You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2016 11 22Article 488853

234 Ghanaian students stranded in Russia

Read Comments Comments (116)

• NDC IS A CURSE 7 years ago

MAHAMA HAS MONEY TO BUY NIGERIANS TO CAMPAIGN FOR HIM WHILES GHANAIANS ARE SUFFERING HOME AND ABROAD.GHANAIANS LETS RISE UP O MAHAMA IS OUR ENEMY

• DI ASEMPA 7 years ago

THIS IS TRUE STOP PAYING BIG MONEY TO NIGERIANS TO ENDORSE YOU MAHAMA! THE CORRUPT AND IDIOTS NIGERIANS WHO FIND LIFE DIFFICULT UNDER STRICT BUHARI ARE THE ONES CAMPAIGNING FOR MAHAMA JUST FOR EASY MONEY.DELE MAMOUD'S NEWS P ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 7 years ago

corrupt and incompetent

• ASIKO 7 years ago

THESE STUDENTS ARE ALL NDC MEMBERS AND IF THEY CAN BE LEFT INTHE LURCH LIKE THAT, IT CLEARY SHOWS MAHAMA/NDC INCOMPETENCE. JM TWA SO!!!!!!!

• Sinclear 7 years ago

ndc and Hanna tetteh incompetence remind us never to vote ndc again

• Baababora 7 years ago

So they do not have winter coats, is this their first winter? does one buy winter coats every year? THe situation is bad enough dont make it frivolous!!!

• Afia 7 years ago

Yes it is my first year personally. N I was given no money... not a cedi... I hope u can imagine how -32 degrees cold feels Lyk.

• Don 7 years ago

Those without the winter coats are the new students who were sent there just this year

• BeWise 7 years ago

What about the new students who just came? Do you think they should have winter coats when they were not given any money on their arrival? Nobody is making lies here. We care not about who wins the elections. All we want is t ...

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

There stands the transformation of Ghana, frozen in the Russian cold!

• Socrates 7 years ago

Very disappointed northener is Bawumia.
    Why?
    1 a true northerner to marry a Fulani is abomination.
    2 a true northerner to chose foreigner over his brother is a big fool.

• Selassie Mawuena 7 years ago

Are you really a human being? I think, per your logic, John FORD INCOMPETENCE Mahama is the BIGGEST FOOL because as a Northerner, he choose to marry Lordina the BIG BUTT from Brong Ahafo instead of marrying a lady from the N ...

• NDC IS A CURSE 7 years ago

IF MAHAMA IS A TRUE NORTHERNOR THEN HE IS THE BIGGEST FOOL ACCORDING TO YOUR ASSESMENT SOCRATES.THE NIGERIANS MAHAMA IS PAYING BIG SUMS OF MONEY TO THEM TO CAMPAIGN FOR HIM ARE NOT FOREGNERS?I HAVE SEEN MAHAMA SHARING V8 TO T ...

• BOWONDA 7 years ago

Socrates, please change your name! How could you call yourself Socrates and reason like this? I find it amazing that such people are still roaming around in human settlements! People like you are more dangerous than all the E ...

• JJ 7 years ago

THIEVES NDC DO NOT CARE ABOUT THIS STRANDED PEOPLE IN RUSSIA. THEY ARE BUSY DOING CAMPAIGN TO STAY IN POWER TO STEAL MORE.

• Hollandey 7 years ago

She abandoned her constituency and became a minister.
    Now she has abandoned the foreign office job and has returned to the Constituency because she needs them to vote for her to keep the job

• KOFI 7 years ago

MASSADONT CRY FOR THEM ,THEY ARE ALL NDC STUDENTS .Your parent must be NDC before you get this silly scholarship .

LET THEM COME HOME TO VOTE ,SICK AND TIRED OF THEIR COMPLAINS .LET THEM WORK DURING WINTER .Ghanaian studen ...

• Afia 7 years ago

Kofi..... how interesting it is that you are saying this. I won't be surprise if you are saying this out of jealousy. How could say even say that.? When one day you get the privilege to visit Russia, I pray you land in Sibe ...

• Don 7 years ago

Kofi, your ignorance evident in your lack of knowledge in the fact that the rules governing students and work in Russia and the countries you have cited are different. Student in Russia are not allowed to work.

Do not allo ...

Mr. Kofi. Actually with out of respect. I will recommend you to make a little bit of research on every fact you make in you comments before you go about ranting about what you don't know. It's different from how every countr ...

• BeWise 7 years ago

Mr. Kofi you might be very ignorant here about students and work. These are brilliant but poor students stranded in a country like Russia. In fact with all of your ignorance but just imagine the kind of hell they will be goin ...

• JJ 7 years ago

THIEVES NDC DO NOT CARE ABOUT THIS STRANDED PEOPLE IN RUSSIA. THEY ARE BUSY DOING CAMPAIGN TO STAY IN POWER TO STEAL MORE.

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

MEANWHILE, JOHN MAHAMA GOES ROUND SHARING US$68,000 TOYOTA V8 VEHICLES TO UNDESERVING PEOPLE IN GHANA, TRYING TO BUY VOTES FOR HIS ELECTION. STUDENTS IN THE UNITED KINGDOM, GERMANY, BELGIUM, CUBA ARE STRANDED, BORROWING MONEY ...

• Better Ghana? 7 years ago

Mahama does not have Ghana at heart... he is only enjoying as a president. He did not become president for Ghanaians. Just change Mahama/NDC and Ghana will work again. VOTE FOR CHANGE 2016.

• Joe King 7 years ago

THEIR STIPENDS ARE BEING USED TO PAY NURSES ALLOWANCES.

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

What a wicked leaders we have in Ghana instead to pay for the students they are campaigning with the money maybe they are from family nd friends group

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

Is true they have been cursed bcos any thing that they torch turns into bad in likes of school feeding, NHIS, metro mass ,dumsor ,capitaton grant etc they need wild deliverence

looted and shared the scholarships. see Wayome

• GeorgeS 7 years ago

GETFUND funded students have not also received their scholarship. Government has refused to release funds to GEFUND. The NDC government is only interested in winning power and has therefore resorted in using state funds in bu ...

• BNI 7 years ago

Use DKM Money government have looted to pay them. Posterity would judge

• asem 7 years ago

as for this Hannah Tetteh?

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Foolish report,do we buy winter coats every four months,where is the winter coat they had before going to the country?
    I have some winter coats which are over twenty years though I still buy new ones,anytime I feel like wear ...

• Johnny 7 years ago

No wonder you support NDC your brain is like that of an animal,you can't reason.Do you know that some of these students reading your comment might be hurt with what you wrote?Rawlings did the same to Ghanaian students when I ...

• X-ray 7 years ago

Leave to display his ignorance... Where in Ghana can you get a winter coat to buy before leaving to Russia ...tell him to be wise... common sense is not common to common people

• Mr Big moff 7 years ago

Where in Ghana can you get winter coat to buy? Abi you no sabi bend down botik for Kantamanto?

• TC 7 years ago

You speak in ignorance. I was in Benin in 2004 election year and same thing happened to us. Some students were sleeping on empty stomachs and some of us were privileged to intervene at the time though it wasn't much. It is so ...

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

Did you buy coats for them when they left Ghana? Who told you they were ever given money to buy coats. Don't talk about what you don't know.

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

Foolish report indeed! Please stop trying to divert from the point of this report. Whether they have coats or not is irrelevant. The fact is that these students have not been paid their stipend for 4 months. If you or your ch ...

• Don 7 years ago

The foolishness in your comment is worrying!!!!
    Read the article again.. the winter coats are for the new students who just arrived in a temperature of -33 and are freezing..
    Let's desist from allowing politics to cloud ou ...

• Think Big 7 years ago

When you are being paid to endorse a meagre and underachieved government like mahama's, the money sways you away from reality. People like Corney have paid huge sums of taxpayer's monies so they lack empathy for others. Imagi ...

• Eben 7 years ago

You are really a heartless human being. It's true we don't need to buy winter coats every year, but what of the new students who arrived during a temperature of between negative 25 negetsive 32 degrees. Which winter coats are ...

• Roger 7 years ago

What are they studying there and won't come home? With so many "Universities" mushrooming all over Ghana with fancy names why go to third class institutions in communist Russia where even the language is a problem? Where are ...

• Roger 7 years ago

What are they studying there and won't come home? With so many "Universities" mushrooming all over Ghana with fancy names why go to third class institutions in communist Russia where even the language is a problem? Where are ...

We told you the country is broke but Mahama and Tekpter said it was not true.,

• Independent 7 years ago

Better Ghana agenda for you under Dead Goat..hehehehe

• Edward 7 years ago

Do you want the opportunity to join an exclusive travel club allowing you to travel all over the world at discount rates whilst also giving you the opportunity to make very good and grow a business? Be your own boss and live ...

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

This is a waste of resources. These stipends could be used to modernize several schools in rural Ghana. We need good leaders in Ghana. I mean now!!!!!

• Wobb 7 years ago

I think the reportage was sexed up to achieve the effect of making the govt unpopular. Students stipend not being paid timely is not new. It has been happening throughout the 4 th republic and perhaps the era preceding it. If ...

• Serwaa 7 years ago

In some cases you could b right but what about the poor and needy students who were provided these scholarships?

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

i need answer.

• Someone 7 years ago

Medicine
    Oil and gas engineering
    Architecture etc.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage )
    `1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy and stamin ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

THERE IS NO WAY THEY WILL SLEEP OUTSIDE WITHOUT WINTER BOOTS AND CLOTHES.ITS ALL A LIE TO DISCREDIT THE GOVERNMENT.

• X-ray 7 years ago

You are a very ignorant guy...once again you are deviating from the main subjects that we haven't been paid for 4 months and new students who arrived weren't given a dime...be wise...if d government couldn't afford to pay for ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

Most of these students went there on their own. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Soviet and East European Scholaships to Ghanaian Students were cancelled but yet still, students who could afford to pay fees are admitte ...

• Chairman 7 years ago

Victor, you are wrong. Ghanaian students still go Russia and other East European countries through bilateral agreement with GoG. All those who are stranded are students who went there through official arrangement. Students in ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

Then it is a back- door bilateral agreement. In the past, Soviet and East European Scholarships were published in the papers for Sixth Formers and those with the requisite qualification to apply. Those days, because of what w ...

• Someone 7 years ago

Once again you are wrong.. The news of the scholarship awards are still published in the news Papers and we are here because we went through the proper channels. Can you please not deviate from the main problem here, that the ...

• Bg 7 years ago

Why

• AKPALIGA 7 years ago

Politricks! Do they buy winter coats and boots every 4 months? Only a fool will accept this nonsense

• Johnny 7 years ago

It depends on your wealth,if you have money you can buy a durable winter coat & boot which can last for yrs.Students coming from Sub-Sahara Africa often do not have enough resources to go in for quality clothing that last.I h ...

• yaa 7 years ago

The issue is that they've received nothing for the 4 months they've been there. This will mean that they only have the coats they left ghana with which will not be enough for the weather. I'm in london. I had coats last year ...

• Chairman 7 years ago

The issue is not only Russia. Ghanaian students in most countries are facing the same situation. Some have not been paid for the past 6 months. Actually, the problem lies at doorstep of the Scholarship Secretariat where the 7 ...

• JOHN MAHAMA THE THIEF MAN 7 years ago

NDC THIEVES/NDC LIARS/NDC KILLERS...,,;'.,..

• Billy 7 years ago

This is a useless story. Are we saying winter cloths are provided every year.
    I have a son in peoples friendship university and I can say with authority that the story is a fake one.
    Nothing like that exist.

• Your piece lacks facts and is without 7 years ago

Billy get to me and then you can have a confirmed report. When commenting pls try to give out credible information for public consumption

• Don 7 years ago

Billy, is your son a scholarship student?

• Eben 7 years ago

People's friendships is in Moscow. Check the temperature from 13th to 21st November of Tyumen and nizhnevartovsk compare it to Moscow. Nizhnevartovsk had a temperature of negetive 35 and Tyumen negetive 28. While Moscow had o ...

• Nana Danso 7 years ago

Do not worry. The Better Ghana agenda by the NDC is on course and a lot of infrastructure projects are on-going. This is the kind of government we have!!!

They are all NDC fool soldiers let them have it.nkwasiasem.

• Tee 7 years ago

Remove your political lenses and think for once in your entire life.

• fear woman 7 years ago

this is nothing new my passport was send to washington dc for renewal since october 2015 it forces to to apply for usa citizen

Let's see what farcical excuse government has .......it's election time so don't worry now out in open will be paid something in the next frw weeks if the story continues ...
    #mahamagetreadyforprison

• GHANAWEB DON'T BE FAKING NEWS OK 7 years ago

DO U KNOW WHERE I AM STUDYING ?
    I'M ON GOVERNMENT SCHOLARSHIP STUDYING ABROAD AND AM OK.

• Tee 7 years ago

Thank God u are ok and i will thank that same God if u suffer a faith like this soon

• yaa 7 years ago

You are ok doesn't mean everybody else is. I have experienced it in election year 2004. I know it often if not always happens around elections.

• X-ray 7 years ago

Where are you studying???... you are not okay, you are sick..nonsense...You are foolish

• Gun 7 years ago

FUCK WHERE YOU ARE! PUNK ASS MOTHERFUCKER

• National Debt Council (NDC) 7 years ago

Especially Under Putin, they cannot take on Part Time jobs.

Why Russia Anyway ???

The vast majority of medical doctors in Ghana above the age of 60 were trained in the former Soviet Union or Russia if you like.That is a fact.

• Trigger 7 years ago

You can take on part time English Tuition jobs and many other jobs especially when you have a student work permit.

• Louisa 7 years ago

I take on part time English Tyition jobs and the money I get in a month can't even feed me for a week let alone pay my hostel fees.. ????

• Trigger 7 years ago

If you're in Moscow then perhaps I can give you a few directions as to the way forward to live independently on your personal earnings and not on that bogus stipends. The first thing to do is to get a work permit. The process ...

• Don 7 years ago

No student will be given work permit in Russia just like that. Russia is not the us

• Trigger 7 years ago

To say that no student will be given a work permit in absolutely wrong. I got a work permit legally during my stay in Moscow. If you apply and go through the process you'll be given.

• KOFI 7 years ago

Why should this be government responsibility .I STUDIES WITHOUT GOVERMENT SUPPORT .

NO PITY FOR YOU GUYS .

THEY ARE ALL NDC BOYS AND GIRLS AND THEY WILL VOTE NDC .LET THE WINTER BITE AND YOU WOULD KNOW HOW IT FEELS .FIN ...

• Tee 7 years ago

Ignorance is a disease. Did u see tuition fees in the article?

• Serwaa 7 years ago

No wonder you "STUDIES" not "STUDY"

• obi 7 years ago

and Woyome keeping all this money

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THIS NDC DONT DO SHIT FOR ANYONE

• Lin 7 years ago

You people are fucking liars. We don't have minus 23 degrees here. We were paid stipends just this past September for three months. Before that we received another 3 months stipends. Where from these lies?

• Mike 7 years ago

Look at this fuck with his fucking lies. Students were not paid in September. Tyumen weather on 19th November was -32.

• Tee 7 years ago

You are part of Africa's many problems ask me why? Because u got so much hatred and hypocrisy in you. You are here pretending to be one of those students and that stipends was paid in September. And your aim i can guess which ...

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

They must to let them have their needing of the the winter time and the needs of them of those whom are in Russia, immediatly as they are crying of it ,well then for search an moher hold of you ,Madam MINISTER Hannah.
    ,God b ...

• Joey Boy 7 years ago

Most of the students hail from the northern part of the country, the president's kinsmen.

This shows how NPP can not be trusted...I studied in the then Soviet Union from 1977 to 1983 and it is a fact that our allowances are never paid always every month. The situation now is not different from when NPP was not pow ...

• Tee 7 years ago

U are one of the country's many problems!!

• Ar 7 years ago

Again ?

• Martin 7 years ago

The gist of story should be taken with a grain of salt because it begins with a grammatical error. Secondly, this is a one-sided story without any input from the government's side. A complete story should have included a resp ...

• Serwaa ???? 7 years ago

I'm sorry you think so but the story is very right.. People have been sacked from their hostels because they couldn't pay for their fees.. people are freezing in their coats... You don't believe it because it is unbelievable ...

• Don 7 years ago

Martin, then you do not conclude it's a lie, rather demand that the government reacts to the claims by the students

• BoyyFam 7 years ago

How will you feel if you were brought overseas to study on a different land without money??? Weather conditions you have never experienced in your life before and you have no cent to even afford a boot or a coat !?? How will ...

• HOWIE 7 years ago

OH GHANA

• Tee 7 years ago

Get outta here with your tribalism

• Kookum 7 years ago

Why are you branding someone tribalism. We all have been schooled in Ghana and never heard of any Government scholarship.

• Hi 7 years ago

most of them are from the north pa pa. they should question the Registrar

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 7 years ago

BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, PLC, DPA, CPA, BA (HONS) {GHANA}, MASTER OF LAWS (LLM) {NEW YORK, USA} PENDING, MEMBER, INTERNATIONAL (WORLD/GLOBAL) BAR ASSOCIATION, MEMBER, COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ASSO ...

• Ganyo 7 years ago

Just another hoax from the NPP press.

• Kookum 7 years ago

Never knew Ghana Government still offers scholarship, I thought they stopped these in the 80's. Probably they grant them to the Voltarians and the Northerners.

• Collins Anim 7 years ago

stupid country. why should a country this poor pay for students to study overseas when we have many universities at home.

• Akua Djomo 7 years ago

some of you lobbied and paid bribes and some are picked because of affiliation to political parties. now you have it enjoy your stay

• adiza 7 years ago

NDC must pay all expenses before they leave office.

• WHITEY 7 years ago

This is no news