You are here: HomeBusiness2013 01 28Article 263369

$80 million worth of Gold flown out; Officials tight-lipped

Read Comments Comments (102)

• AFRICANS ARE APES 11 years ago

AFRICANS ARE APES AFRICANS ARE APES

• KWAME90 11 years ago

MAHAMA CAME TO STEAL AND HE WILL NOT DIE WITH THE MONEY, I WORRY IS THAT HE HAS COME TO PUT HIS LEG ON THE DEVELOPMENTAL GEAR OF GHANA. HE HAS ONLY ONE LIFE TO DO THAT AFTER THAT HE CANNOT DO IT AGAIN. STEALING ON RAMPAGE AT ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

this is an illegal deal between two mafia business groups, leave mahama out of this

• AfricanBoy 11 years ago

It is only the ignorant who will believe this. Does Ghana government produce gold? All the gold produced in Ghana is by private investors and Ghana government only takes royalties or taxes/dividends. Which gold company in Gha ...

• dull 11 years ago

ghana has gold in the vaults of bank of ghana!!!! don't adverse your ignorance; and that gold can be stolen!!!!

• dull 11 years ago

ghana has gold in the vaults of bank of ghana and can be stolen by the government of ghana alone!!!!!!

• KD, UK 11 years ago

------------------------

theiranproject.com/blog/2013/01/19/turkey-lifts-ban-on-iranian-gold-cargo-plane/

• Osonba 11 years ago

this may be a true story. The link above exists and confirms the story! Yebedzii k3k3! Ei Ghana, let us beware! The couuntry is not for kleptomaniacs and spendthrifts!

• HolyGhost 11 years ago

How can you believe this gutter npp newspaper story.

• MAHAMA THE THIEF 11 years ago

SHAAAME TO ALL NDC VOTERS

• Attipoe 11 years ago

Please is time we face facts,the gold has been stolen period,what is false about tis story?

• Hebert, Sweden 11 years ago

AfricanBoy! these such cooked stories to the Public has let Ghana down, and disrespected in this World. May be Ghanaians and those Architects in these planting Stories do not know the implications, and harm it falls on Ghana. ...

• Ghanani Paa 11 years ago

Dont display your ignorance her, AfricanBoy. Ghana, like all other countries, has gold. Have u not heards of the term "gold reserves" before?

• Koffi 11 years ago

AfricanBoy you are the ignorant one, yes Ghana government has share in Ashanti Goldfield please check you facts before you write anything concerning the this shady deal.

• JDM (fr) 11 years ago

YIEEEEE!!!!!! Mahama is a dangerous creature who is not qualify to lead a country.Mahama is snake undergroung shielded by open mouth personalities ready to swallow anything that comes closer.Mahama is stealing our worth hence ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

Do you know how much money NDC spent on 2012 elections alone?

It is only God who can tell. I pity for Ghanaians.

• Asomasi 11 years ago

those who steal votes are those who loot national coffers

• ' and Jesus wept ' 11 years ago

What does the opposition care about but to go to paliament for their own selfish gains.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 11 years ago

When he went to the UN for te first time to address the world body President Mahama,out of the blues, mentioned the unfair treatment of the Palestinians in his speech. One would think a young president would exercise prudence ...

• NTAMKESE 11 years ago

THE PROPHECY OF THAT PASTOR IN GHANA WILL SOON COME TO PASS. NDC IS MAKING GHNAIANS SUFFER WHILE THEY CONSTANTLY USE GOD'S NAME TO FOOL US. GOD'S WRATH WILL SOON VISITY MAHAMA, NEXT ASIEDU NKETIA, THE HUMAN MOSQUITO!!

• angel 11 years ago

Do u know that disaster will strike u and ur family soon?

• kotoo,Germany 11 years ago

Only foolish people like ndc would not believe it,just because they blind.

• Ansapore 11 years ago

And also not in the courts

• Photosy. 11 years ago

Just a bunch of liars. Anything to discredit present government will do the trick. Am not moved.

• Ansapore 11 years ago

This dropout kobolo veranderboys of the NDC have convinced themselves that the TOP CRIMINAL HIERACHY is telling them the truth. Ghana soon or later will be PLACED on the SANCTIONS/TERRORIST LIST OF THE USA and these same bo ...

• Spencer 11 years ago

NDC means National Den of Criminals. Mahama and connections he needs deliverance. Nana will come soon so he should get ready for Fast Track high court.

• dan 11 years ago

THE THIEVES NEED TO BE SHOT NOT DELIVERANCE: that is the only way they can be delivered from Ghana

• Ansapore 11 years ago

OH NO ! UNCIVILIZED REGIEMS KILL THEIR LEADERS INSTEAD OF LIFE SENTENCING THEM.

• Frank 11 years ago

THAT'S THE BRIBE FOR THE NINE SUPREME COURT JUDGES IF YOU PEOPLE DONT KNOW.

• Ben Fosu 11 years ago

Our leaders are thieves,Ghana has enough resources to mk our lives better. Now who is accountable 4 what ...

• 2 Rikuss has come to live. 11 years ago

Why would GH. even do bussiness with Iran? This country is pushing for the distruction of the world. Why would we sale our minerals to them ? There are two facts the people of Ghana needs to know by now;
    1. Tthis Iranians Ay ...

• James 11 years ago

Who cares??????????????? Who don't know these discredited and useless Danquah Institute and Daily Guide ever published any about Prez. Mahama and late Mills that worth reading.

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

Only Daily Guide and its sister paper, the Crusading Daily Guide, which will publish this propaganda against Ghana. They spread unfounded stories.

• KD, UK 11 years ago

Check this link
    theiranproject.com/blog/2013/01/19/turkey-lifts-ban-on-iranian-gold-cargo-plane/

• Ansapore 11 years ago

HAVE YOU TAKEN THE TROUBLE TO CHECK THE LINK FOR THE SAKE OF OUR GHANA ?

• The Trucker 11 years ago

The President must come clean. He owes Ghanaians an explanation. There is no other way out.

• OGYAM 11 years ago

WILL KWESI PRATT AND KWEKU BAAKO USE THEIR POISONOUS PENS TO INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER RATHER THAN USING SUCH PENS ON POLITICIANS?

• Joseph 11 years ago

NDC Government has sold the Ghana to China and the Middle countries just for lemon and the people are starving.
    Gold and Oil to China,Iran and India Well you vote for NDC, that is what you get.

• truth 11 years ago

we are even tired of this npp idiots if the government want to buy cats and dogs they will forward it to you for approval don't worry, when president Kuffour's brother was selling inferior vehicles to the state was it made pu ...

• SON OF GHANA 11 years ago

STOP BEING A PARTISAN POLITICIAN AND START THINKING ABOUT THE COUNTRY. GHANA HAS MASSIVE ECONOMIC PROBLEMS. HAVE A LOOK AT OUR HOSPITALS, UNEMPLOYMENT, BASIC EDUCATION ROADS ETC, ETC. NOW TELL ME, DO YOU REALLY THINK THIS SOR ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

the deal lack proper docs. this is surely not from the government of ghana, do not make mountian out of this cos you will be put to shame. thus if you have one.

• Yoyo 11 years ago

Well since u stated this deal is not from the govt, does that mean the govt ought to keep quiet and not demand answers?

• Gudrun Mallet 11 years ago

Thankfully the issue has been brought to the fore - at long last.
    It will be interesting to learn more about the circumstances.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

I have always believe that this man Mahama is the most criminally corrupt person Ghanaian would vote into power after our independence which others painfully shed their lives with their blood for our freedom.

How the STX ...

• Alex London 11 years ago

This case was reported in the international press and on the internet January 2.

If Iranian Foreign Minister Dr. Ali Akbar Salehi was in Ghana to meet President Mahama on January 8,2013, behind closed doors. The issue of ...

• Kofi Ameko 11 years ago

Rank Nonsense!

Where from the inferences if you did not get a reply?

• UFO 11 years ago

"The voice of the people is the voice of God." Is this adage really true in Ghana now. A time will come some people will answer for all.

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

Who cares about this unfounded Stories made up by the Disappointed and Bitterly Defeated Party..When the Idiot Kufuor was in Power Everything he did was just fine and Superb..Hypocrite son of Baboons...LEAVE My PRESIDENT ALON ...

• Nii Ataa 11 years ago

Check this blok and you will not like MAHAMA anymore: theiranproject.com/blog/2013/01/19/turkey-lifts-ban-on-iranian-gold-cargo-plane/

• Yeboah 11 years ago

Government officials pls, you will still be paid after your retirement. So please don't gubble our money like that. Pls!

• Fred 11 years ago

They and their supporters do not take kindly to any constructive criticism. According to them they dont need any advice because they are never wrong; they are perfect and if you point out any blatant actions that are not in ...

• Penrossi 11 years ago

Who cares James? We should all care, if it's true that a handful of people we have entrusted the well being of our country to are stealing from us, dumb ass James..... You should care too, cos it affects all the innocent kids ...

• john 11 years ago

Ghana has its own interest, Npp.

• KD, UK 11 years ago

• Maame 11 years ago

May God save our Country!

• KD, UK 11 years ago

www.theiranproject.com/blog/2013/01/19/turkey-lifts-ban-on-iranian-gold-cargo-plane/

• Some Dude 11 years ago

Mahama went to Turkey. a whole plane full of gold impounded in Turkey. Political parties buy vehicles worth millions for campaign. A lot of people have come out of nowhere and are suddenly rich and buying houses, etc. because ...

• Koffi 11 years ago

Thank you Some Dude you said it all.

• owoahene 11 years ago

always ooposition has doubt.
    If NPP doubt that they have loss.

Think well and dont mingle internal matter with foreign issues.

• KD, UK 11 years ago

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• Kwashiomen 11 years ago

Is Ghana ready to face international sanction for illegally trading with Iran?

• AMARIYA 11 years ago

Could be payment of fuel from Azerbaijan, just before the election.The government got gas from this neighbour of Iran. In actualfact the gas might have come from Iran with the government falsifying that, the emmergency fuel ...

• Ansapore 11 years ago

Nonsense! If we have Azerbajan in the equation then why couldn't Mahama deal directly with them and they in turn deal with Iran. In this way Mahama would 've removed every doubt.

• black Avenger 11 years ago

"The 1.5 tons of gold, worth some $
    80million, is said to be Ghana's financial
    commitments to Iran" over a transaction,
    details of which are not known to the
    public.
    I said it, if this is what Ghanaians want, so be it ...

• nana kojo 11 years ago

npp and so called DI and so what? should ghanaians die for hearing this....jobless talk

• Nii Ataa 11 years ago

You should be SHAKEN by a CRIME OF THIS MAGNITUDE.

• black Avenger 11 years ago

african boy, what do you mean by false story, are you an idiot and a devil, people take away our gold and you stupidly comment that its a false story, aboa funu, gyimigyimii, kwasea mpanyi pepenii gyimifuo, honamkankan , was ...

• Attipoe 11 years ago

God save mother Ghana, i regreat born a Ghanaian.we are in a country with no jobs after school,standards of living very low.

• Richard Boateng 11 years ago

So what i love Iran

• Ayi Quaye 11 years ago

You are a GOON !

• Akosua 11 years ago

will God bless Ghana with so many azaa pastors and politicans?

• Trina 11 years ago

They mine here n destroy our lands n water bodies.we loose our farming lands n go hugry and consequently uneducated. we become poorer n fall for little Grants.Our leaders are extremely self centered that, i think its a dreade ...

• queen 11 years ago

watch your mouth & the things you say so you don't get judged

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

NANA ADDO ONCE EMPHASIZED THE COUNTRY BEING RICH ENOUGH TO CATER FOR THE FREE SHS POLICY AND OTHER ALLIED SUNDRY INFRASTRUCTURES INCLUDING SOUND MEDICAL CARE AND SECURITY.LOOK AT WHAT IS BEING DONE TO STATE WEALTH THAT CAN BR ...

• King 11 years ago

Ghanians shouldn't be surprised with this,another NDC boy has entered the OFFICE and now surrounded by those names that seemed dead but now resurrected.They keep taking Ghanians for fools because we keep voting them in.

• OKOROMANSA 11 years ago

WE TOLD YOU SO, MAHAMA IS CORRUPT, AND HE IS LEADING A PARTY OF EQUALLY CORRUPT POLITICIANS. ONE DAY WILL BE JUST ANOTHER DAY.

• Deivotor 11 years ago

Is it true that our late President ever said that he does NOT TRUST MAHAMA ?

• KANEWU 11 years ago

IF GHANA IS NOT BENEFITTING FROM THE VAST GOLD RESERVES IN THEIR OWN SUB-SOIL, THIS CASE IS ONE OF THE MYRIAD OF REASONS WHY.

EVEN CHINESE AND INDIANS HAVE TRAVELLED THOUSANDS OF MILES TO GHANA TO HAVE THEIR SHARE OF OUR G ...

• Kwaku Kpandos, Barcelona. 11 years ago

It is just a begenning. We live to see.

• PK 11 years ago

this is true check it out this website
    "www.theiranproject.com/blog/2013/01/19/turkey-lifts-ban-on-iranian-gold-cargo-plane/

• Dzimakpla 11 years ago

The corruption still continues to enriched themselves without paying heed to the suffering of teachers and other workers in the country....They are in flashy cars waving at the electorate at every event and we are happy that ...

• The New NPP 11 years ago

Mahama went to Turkey, what was he doing in Turkey. Why was the Cargo realesed after mahama made his trip to Turkey. Mahama is a thief and must be impeached. We need answers and NDC must answer this or we haul them back to co ...

• Mike Gizo 11 years ago

For the NDC and JDM came to steal, kill and destroy. NPP has come that they may give light n life. Because of the selfish and ethnocentric posture of some region that is claimed to be the world bank of the NDC today orphans a ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Daily Guide is doing Ghana a disservice.

• Kitty 11 years ago

Yaw, this is not fictional story, I saw it on American tv, specifically NBC. We can't sit down & continue to keep quiet, while the elite crooks continue to milk this nation of its resources. Don't you think our leaders ought ...

• Deivotor 11 years ago

This is a true story.Apart from checking the site, you can even GOOGLE MAHAMA IN TURKEY.

• Nora Owusu 11 years ago

John Dramani Mahamah should be held responsible for the $80 million worth of Gold flown out. Indeed Mahamah and his NDC Party are hardened criminals. I am hereby appealing to the Supreme Court of Ghana to let Justice prevails ...

• Proper Nii Ga 11 years ago

Ghana is a country ruled by crooks and thugs supervised by hallucinating religious mafia who have opiated the masses not to think and question anything only to keep on praying in the den of thieves called churches and temples ...

• Obaapa 11 years ago

THEY USE THE NAME OF GOD LIKE AN ADDICT WHO TAKES HIS DAILY DRUGS ALL IN THE NAME OF RELIGION. I FUCKING HATE THEM SO-CALLED CHURCHES USING GOD'S NAME FOR POLITICS, COERCION OF PEOPLE TO BELIEVE IN THEIR CORRUPT HUMAN IDEAS.

• Nora Owusu 11 years ago

I am hereby bringing to the attention of the World Bank and European Union or whoever is responsible for given loans to Ghanaian authorities to put an end at once because the Nation is never poor. The quantity of the gold me ...

• THE VAY 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU INTOTO. THESE PEOPLE ARE RUNNING A COUNTRY LIKE A DYSFUNCTIONAL REPUBLIC. WHETHER IT IS NPP OR NDC SOME OF THE INFORMATION COMING OUT MAKE THE REST OF GHANAIANS LOOK FOOLISH AND PLAIN STUPID. THIS IS A COUNTR ...

• Kweku Donsuro 11 years ago

This is one of the reasons why I always write that our politicians are fooling us by making themselves rich and the citizens poorer and poorer every new day.

• Human Rights 11 years ago

Ghana is being robbed.
    The sooner the NDC is out of governance the better it will be.

• kwame asamoah 11 years ago

this our top men what do they want money for ei!Ghana mmm

• citizen vigilante 11 years ago

AT THE LAST UN ASSEMBLY, PRESIDENT MAHAMA CALLED FOR THE REMOVAL OF IRAN SANCTIONS. PLS LETS BE SENSITIVE ABOUT OUR AFFAIRS AND THE IMPLICATIONS IT MIGHT RAIN DOWN ON US. GHANA IS CHANGING ITS ORIGINAL ROUTE OF DOING BUSINESS ...

• LARANBANGA - BAWAANAAYIRI BIE 11 years ago

A nation and people can be decieved if no knowledge

What is world market price of and ounce , gram of Au ?

How many ounces are there in 1.5 tons ?

Multiply the Total Number of OUNCES X MARKET PRICES LESS SAY DISCOUN ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

What is the problem with Daily Guide?

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

I cannot understand what is meant by the Persian country!!!! Even a fool can observe this story is a demented figment of a fool's imagination. There is nothing like "the Persian country/"

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

IF THIS GOVERNMENT IS GHANAIANS WANT, THEN WE ARE YET TO SEE THE WORST.

• George 11 years ago

This Mahama and his group of bandits will bring Ghana on her knees in just two years. All they specialize in is killing people and stealing.

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 11 years ago

Why blame NPP or Danquah Institute for the gold robbery.You criticised NPP when in power, you even brought a treasonable charge against an outspoken member of the party.And you criminals think you are above the law.This is th ...

• Naa 11 years ago

Shaaaaaaaame on u oooooo, shame on u! Write sometin credible. Cocaine turnin into konkonte powder! Can u imagine? Npp must be ashamed of themselves. Mike oquaye leadin Demo and he says he is a man of God! People help these pp ...