You are here: HomeBusiness2016 10 01Article 473825

Bantama NPP MP shocks party; files as independent candidate

Read Comments Comments (118)

• KWAKU KEA 7 years ago

Vote for any party but not NPP OR NDC to teach them sense.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Nana Addo hates anyone who thinks independently. He masterminded this MPs defeat.

How can we allow such a dictator to be our President? We must support this man with balls who is fighting against dictatorship. Nana Addo i ...

• pilolo 7 years ago

everybody is running away from Nana the cancer ghost

• ss3m? 7 years ago

is KOKOFU suffering from ndc's kpokpogbligbli?

• AGBEVE AGBENYEGA 7 years ago

NDC has bribed him but he will lose massively. And that will be the end of his political career.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 7 years ago

MY prayer is that that cancer you mentioned must come upon you and your family receive it in Jesus name. Amen! Ase Kyere nese enye ho ma wo" aboafunu mo dirty politics a moye wo Ghana ha no.

• True Talk 7 years ago

It appears this MP has fallen victim to the NDC campaign to influence corrupt NPP officials like Afoko and Crabbe. Well these guys do not have the moral fibre to represent NPP anyway. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

• MEEBA AB3 TEA WO 7 years ago

IAMSURE BANTAMA PEOPLE VOTE FRO KOKOFU BECAUSE OF NPP. I IMPLORE THE GOOD PEOPLE OF BANTAMA TO SHOW KOKOFU THAT. KOKOFU HAS SHOWN THAT HE IS NOT A GENUINENPP PERSON THEREFOE BANTAMA PEOPLE WILL SURELY FLOOR HIM!!!!!

• SARPONG 7 years ago

What you wish for others will be your fate. You don't even know whether you will survive today let alone tomorrow and you are talking about somebody dying of cancer. You will never die, ok?

Agenda 2020 is still working yet they will not see the light darkness shall comprehend against them all. Nana Addo all the way!!!

• pilolo 7 years ago

Where are the NPP bigots, see even this one is not loyal to idiot dwarf nana addo. This should tell all those super loyal fools to politicians that and political parties that if they die they do so in vain. these guys are aft ...

• MR OBJECTIVE 7 years ago

STRATEGY AT ITs BEST.

• mahama the fool 7 years ago

U stupid aponkye. Now u changed your name from aponkye to pilolo. U NDC fool.

• Obournana 7 years ago

A fool who was born out of a broken condoms insulting the president. No wonder your mother gave birth to you out of prostitution. You won't insult the president if you have a father. Blame your prostitute mother for denyin ...

• Frank 7 years ago

I'm surprised you are behaving lyk an npp somebody. They are known to be insulting instead of tackling issues. I'm disappointed in you. Let us proof to them that we are not lyk them

Prove not proof, come on people, learn basic English.

Human beast pilolo meet me if you are a man and l will teach you how to do politics. So kwasea tese wose! Okay?

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

My Ewe brother in your dreams! Until we check our insecurities as a tribe and stop all these Ashanti and Akans hate Ewes nonsense we cannot play our full role as citizens of Ghana . I am yet to hear of moleststion of Ewes in ...

• ###### 7 years ago

What have we Ewes done to Akuffo Addo and the Ashanti's.

• ss3m? 7 years ago

it is the opposite which is true.ewes survive better in Kumasi than HO. AKANS CAN'T SURVIVE @ho. iffor example an akan sells apio @ HO, THE EWES WILL BOYCOTT HIS BAR. SAME HAPPENS AT tAMALE WHERE i LIVE.

Have you heard about Nsawam before? It's waiting for that two criminals and it's must. Mark my words. Why are you fools telling Ghanaians that they should not vote for Nana Addo and NPP else they will prosecute you? What have ...

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

Mr. Kokofu, you have to come and join NDC. You appear to be a gentleman so you must leave the violent party and join a gentle one.

You don't know the history about NDC that is why you are spewing such rubbish at this forum. Stand firm else you will fall into the pit. A word to the wise is enough.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

"Bantama NPP MP shocks party". How is this shocking? The guy is the people's favorite, then someone used vote buying to take his place. He then decides to go independent, so what's so strange about this?

• Omanheene 7 years ago

why Kokofu. Work with the party.

• SAY IT LOUD 7 years ago

HOW CAN KOKOFU LOOK AT HIS FACE IN A MIRROR? AFTER DEFENDING YOUR PARTY ON RADIO AND TV PLATFORMS YOU TURN ROUND TO STAB THE PARTY AND ITS FLAGBEARER IN THE BACK. IT IS NOT THE BEST. WITHDRAW THE CANDIDATURE AND APOLOGISE TO ...

l bet you Nana Addo will contest again for the fourth time if he loses this elections.. Politicians cannot be trusted..

• Dessie 7 years ago

"It is sign of yet to come " Ghana parliamentarians and legislature go to parliament to seek worth for themselves and their families. Leaving those who have them power for nothing; Bantama has become a dumping ground for fore ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Folks: sorry and remit my textual errors

• SARPONG 7 years ago

"Ghana Parliamentarians and legislature go to Parliament"?

You dumb illiterate need to go back to school. Tell me the difference between legislatures and Parliamentarians.

Who is forcing you to write? You are not making ...

• Ama 7 years ago

The journalist can't even get the facts straight, even this short article is riddled with mistakes. Go and re write the article and change the votes he won. This just shows these politicians are in it for what they can get.

• Nana Kofi 7 years ago

Greedy Bastard, Kwasea hunu!

I don't get it.

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

It is not meant for you to get.

• Aikins 7 years ago

To vote for NPP OR NDC AND CALL IT A CHANGE IS WRONG. WE CALL THAT A RECYCLING BUT NOT A CHANCE. A CHANGE IS TO VOTE FOR A NEU PARTY THAT HAS NEVER DISAPPOINTED US SINCE INDEPENDENCE

• aikins 7 years ago

Neu party? You've got it all wrong, we all saw what npp did in the 8 years with the little resources and the 27 years ndc/pndc.

• Adu Phillips .Toronto 7 years ago

Aikins can you tell me one thing that Npp did in that eight years? Please to be fair don't add NHIS and don't forget to add corruption as well.

For your information l have read tour article come back home do that we can do the politics very well. You said you live in Toronto that is Canada do you have electricity, water, good health, good standard of living aren't yo ...

• mawriz 7 years ago

Why did NPP lost then if they performed magically well with little resources while NDC had plenty of resources and time.? I don't understand why the people will vote out a party like that. Please explain.

• Champion Atta 7 years ago

AIKINS, SMALL BOY! Let me start with scoccer, in every country there are heavy weights, here it is hearts and kotoko, they are down presently, so what do we see with local players in the black stars? How far can Wa All stars ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

KOKOFU IS A LOSER, THEREFORE LET NO ONE ATTEMPT TO CONVINCE HIM TO RESCIND HIS DECISION. HE IS NOT A TEAM PLAYER HENCE SUCH A BETRAYAL OF THE PARTY. LET THE GUY GO.

• Blade 7 years ago

The coming amagidion things fall apart the centre cannot hold. NPP is fragmented confused and bemused. It will be the greatest and most unforgivable mistake to vote for them in this their current state.

• Ewiase 7 years ago

Npp Npp, Everything is upside down. Let us see the competency of wontumi

• nima boy 7 years ago

Npp some months to go for general election no manifesto,no chairman, no general sec n soo on.. u want to sell d vote for ndc..we want strong opposition

• A.H 7 years ago

All this shows massive defeat await NPP, in the 2016 elections.

• merlin 7 years ago

HELLO, ARE YOU INTERESTED IN RUNNING A PERSONAL HOME BASE BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY THAT CAN EARN YOU OVER 200GHC DAILY WITH JUST THE USE OF YOUR MOBILE PHONE OR ANY INTERNET DEVICE AND GET PAID THROUGH MOBILE MONEY NO MATTER WHE ...

• Agyeman 7 years ago

Kokofu is only salvaging an upcoming problem. The selected candidate seems to have a dual citizenship problem pending which he did not disclose to the party during vetting

• Justice 7 years ago

Thank you boss. Small boys on this platform insulting him don't know what is at stake. He loves the party with everything in him. It's a clear tactical move to save the party.

• jOeY l0nD0n 7 years ago

An independent candidate is an independent candidate doesn't representa any Party, don't find comfort in lies.

• Livingstone Yao Setsoafia 7 years ago

Please the figures don't match the percentages calculated. Watch varefully.

• Alo 7 years ago

Is not Shocking cos i know they can do it..the hand work of JM...Vote for Nana.. .

Greedy fool.

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

Aponkye, shame unto you. So if someone goes independent in ndc it is John Ford who has done that. I tell you this is strategic. Kokofu is wise

Bantama remains Bantama NO shaking.Nana Addo and the NPP to form the NEXT GOVERNMENT.

Batama is for NPP and only NPP. Kokofo will never get 5% of the vote.

• Reuben 7 years ago

My friend he is a magician. Even with his 9000 he was able to pull 83% of the 58000 valid vote cast. It's just unfortunate that the NDC candidate with his 8000 was able to poll 14% of the same 58000 valid vote cast

• jq 7 years ago

The party is not united but because of elections they are pretending they are united.

• Seidu Alhassan 7 years ago

Is npp dat bring buying of forms u forgotten, it started 2003 where were u) chip political talk u well remain in opposition for long

• ck 7 years ago

we the people in bantams constituency will never vote for any party or independent candidates.the only thing we see in the political arena is npp.....Osono mma ne yen!!!!!!!!

• Nana Asante 7 years ago

I'm voting PPP. The NPP and NDC are quite from the same stock.

• Kwesi 7 years ago

and me and others thousands are waiting ready to vote for NPP,it doesnt matter what is going on here and there we[Ghanains]are ready for a change.
    Enough is Enough and you should get it by now,there is a wind blowing open yo ...

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Bawumea talks like illiterate

• kankam bole 7 years ago

This is not true, rainbow must get it right.

• Naidoo 7 years ago

If it is true that Kokofu has filed as an independent candidate then his betrayal would be above that of Judas. By their deeds you would know them.

• Owu Mtensa 7 years ago

THEY ARE NOT PASSING THE BALL TO HIM SO HE MUST QUIT. THAT'S HOW WE PLAY KOKOFU BALL. ASK HIM ASK EVERY ASANTEMAN. THEY KNOW.BYE MR KOKOFU AND DO NOT COME BACK.

• SIMPLY GEORGE. 7 years ago

There is nothing shocking in the world of ours except women who wouldn't allow the sticks of moses, Joshua and nkomo to be dipped into the red sea because of bad roads in their constituency. Copenhagen is therefore wonderful ...

• Bawumia the foolish liar 7 years ago

agya koo is the next gen sec. also the new npp math.83% of 58000 is 9000

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

He is always on Radio talking rubbish about NDC. Not knowing he would stab NPP the useless opposition at the back. Kokofu is fool. You can't trust him. You can't trust Nana Addo. You can't trust NPP. Bloodthirsty useless oppo ...

• Sam 7 years ago

This is shocking and don't believe this. Ghanaweb must also check the publicity as 9800 votes is not 80 something % of 58000 something votes . This publicity may turn out to be false as he is always on radio and TVs campaign ...

• pocket lawyer. 7 years ago

Yeah,party politics has become" give us our daily bread" they go to parliament not because the people they serve but to their pockets hahaha!!!!

• koffi montreal 7 years ago

Hey,friend don't disgrace the party come on my ,why NPP big guru's/NEC,doing about this oh what a shame

• kofi sharkor 7 years ago

honourable should think twice because ashanti region is not any independent candidate but for mop

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Aponkye, you are aponkye indeed. Your comment shows how stupid you are.

• MOI 7 years ago

THE WOES OF NPP HAS JUST BEGAN.

• Ken 7 years ago

You see he doesn't represent his people but rather his stomach and selfish ambitions. They claim they had their wealth before joining politics and yet they always cry and yearn for more. Greed at its peak

• Npp's idea 7 years ago

Is NPP's plan
    Please nobody should worry is because of what the ndc has plan to unseat the NPP candidate(wofa Atta).

• Nana Addo Senior 7 years ago

This shows how divisive the party is like I said b4 only a fool will waste his vote on nana addo

Why should l give my vote for NDC? Is that because of koku Anyidohu, Felix Ofosu Kwaakye, Kofi Adams, Sam George, Okudjato Ablakwa, Omane Boamah, Asiedu Nketiah or what? Tweaa! Just sit down and ask yourself this question. Do ...

• Kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

THIS MP IS SHOWING A CHARACTER OF SELFISHNESS. PEOPLE NEED TO LEARN TO CONCEDE WHOLEHEARTEDLY WHEN THE CONSTITUENTS REJECT THEM. HE IS NOT INNOVATIVE. HE FEELS LIKE BEING MP IS HIS ONLY WAY TO SURVIVE. THIS IS SHAMEFUL ON HIS ...

• change is coming 7 years ago

NPP fans shd stay calm. the party knows what they are doing at bantama. it will shock NDC. Florida is bringing massive votes. we shall outwit the NDC thieves. they think they are smart. Nana beba

• jahsonwilliams 7 years ago

kokofu know that it is the party that made you who you are today so fond be that selfish. stomach direction politicians

• Clement, Kentucky 7 years ago

I doubt the authenticity of this story.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL
    Do you want to lose weight faster?
    Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0572174551
    Do you want to have a nice shape?
    Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
    Wondering how t ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

"Sign of yet to me"

• GUN SHUT 7 years ago

please members here, why? Ghanaians we doesn't respect our mother land. anything an insult,why Ghanaians always?
    especially NPP people why?.............!!!!!!.

• Emma 7 years ago

I believe Mr kokofu is only desperate for power and also selfish... He has nothing good for mother Ghana

• Major 7 years ago

Instead of collaborating wit de party, u are seeking your own selfish interest. A party hu refuse to learn lesson will remain in opposition for long.

• zak 7 years ago

This is simple political analysis so I wonder why people are firing misiles left right centre. In the last election kokofu garnered 83percent of popular votes and the NDC guy garnered a paltry 14percent. Based on the results ...

• Asem Beba debi 7 years ago

This is a hoax

• juju 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• Twum 7 years ago

The figures you have put out there is wrong!

• deladem69 7 years ago

The MP in the 2012 parliamentary election polled 9,054 votes out of the 58,918 valid votes cast representing 83.26%. while his other contenders; Samuel Yaw Adusei (NDC) polled, 8,667 = 14.71%
    ghanaweb get serious for once . ...

• Anglia 7 years ago

Mr Kokofu, your are above this.

• peace 7 years ago

why this journalist fail in maths or did not do it at all .

• Alahaji Moro 7 years ago

Even though I am worried that my man is going as an independent candidate, I don't blame him. Our leaders must learn to be neutral in elections .

• Al-Qathafi Silver 7 years ago

How can 9,000 out of over 50,000 represent 83%? Go back to school

• ngolo kante found in ozil's pocket 7 years ago

There's a saying that in kokofu's style of footballing when u don't have a sibling u don't get a pass so u go independent. Oh ma Npp, are we ready for power come December?

• Kenny 7 years ago

Why do ppl bother themselves ? Is so obvious he will not win & I don't know why some individuals wants to be MP's as if it's their God given right . This man must be ashamed of him self . God wants him to waste his stolen mo ...

• nii papa boi 7 years ago

Kokufu did it ryt .npp is weaked

• Opana 7 years ago

Voodoo figures abi? He pulled just over 900 out of 5800 + and that represented 83% . This reporters on Ghanaweb paaa.

• kwame 7 years ago

I like dis man.Hon. Kokofu u r my mentor

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

Hon. Kokofu is smarter to be used by the NDC.
    NDC shudders when they hear about numbers from Bantama, home of the Ashanti Nation Minister for War of old !
    It is psychological warefare by the NDC. It won't work . Hon. Kokof ...

• Jdm 7 years ago

Oh Honourable, please please please rescind your decisions to go independent. We respect you soo well. You are a future presidentIal material.

• JC 7 years ago

Typo error. Kokofu polled 49,054 not 9,054.

"The MP in the 2012 parliamentary election polled 9,054 votes out of the 58,918 valid votes cast representing 83.26%."
    The writer is a clown, if this is the type posing as journalists in Ghana then God save our soul.

• LOVELACE 7 years ago

WHO EVER WROTE THIS ARTICLE SHOULD CONSULT HIS/HER MATHS TEACHER BEFORE PUBLISHING FIGURES. 83% OF 58918 DOES NOT GIVE YOU 9054. GOOD MATHEMATICIANS, YOU CAN ALSO CALCULATE AND SEE WAII.

• zak 7 years ago

this is very very unfortunate and unfair to the party there was no independent candidate in 2012 when he won the primaries why should he do so now? he'll soon loose our respect if he refuses to rescind his decision

• Richard Owusu 7 years ago

the figures are wrong. how come 9000+ out of 58000+ represent 83%. pls correct it. Hon. should rescind his decision.

this is an opportunity for you to travel and work abroad and earn forty five million cedis

monthly.call

zero,five,seven,three,four,two,five,
    three,six,eight for details

• Dauda 7 years ago

What's happening NPP?

• ohenenana 7 years ago

The figure should have been 49054 votes. The "4 " that starts the figure is missing. Let us call it omission, the printer's devil. My comment on Mr kokofu will come later

• sam Y... 7 years ago

This is what Bawumia neglected in the court case... Intentionally ooooo

9,054 votes out of the 58,918 valid votes cast representing 83.26%. while his other contenders; Samuel Yaw Adusei (NDC) polled, 8,667 = 14.71%,

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah.Atlanta GA 7 years ago

The inability or the unwillingness of NPP leaders to stay neutral is one of the principal causes for such secessions but rather than dealing with it the NPP will blame all but themselves.The pick and select syndrome and the ...

• jomens 7 years ago

Mr. Journalist, your facts and figures are wrong. What us wrong with you?

• Ghana Man 7 years ago

If people really knows who this man kokofu is they won't doubt him. He is an old drug dealer in Hamburg who will go any length to make money.

• Don't disgrace us pls Mr Writer!!!! 7 years ago

''The MP in the 2012 parliamentary election polled 9,054 votes out of the 58,918 valid votes cast representing 83.26% ''

Am I reading right? How on earth can 9054 out of 58,918 be 83.26%?

83.26% should be 49,055 votes O ...

• Beenells 7 years ago

really.... are you saying 9054 of 58918 of valid votes cast is 83.26%...mayb my mathematics is bad...bcos I can't think far... I can't tink madness... lol

• Nana Adwoa 7 years ago

Big thumbs to all those who talk about facts both NPP and NDC, but to those who attack personalities that they are never close to, you have a long way to go..... Be subjective here, others are reading....