You are here: HomeBusiness2014 02 05Article 299838

Gov’t to blame for cedi fall – TUC

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Liddie 10 years ago

A nation that don't even value their own currency. What a bloody shame!

• Mends, The lone Ranger. 10 years ago

This is what you get when you elect a stupid person as president with no vision and clueless. Tweaaaaaaaaaaaa. Ghanaians must tighten their belts because they are yet to experience the worse.

• BARELY FACTUAL 10 years ago

If our president was that stupid he wouldn't have been alleged for a Job by the K4 govt. All our leaders Rawlings , Kuffour, Mills, Mahamah are all good but the problem is the people around them

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

A NATION OR ORGANIZATION, BUSINESS THAT IS NOT TRANSPARENT. HAS NO VISION. LIFE IS ALL ABOUT CHANGE, INNOVATION N HAVING VISION. IF YOU ARE NOT TRANSPARENT & DISCIPLINED, YOU BECOME STUCK N PRIMITIVE.
    16. AA, KEEP AT LEAST 1 ...

• Liberia. 10 years ago

Kwesi Pratt is one journalist who acts like a camelion. Because he is ashamed of how he lam bashed Koffour's government as the worst Ghana has ever had, and could not even describe the most criminal, clueless, corrupt, lazy, ...

• CASTRO 10 years ago

dollar indexing has been around for a long time, since Rawlings. It is the borrowing and a bad economy that is hurting the cedi. You cannot borrow your way out of a bad economy. Every thing in Ghana is imported and virtually ...

• GURUNDA 10 years ago

WHEN SHALL GHANAIANS COME OUT OF SUBJECTIVITY TO OBJECTIVITY? OUR DEAR C'TRY IS BEING REDUCED TO NOTHING BY INCOMPETENT MINISTERS. MINISTERS ARE CHOSEN NOT OUT OF COMPETENCE BUT OUT OF CLASSMATES, GIRL FRIENDS AND RELATIVES. ...

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

The Akonfem President is interested in GYEDA and SADA. If EC stole an election for Mahama this what you get=visionless=focusless=brainless=directionless=leaderless. Mahama has no policy. Edey be keke is not a policy. It is un ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Dramani Mahama and his NDC stupid political monkeys are so senseless, idiot, deceit, dishonest and liars for
    sharing the State money to some Ghanaian people influencing them to vote for NDC incompetent fools when NDC got to ...

• kobby 10 years ago

Ghanaians will really face the consequences of voting a bunch of morons into power. you don't expect anything good after voting idiots into power.

• Asem 10 years ago

USE WORDS CAREFULLY AND RESPECT YOUR PRESIDENT.

• MAWUNYO 10 years ago

We must learn to respect the elderly. Your days on earth is reduced if you keep on insulting elderly people. Where is our values as Ghanaian? Those days you dare not raise your head to look at an elderly face. What has become ...

• MARTIN AMIDU 10 years ago

Fuckup with that - repect our elders... One must earn respect... if you are an elder and behave like a fool, then .. you are a fool. Mahamaa is a fool.. period.. he surround himself with fools. We were expecting him to be dif ...

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

If EC stole an election for Mahama this what you get=visionless=focusless=brainless=directionless=leaderless. Mahama has no policy. Edey be keke is not a policy. It is unfortunate Ghanaians rejected Nana's visionary policies ...

• SOLUTION!!! 10 years ago

The insults on the platform will not solve the problem.It looks we are all competent identifying the problems we have. Everybody is deeply concerned and have solutions as well. Regardless of what we are all saying "WE HAVE TO ...

• SOLUTION!!! 10 years ago

The insults on the platform will not solve the problem.It looks we are all competent identifying the problems we have. Everybody is deeply concerned and have solutions as well. Regardless of what we are all saying "WE HAVE TO ...

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS 10 years ago

These brain dead ndc stole the election, and yet have no clue how to run the country.

• Santino 10 years ago

Well said, Mr Asamoah. The government lacks the wits to manage our economy and they quickly shift the burden to the ordinary person. What kind of government is this?

• Akyena Brantuo 10 years ago

Why blame innocent Ghanaians when customs duties charged by the government of John Mahama are US dollar-indexed? Monkey de see monkey de do, abi. Why is the Central Bank not arresting the government first?

• dan 10 years ago

HIS VOODO ECONOMIC DONT WORK HE IS DESTROYING GHANA JOBS ,GHANA BUSNISSES AND GHANA ECONOMY

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

How dare you accuse our Dis/honorable politicians, boneheaded leaders and Know-nothing economists at the BoG, that they're the cause of the fast and continuous decline in the value of the Cedi??

Where were you, sir, when R ...

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

Mahama is presidentless. If EC stole an election for Mahama this what you get=visionless=focusless=brainless=directionless=leaderless. Mahama has no policy. Edey be keke is not a policy. It is unfortunate Ghanaians rejected N ...

• Ewe nation 10 years ago

Evil ashantis maggots are known for their greed and they are behind this fall of the Cedi with their usual shady deals.Time to ship out this garbage tribe back to their wastelands so they can leave our nation to prosper.

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

KWASIA KONE ANFA DUA,WHICH WASTE LAND DO YOU HAVE FOR ASHANTIS.ARE YOU FOOL? WHEN DID YOU STINKY UGLY PRIMITIVE BACKWARD DIABOLIC AYIGWEH TRIBE BECOME GHANAIANS.DO YOU REALLY HAVE A LAND TO CALL IT YOUR NATION.YOU BETTER STAY ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Who is this MALI guy roaming on ghanaweb like a street DOG attacking people ? why can't u send ur grievances to ur criminal uncle thief kufour ,who happened to be an accidental president for akan's for 8 years without a wife ...

• Ghana a 10 years ago

We blame kwame Nkrumah for bringing these northern thieves and wicked nyebro' eyegbe homeless people to ghana, they have been curse on us. Having rule our country over 30 yrs, from Liman, JJ and Mahama, waste of space

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Everything to you is about asantes? Go back to your poor Togo i wish we didn't add your trokosi tribe to our progressive people.Nyebro

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

Mahama is a tourist president. If EC stole an election for Mahama this what you get=visionless=focusless=brainless=directionless=leaderless. Mahama has no policy. Edey be keke is not a policy. It is unfortunate Ghanaians reje ...

• faithgrows 10 years ago

AND ALSO GHANA TECHNOLOGY UNIVERSITY IS QUOTING FEES IN DOLLARS... HOW CAN WE PAY?

• MPATA MPATA 10 years ago

The govt should encourage people to get into businesses that would rather bring in foreign money.
    These businesses should be given very low loans to operate.
    Yes we have to do something before it gets too serious.

• AKOMEAH 10 years ago

THESE TRADE UNION PEOPLE CAN TALK AND BLAME. I WISH THEY COULD GIVE US THEIR SOLUTION (CURE, PANACEA OR WHATEVER THEY CALL IT), GIVING FIGURES OF WHAT CAN BE SAVED etc. etc. THEY ONLY TALK ABOUT STRIKES. THEY DO NOT EVEN HAVE ...

• BEN COFIE,ALICE SPRINGS,CA-USA 10 years ago

MOST IF NOT ALL TUC TOP MEMBERS ARE SCHOOL DROP OUTS WITH NO PROFESSIONAL STANDING SO DONT EXPECT ANYTHING SENSIBLE FROM THEM

• Wisemen2 10 years ago

It is because of the sort of people like who see goat as cow that's why the economy is going ..going..gone.Your party won the election and has to perform,period.5 yrs in power and the cedi has fallen from 1.8 to 4.2.Are you s ...

• fools rulling 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A CURSE.. Damn!! everything is expensive and hard.. ahhh FUCK YOU MAHAMA.. SUCK UR MOTHERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

These measures will not work. Take a look at all the measures Argentina and
    Venezuela took to stabilise their currencies. None of the measures worked.

The solution begins with corruption at low and high places and ends ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

The country is governed by rabid fools who have not even managed to accomplish anything worth emulation for their own lives.

You cannot put the destiny of a country in such feeble hands and minds.

That's the problem. ...

• Nana, Oei Tutu 10 years ago

KOFI ASAMOAH THE FOOL! BLAME EVERYTHING ON THE GOVERNMENT. WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO GROW UP AND BE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR LIFE AND CONTRIBUTE TOWARDS THE BETTERMENT OF THE OMMUNITY YOU LIVE IN. SO YOU DON'T KNOW THAT STRIKE ACTION ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

AND SAVE GHANAIANS FROM THIS TORMENT.....WHAT GOVERNANCE IS THIS.IT IS NOW OBVIOUS EVEN TO A CLASS 1 PUPIL THAT MAHAMA IS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.....HE SIMPLY CAN'T DELIVER.HE SHOULD DO US ALL A FAVOUR BY STEPPING DOWN NOW

• Kwame peasah darkwah nyc 10 years ago

THEY VOTED FOR N.D.C SO THAT IS THEY WILL GET.

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

A country self destruct. Don't compare yourselves to USA. Far from it. Copy USA blindly, you are in for a big surprise. Because you guys don't even understand the USA model let alone copy them. Shameful country

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

EVEN A CHILD IN A WOMB KNOWS THAT PRESIDENT AND HIS PARTY ARE THE MOST USELESS GOVERNMENT THAT HAD EVER EXIST IN GHANA.HOW CAN SUCH A USELESS AIMLESS AND DIABOLIC MAN WHO CAN NOT TAKE DECISIONS BECOMES PRESIDENT.PUT YOUR FEET ...

• Mama 10 years ago

Ghanians elected this government. The downfall started by Mills as he was incompetent to govern due to his cancer.

• dan 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS DESTROYING GHANA ECONOMY,GHANA JOBS AND GHANA BUSNISSES
    UNLES THIS MAN STEP DOWN WE ARE GOING BACK TO THE DARK AGES OF BARLEY ABLE TO FEAD OUR FAMILYS

• Me 10 years ago

I like the concluding statement 'Government functionaries are in A state of denial and are descending heavily and crudely on people who echo the general sentiments of Ghanaians. This may be understandable given that such func ...

LEADERSHIP IS NOT ALL ABOUT BEING ADDRESSED 'HIS EXCELLENCY MR PRESIDENT'(ONLY IN GHANA ANYWAY).....IT IS ABOUT PUTTING IN PLACE POLICIES AND PROPER MANAGEMENT OF THE NATION'S RESOURCES TO RAISE THE LIVING STANDARD OF THE MAJ ...

HAVING BRIBED HIS WAY TO BECOME PRESIDENT,MAHAMA IS NOW PROVING TO BE A CLASSIC CASE OF A SQUARE PEG IN ROUND HOLE......HE IS SIMPLY NOT UP TO THE TASK.HE SHOULD DO US ALL A FAVOUR BY RESIGNING NOW AND SAVING US FROM MORE TOR ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

The battle is the Lord's. Nana Akufo Addo was robbed and the robbers are now reaping what they sowed . Not everyone can be a good leader. President Mahama and Afari Gyan are ashame. Sure, the battle is the Lord's. Nana relax ...

Go to the state if anybody will mention that dirty kufour cedis? DOLLARS isn't your money npp , get that in ur coconut head , so why calling Dollars, Dollars everyday in GHANA? Blame thief kuffour who intentionally stabilized ...

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

YOU DESERVE TO DIE NOW YOU ARE FOOLISH ALL FOOLS.KWASIA THAT YOUR DIRTY COMMENTS DO YOU KNOW YOU ARE SAYING,IF KUFFOUR DIDN`T DO WHAT HE DID YOU WOULD BE CARRYING THAT YOU SHIT PAPER ON HEAD.TURKEY PEOPLE DID THE SAME AND THE ...

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

TYPO FAULT DO YOU REALLY KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING.

who is that poodle following me?

• KB 10 years ago

The son of a pig. Kuffour is better than any president Ghana has ever had

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

THIS TUC MAN IS SICK OF HIS HEAD.IF TDC AND OTHERS COAT PRICES IN US DOLLARS IS IT PREZ. MAHAMA GOV. DOING? WHO IS THIS SICK MAN. GHANA TUC WHY HATE NDC GOV. TDC STARTED SELLING LANDS AND HOUSES IN USA DOLLARS & GHANA CEDIS S ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Wow, is this how you communicate with people in the US? Do they understand you? If you can't construct proper sentences then obviously this topic is above you level of understanding.

YOU SAID I SHOULD CONSTRUCT PROPER ENGLISH.PROPER TERMS USE IS IT RIGHT ENGLISH TO USE. PLEASE WE ARE NOT WRITING ENGLISH EXAMS. WHAT AM SIMPLE SAYING IS THAT, TUC BOSS TO GIVE GOOD ADVICE TO GOV. SECOND POINT DID PREZ. MAHAM ...

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT,EVERYONE HAS A RIGHT TO CRITICIZE THE PRESIDENT BECAUSE OF WHAT HE PROMISED DURING THE ELECTION.YOU ARE TALKING AS YOU HAVE NO BRAIN,DO YOU EXPECT PEOPLE TO KEEP MUTE TO THESE STUPID THINGS THAT ARE GOING ...

• samuel danmark 10 years ago

johnny stay in usa i don,t think is true because the way you talk did,nt shown that your in usa because it used to happened to us , uk, spain, italy, grece and etc not ghana so johnny in usa learn wel ...

WHERE IN THE WORLD YOU SEE TUC BOSS ATTACHING GOV. PERSONALLY. TUC IN GENERAL WILL GO ON STRIKE NOT THE BOSS WHO IS NPP SUPPORTER.IN ANY CASE IS IT PREZ MAHAMA WHO ASK TDC TO SELL HOUSES & PLOTS IN USA DOLLARS? PLS LET BE FAI ...

KONFANKO PLEASE FIND OUT IF GHANA PREZ. MAHAMA GAVE OR FIXED PRICE FOR TDC HOUSES & PLOTS IN USA DOLLARS? THAT IS WHAT AM SAYING. TDC FOR LONG TIME SELLING HOUSES & PLOTS IN GHANA CEDIS & USA DOLLARS OF YOUR OWN CHOICE BEFORE ...

• NO DISCRIMINATE - MAHAMA SUCKS 10 years ago

GHANAIANS DESERVE TO SURFER AND LET THEM SURFER . EVERYBODY CAN TAKE GHANA FOR VERY HARD RIDE BCOS GHANAIANS DO HAVE SHORT MEMORIES AS PREZ MAHAMA DISCRIBED IT FEW MONTHS AGO. NDC KEEP AGUING BUT IT'S 100% TRUE PREZ KUFUOR 8 ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I agree with you 100% some of them voted for NDC because they like JJ Rawlins the killer. Let them go hungry as one minister said they should go and eat Gari.

• DUNCAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

DIDN'T YOU HEAR ME ? I SAY SATAN HAS CAPTURED THEIR BRAINS. BUT DON'T YOU WORRY. I HAVE COMMANDED SATAN TO RELEASE THEIR BRAINS SO THEY CAN WORK. HE WILL OBEY, JUST GIVE A LITTLE TIME ......... SAY UP TO 2016. NYA ABOTARE.

• Nii Ayittey 10 years ago

The Government has no clue in managing the foreign exchange crisis. Its responses will further exacerbate the situation. They should do away with the control mentality and address the root causes of the depreciation of the ...

• Ojo 10 years ago

Where is STUPID, UGLY And BIG MOUTH with TEETH POINTING KWESI PRATT

• KOFI AGYAPONG 10 years ago

It is not eady to deal with teenage population as we have in Ghana when it comes to the history of the country, even from 1957 to present, especially our Cedi.

Do you know the value of the Cedi during the time of Acheampon ...

• Obiba Kwame 10 years ago

The currency of a country is really nothing more than printed paper backed by the assets of the country. If you print more of the paper, and you do not produce more of the assets to back it up, you end up diluting the relativ ...

• bob 10 years ago

Is sad how the so call corrupt leaders has put Ghanaians to shame.We don't have respect outside for matter Africans,because of our insane leaders.The richest continent on the planet earth,but we are the poorest.A nation who d ...

• William Sorkpor, USA 10 years ago

Question 1:

What's responsible for the downward trend of the Ghana cedi?

The simple answer to this question lies in the financial policies of the United States.

Ghana is not the only country caught up in this unfort ...

• Max Carter 10 years ago

Increases entrepreneurial tax incentives and guaranteed for local businesses as a way of increasing expanding the economy, reducing reliance on import and reducing demand for foreign exchange by creating jobs where by all inc ...

• Nana 10 years ago

What experience and qualification do the ministers of finance have to make the cedi and the economy better.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

SO DOC BAWUMIA WAS RIGHT,MAHAMA,NDC,HATE THE TRUTH,IDIOTS,EVILS,INCOMPETENRS

EVIL LOOTERS NPP GURUS.GHANA WILL BE OK SOON UNDER PREZ MAHAMA. WHATS GOING ON IS NOT ONLY GHANA.

Think outside the box. NDC has blinded you. Wake up and come up with better solution.

• KnYc 10 years ago

Why are you full of Sh it?

• philip 10 years ago

most of our leaders I don't even know the type of education they went through.We haven to learn common sense from the Asian countries, take a country like singapre,malaysia,Hong kong to mention just few in this contries every ...

• Okokroko Tafiakpa 10 years ago

We are a nation of big talkers. Put one of you in the sit as a head you would sell the whole nation for a posch car .Shut up and do your job. You are a clay to be moulded by the Head and not the clay moulding the potter .You ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Can some one tell me how WAYOME got paid for their creat, loot and shear transaction, these are some of the effects

• KnYc(USNMC) 10 years ago

Putting in place chew and pour people in place is the problem.

• STEVOOO 10 years ago

these draconian measures are primitive and very communist and dirty tactics so why is the ndc stooping this low?.....are we in a military rule or what...cant they use brains, integrity and technocracy to restore sanity to the ...

• Onyene 10 years ago

talks of this nature infuriates me.This man Kofi asamoah has he suggested anything apart from criticizing? He is acting for his masters leave him alone to fool around.The cedi started loosing value in only Mahama's gov't.

• GURUNDA 10 years ago

NDC ALWAYS FORCE THEMSELVES INTO POWER ONLY TO BRING GHANA FORWARD. NDC GET THE WAY THROUGH BCOS THERE ARE TOO MANY ILLITERATES IN GHANA. SHOULD GHANAIANS BE OBJECTIVE, NDC WOULD NEVER BE IN POWER. BUT WE ALL STAND TO LOSE ND ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

This is a gang of so-called revolutionaries and socialists who saw money and removed their kayabale shoes and T-shirts for Harrods shoes and suits. They have no knowledge about the enomini and no managerial skills. I guess Gh ...

• Obialeke 10 years ago

I totally agree with you.duties must be charge in Cedis.!!!!
    I will be surprise that a lot of South Africans have not even seen dollars before but here in Ghana even "aleles" are charging in $.

• James 10 years ago

Infact ghanaian leader's are heartless

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

"The Bank warned in a statement that violation of any of the measures will attract punishment including pecuniary sanctions, jail terms, suspension and revocation of operating licences amongst others".

This is abolute non ...

• Odasanibi 10 years ago

I am suspecting that the alleged spending spree by the government in power and its functionaries to help their campaign in the elections, has made a negative impact on the economy.
    The alleged corruption by those in charge o ...

• Enoch. O 10 years ago

Ghanaians need to wake up. Buy things made in Ghana. Eat Ghanaian Foods. If you do not eat Ghanaian food which is as nutritious as any imported foods if not more, you will always be short on your currency. I do not even know ...

• Obiba Kwame 10 years ago

The problem is thatif you want to buy "made in Ghana" exclusively, there is nothing made in the damned country that you can buy. Pen and pencils used in the schools, toilet paper to wipe your ass when you go, even second-hand ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

John Mahama and his NDC thought they could steal Nana's proposed programs during his campaign and stop his dreams. They were wrong! Nana had his cards so close to his chest.

John "Aplanke Prez" Mahama succeeded in stealing ...

• Obialeke 10 years ago

Stupid talk. Trash!!!!!!!

• EBENEZER 10 years ago

GOOD MORNING. MR.PRESIDENT FATHER OF THE LAND. MAY GOD GIVE YOU THE SPIRIT OF WISDOM TO TRANSFORM GHANA IN 2015............. BORTHERS AND SISTERS LET'S US ALL GET TOGETHER AND HELP HIM TO WIN THIS FIGHT...... AMEN

BY EBEN ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Have you ever heard of the UK, USA or any other European Countries trading with the cedis in those countries?
    I have said it before and I would say it again and again that apart from Dr. Kwame Nkrumah all our leaders in Ghan ...

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

History is going to repeat itself in Ghana very soon. When an insensitive government pushed the citizenry to the wall, the result was catastrophic. The writing is already on the wall. Over to you, NDC.

• Nakson 10 years ago

Ghana is not the only country experiencing a currency decline. This is part of a global trend brought about by the US slowing down the rate at which it has been pumping dollars into the world economy. Countries with larger fo ...

• SAY IT AS IT IS 10 years ago

The TUC, must know that in this our world every worker is suffering and it is not our Ghana alone.
    Taxes are what gorvenments use to build societies, and it is the worker who must pay for all these services as it the same wo ...

• TWEEAAA 10 years ago

dnt mind this man ; hes not been able to negotiate a dollar index for Ghanaian workers