You are here: HomeBusiness2017 02 28Article 514156

Drought-resistant maize seeds introduced in Northern Region

Read Comments Comments (23)

• Pelicles 7 years ago

While drought-resistant maize seeds are good, I hope and pray that they are not GMO seeds. We should be very careful not to accept anything GMO because they are not good.

• NII GA 7 years ago

THAT IS ACHIEVED THROUGH DNA MANIPULATION

• insp we.i 7 years ago

You import meat and processed food that are fed gmo grains or have gmo ingredients anyway?

• Efo Ben 7 years ago

Tell them again. People with no understanding of biotechnology just make noise about GMO. Can anyone point to even one disease caused as a result of GMO. Zambia and South Africa recently battled army worms. This would not hav ...

• Py 7 years ago

Waoo! So army worms don't eat GMO plants?

• Isidore 7 years ago

Remember this; It is not enough to earn & carry about a certificate! That's phase 1. Life is about relevance & providing solutions. Someone right now somewhere is looking for someone who can do something for him/her & get pai ...

• Villager 7 years ago

If we have plastic rice what else do you expect? Have the right to be sceptical.

• REE TERN 7 years ago

I hope so too, man's tampering with nature is setting us all up for disaster.

• NII GA 7 years ago

I hope Mosanto and Cargill are not behind this project.FOLLOW THE MONEY and you will see

• onipanua 7 years ago

That is capitalism.Even food they want to patent it and control its sale to the poor.Food which was given free to human beings by God is now the subject of huge profit making by muliti-nationals.

• onipanua 7 years ago

This is what we need and no GM seeds.

• abdallah mex 7 years ago

Believe me or yes ....later you will hear its caming from this human and land killers the GMO...lets be cautious about this...oh mother Ghana

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

well done SARI, keep researching until you out with crops that can withstand the weather and insects that destroy crops so the farmers won't have to spray insects with insecticides.

the ignorant guys chapping we they don' ...

• simoo 7 years ago

lack of knowledge is killing us in gh massa. Every variety ie maize, millet, sorghum etc. changes or transforms naturally without human intervention when the same seed is used either on the same piece of land or at different ...

• Pa Thruther 7 years ago

You are the onethatis rather ignorant,why dont you eat cotton? Europe including Russia has banned genetically modified food, how does it become good for YOU, simply through lack of knowledge. Gmo also destroys other crops and ...

• Efo Ben 7 years ago

Liar..Europe has not banned GMO

• simoo 7 years ago

Good news fr our hardwrking farmers who re punished yearly fr no fault of theirs because of short dry spells that comes every August of the cropping season. Most of our varieties are unable to stand two weeks drought and ulti ...

• ALBERTA 7 years ago

LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL.0575898128
    Do you want to lose weight faster?
    Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0575898128
    Do you want to have a nice shape?
    Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
    Wond ...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

Thank God that modern applied science, at least in the Agric sector, is taking off in Ghana. I hope the cattle ranching sector will also follow suit and get rid of the Fulani pastoral cattle type of ranching for good!

• Simpayi Ba 7 years ago

Any one advocating for GMO in Ghana must be treated as EVIL ENEMY of the state and must treated as such.

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

I HOPE IT IS DIGESTIBLE FREE.

• EGBADEWOE CHARLES DELA, Dzemeni V/R 7 years ago

Why not Ashanti Region??????

• Arondo 7 years ago

Monsanto was giving away pioneer corn to groups free it was touted as higher producing it was if you spent a lot of money on fertilizer and other pesticides I hope this is not a backdoor attempt to put GMO corn in the system. ...