You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 11 13Article 393808

Sisters struggle to rescue ailing mom stranded in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (144)

• KOFI 8 years ago

I pray that you are able to find help. White people have the same sickness and we see it as sickness, but when an African has that same illness he/she is considered a witch. I use to have seizures and I was told that someone ...

• KB 8 years ago

There is something called "mass schizophrenia",and it tends to be culturally based.Sadly,a lot of African cultures suffer from it,even whole tribes,and sad to say,countries.
    Of course the diagnoses of that don't
    come easy e ...

• Mensah Sarbah 8 years ago

KB,you are talking crap.You will not find " mass schizophrenia " in any diagnostic manual in any language or in any psychiatric institution. Schizophrenia,yes but to say a whole culture,tribe,country etc may have " mass schiz ...

• KB 8 years ago

I agree,Mensah Sarbah.A little bit of knowledge is dangerous,but sadly it applies to you more than you think.Did you ever hear about what happened in Papua New Guinea,where some so professed witch doctors claimed to have been ...

• mike 8 years ago

If you were here yo wouldn't say that!.The girls are working on it.Some people live on paycheck to paycheck.Not everyone in Canada is living in the land of milk and honey!

• Paa 8 years ago

What the fuck are you talking about KB? You are haven't made any point whatsoever. You have instead made a fool of yourself by portraying your ignorance about mental health issues.
    Mensah Sarbah is right.

• TON TON MACOUTE 8 years ago

Why is the present Ghanaian gonernment so callous and wicked when it comes to money? How can a psychiatric patient be charged such an amount and in dollars? How does the government expect this poor woman to pay? What does the ...

• Dogg 8 years ago

See how you're all broke in abrokyire.

• mike 8 years ago

Come to Canada to live. and find out how much it cost to live.We are a very highly taxed country.Wages are high,but so are taxes.

• kofi 8 years ago

And they send your tax monies to help poor countries like Ghana and some stupid fools in Ghana talk shit about abrokyire nkwasiafoo

• jk Atta 8 years ago

It is tough in abrokyire my friends, Only milk and sausage and the high rises around us keep our abrokyire dreams alive,

• Didier bob 8 years ago

Only $1850 and you can't find it? is easy to say because some people think that money grow on the trees in the west; like its grows in Ghana in trees . The west is tough . It is just those people who ...

• ifrica 8 years ago

eh charli i wonder for dem self cos abrochie like dem for save something

• kofi 8 years ago

Jealousy they're students. How many Ghanaians can afford $4000 impromptu money. Fool

• Paa 8 years ago

They are students, Mr Kraman

• Tsetsekule 8 years ago

I am working in Africa ,but ai have at least $20.000 in my account.

• gretchy NZ 8 years ago

That useless doctor has no right to hold her.The longer she stays there the more money the bastard wants so he can fill his own pockets.Communicate with her children or relatives to iron out a way to finalize her account.Are ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Why is the Canadian High Commission not coming to the aid of this poor woman by paying her Hospital bills and her air ticket back to Canada if they're prepared to issue her travel documents? After all, that's the least they c ...

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

I think she has nobody to forward her issue to Canadian embassy and I think her kids are soo weird not following the mom since 2009..pretty long time;i understand when se was leaving the country they might be young but they ...

• Kofi Boakye Canada 8 years ago

You're very insensitive and a foolish person to even suggest that the children are lazy. Ghanaians are idiots plain and simple. The ignorance of the people is indicative of how poorly the country's education system is being m ...

• Dr. Sam Arthur 8 years ago

Kofi Boakye, please do not go overboard and call people names. I was sad, shocked, humiliated as a humanbeing when I first sighted this woman on social network and thought there was something wrong.
    If she was my Mum, as God ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

Just because some body is of age doesn't mean they should be able to raise funds or come out with funds to help in situation like this. Trust me it is probably by God's grace that these kids has been able to pass through the ...

• Che 8 years ago

Joe, they should stop trying to get sympathy here. If they have debts and not jobs, as you assume. why havn't they till now, solicited for help as they are trying to do now? You mean, even McDonalds job is hard to find in Can ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

I don't know where you live, but I believe you don't live in Canada. For your information, Ontario is one of the hardest place for youth to find work. I am not playing any emotional game here dude, as a parent I know what I a ...

• mena 8 years ago

They are lazy. The fact that you can't get a teaching job doesn't mean you can't get factory job get off your high horse and do double menial jobs only 4000 dollars ah don't they have Ghanaian friends?

• Dessie 8 years ago

THE KIDS ARE LAZY..PERIOD!!!

• truth is one,do not be decieved 8 years ago

God forgive you for labling all Ghanaians f**ls

• KB 8 years ago

And you will find people defending the idiocy,sadly.

• Akristosom Yewagadril. 8 years ago

The result of mother fucker Asofo, Asofo and lack of brains. Backward people. Even the educated believe in these Asofo and 'Bayie'crap.

• Che 8 years ago

Yes, accepted. Did you just woke up to know this about Ghana? Ghana has been this same when you were here. Where have been the kids since 2009? Have they ever missed their mom till now? Ghana is a sick country and that is why ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

Kofi Boakye:i think you are the one of tose people living on affordable housing,in other words warefare houses:Look;information we have heard is that..the kids are 28yrs,26yrs and 20yrs/...and the need 1850$ to take this mom ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

You may be lucky to live with your parents who have somehow supported you or lucky to get a job for yourself, congrats. I know some kids who even traveled as far as Alberta to look for job, but sadly to say some of them were ...

• Yao 8 years ago

I am not sure if you are of a sound HEAD.

• Dessie 8 years ago

...And I am not sure if you also feel what what I feel in regards to this woman's sorrow;we as Ghanaians shy of facing the fact;no rational human being will allow their mother go through what this woman has gone through consi ...

• Hajia 8 years ago

Let us all help,no amount is too small.Please let know where we can donate.Just donate what u can ,it mussnt be millions.Allah will bless even the less donater because ur intention is a good one.Forget about religion and see ...

• ADWOA LONDON 8 years ago

what a barbaric, uncaring,and a sick society have we created?.I feel sad and ashamed of the behaviour of my country men and women. How can you call this sad, lonely and poor woman a witch just because she was naked? Have we n ...

• Compassion, USA!! 8 years ago

Contact me in Houston, I will pay all the bills and marry one of the sisters!! Ahh! Small problem!! You girls need to move to USA!!

• OH LORD 8 years ago

They dont care about us.If it had been a canadian citizen they wd have paid.Hmmm God please bless me financially so i that i can bless those in need.

• NDC HAS DESTROYED GHANA. 8 years ago

WHY NOT GHANA GOVERNMENT.IS PANTANG NOT A GHANA GOVERNMENT'S INSTITUTION.WHY CAN'T THEY LEAVE HER FOR HER TO GO TO CANADA AND HAVE GOOD MEDICATION.HOW MANY PEOPLE IN THAT HOSPITAL CAN PAY THE MONEY THEY ARE DEMADING FROM THIS ...

• KOO THE BOY 8 years ago

why is Ghana not helping?

• GaBaa 8 years ago

Can we know where we can send some money to get this woman out.

• ABINCHI 8 years ago

SOME OF US ARE READY TO DONATE MONEY TO HELP THE LADY. WHICH MEDIA HOUSE IS READY TO DO THE COLLECTION. WHEN THE STORY CAME UP, MANY OF US SAID THAT IT WAS NOT TRUE THAT THE WOMAN WAS A WITCH, BECAUSE HAVING STAYED IN MADINA ...

• Auntie Lizzie 8 years ago

I'm in Toronto and I want to donate ,can the sisters set an account at any bank in Toronto so that we torontonians can help please.

• Victor Afghanistan 8 years ago

God bless all that are ready to help .

• KB 8 years ago

From the story as reported,it seems clear that the woman is a borderline,or if you like 'cultural familial' case of haemophrodite which unfortunately depressed her into developing schizophrenia due to her sense of embarassmen ...

• jk Atta 8 years ago

I don't know whether in Canada they cannot appeal for funds from charities or the public.What about their church?

• Incredible 8 years ago

blessin

• kwasi 8 years ago

Very pathetic.

• TIME WILL TELL 8 years ago

COME ON CANADIAN AMBASSADOR : DO SOMETHING FOR THIS LADY AND HER CHILDREN !!!!!!!!:WHY IS SOMEBODY BECOMMING SO WICKED !!!!!!!!: HAD THIS LADY DONE SOME WHICH WILL HAIL THE NAME OF CANADA : THE CANADIAN EMBASSY LIKE THE BRIT ...

• boston 8 years ago

It is sad that in this the 21st century that people in African react this way to mental illness it can happen to the best of you. This ladies needs help and I pray that her family can get her back to Canada where she can get ...

look;folks don't just jump into conclusion..there is more to it that what these kids has said..at 28yrs,at university,26years at college and 20years..allow your mom to have gone through this situation it is ridiculous;they do ...

• Anthony 8 years ago

The kids must be under a mirage. They appear strange. Something must have gone really bad. The story is very poorly written , very unclear and with many unanswered questions. Where is the dad of the children. How did she come ...

• true 8 years ago

I don't know but is like the sickness started her in Canada be4 coming to Ghana If so y not treated there.

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

and NGO's in Ghana?

All they know are 'blah.. blah.. blah..' and no substance. This is a clear case where just a single NGO /Church could provide help to the kids.

And to the father of the children: so for the love of h ...

• Ad us. 8 years ago

Mahama is rather the witch.

• OWEN-NEW YORK 8 years ago

AMERICA WILL NEVER TURN HER BACK TO HER CITIZENS IN SUCH SITUATION. THE MOMENT THEY ESTABLISH THE AUTHETICITY OF THE FELLOW AS AMERICAN CITIZEN,ALL ARRANGEMENTS WILL BE MADE TO FLY THE PATIENT BACK TO UNITED STATES. AMERICA I ...

• Alhassan Walla 8 years ago

Canada provides free healthcare for both her citizens and permanent residents living in Canada, unlike the USA where you have to pay or secure some insurance for your healthcare needs. Obamacare is something recent and beset ...

• Real québécois MTL 8 years ago

Sir according to the Toronto star, she has been awarded her travelling documents so all that they need is the money to pay for her plane fare and the hospital bill.

• Diasporan 8 years ago

I am also of the True North. You seem to understand our systems well; and I like the way you have explained the issue on the basis of the information available.

It is very true that we take our Canadian citizenship ser ...

• Dunaa 8 years ago

That's why I'm so proud being an American. May God continue to bless America.

• mena 8 years ago

God bless America

• Okunka, Canada 8 years ago

All u need to do is to organized yourself probably in Canada (1)setup a donation center in Canada with any of the Bank's in Canada (2) Setup a one eight hundred number, am ready and willing to contribute

• Kwame D 8 years ago

I don't know when are we going to wake up from these invidious acts.Its
    Shameful to the nation that such mentality still exist with us in this 21st
    Century.That we believe in witches than sickness.That the gov't,t can't h ...

• adwoa 8 years ago

Deterrent not detergent.

• Mohammed Abdulai 8 years ago

Africa will always be at the bottom of every aspect of live.We are very primitive.Even those of us who are educated some times behave worse than those who are not.Sick people are treated worse than animals.What is wrong with ...

• LOVE 8 years ago

Ghanaians, when will we stop these PRIMITIVE ideas? This is a very sad story indeed.

I will suggest that these girls have some sort of fundraising within the Ghanaian Communities in Canada, especially in the various Gha ...

• jerry 8 years ago

the old lady must be turned over to her family immd

• Addai Sarfo Yeboah - Canada 8 years ago

Can the girls call my number at 289-926-1495 for assistance. Thank you.

• Martin 8 years ago

The harsh treatment of the sick woman is indicative of the Ghanaian psyche. Good people will instinctively help someone in distress and not resort to tauting. Not only was it appalling that they failed to render any help, th ...

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

I remember hearing a watchman saying that he saw a bird falling and after it fell, it turned to a woman with a man's face.

I personally cried when I saw how a huge crowd surroundded the noble women, claiming she was a witc ...

• Dick 8 years ago

I'm also in Toronto, just like Kwasi, and I believe this is a touching news and if there's a place where money could be sent to, please let the whole Ghananaians in Toronto know.
    Thanks

• Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago

All that these girls have to do is to contact the President of Ghana Union in Toronto who will work with the Ghanaian Associations and Churches in Ghana to raise funds to repatriate their mum back to Toronto. The girls can re ...

• KANAWU KASABA 8 years ago

We are willing to donate to rescue our sister . The most important aspect of the story should have been a link or a means to donate and there is none?

Why is that?

• Naadu 8 years ago

Please get your local government in Canada to help set-up an account, publish it through out recognized media in Ghana, Peace, Keesben FM etc will do, and we will put some money into that account.

• Oroko 8 years ago

So you're mum is schizophrenic, then you're doomed. You're ugly anyway. Who cares? tweaaa.

• Moley 8 years ago

And your comment is supposed to add what?!? Freedom of speech does not mean freedom to take on the the title of moron of the century.

• Glo 8 years ago

Moley, thank you for recognizing that this individual is not quite with us mentally!

• NS 8 years ago

Oroko, stop your foolishness. .haba.

• Abena London 8 years ago

My dear brother don't talk like that beautiful or urgly they are still human beings, thank you mr handsome.

• Bernice 8 years ago

You are crazy!

• nana k 8 years ago

Oroko wo y3 aboa paa wati....1000x

• nhyira ba 8 years ago

I can not believe these comments are coming from fellow human beings with no motions. If you can not help them do not call them names. These girls grew up without a mother to direct them in life . Unfortunately this disease ...

• oman ba pa 8 years ago

Okoro, sorry to say, u are very stupid. Are u human? May God forgive u

28yrs,26yrs and 20yrs..could not work summer break at factory or tim Horton to generate money to save your mom? and blaming others?..i pretty sure both of them using high end smart phones which they pay monthly//I must hones ...

• Vee 8 years ago

Do you honestly believe these young prople have no been trying? They are all in school andnone is a revent graduate. Myself being a recent graduate and WORKING full time can tell you, its not easy. How much more being a full ...

• K.P. U.S. of A 8 years ago

Will like to help, where shd l send money to?

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

The high commission should investigate and if the story is true, they should issue the visa so the old lady can be with her children. Hope it is not a scam, just investigated to get to the bottom of it.

• K.P. U.S. of A 8 years ago

Oroko Mr nice guy, thank God for creating you handsome.. a word to the wise is...

• akua 8 years ago

Please send us the children's contact in other to be able to help.

• Ga Royal 8 years ago

This soo pathetic.. But Thank God she was found.May God help u secure better medical treatment for her.... How many mentally sick people r charge 1800 dollars plus. God Punish ds hospital admin

• wiseman 8 years ago

Does Ghana Health Insurance cover this kind of disease? just asking or she don't NHIS CARD, am pretty sure the hospital is charging this amount just because they heard she's living in abroad and surely she will get someone to ...

• Samuel appiah boahene 8 years ago

Why are we referring to Canada high commission to support is the woman not Ghanaian or what,why can't you Ghanaians accept that the country has failed its citizens and shift the blame on Canada and etc Ghana is a very wicked ...

• Samuel appiah boahene 8 years ago

God will surely expose someone to help you not later than 1 week,we shall pray with you.
    These girls are Ghanaians in future when they become popular then Ghanaians will start taking the credits useless country

• mahama is a thief 8 years ago

everything in ghana is bad how can and mental clinic allow patients to walk on the streets and demand payment this sick girls do something quick to rescue her i wont be surpised if they havent inflated the price mpo aa

• Awendadze 8 years ago

Can the Ghana Government not step in to resolve the problem?. The woman is in a Ghanaian hospital. Are we being told that we are still under-developed to deal with this type of illness?. And we consider our nation a civ ...

• dedehene 8 years ago

Where can I send my contribution.

• hmmmmm 8 years ago

Cant they find a lower job like restaurant job or cleaning job to do in Canada there if they really love their mother to help their mother.im in usa.i started working at the age of 17yrs in the restaurant Mcdonald. They need ...

• No Pinkie, am the Brain 8 years ago

At no cost to them, no "job" needed, no stopping attending college...I will teach them how to make a minimum of $1,000 for every new adult student they put in a particular college in the US. The classes are all online 24/7 a ...

• Kay Canada 8 years ago

What a fuck this can't happen to a Canadian. The children must report this to the CbC tv. The Canadian mission in Ghana must act now. Holly shit

• Kwadjoe Yeboah, USA 8 years ago

Please set up an account so we can all contribute to assist this lady and her thoughtful children. I'm ready to do my part. Even $10.00 contribution from each person who has been touched by this story can reach the goal. It c ...

• Cocoa 8 years ago

Kofi I agree with you, Ghanaians are really say the stupidest & insensitive things. It goes to show the brains they have. And some of them think they're ever so smart, nonsense. Before they pray God intervene on these Sister ...

• No Pinkie, am the Brain 8 years ago

This is enough to make Nana Asantewaa roll over in her grave! The men, again, not stepping up to give the women the security women and children need.

• Susan 8 years ago

I wonder if this is a case where the Ministry of Gender can assist under their program where they are providing some assistance to those condemned to witch camps and abused/ accused as being witches.

• Makaveli 8 years ago

WHERE IS THE CROWDFUNDING WEBSITE?

• Apostle 8 years ago

God will make a way

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

ddd

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

If you cannot make a matured positive comments or remarks, please refrain from TRASH TALK, You put it out there it will come back to YOU, more than you can HANDLE.

This is heart breaking for anyone. Do takeeheart and act with advice from Canada.

• kofi kafui 8 years ago

sad news!

• Akwesi Afrifa 8 years ago

Typical Ghanaian mindset.All those castigating the Canadian Embassy/Govt are totally mistaken.Apart from being Canadian,this lady might also have Ghanaian nationality.In otherwise,she may have dual citizenship.That being the ...

• ohene 8 years ago

Can you people put your phone numbers so that people can call and contribute.

• yk US 8 years ago

Mahama is a wizard foolish man u give all d money to the okoros and ankobiahs

• JANTER 8 years ago

IT'S STRANGE ALL OFTHESE SISTERS DO NOT WORK PART TIME.JOBS.

MACDONALDS KFC KITCHEN CHICKEN AND MANY OTHERS ARE ALWAYS ADVERTISING FOR PART TIME WORKERS, TARGETING STUDENTS.lazye girls.

LAZY SJSTERS. WORK DOES NOT KILL

• francis 8 years ago

the hospital administrator should be ashamed of himself or herself for
    demanding a fee from this poor woman
    where was the hospital when she was on
    the street if this has happened in any civilized country the hospital wil ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Very sad. These young ladies must get in contact with the Ghanaian Canadian Social Services Network for possible advice or assistance.

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

PHONE : 647-784-GCSS (4277)

?EMAIL : info@gcssn.org

• Nana Amponsem 8 years ago

The hospital administration should swallow their bill.If they insist on getting their bill before they release the patient, I will make a petition to the Canadian International Development Corporation to deduct one thousand ...

• maigah 8 years ago

Very pathetic indeed.I feel so sad

• truth 8 years ago

They should have her information in their system or even Ghana airport should have her finger PRINT.

It's sad that in the 21st century, mentally ill people will be lynched by others. Ghana has a long way to go.

• kwaku 8 years ago

how can l give the kids some money.l am will to pay the hospital bill in full.

• flamboyant 8 years ago

Hypocrisy of Ghanaians worldwide comes to when there is an issue, as if they will do something different if they are the hospital administrators, the woman is sick yes but there are more than 200 Ghanaians in that hospital wh ...

• PITO 8 years ago

In a superstitious country like Ghana, it should be even illegal for movie producers to make superstitious movies I say!
    Make sure your mom does not have any mental illness and she remain beautiful even in old age otherwise ...

• Damango 8 years ago

My God bless them.

• The hammer of witches- primitive 8 years ago

divine intervention and ocult cant help all cases. even Jesus raised only one dead person from death; not all cases are spiritual the rest is for the science.

• mamba 8 years ago

They are broke in abrokyire and so what, they are try to help their mom this is not the time for mockery please

• Che 8 years ago

Where were you till now? You are in Canada and have forgotten about her as if Ghana is a social country to be taken care by who? Kids who have neglected their mother in this situation cannot claim to love her. You couldnt bor ...

• Solomon 8 years ago

Story of Husband & four children abandons mum.

• MR DUMSOR MAHAMA 8 years ago

SHE WILL BE FINE WHEN SHE RETURN BACK TO CANADA FOR THE TREATMENT . GHANA SUCKS WHE IT'S COME TO MENTAL CHALLENGE .

• Dessie 8 years ago

why other trend misinforming us about the kids age?..others are saying the oldest is 28yrs at university,26yrs at college and 20yrs;what a misinformation

• Solomon 8 years ago

You FOUR adult children are just as horrible as the mob. You need a social response to help you raise a lousy $4000? What the heck have you been doing all these years when your mum went missing? Personally, I would say you ...

• Mental illness impacts everyone 8 years ago

Your ignorance will cost you!

• Mamie 8 years ago

She and her husband build a house in Ghana and the husband went and married another woman and let that woman lived in that house so this woman woman finding out left her to this mental sickness. Please help .

• C/C 8 years ago

Look this is very disheartening and must be shameful to all Ghanians-every decent human being. Ghana is a crazier spot more than that mentally ill woman.
    Mahama spends billions of dollars on her family and political acolyt ...

• Mental illness impacts everyone 8 years ago

https://www.gofundme.com/yb4q8ywz

• thadeaus yao Obeng 8 years ago

The government must help or b'cos they are Akans they should be left to rot ?

• nana, ga usa 8 years ago

Hello girls, you are in a very difficult situation indeed! Very sad situation, but can't you get a representative to speak to the Ghana government on your behalf? It will cost another money any way. I believe that there are s ...

• nana, ga usa 8 years ago

I will still insist that you (sisters) should speak to the doctors in charge of the hospital so that they can contain her at their premises. Put your phone numbers on air and seek help from the general public as soon as possi ...

• ataa 8 years ago

As a mental health nurse in canada, I sincerely hope and pray that they can bring her back safely so that she can receive the help that she so desperately needs. If left untreated she can end up harming herself or others; psy ...

• Tunji Olowu,Surulere-Lagos. 8 years ago

WHERE ARE THE SO-CALLED CELEBRITIES BOASTING DAILY ON THIS,FORUM?THEY,VE GONE UNDER WATER.

• Regiben U S A. 8 years ago

If one wanna help how can it be done. for a donation, is very sad, all those who are saying all manner of things don't know their future.

• Dominic Berchie Amankwa 8 years ago

My dear,hw can I help,No one should go through this,

• Nsem pii 8 years ago

Please what's the name used for the go-fund-me account and under which category,, Just note there is more blessing in giving than to receive. Please help if u can - period

• Regiben U S A. 8 years ago

To The Star.Com
    Please help to set a fund account where those who wanted to donate can do so by announcing or publishing so we can start contributing our sharing to save our young sisters mom.This must be urgent. Thanks.