You are here: HomeBusiness2015 11 30Article 397300

Mahama blames high tariff on power theft

Read Comments Comments (31)

• Kwasi 8 years ago

It would be helpful if Government Ministries, Agencies etc. paid all their debt to EGC. There should be nothing like free power, and this should start right from the top.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

The so called fake National Security has over 20,000 agents the majority lack any professional or proper training . They are all politically biased and to justify their existence indulge in scheming and mischievous conspiraci ...

• SINTUATION 8 years ago

If Mahama can identify the root cause of high utility tarrifs and cannot do anything effective about it, it clearly shows the type of leader he is. Maybe he needs some coaching from the new Tanzanian President. Enough said.

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

Everyone I know in Accra steals electricity and you are depending on the president to stop it. What a bunch of slow people. How about asking your mothers fathers and sisters to be good citizens for once. I have no illegal con ...

• KOFI WEST HAVEN 8 years ago

haha sorry to say this forms of blind partisanship will not help you.for once reason as a ..... and dont make a fool out of your self.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-TULA...

Massa; there is no way Jon Dubai Mahama will dare prosecute this lady because the truth is that Jon Mahama Dubai Mahama has not got the 'balls' to prosecute anybody because the man is himself dripping in t ...

• Meshack 8 years ago

You are such an indecent, deceiving liar...how many people have been arrested for stealing power?

• AGBOVI CUDJOE 8 years ago

Power theft : THE PRESIDENT OUT OF DESPERATION IS INSULTING THE PEOPLE WHO VOTED FOR HIM AS THIEVES .????????????

• Ohene 8 years ago

when power cut offs doesn't affect the tariffs of customers. Tell me people still pay more of electricity bills even with these power outages. ECG still meet up their revenue that's why the power companies and government don' ...

• wkl 8 years ago

Power theft, look inside ECG staff both Seniors and juniors, they are the people doing the illegal connections for the industries especially the foreigners in the industries.My advice is send ECG staff from Accra to Tema, Tak ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

What percentage of electricity is stolen (as compared to the monies stolen by Mahama). The $1.5 million he paid his brother to cart $3 million to footballers in Brazil could have paid part of the debt owed to ECG by governmen ...

• Worfa Twum Adjei 8 years ago

Mr President it is the same ECG staff causing all this problem. My meter got defective months ago and I hv been chasing ECG for a replace but till now hmmmmm. One time their computers shows the meter was issued but when we st ...

• kodzovi 8 years ago

Mr Incompetent and Irresponsible JDM how many times haven't i advised you. I said go to Chorkor and Teshie

• Freethinker 8 years ago

I was amazed to find out that you could run all your electrical gadgets from ac to anything 24/7 for less than 50cedis a month in the rural area....
    thats where the loss is.
    one must pay for watts used and offer a subsidy f ...

• Ghana Ba 8 years ago

The problem isn't power theft, if politicians started paying for their own power, the problem will definitely be solve.

• EBEI, MAHAMA !!!!! 8 years ago

Then the number one Thief is your Government which uses but never pays for electricity. That real thief must pay up and not pass its debts on to consumers. We, the paying consumers, are tired and suffering from your never end ...

• vote them out 2016 8 years ago

Mr president, give us a break, your days and that of your incompetent govrt are numbered. Still over 24hrs light out .

• asem 8 years ago

if mahama pays his debt owe to EGG, Ghana will be fine

• BEN 8 years ago

THE WORKERS OF ECG ARE NOT CORRECT LIKE YOU YOUR SELF. I VE BEEN CHASING THEM FOR THE PAST 4 MONTHS TO CAPTURE MY METER AND BRING ME MY BILL BUT THEY DON'T BOTHER. I VE BEEN TO THEIR OFFICE SEVERAL TIMES BUT THEY TALK SHIT LI ...

• Yawavi 8 years ago

Useless and brainless human being with nothing in that head calling himself president.He has never talked sense since he stole the verdict and appointed himself as NDC president

• Quophie 8 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT IS THE No 1 THIEF. GOVERNMENT MUST PAY ITS BILLS TO THE ECG, GRIDCO AND VRA, AND THEY WILL STOP DISTURBING POOR GHANAIANS.

• Agonahene 8 years ago

Just as I blame the worsening economy of Ghana on your unbridled corruption. Thief.

• KOFI WEST HAVEN 8 years ago

Pre Maham the 2nd MOST INCOMPETENT PRESIDENT IN THE WORLD. dont ask me who is the 1st. Lol.

• hungry man 8 years ago

even not only that 'but some of the workers of those companies don't pay their electricity bills .so that also contributes

• OH YES 8 years ago

If there is any stealing of power causing the ever increasing tariff on electric power, then it cannot be the illegal connection that is causing the high tariff. What is causing it, is the stealing of the money, the stealing ...

• Tanko 8 years ago

The middle class in Ghana is non existent. How do you expect people to pay their electricity bill or any other bill if they are not paid on time. Nurses, Teachers etc go months and years without salary. If you are willing to ...

• BONESHAHER 8 years ago

So Mahama you think you have identify the problem? You have state security doing the wrong job by raiding the offices of the NPP. I think the police should be doing policing, Mahama don't you agree with me?
    The problim is th ...

• danny 8 years ago

look at this soo called thief,corrupt,incompetent mahama talking about people stealling electricity......who is a thief in this country than you....you are really truly incompetent indeed.....the question is that,do you reall ...

• Djabatey 8 years ago

Mr. President you are very wrong, the real cause of the high tariffs is the inability of government and its associates to pay for electricity. Unless you want to say that government also steals power. It is also the genesis o ...

• John Anamse 8 years ago

It smacks of incompetence for ECG to claim that as much as 40% of power generated is stolen by Ghanaians.
    If as much 40% is stolen and ECG cannot find the thieves then they have an incompetent Management which must be sacked ...

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

As a leader crack your Brains and come out with solutions instead of of mere talking