mensah 10 years ago

Mt 23:23 never forbade paying tithes but it admonishes mercy justice and truth whilst not neglecting tithing. THIS OUGHT YE TO DO AND NOT TO LEAVE THE OTHER ALSO UNDONE
    ....................................................... ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

The stupid ones will pay the tithes to the greedy stupid Pastors to educate their children abroad.
    How can I divide my wages into two after income tax and give one part to the church?
    Lose your job and approach the church ...

• roly 10 years ago

keep doing thr good work my brother

• IJAHMAN 10 years ago

YESS VERY VERY SENSIBLE...THE ONLY TRUTH..

• Dede 10 years ago

Truly said brother Amartey

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Why does God need my money? Let those who love to donate their monies to their pastors do so. Trust me, I will never pay tax but the good Lord have already blessed me from my Mothers womb.

Tithes have nothing to do with ...

• Mr. Baf 10 years ago

Romans 8:1 NIV

"Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." You are not cursed of you are under Christ Jesus. But you may be cursed under the law. Wake up people.

• TITHER 10 years ago

WE WILL PAY THE TITHE TODAY AND TOMORROW. TITHERS NO SHAKING !!!. THIS WRITER IS OLD AND ARCHAIC. WE WILL PAY THE TITHE, GODS WORD IS FINAL. WHY DO SOME CHRISTIANS FOR EXAMPLE MAKE PILGRIM TRIPS TO ISRAEL? IT IS NEVER COMMAND ...

• ********** 10 years ago

There you go again with your senseless anlogies and awful reasoning BTW you can pay 80% of you income as tithe nobody cares but refrain from insulting and degrade people who want to know the basis for this modern day tithing.

• GIVER 10 years ago

ONCE UPON A TIME, A PASTOR PREACHED THIS MESSAGE, HE HAD THE SAME STANCE AS AMARTEY THAT IT WAS NOT NECESSARY TO PAY TITHE, SO I DECIDED NOT TO PAY OR CONTRIBUTE ANYTHING SINCE I DIDNT FEEL I SHOULD. THEN LATER HE GOT UPSET W ...

• proud tither 10 years ago

God is not in need but has giving us a means to meet our needs. tithe is one of those means.he rebukes the devourer that includes ill health, poverty and the likes. please the testimonies alone will make me continuing tithing ...

• Mr. Baf 10 years ago

Acts 17:11-12 NIV

Now the Berean Jews were of more noble character than those in Thessalonica, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. As ...

• kkyere 10 years ago

i don't have to be a bible scholar before i can understand the scriptures. as believer i know i have obligation to ensure that money is in the house of my saviour. whether the leader abuse it, is his burden. is so sad we ch ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

They say evil thrives when good people stand aside and do nothing. If this things continue many will quit the church or there will be another revolution as it was when Martin Luther of Germany rebled against the Roman Church ...

• BEST 10 years ago

I have read Pastor Amartey's first and second articles and his passion for attempting to establish the certainty of the truth on tithes, which I genuinely appreciate. However, half truth is still falsehood because it does not ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

What about Jews and Muslims who follow the same book and pay Tithes as in giving to the poor and the needy instead of Imams and Rabbis?

What of the Japanese, Germans, Chinese, Indians who are a million times richer than Ti ...

• BEST 10 years ago

Hi Bishop, I said anyone who cared to google will certainly find the facts. John D Rockefeller, the first US billionaire was tithe made. Do you know the Jews very well? Have you interacted with them? I live with them as neigh ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

I suggest you should re-read the article again. You comments were suggesting as if the only way to receive the Lords blessings is only through Tithes. How many Rabbis or Imams can you name that became multimillionaires throug ...

• Adam 10 years ago

THEY DONT TITHE BECUSE THE TEMPLE IN JERUSALEM IS NO MORE, AND THERE IS NO LEVITICAL PRIESTHOOD. ONLY THIEVING PASTORS TAKE TITHES.

• Dr Ofori- Panyin 10 years ago

Hi Bishop, I said anyone who cared to google will certainly find the facts. John D Rockefeller, the first US billionaire was tithe made.

BEST, THERE IS NO LOGIC IN YOUR RESENTATION. THE FACT THAT TED TURNER IS A BILLIONAIR ...

• pastor Francis Dorkenoo, NYC 10 years ago

Because you can only interpret scripture via the Holy Spirit who is the Spirit of truth and our Teacher

BE CAREFUL WHEN PEOPLE START THIS WAY. IT MEANS THEY ARE GOING TO TWIST DOCTRINE FOR THEIR OWN INTEREST. THIS IS THE ...

Good argument, pastor Dorkenoo. The only place you went wrong is to believe that there is something, anything, beyond the Bible as a book completely written by human beings. The bible, religion, - all that are human artifacts ...

Excellent. I've been researching and searching. Sunday's sermon this pastor twisted Malachi 3;9 to guilt people into giving. Her ministry serves a mostly poor town in New Jersey But when I try to show people truth in bible t ...