You are here: HomeBusiness2014 10 24Article 331898

Presby University suspends 4 officials

Read Comments Comments (70)

• Saidu Bawa 9 years ago

We are dead, God save this country even Rev. Ministers are corrupt how can they preach against this

• Tawiah 9 years ago

He needed to fight corruption in his own backyard first before criticizing the president!

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Wife beater Martey needs to clean his backyard first you mum asssssss onye gbomi Prof Martey ba ye ensoooooome

• Ursula 9 years ago

At least he uncovered the rot in his backyard! Next time he will be more humble when criticizing govt.

• Mans, London 9 years ago

Hi Tawiah, you are talking nonsense. Fighting corruption is a continual process hence no need to blame if there is at least a committed effort to act and dismiss the bad nut. There is nothing wrong with what the moderator is ...

• Truth 9 years ago

I think we can blame MAHAMA for this one too. Ghanaians are very sick and blame everybody for their woes except themselves. When people are doing naked thievery we say it is corruption. Shame to these thieves in cassock.

• HAWA YAKUBU. 9 years ago

I take my hat off to the media people in Ghana. Keep the fire burning even if its the president let the world know of it

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head but it takes two to tango. That is the saying. First, there has to be buyers for anything that is offered for sale. Question is, do Ghanaians think, I mean do they really think? If the weste ...

• Deacon ASMAH TEMA 9 years ago

Why

• Ali 9 years ago

EVEN PASTORS, MEN OF GOD STOOP SO LOW. YET PASTORS OF THIS CHURCH HAVE THE AUDACITY TO CRITIZIE SOMEONE OF CORRUPTION.SHAME

• Speedy Gonzalez 9 years ago

Corruption in the Presbyterian University is shocking.Where is Rev Martey when this was going on.In his own backyard rort is occurring yet talks about corruption as if his backyard is free of corruption.

• Ben 9 years ago

Rev Martey forgot the gospel truth. Pick the perk in your eyes before uprooting the tree in a fellow's eye. The perceived known Christians do forget about the gospel truth sometimes. They only chase after diplomatic passports ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A Presbyterian person does not pray to God asking for a bicycle.
    A Presbyterian person steals a bicycle and then prays to God asking for forgiveness.

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

I wonder where else is left if corruption has cropped it's ugly head in a mainstream church institution. The whole nation should join in the campaign against this evil in our country which is destroying our social, economic, ...

• HAWA YAKUBU. 9 years ago

Who born dog to say that President Mahama is not fighting corruption.

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Hawa Yakobu, I'm sure this is not your tribe's name, It's glear which tribe you come from; Do you want people to believe that all these corruptions started only when John Mahama has been in power? What a shallow minded creatu ...

• Efo 9 years ago

Please read the article very well
    the people in question have been suspended and the moderator has requested investigation.
    They were not transferred to the presby church head office as the president did

• UNITED 9 years ago

Even pastors are corrupt, how could they advice the congregation. They should blame Mahama. Chasing after material things .

• Desmond-Russia 9 years ago

Now that the men of God who are supposed to be "clean" are involved in this evil then there is none to trust. These same "men of God" are at church level chopping the church monies. Theyare as poisopoisonous as politicians.

• Adade 9 years ago

No one is holy! It is only by grace that we are what we are! I trust that it will be an eye opener for the Moderator!

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 9 years ago

The looting of the nation is on a grand style. It would be interesting if the media were to conduct investigations into the assets of all senior officials of all public and private universities.
    Public Declaration of assets ...

• KWAMI 9 years ago

Rev Martey himself deserves to be vetted. It might be a click at work at the university. Is Rev Martey saying he is unaware of the rot? Onyame a hu no

• FMK 9 years ago

SEE THESE NPP-OREINTED CHURCH PASTORS WHO ALWAYS CRITICIZE THE PRESIDENT OVER CORRUPTION WITHOUT CHECKING SAME IN THEIR OWN SMALL, SMALL INSTITUTIONS.

• Matt 9 years ago

This one na Mahama caus'am. Hahaha!
    NPP will fight this one too. Hahaha!

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

So

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

WE KNEW OUR REVRENDS WERE CORRUPT AND THIS IS EVIDENCE THAT THEY CARRY IT ON TO THE SO CALLED FAITH BASED UNIVERSITIES.

• Nyameboafo, London 9 years ago

Rev Martey should do an honourable thing by resigning his position as the Moderator. You and President Mahama are the same so never ever critisize him again. You are a disgrace to the Church and the Christian Community.

• USMAN 9 years ago

You see how useless our university graduates are. They did not even spare God|s money.

• AMMA GHANA 9 years ago

PROF KOFI ASARAKU LARTEY TRAIN UP YOUR CHILDERN WELL THAT THEY MAY NOT DISGRACE YOU NEXT TIME SHAME.

• AMMA GHANA 9 years ago

PROF, THE UNIVERSITY IS NOT FAMILY PROPERTY, SHAME

• BEN 9 years ago

REV.PROF MARTEY SO YOUR SON IS CORRUPT? IS THAT YOUR OFFSPRING? AND YOU ALWAYS SHOUT THAT SOMEBODY IS CORRUPT? YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO YOUR COMMUNITY, CHURCH, FAMILY AND PARENTS. SHAME UNTO YOU.

• Agya osei 9 years ago

They are all the same preach virtue and practice vice. Shame

• Nsafoah 9 years ago

There is corruption everywhere except the Ghana Armed Forces. My military men and women are full of integrity and honour, so much so that there can never be corruption anywhere near Burma Camp.

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Rev. Martey and others in his profession has been calling for the return of Public Schools to the Churches (Missions), as it used to be in the Colonial times.

Now, with this huge Corruption in his outfit, right under his ...

• Kofi Kofi 9 years ago

Very good piece.#good#introspection

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

EEi Ghana. Asofo nso nie ooh! Wom nyame sumu mpo nie!

• yaw 9 years ago

its the whole country that is the people and they talk too much everybody blames mahama ,sad

• senior citizen Germany Braunschweig. 9 years ago

There is a core disaese infecting Ghanaians more than the Ebola virus which must be diagnosed head on to find clinical treatment for its complete annihilation.This disease is not respector of who you are, but can infect you, ...

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

Even in the churches at the villages, Pastors asked and get paid for even the drinking water (pure water) the purchase and drink. How fair is this to the aged who can't even afford just 1 sachet water? Sometimes you wonder if ...

• oor 9 years ago

Lord have mercy my own presby too shame on you give up your titles too men

• AGYAAKU 9 years ago

Where is that POLITICAL ACTIVIST when you need him most? I thought that Rev. Prof. Had finished cleaning his oun DIRTY STABLE before shouting from that "PARTY HQ". Now who is left clean enough to criticize the HOLIER THAN THO ...

• guy 9 years ago

is not only the top where there is corruption all the campus especially asante akyem campus agogo nursing department

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

How can a university dozent be paid and survive on a basic salary of GHC 600 (about EUR 150), when an unemployed person in Europe will receive an equivalent of GHC 6000 for just sleeping and watching TV?

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

Don't FORGET....that GHc 6000 was GENERATED by SERIOUS WORKERS in form of TAX for the Un-employed to receive! Sometimes, too many of you talk by heart,thinking you're smart.WE CANNOT COMPARE THE 2 SYSTEMS YET!!
    How many peop ...

• atuahene boateng george 9 years ago

It's sad this stories are caming out, please I think the sch council must look for miss Stella oko and James aggrey, they are the only people I no they did love and worked hard towards the development of the school

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Waa look! And then on Sunday, gullible Ghanaians will go and give them their scanty pay in the name of tithe . Tweaa!

• Ozymandias 9 years ago

Oh my brother say it again and again.
    Tweaaa indeed.

• Adjei 9 years ago

I gues this is not perculiar to government alone. even private institutions are facing this challenge. Systems have to be introduced to curb this. ERP type sloutions are needed in every enterprise. Howver if the foundamental ...

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

How many non-diaspora Ghanaian professionals have heard of ERP and ISO?

I bet less the 2%.

Youl would deplo ERP using computers, powered on electricity - which is a scarcity in Ghana.

So you see Adjei, it is not all ...

• Agya osei 9 years ago

They preach virtue and practice vice. Shame

• Ghanaboy 9 years ago

Why can this go on unnoticed by the Governing Board of the University? Don't they do an annual external audit even though this might be a not-for-profit institution?

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

HOW CAN THIS BE, DEAR PRESBY? AND WHO IS TO BLAME? ANY WAY, GHANA IS SO TOUGH THAT EVEN THE CLERGY CAN'T HOLD THE CENTER. WHAT IS ALL THIS?

• francis kofi 9 years ago

it is not only presby university that this is happening. go to LEGON, UST UCC and other public universities and see real nepotism,greed and other vices.Kudos to Rev Mantey.

• Effah 9 years ago

Presby corruption? I am not surprised. Moderator, please investigate the financial activities of the Ghanaian presbyterian churches in United Kingdom. Bombshell???

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 9 years ago

HE LEIDO MUY BIEN Y LO ENTIENDO,PERO,DE MI PARTE,QUE ME IMPORTA,SOBRE ESTAN GROUPO DE GENTS,Y SUS CORUPCIONES,

• RIGHTMAN - USA 9 years ago

They won big time lottery ?

• Ben 9 years ago

600 ghc for a university lecturer is an embarrassment.

• SHAME 9 years ago

NPP PRESBY MODERATOR UNMASKED.HE HAS CORRUPTION IN HIS HOUSE, HIS OWN SON? OH PRESIDENT MAHAMA GO AND SLEEP. THIS MAN IS EVEN UNFIT TO CRITICISE YOU. CRONISM,HYPOCRISY ET AL.SHAME UNTO YOU

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

NOT NEWS! FILLING THEIR BELLY IS THE PRAYER OF ALL, ALL THE TIME. @GIVE US OUR DAILY BREAD! ALL OF THEM HAVE BEEN STEALING ALL THE TIME.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

CHEATING AND STEALING GOES ON EVERYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY.

IS THAT A SOUND COUNTRY WE WANT TO HAVE.

• Jojo 9 years ago

IF MEN OF GOD ARE EVEN STEALING,HOW DO WE BUILD A SOUND AND PERFECT SOCIETY IN GHANA.

• cee cee 9 years ago

Ithought the church was more enlightened and educated than most of our other institution.
    How could you look at someone;s well being re: riding in 4by 4 and just conclude that he is a thief. I know some of the Rev. Minister ...

• cee cee 9 years ago

EVEN IF IT IS FOUND TO BE TRUE BY THAT SAINT- LOOKING COMMITTEE,THE COMMITTEE MEMBERS SHOULD ASK THEMSELVES HOW WOULD THEY WANT TO BE TREATED IF THEIRS(SINS) ALSO COME TO LIGHT. YESU GYE NNEBONE YEFO!!!. MY BROTHERS( THE ACCU ...

• papa 9 years ago

This is exactly what the former pro of the church Dr.Akyeampong was advising the church to address and his appointment was terminated.It is even worse at the head office of the church.Martey is a liability and must go,

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

So whose photograph is pasted besides the report? Is it one of the suspended officials or an official of the University making the allegation? Stupid Ghanaweb!!!

• A CONCERNED CHURCH MRMBER. 9 years ago

IF THE COMMITTEE IN CHARGE OF THIS CASE IS ABLE TO PROVE THAT THE SUSPECTS ARE ACTUALLY GUILTY OF THIS HEINEOUS OFFENCE, THEN THEY SHOULD BE PUBLICLY EXPOSED AND BE MADE TO REFUND ALL OF THE EMBEZZLED MONEY TO THE LAST PESEWA ...

• ss 9 years ago

This is nothing. Go to the public universities and see the rot.

• movitor 9 years ago

nyansa fuoo eeeee mo wo hen?
    this is what happen when you have a mumu drunkard politician priest leading the pack

• Collins. 9 years ago

I PRAY for my country.Adonai,by @Sark feat @Castro

• Nii Yaoboi 9 years ago

Are they not ‘biting more than they can chew’? To put it in the mildest! Look at their primary, JHS and SHS’s all over the country, are they performing at the right standards – socially, economically, educationally, s ...