You are here: HomeBusiness2014 04 03Article 305132

$300 million is no big money for peacekeeping - Minister

Read Comments Comments (79)

• kwame kofi 10 years ago

k thief hammond,kandapa and nana addo must be hang for causing financial loss to the state

• gha 10 years ago

Be hanged not be hang, dumb illiterate.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT NDC MUST TELL US WHAT EXACTLY THEY HAVE DONE WITH THE MASSIVE $20 BILLION THEY HAVE BORROWED IN JUST THE LAST 5 YEARS, IF HE IS SAYING,HE HAS NOT BORROWED FOR DRINK AND MERRY MAKING, WHICH MEANS CREATE, ...

• 49er 10 years ago

But the Defense Minister, Mark Woyongo, says “Let me make this very clear, the equipment we are going to buy, the UN will reimburse Ghana, it is not like we taking our money to buy equipment. There is something called work ...

• GHANA 10 years ago

THERE IS LIFES INVOLVE IN THIS CASE

• Realist 10 years ago

I think there are times when one can deny a brother some good, because he the giver cannot help himself. The Bible was quiet on this but did not deny it in the famous mantra,'Love your brother as thyself'. It never said that ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

NPP Mps, say no to this gang-rape !

It is never true that the UN will be paying us back the $300 million.

It is only a figment of the imagination of the NDC stealers, whose greediness and lust for sabotaging Ghana knows ...

• chuck wayo -WASHINGTON, DC 10 years ago

Why in the world would any sane leader contract a loan to go for peacekeeping in an oil rich country, where two powerful faction are fighting over their own oil????? This is insane!! Could this be another ploy by NDC to contr ...

• KANAWU (U.S) 10 years ago

IS GHANA PEACEFUL? WHY DON'T WE SEEK FOR PEACE IN GHANA FIRST. I MEAN SUCH MONEY CAN HELP THE ONGOING WAR OF: LACK OF WATER, ELECTRICITY, UNEMPLOYMENT, SCHOOL UNDER TREES, ETC. OUR LEADERS DON'T HAVE PRIORITY IN GOVERNANCE. T ...

• liv 10 years ago

I agree with you. We in Ghana also need Peace Keepers to protect us from armed robbers.

• Kay 10 years ago

Listen to a church mouse minister saying $300m is a small money.No wonder Sammy Okudjetu can carry GH¢20,000 in his car boot to a car washing bay.That is how poor people behave they don't know the value of money.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

It's small money and we don't even have it we have to borrow it? Is it not an indictment on this administration for mismanagement?

Why should we even fight for this UN assignment if we don't have the logistics to successfu ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

We have to do it URGENTLY because someone have to have a cut. This should tell you the level of corruption in Ghana. In any way, is Ghana obliged to contact a loan at such a high interest rate to go on peace keeping when we h ...

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Instead of this minister addressing the lack of due diligence on the loan raised by the minority he is talking rubbish that $300 million is not big money. If so, why don't you pay from your pocket? What has Ghana done with al ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

......these buffoons in government? To borrow money to go on peace keeping mission when Ghanaians have no water to drink? And parliament is entertaining this nonsense? This a typical case of create, loot and share. I definit ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Why should we pay another Woyome $11 million as finder's fees for securing this loan on behalf of the government? Who are these ndc thieves we are paying $11 million to?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Ask K. Boateng to comment on that. He will see nothing wrong with this, including the CHACHA ambassador but will attack Akuffo Addo for no reason.

• Gladys 10 years ago

What is the hurry to go on peace keeping if you cannot afford? If it is soooo profitable why is it that Ghana cannot raise this amount from endless years of peace keeping since Patrice Lumumba's death? This is just money for ...

• E Afful 10 years ago

Have they forgotten Prof Mills 'Di wofie asem' If Ghana do not have resources to support so be it. Do we have to borrow to support.

• KOOO 10 years ago

No power, no light , bad roads, cant pay workers, schools under trees and you want loan to go and keep peace in someone else country. What do we gain as a nation? Who asked them to fight. Who cares if they decide to kill them ...

• PERIOD !!!! 10 years ago

Participation in peacekeeping operations is voluntary. Bring our troops home because we are already suffocating under the heavy weight of the over US$20billion contracted by this Government between 2009 and now. We cannot bea ...

• Joyce Terkper 10 years ago

Why should we pay to keep peace in other countries when our economy is in debt to 56 billion? Always finding means to create, loot and share.

• bontua 10 years ago

Oduro has more sense than Woyongo. If parliament has to get a 300 million dollars from Russia to facilitate this, then we can safely conclude that this government is closing the window. Then you have to add 11 million for fee ...

• James 10 years ago

Oh Ghana $11 million free.Hmm god help as.

• Pon 10 years ago

Total BULL!!! There were cheaper loans . You have had months to sort this out and if troops in danger you as a ministry were quite happy to let them go what a disgrace . You have made Ghana look like a fool. So in take 7 year ...

• opusuodum 10 years ago

300 million DOLLARS TELL US HOW MUCH WELL GO INTO YOUR POCKET AND HOW MUCH WELL GET TO THE SOLDIERS

• NANA KWAME 10 years ago

Government should NEVER approve this loan. It is the same foreign countries who are behind these wars in Africa which are making our countries become fragile and need to be developed again. They will then turn around and giv ...

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Contracting loan for peacekeeping. Is peacekeeping by force. Let stop this nonesense

• Accra Resident 10 years ago

This peacekeeping activity has no benefit for Ghana, only lining the pockets of soldiers. Bring them home to fight galamsey. Our country is being destroyed.

• Ohene 10 years ago

Misplace priority, we can't to build restrooms for our schools and tourist areas but we go for a loan for peacekeeping. The minister has not yet revealed his cut in the deal when the bank approves the loan.

• SGT PEPPER 10 years ago

NONSENSE, JUST LISTEN TO AN NDC MINISTER. D'YOU KNOW THE PROBLEMS, STRESS AND FRUSTRATIONS SOLDIERS GO THROUGH WHEN ON OPERATIONS? HOW MUCH AFTER ALL D'YOU GIVE THE HEN THAT LAYS THE GOLDEN EGGS? VISIT THE TROOPS IN THE FIELD ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

I thought Peace Keeping is sponssored by the UN?
    Why do we send our Security forces for peace keeping,if we have to pay for it?This is just another ploy for the Government to take a loan and share it among themselves,otherwi ...

• KT 10 years ago

This minister needs to resign or to be fired for talking loose like that. How did he deploy troops to another country without been properly equipped in the first place? He knew what he was doing, send them and use them for ra ...

• akyekyedie 10 years ago

Twea kai -its not going to happen. Bring the boys back home for farming.

• Sappey-Agboh@Atsiame 10 years ago

Mr Hon Defence Minister, I may be an NDC card-bearing member, but I will not sell my conscience and support any misplaced priority. Will the UN reimburse us the principal including the interest and all other transaction cost ...

• SGT PRINCE 10 years ago

WE NEED THOSE EQUIPMENTS BADLY.....IT IS THROUGH THOSE BENEFIT WE GET 37 MILITARY WELL UPGRADED TO BE LEVEL ONE HOSPITAL FOR UN IN WEST AFRICA

• w3 10 years ago

Mortgage govt

• w3 10 years ago

Debt to protect people who hate peace

• Kankama 10 years ago

But why do we have to borrow always as a nation. Ghana is oil producing country and we are still borrowing for everything. What has the nation realised from the wet lease system so far? We have been in this system for pretty ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Even the name Woyongo itself sound stupid to be a defense minister. Peacekeeping operation is the duty of the UN to foot any bill that goes with it. This explanation that Ghana will be reimbursed is another way to hoodwink ...

• SUSURIBIBI 10 years ago

Why is the soldiers Peacekeeping money dey go for government side. It should be given to Ministry of Defence to enable them buy their own peacekeeping equipment and leave government or civilian money for them. Government spea ...

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

ghana is contributing to the madness of war is business lifestyle.
    just contributing and feeding the industry of war.

• Bugov 10 years ago

Parliament must never approve this loan until the government provides proof of previous UN reimbursements paid to government chest. Such loans are never paid back and goes into the pockets of politicians. The soldiers should ...

• Fred Amissah 10 years ago

Bagawash indeed.

• Simon 10 years ago

Having weighed all that I have read so far,I am of the opinion that it is not the acquisition of the logistics that Ghanians are against per say but rather the shady way the $300m loan is being contracted. The peacekeepers ne ...

• Kata 10 years ago

Simon, if what you're saying is true, then where are the previous equipment the country acquired during previous peace keeping missions? Obviously you'll agree with me that this is not the first time Ghana is participating in ...

• ALPHA 10 years ago

Bring the men home. UN should pay before any peace keeping. Corrupt people want free money!!

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

300 million dollars to keep peace in another country when we have multitudes of problems at home to solve?

As for this one paaa, I disagree.

• SUSURIBIBI 10 years ago

Army chiefs to speak and explain to all Ghanaians.Why is the soldiers Peacekeeping money dey go for government side. It should be given to Ministry of Defence to enable them buy their own peacekeeping equipment and leave gove ...

• KOFI ELLISON 10 years ago

Ghana has truly gone to the dogs.

"The loan amount is three hundred million, repayment period is three years, grace period is two years and the interest rate is seven percent which is too high. Upfront fee is 1.85% and man ...

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

I DON'T BLAME YOU MINISTER. YOU WANT PART OF THIS MONEY TO CHOP. NDC THIEVES.

• OKOE 10 years ago

WAY TO GO PARLIAMENT! KEEP AN EYE ON THESE LOANS AND BE VIGILANT TO READ BETWEEN THE LINES BEFORE YOU APPROVE OF ANY LOANS BY GOVERNMENT INSTITUTIONS. WE HAVE ENOGH JUDGEMENT DEBTS TO LAST A GENERATION. LET US CUT OUR COATS ...

• Joe 10 years ago

u fucking crazy, how can we contract loan to finance a peace keeping in another country when our hospitals lack basic equipments.

• Joe 10 years ago

u fucking crazy, how can we contract loan to finance a peace keeping in another country when our hospitals lack basic equipments.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Another IDIOT ! We cannot balance our National Budget and ALWAYS on the look-out for DONOR SUPPORT and you tell me 300 million $ is Peanuts ??? In which direction did you wash your Face this morning ???
    ALL THESE STUPID MINI ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Mahama begs for 64 million euros, Wayongo says 300 million dollars with over 11 million dollars in fees on top of interest payments is small money.... Confused, leaderless state called Ghana

• dodo 10 years ago

if we dont have money,why dont we stop this useless peacekeeping. this gov, ist driving use to the wall

• K. Ghana 10 years ago

Idiots are ruling Ghana!

• Haru 10 years ago

we don't think of paying nurses students for them to
    be able to buy materials to facility their learning ,We are thinking of,

peacekeeping,if you are hungry would you think of fight.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

URGENCY IS NO EXCUSE NOT TO DO DUE DILIGENCE REPORT. FOR ONCE PARLIAMENT IS DOING THE RIGHT THING. NOT APPROVE FIRST, COMPLAIN LATER.

• LoveGhana 10 years ago

No one can buy peace; it is endowed from above. Remember the USA nation in Iraq and Afghanistan, the outcome was lots of mourning families, widows, orphans, and waste of foundational support to their economy. We have to live ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

the west and vampire associates created war in africa then the poor african borrows money with very huge interest to buy arms from the same west and it's vampire associates to stop these wars.
    there are africans who worship ...

• OP. SARBUOR 10 years ago

HYPOCRITICAL GOV'T

• bokassa 10 years ago

I thought it is the responsibility of UN to pay for that money

• bokassa 10 years ago

ARE KILLING OURSELF TO SAVE OTHERS/

• Igp 10 years ago

Do you have $330.oo million to loan the government of Ghana , if you Woyogo claim the amount is small ? Look at Ghana's credit rating as at now within the relative short time Mahama asumed reigns of the Flagstaff House; not e ...

• Kwame Ampong 10 years ago

Why will $300m be big money when these 'stealing brigade'have each accrued more than this amount in their accounts? Real Thieves that we are dealing with. They should continue with their silly statements and 'nemesis' will ca ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

Big fool, it will not be approved, Papani, thief. If Kwame Nkrumah had rolled Ghana this way, you will surely be caring shit today. Son of shit carrier, don't forget how someone work hard for your free education and do same f ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

No problem. I thought the people of Ghana were the ones going to pay, I would have come hard on the minister

• KOFI 10 years ago

ei, what is this

• CINDY 10 years ago

The Minister should explain to us whether the first $50m loan given to the GAF was used for the purpose for which the loan was secured. Steyr vehicles for example were part of the proposed vehicles to be purchased but the mil ...

• Pro G H A N AIAN 10 years ago

There is no Bank in UK, registered under this name!
    Ghana Government is stupid enough again to sign BOGUS documents, with high losses to Ghana, AGAIN!!! (See the Housing Deal with that empty pocket Korean company!!!
    What ...

• Pro G H A N AIAN 10 years ago

Ghana is now going to lousy money brokers! Alone the earnings of 2 of this sharks is 11.000.000 $US !!!
    Not just the "Interest! and so on! How much is the Ghanaian Dealer earning out of this faulty "loan"?????????

• Martin 10 years ago

The point of contention is not the size of the loan to purchase the military hardware. Ghana lacks leaders with vision and foresight to plan for the future. The country has participated in peacekeeping missions since 1960 and ...

• Kofi Ghana 10 years ago

300 million dollars is "loose change" in the eyes of Mahama and his band of looters! This is exactly what a famous Kenyan anti-corruption activist described as the neurosis of the corrupt. Their need to steal bigger and bigge ...

• K.K 10 years ago

MR MAJOR HAVE FORGETING NPP GOVT. CHASSING LOAN IN A HAIRDREASING SALOON IN LONDON?

• Frank-Medical Services International 10 years ago

"$300 million is no big money for peacekeeping - Minister"
    300 MILLION DOLLARS FOR PEACEKEEPING --These loans that these fools entered into are the basis of corruption in GHANA...NO LOANS PLEASE........at a time the Governme ...

• Julius A. Young 10 years ago

Tell me, so you are borrowing 300 million to send our man and woman to war, so perhaps some of them may be kill? and you call this smart leaders, fools. if we don't go to this peacekeeping, so what? what have you done to help ...