You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 03 10Article 349772

African Americans complain of “disgusting” corruption in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (111)

• Dogg 9 years ago

Our society is a mess

• JOEATUA 9 years ago

YOU ARE A MESS! YOU GO AND LIVE THERE AND BEAR THE DIFFICULTIES THEY ARE IN.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

What's your point? Please make yourself clear. Are you for Dogg or against Dogg?

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

lol don't worry Osei because, Joe is a confused creature.

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

He is not confused. He doesnt understand the matter but just wanted to say something like intelligent people are doing

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

ASSOCIATION OF DIASPORAN AFRICANS. PRESSURE THE GOVT TO SET UP AN OFFICE AT THE AIRPORT AND AT THE MINISTRY N HSAVE YOU FOLKS WORK THERE N SERVE AS THE FRONTLINE PERSONS. FOR OTHER DIASPORAN AFRICANS FROM ALL OVER WORLD TO CO ...

• Ama 9 years ago

The Ghana Embassy in DC should be investigated as well they collect fees for Dual citizenship,passport renewal and don't deliver. They are corrupt just like the thieves in Accra

• Concern Citizen 9 years ago

JOEATUA, hardship don't warrant disgraceful corruption, you twat. Shame on you.

I have many many African American friends in Ghana and I am so disgusted by their complaints during our conversations so much so that sometimes I feel like throwing up. I have always said Ghana is not a country that's because ...

• KUKRUDU-USA 9 years ago

THANKS FOR A MATTER-OF-FACT CONTRIBUTION,GHANA IS A DEVELOPING COUNTRY.DONT FORGET THAT INDUTRILIZED COUNTRIES ALSO WENT THRU SAME EXPERIENCE.THATS A MASTERPIECE YOU WROTE AND I HOPE YOU AND YOUR AFRICAN AMERICAN FRIENDS STIL ...

• Ajamu 9 years ago

Those women are corrupt embezzelers and scam artists who have stolen countless thousands of dollars from innocent members of the Involuntary Diaspora for over 20 years at FIHANKRA!! Do not be be deceived! They do not represen ...

• Farmer George 9 years ago

Why is it acceptable to have corrupt officers?
    Why is it acceptable to have dumsor?
    Why is it acceptable to not have water?
    Why is it acceptable to have horrible roads?
    Why is it acceptable to have a do nothing president? ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

I met many African Americans in Ghana and must be honest and say I am not impressed. In the US they constantly cry racism as they really hate whites. They blame the white man for everything. While in Ghana they look down on G ...

• xxx 9 years ago

your stupidity is beyond belief; if they looked down on Ghanaians, as you stupidly proclaim here, it's because of uncivilized fools like you at the airport and Accra who accost and harass them for money

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

MAHAMA FOR YOU,TWEAAAAAAA CRIMINALS,CORRUPTION,DUMSOR DUMSOR NDC DOGS,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL ONE BY ONE FOOOOLS

• real talker 9 years ago

ME,
    TOO!
    HATE IT
    OR LOVE IT.

• Kofi Chatmon...San Diego, California 9 years ago

I would love to live in My Beloved Ghana and I have been there there twice and have families and many friends there.

• afia 9 years ago

You are so right... Same experience with them here in the states...rude and uncultured group of people

• Rex 9 years ago

Nonsense - because the US is the most honest country on earth. Get your documents in order then no one tries to show you a backdoor. i'd like to hear more of this story and how it ends - but of course the lazy sensationalist ...

• Agenda 9 years ago

Osei Tawiah, I don't know where you come from but you are just as stupid as an ignorant Ghanaian who can betray its own family like some of our fore fathers did selling their own children to the white man. Idiot. Why linking ...

• xxx 9 years ago

the average thief manning Kotoka gets his encouragement from the behaviour of the President and so-called Ministers, ofui

• Andrew Ebokiah 9 years ago

I honestly thought it was Nigeria alone. Haaaa, et tu Ghana?

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

A good summary of our situation in Ghana. Osei Tawiah, you could not have put in any better way! There is something wrong somewhere and it hurts if you look at the abundant opportunities that avail for every individual and th ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

WE threw away our Afrikan culture in pursue of the animal culture of the white man, and here our ppl coming back to be AFRIKAN but no one is any more AFRIKAN in Africa?
    IS SAD THAT WE'RE JUST SICK.

• Nana Appiah 9 years ago

What Culture are you talking about Specifically? The Culture of Polygamy, Clitoridectomy, Human sacrifices for Gods and Chiefs, A culture where women and Children are abused constantly, forced marriages Or a culture of Civili ...

• Prince Massachusetts 9 years ago

Ghanaians should welcome them. Is embarrassing to hear this. U all welcome.and we loved u people

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

If Ghanaians are able to become Americans when they migrate to the US, then the ghana govt must reciprocate in a civilized and professional way and facilitate African Americans becoming Ghanaians...It is that simple...of cour ...

• EEE 9 years ago

Dude, this is a special case - the return of African descendants to the continent. You can't bring an argument of reciprocity here. Ghana's parliament passed a law during the Rawlings administration (in the 90s) recognizing t ...

• fisko 9 years ago

The only solution to this mess is unity. Father of Africa Dr Nkrumah and Bob Marley said it but it seems like is too difficult for us. Africa, unite and get organise. Put the church aside.

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

These GIS officials;

Marry which men?
    The already Polygamous Ghanaian men?

To say Good Lock and Good Luck would surmise Sarpong!!

• gyan 9 years ago

So the A,A's have forgotten that it was corruption which sold them into slavery? America Chinese go back to China and teach new technology. Please come home with your tech-know-how.

• A Son Of The Land 9 years ago

This is a genuine and heartfelt plea, but when everywhere within the bureaucratic system officials demand bribe before they process papers for someone who wants to do business in Ghana, how can any serious business person tea ...

• A.A. male been to GH many times 9 years ago

No A.A. can come back to Ghana or any part of Africa to teach technology...if the country can't keep the lights on! Now ask yourself, does China have blackouts for days across the country? If not, technology can be taught.

• A.A. male been to GH many times 9 years ago

PSS: Is this part a fact..."Some African Americans who have traced their ancestry to Ghana..."?

We need to clean up Ghana.

• VOICE FROM CANADA 9 years ago

This is a big shame I am telling my friends here in Canada how peaceful and enjoyable Ghana is, some are coming with me to view and study which business can be introduced to Ghana.
    For the youth to have job. How can we grow ...

• SIMON PETER 9 years ago

DEAR VOICE FROM AMERICA; THEIR SINS WILL DEFINITELY FIND THEM! THE SINS OF COP PATRICK TIMBILLA HAVE EVENTUALLY FOUND HIM.
    THEY ARE VERY LUCKT THAT FLT. LT. JERRY RAWLINGS IS ON PERPETUAL LEAVE. THEIR SINS WOULD HAVE FOUND T ...

• Amegaxoxo 9 years ago

I beg to differ.I think the opposite is rather true.It is said by our people that "A hen does not beget a bird".The Government sprang up from the people,they did not descend from heaven therefore the Government is a reflectio ...

And where do we start that reform from, fool?

• jack 9 years ago

since when do they realize they come from Ghana? leave us alone and be at your so called perfect american lands

• EMPTY HEAD 9 years ago

YOU KNOW WHAT - BITCH YOU ARE VERY LUCK .

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

U TALK ANYHOW. DO U KNOW YOUR HISTORY BITCH ASS NIGGA? OR ARE U SAYING THIS BECOS U WISH U COULD GET AMERICAN PAPERS? NOT ALL THAT GLITTERS IS GOLD U HEAR

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

Nothing but money.Prosecute them please.Disgraceful officers. Burn them alive

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

Idiot officers

• Atakora-Mensah 9 years ago

" the African Americans said they are looking for an opportunity to meet authorities of the Ghana Immigration service and the Minister of Foreign affairs to lodge a complaint."

Nonsense. If this was in the States, what opp ...

• EMPTY HEAD 9 years ago

DON'T YOU KNOW GHANAIANS ARE KARABULE ? GHANAIANS ARE CORRUPT TRYING TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THEM AND THATS VERY SAD .

• SHAKA ZULU 9 years ago

I am a Ghanaian liVing in the US.Truth be said; 99% of Ghanaian Government workers, Police, Immigration and Customs ARE CORRUPT. Case in point; visit the Harbours and observe the customs, drive up to a Police check point, vis ...

• Kesha 8 years ago

True...Reading all of these comments of disharmony and no united front against what is right or wrong is very disheartening...I planned on moving there to help rebuild and restore Afrika back to its original greatness and ess ...

• Kojo Opoku-London 9 years ago

Sorry sisters and brothers, I am very saddened. Cant we show love and understanding. They are not corrupt as in Ghana.

• ama. germany 9 years ago

ghanaian leaders should be ashamed. our leaders and the police officers are the most corrupt people in the world.

• EMPTY HEAD 9 years ago

GHANAIANS HAVE BEEN KALABULE SINCE DAY ONE . GHANAIANS PREFER BOKO HARAM THE MUSLIMS FROM THE NIGERIA , MALI , CHAD , NIGER AND SOMALIA MORE THAN PEOPLE THAT EVENTUALY BROUGHT BUSINESS TO THE COUNTRY .

• ama. germany 9 years ago

these ghanaian leaders should be ashamed.

• MR MAWEGYATA 9 years ago

THESE ARE PEOPLE WHO OUR ANCESTORS COMMITTED HEINOUS CRIME AGAINST ( SLAVERY ) TODAY THEY ARE COMING BACK AND YOU WON'T GIVE THE THEM WHAT THEY WANT? THIS IS RAWLINGS PARTY AND NKRUMAH'S GHANA. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO OUR MOTHER ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

I here you brother but our land has been turned into a den of greedy leaders. Greed and corruption is the order or the day. We have a land that people that are supposed to protect it citizens are the very people hurting them. ...

• Owu 9 years ago

Everything is done in the dark. They came to Ghana to be part of the struggle and enlightenment. It appears because everything is done in the dark some officials will like to advantage of their status.Where on earth law enfor ...

• joe paa mensah Sampson 9 years ago

using the treatmentof ghana immigration services or their atitudes dose not entiltes a corruption in the country. why dont u try to be a citizen of nigeria, there is an attitude calls makes u settle, a police can ffs u everyd ...

• OBSERVER 9 years ago

African-Americans should read carefully this random sample of how they are REALLY viewed by Ghanians.

YOU WERE ORIGINALLY SENT FROM THERE ON SLAVE SHIPS AS CARGO/CHATTEL. YOU REALLY THINK YOU'LL BE GENUINELY WELCOMED BACK ...

• MR MAWEGYATA 9 years ago

PLS OUR BROTHERS WE WILL FIXED THIS. SEEK AN AUDIENCE WITH JJ RAWLINGS OR THE ASANTEHENE AND MAKE YOUR COMPLAINS TO THEM. IF YOU HAVE LIVED IN GHANA FOR LONG YOU KNOW HOW TO DO THIS. THIS PRESENT GOVERNMENT IS VERY CORUPT HAV ...

• EMPTY HEAD 9 years ago

CRIMINAL GHANAIANS WILL ROB ANYBODY .BUT WE INTEND TO WORSHIP GOD THAN ANY COUNTRY EXCEPT NIGERIA.

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

What is the easiest way to become an American? Marrying an American. of course. So if these Akata are advised to marry Ghanaians, what's the big deal here? I only wish the Ghanaian men who marry them real good luck!! If they ...

• c.stephen Sackey 9 years ago

Poor African Agyaaku,you don't know the meaning of the word "akata." But,I wished you knew. Because,if you did, you'll etch in on your forehead as a sign of your emancipation from mental slavery.

But,you don't know and it' ...

• SHAKA ZULU 9 years ago

We certainly must not loose sight of these trailblazers who have and continue to make life easier on the black race.

Would you like to marry one of these old women sitting there? O.K, leave your girlfriend and contact me because I have one old widow waiting for you.

• Nii 9 years ago

Shameless Ghanaian. Don't feel for this elderly African Americans, some who may be coming with their dollars to invest.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Let me see them again. Who invited them to Ghana at all? Ghana is not America so if they don't feel like staying in Ghana, afterall they are Americans. Fuck them

• Lisa 9 years ago

We American taxpayers send millions of dollars to Ghana while your corrupt government steals it. Stop begging the west if you feel that way.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Nonsense, what is the unemployment rate in America? America has its problems as well

• JONATHAN WILLIAMS. PATRIOTS CLUB 9 years ago

So they should stay in their country. I don't see what contribution they are bringing to Ghana. If they have spent their entire lives in American and want to retire, they should retire to Florida or some such place.

• vl 9 years ago

Yes, I agree with these complaints. I am born in Ghana, I am a GA and each time I return home, these officials wants something. Bribery is a hindrance to a civilized culture. Look at Russia.

• EMPTY HEAD 9 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE CRIMINALS TRYING TO DUPED ANY FOREIGNER - AFRICAN AMERICANS ARE OUR OWN BLOOD . NKRUMAH TRIED TO BRING THEM BACK .

• Sam 9 years ago

Ghana is full of thieves who are really interested in you because of your purse and how they can use strategies to milk the money from you via their funny stories. My advice never trust any one but yourself. Never trust anyon ...

• jamp 9 years ago

They right, our beloved Ghana is chocking by high level of corruption.The so called educated once thought they above everybody in the country.

• Banana 9 years ago

For this story to be credible, the reporter should have named named...who are the African-Americans the reporter interviewed?...which part of the States do they come from?...What are their ages?...these are what are called el ...

• SHAKA ZULU 9 years ago

I HAVE FRIENDS WHO ARE IN THE SAME PREDICAMENT IN GHANA.

• PAPSON 9 years ago

we need to change our ways as quickly as possible.

• Lisa 9 years ago

As an African American I say the US government should stop giving money to Ghana until corruption is cleaned up.

• Dogg 9 years ago

USA please don't give our government a single dollar until we clean up our act.

• Nii 9 years ago

Your own US government vagabonds are corrupt even before Ghana

Kwasia, African Americans have very little to say about what's going on in the U.S government. We from Africa are even treated better than them by the whites so stop your foolishness. This is why I regret being in the same co ...

• C.STEPHEN SACKEY 9 years ago

Some of you guys never fail to amaze me.
    And, Osei Tawiah where do you get this impression of being lauded better than an African-American? You're being patronized for being docile and nothing else.Assert yourself and see ho ...

• BLESS. 9 years ago

corruption in Ghana because MAHAMA NDC HAS NOT CLEAN THE CORRUPTION IN THE COUNTRY AND GHANA IMMIGRATION SERVICES HAS LEARNING FROM NDC TO COLLECT BRIBES TO HELP THEIR OWN AFRICAN AMERICA BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT BEING PAID YET ...

• Nii 9 years ago

You think Ghana is for free ?

• Oheneba Kwame 9 years ago

Thank you, Nii

• Chamcham 9 years ago

What a shame!! I am just disgusted to hear such news from good people who want to make Ghana their home What a shame, COUNTRY GHANA!!!

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

TAKE IT EASY, AFROS, FOR IT SHALL BE WELL WITH YOU. NEVER REGRET COMING TO YOUR MOTHERLAND BECAUSE THE END OF THE TUNNEL IS BRIGHT AND YOU WOULD ENJOY YOUR STAY HENCEFORTH.

• Dedan Sankara 9 years ago

I agree OKOROMANSA! We will win if we as Africans agree that such actions are unacceptable. We must also unify as a United Socialist Africa. Please search for Omali Yeshitela and the African Socialist International. Africa an ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

IS IT NOT A SHAME, THAT THE NATION IS BEING DISGRACED LIKE THIS, BY GREEDY, CORRUPT THIEVES OF THE NDC GOVERNMENT, LEAD BY CORRUPT JOHN MAHAMA. IT WAS NOT LIKE THIS UNDER J A KUFUOR. ALL AFRICAN AMERICANS WERE WELCOMED TO GHA ...

• bakari shabazz 9 years ago

it is good to see how we are viewed in Ghana. Not surprising. Just like Africans are viewed in the U.S. by us. some of us love them, others hate them. we all suffer the same sickness. lack of unity and togetherness.

• bakari shabazz 9 years ago

at the same time it is good to see that some of our long lost cousins still have compassion for us and our plight. yes we share some of the same blood. separated by the centuries and we have similar disfunctions. we just don' ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Yes, it is a tough walk.

Ghana is far from the best run country in the world.

There are bribes, then there are more bribes.

In particular, the government has no programs to woo African-Americans, or even its own na ...

• larry 9 years ago

SHAME

• kotoua selira 9 years ago

really very bad.It should not be like this in Ghana

• Kwame 9 years ago

It is most unfortunate that these our brothers and sisters who are still regarded in their own country United States of America which with all fact available is the most corrupt nation on Earth are calling Ghana a corrupt nat ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

It is foreign citizens who corrupt our civil and public servants because they do not want to wait for their turn in anything. I was shocked by an incident like that last year that when I told the foreigner to wait for his tur ...

• BABA 9 years ago

YOU PEOPLE COME HERE AND TRYING TO MAKE US THINK AND FEEL LIKE AMERICA IS SO HOLY,SHIT, THERE IS DISGUSTING CORRUPTION IN AMERICA TOO. AMERICA CORRUPTION IS POLISHED, WHILE GHANA CORRUPTION IS RAW. BUT ITS THE SAME CORRUPTIO ...

• Obiba 9 years ago

welcome to u r corrupt motherland led by john mahama adm

• highlander 9 years ago

All i can say is sorry for the unfaithful attitude from almost all the public sector workers in ghana. From immigration officers all the way down to the check in attendants demands bribe from travelers at all time. I have sim ...

• Oheneba Kwame 9 years ago

Shut up and stop complaining. There is no perfect situation anywhere. Be grateful being allowed to be in Ghana!

• Kwame 9 years ago

Some people love passing through the back door into a room, thus they become aggrieved when the back door is closed to them. I had visitors in December, 2014 and none of them paid bribe to any immigration officer.

• Bawa 9 years ago

Well, well, well. This is the true bane of Africa. Nothing really works and yet we have demented and semi illiterates acting as a president and Ministers of State using our meager resources 'looking' for investors. This is a ...

• AJAMU 9 years ago

GHANIANS, PLEASE DO NO BE FOOLED BY THESE INNOCN LOOKING LITTLE OLD LADIES! THEY ARE CRIMINALS CURRENTLY ON TRAL FOR IMPERSONATING A QUEEN MOTHE, THEIR ADOPTED SON FOR IMPERNATING A CHIEF AND ILLEGALY ACTINGASA VILLAGE COUNCI ...

• AJAMU 9 years ago

"....INNOCENT...."

• Tony S. 9 years ago

Know it is your home too and you have every right to do whatever it takes to STOP corruption. Don't just talk about it or be cowered by anyone. Roll your sleeves and join the fight for your motherland!

• Kk3 9 years ago

Most of such 'returnees' are prideful people who don't want to succumb to white domination in America only to come here and find out,sadly, that the white domination is more potent in Ghana than it was in America. I am sadde ...

• BABA 9 years ago

YOU PEOPLE COME HERE TO MAKE US THINK AND FEEL LIKE AMERICA IS SO HOLY, SHIT, THERE IS DISGUSTING CORRUPTION IN AMERICA TOO. AMERICA CORRUPTION IS POLISHED,WHILE GHANA CORRUPTION IS RAW, CORRUPTION IS CORRUPTION NO MATTER HOW ...

• Kk3 9 years ago

...with all the corruption in America, why does your President all the way down kowtow to anything and everything American? Get out of your slave mentality and understand the point is not that there is no corruption anywhere ...

• MENSA 9 years ago

we sorry you are being blackmailed here in Ghana but you all welcome here

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

Please, sorry for what some unscrupulous Ghanaians are doing to you. Some of us feel your pains. Please, don't take it against all Ghanaians, most of us want you to be around us. Akwaaba!

• NAA KORKAN 9 years ago

BRIBERY, WHAT ABOUT THE USA. IF YOU WANT A GREEN CARD OR CITIZENSHIP, ITS BRIBERY ALL OVER AGAIN. HOW DARE THESE PEOPLE ACCUSE US OF BRIBERY. LOOK AT WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THEIR COUNTRY. THEY SHOULD VOICE IT OUT BEFORE COM ...

• ADWOA 9 years ago

Who put these women on this page???? These women are notorious and are suspected of doing people harm - let alone robbing many of money and scamming to the ninth degree. How could they possibly talk about government corruptio ...

• meyaa 9 years ago

Who are they and what are they talking about?