You are here: HomeBusiness2016 05 26Article 441871

Time has come to think about nuclear energy - Pratt

Read Comments Comments (59)

• kofi adu 7 years ago

gh. is flood and fire prone,how do you guarantee nuclear? pratt what are you talking about.your acess to media doesn't make your intelligent.

• Nana Nketiah 7 years ago

Some Ghanaians jut open their mouths, and abuse their right of Free Speech.

It is very disappointing to hear a so called Ghanaian Journalist talking about Nuclear Energy, without any knowledge of the topic.

Where was Kw ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

Author:-OFOSUAA..... JJ Rawlings knows too well that he has unleashed a group of monsters and nation wreckers on Ghanaians bcos this current ndc is never what he dreamt of at all at all…..this ndc fears to use the very word ...

• max france. 7 years ago

MASTER AKWASI , Please i like you very much for your true talks, BUT THIS ONE (Nkoaa di3) come again.a country which can not maintain even the K V I P Toillets, let more NUCLEAR PLANT. Do you know what you are saying?

• Palmwine Tapper 7 years ago

He's a REAL FOOL speaking from His stinky ASS. Stupidity at its worse.

• SD 7 years ago

so all some of you can provide is always insults and nothing else constructive.

• FCO 7 years ago

Well Said Sir, you just hit the nail on the head.

• Odoi 7 years ago

The nuclear plant will be placed in your hometown or better still behind your presshouse. Cheap talk. Who is going to run the plant in Ghana. Sitting in Ghana all your life, you have heard of nuclear energy but you have no id ...

• maame serwa 7 years ago

Cheap talk you say, what do you know about nuclear power??? At least show a little bit respect. Solar ?? Is Ghana going to produce their own solar panels?

• T'pau 7 years ago

Ghana as a nation cannot even manage its garbage and organic wastes let alone deadly nuclear waste. Until we ingrain a sense of 'maintenance' in our mindset, what you are proposing, Mr Pratt, is a deliberate joke.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

We cannot maintain our buildings and we are thinking of Nuclear energy.
    We don't want a Chernobyl in Ghana.

• Ben 7 years ago

Bloody nonsense are u not a spokes person for this government
    It is better you shut your foul mouth

• Wisdam kwakuvi 7 years ago

You and who? to go nuclear!

• Ad.i 7 years ago

What?Think.!!!!!!

• Kwabena Erzoah 7 years ago

Fellow Readers,
    I agree with the writer on tilting towards Nuclear for power generation. The late President Nkrumah had the foresight hence the centre at Kwabenya. Other advanced countries have nuclear to complement their ge ...

• Ajovi kokovi- Kpandu 7 years ago

Kwabena,You talk about Kwame Nkrumah,Okay, dont forget Mahamah is different from Nkrumah Mahamah came to steal .

You made me laugh, Kwabena.
    You mention Nkrumah and Kwabenya. But how has Ghana managed even that area called Kwabenya?
    We GHANAIANS have no sense of Responsibility.
    Younger Nations like South Korea and Singapore kann al ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

The joke is on you. You mention that a country like South Korea as a success story, yet you fail to state that the USA was the chief achitect of South Korea's economic success in its cold war battle with North Korea. South Ko ...

• When Will They Ever Learn 7 years ago

THINK SOLAR FOR EVERY HOME AS INSTEAD.

• watchman 7 years ago

Nuclear Energy in Ghana??
    Are you serious? Ghanians can't even maintain electricity and so many other things.
    Use your brain properly Mr. Pratt,

• Palmwine Tapper 7 years ago

Typical Ghanaian foolish, stupid talk by a FOOL with NO ounce of brain about Nuclear Power in GH and dangers associated with it; of a country that can't even manage toilet business or toll booths. Nuclear power in GH to be m ...

• Erik 7 years ago

Yes nuclear is the way.it will help us to be higher grade brainpower. It will raise our ability to use our brain Better.we should not fear it. Even it lead us to unclear capabilities and advancement in science well thought. I ...

Hahahahahaha...
    Building a common GUTTER can also raise our ability to use our brain Better.

Let's face facts, Erik. Ghanaians couldn't construct even a road from Achimota to Ofankor. Chinese had to come in and rescue us. ...

• konkontibaa 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt always wants to be heard. Recycled and repudiated news.
    Coal is dirty but nuclear is dangerous.

A country that can't run even garbage disposal to operate a nuclear plant. wabodam

• Lord Lucan 7 years ago

Such remarks attributed to one of Ghana’s ‘senior journalists’ are demonstrative of a frightening lack of cognitive awareness regarding the reality of nuclear power generation requirements.

If true, it doesn’t sa ...

• Togoman 7 years ago

Stop drinking my Brother !

• Mauli 7 years ago

I guess there's is sawdust in your head. U are thinking crazy because you were
    given Usain bolt meter, that is the meter were are being using for a long time in Tamale. Idiot. Do u know what nuclear energy is all about? no ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 7 years ago

Kwesi, stop exhibiting your ignorance. There is enough energy from solar, wind, hydro to feed Ghana and Africa.

If you are not an expert in energy why comment?

• Little Theo 7 years ago

Hmm, Ghana is no where near using nuclear energy. Even Japan is running away from nuclear energy. There has beeen massive campaign in Japan to stop using nuclear energy due to the escape or radiations. We should rather lok fo ...

• Mauli 7 years ago

J mahama should go and borrow every week to fund it right? BIGGEST dumb. Corruption you guy do in the ndc is fooling you. Come out of it ok? idiot. fool. thief.

• Clearance seedorf 7 years ago

Why don't u hit the street and demonstrate against your paymaster Mahama for this high utility tariffs? If it were NPP gov't then u would have hit the street calling for change of gov't. Ofuiiii.....

• Obroni 7 years ago

I love Ghana so much that I became a Ghanaian but when Ghana decides to go nuclear, I think it's time to go back to where I was born Mr. Pratt. Not only is your suggestion ridiculous because world wide even developed countrie ...

• Ben , Accra 7 years ago

APONKYE PRATT,WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT NUCLEAR ENERGY,WITH YOUR TEMASCO SSS CERT.JUST SHUT UP.

• ERIC ODOOM (POTSIN) 7 years ago

hmmmm, what sense will it make for the goat to communicate with the sheep through the fish. you dine with the Gov't so tell them and stop the popularity campaign.
    AS FOR E.C.G hmmmmm

• change is coming 7 years ago

kwasi ratt has never suggested anything reasonable. only bullish ideas. from wind to thermal to nuclear. ur thief dead goat can't even manage our electricity. but change is coming. freedom is coming. Nana b3ba

• No Mercy 7 years ago

We have so many Stupid People in Ghana! Akwasi Prat. Mahama and his colleagues.In Europe they are trying to Stop ? it

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 7 years ago

Talk is cheap for some Ghanaians who have the platform to speak from their anus.One big rain in the country in a day, and every thing comes to a halt.A nuclear energy disaster and Ghana will be no more.The scientists we have ...

• bam 7 years ago

We import everything including bamboo toothpick into the country the last straw is now nuclear power.firstly get us the way to handle our trash and filth, the health issue, nadmo fire service emergency response. Oilfields are ...

• owoahene achampong 7 years ago

I DID NOT think GHANA WILL HAVE BRIANLESS PEOPLE IN THIS 21ST CENTURY TALKING ABOUT HAVING NUCLEAR POWER. NOW RENEWABLE ENERGY IS ADVANCE AND STAND ALONE OR WIND POWER SYSTEMS ARE CHEAP AND CLEANER.FOOLS THINK AND THINK.

• Osu Klottey 7 years ago

Nonsense,even those countries which are capable of managing nuclear plants properly are now rejecting it,even we can't manage our drainage system,less nuclear waste,No,Thank You

• GhanaWarrior 7 years ago

Pratt has been talking a lot of nonsense but finally he has said something with sense. Thermal power generation is one of the most expensive way to generate power. So we as the citizens of this country are ready to pay the as ...

• GhanaWarrior 7 years ago

I can see that most people just comment on anything they can get hold of. They should do some research before opening their mouth. There is a detailed plan already laid out how to run the plant and which country will handle t ...

France produce 83% and South Korea 75% of electricity power from nuclear sources. Ghanaians started operating alone the Akosombo power station on their own since 1965. We can also use coal or wood in generating of power and s ...

Zimbabwe under sanctions is managing her economy alright, whiles countries that receive handouts form the imperialist like Ghana are doing badly, let not forget about Nigeria and India which are on the same puppet line with G ...

• Mother Ghana 7 years ago

Mr,Pratt iam sadden to read that you are advocating for Nuclear energy when even Germany is getting rid of Nuclear energy.Have you thought of how to store the Nuclear waste? Ghanaians should think of Wind and Solar energy but ...

• Agyiriba Aggrey 7 years ago

If well managed, nuclear energy is one of the cleanest source of power generation.

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

Yes, mark the words IF WELL MANAGED.

• tilly 7 years ago

Please do you know Ghana has been managing a nuclear research reactor for over twenty (20) yrs and there haven't been any accident? I think we have to be more informed before making ignorant statement. Ghanaians need educati ...

• tilly D 7 years ago

Please Ghana has been managing nuclear waste from hospitals and some industries like mines and petroleum industry and it has not caused any harm. Please think about this first.

• Mensah 7 years ago

Pratt just makes a fool of himself most times. Look seriously at Ghana. Do we ever think deeply. Ghana can't even clean it's filth. We have the biggest dump site in the WORLD, yet you are talking about going nuclear. We as a ...

• Banza Yaro 7 years ago

Kwasi Pratt, be real master. How many plants or factories has the Ghana government built, and how many are functional as of this date? We can't even maintain a tomato factory and you talking about a nuclear plant. Eeeh, are y ...

• Peter Osei 7 years ago

That is very true, Mr Pratt.
    You are very right. Ghana has no option than to go nuclear.

Nuclear technology is the option that can generate a huge amount of energy to satisfy our demands.

Well spoken. Keep it up, Sir.

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

Lots of sunshine everyday, Kwesi. Ghanaians do not know maintenance so Nuclear Power is a No No.

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

There are lots of garbage in Ghana, Burn the fucking garbage to produce steam to drive turbine generators. That, we MAY be able to run. And don't forget about natural gas(methane) from all the shit all over the place.

• SD 7 years ago

Long long overdue. Kwame Nkrumah started but it was stopped. We need to get there again.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

PLEASE, ARE YOU AT ALL REASONING.

DO YOU KNOW FROM TYHANOBIL, UKRAINE, NUCLEAR DISASTER OF 1986 AND THAT OF FUKOCHIMA, JAPAN IN 2013 THAT DESTROYED THE TOWN AND TO CLAIM MORE THAN 300,000 LIVES:

YOUR NATION GHANA IS STI ...

• Vincent Y. A. 7 years ago

This is a Speech and Endorsement in Season. When we talk nuclear, we talk cheap, available and clean source of energy that is abundant in comparatively small amount of fuel than required by other sources.
    If typically, the e ...

• Nusi 7 years ago

Energy is life and undoubtedly a vital component in the value-chain of production. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and his CPP Government laid a foundation to develop both the institutional and technological development of nuclear power as ...

• S Yamoah 7 years ago

I have read the various comments with lots of interest and attention. What I get from all the contributors is that they are concern about safety. Is nuclear safe? Can we operate a nuclear power plant safely in Ghana? etc. THE ...