You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 02 04Article 345282

Nurses plan a three-week mercy mission to Western Ghana

Read Comments Comments (31)

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 9 years ago

WE THANK GOD. THEY MUST AS WELL COME AND PERFORM SOME OF MAHAMA'S DUTIES FOR HIM BECAUSE HE SIMPLY CANNOT BE A PRESIDENT OF THIS DEAR NATION GHANA!!!

• sister Afua 9 years ago

My question why is it always volunteers from Europe or U S who have to come to us to take our people for experiment which we do not benefit and later these so called volunteers are the same people bring disease to us we have ...

It was the same principle that made missionaries establish schools and hospitals in Gold Coast/Ghana.I owe my over 50 years of life to the catholic church.It took a German/Swiss missionary[Christaller] to learn TWI and put it ...

• 3dem 9 years ago

wonderful!!!!!! and what did you do for your society in return for all the over 50 years of benefit?.... am interested.

• KB 9 years ago

Sister Afua,
    Do you suppose all volunteers, if any, are as awful as you portray them? You should be at least grateful that two recent nurse graduates chose some of Ghana's deprived areas to volunteer health services.

I su ...

• akua mustapha laryea 9 years ago

Learn and Emma-Louise .Thanks for choosing Ghana. You are very wellcome. Please contact my on my email.Am due to visit Northern Ireland in the next few days.Hopefully will also be in Ghana at the time of your arrival.Currentl ...

• k bula 9 years ago

You're very right. There was 'research' being carried out in all three countries where the Ebola disease was detected

America infected their own people with syphilis what do you think they will do to Africans?

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Sister Afua you have right to have doubts about volunteering. However we should remember that most volunteers do it at the expense of their cost and health. If there is any truth in your view about using us for experiment, ca ...

• Alicia 9 years ago

Yes there are still people who has a good heart. Show some appreciation for once. Ungrateful Ghanaians !

• DI ASEM PA 9 years ago

Wake up call to Ghana. Ghanaians should be careful about this soo call volunteers from Europe and America. Thank God no ebola in ghana now, We are facing Dumso, Dumso, we don't want another problem.

• DI ASEM PA 9 years ago

They should rather go to Liberia to face ebola. Thank God we have doctors and nurses. Pay them good and use them. We don't need volunteers. Enemies of progress.

• Linda 9 years ago

As always, people will always come here showing their ignorance by their idiotic comments. If you are capable to volunteer your time & resources to help the poor, please do so, otherwise, shut your mouth & allow these two sel ...

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

I understand how you feel but believe me what these foreigners come to do is very little compared to what Ghanaian doctors and nurses do when they go on outreai to very remote areas. On-the-spot surgeries are even carried out ...

• Ahenkorah 9 years ago

Creat another Region out of Western Region.the Northern Part of the region is no go zone in Terms of devlopment, very deprive and jeglicher.

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Angel 9 years ago

Thanks Leann and Emma, we need angels like you in this trouble world. Ignore the headless fools who are criticizing such self-sacrificing work.

• angry 9 years ago

ittakes a dog to reognize one as such you fool!

• jagadu 9 years ago

Who said there is lack of education in Takoradi. Takoradi has Takoradi Polytechnics and good secondary schools. L was born and bred and went to secondary school in the twin cities and I am sorry Takoradi does not lack educati ...

• The Solar System 9 years ago

Blacks don't have mentality to help the poor and needy but rather destroy them while the white are opposite.

• I went there! 9 years ago

I am an African American, Chicago man (1952) and I have been helping across Africa, out of my own pockets monthly for over 40 years in places such as Ghana, Liberia, Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria and more. Every month, no less th ...

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

Takoradi is located in Western Ghana, where cost, distance and lack of education means patients regularly present at with illness or disease that is at a critical stage because of lack of treatment.
    ......................... ...

• Ama 9 years ago

Thanks Emma and Leann

• 3dem 9 years ago

Its always a foreigner coming to give. I thought it was a bunch of Ghanaian nurses who had decided to do something nice with a part of their leave or something.........

• Akwasi 9 years ago

I offered my services during my holidays at Komfo anokye, and basically I was told to pay for the 'privelege'. I am a ghanaian working in the health sector in U.K. We try but if you are a Ghanaian, you are immediately seen as ...

• 3dem 9 years ago

why do they see you as not trustworthy, and did you report to anyone? you could work through a local NGO which will prepare the grounds for you guys to come down if you want to. If you come as an individual, how can anyone ve ...

• akwasi 9 years ago

3dem,
    I can understand where you coming from and trust me, I felt the same. I trained and worked at KATH before travelling outside, and still having contacts there. I had a discussion with the authorities before going, and a ...

• 3dem 9 years ago

Thank for clarifying things.... that sad.....the facilities really need extra hands and especially free ones at that....You should see people lying on benches for hours waiting for a nurse to give 1st AID....

• London Sentinel 9 years ago

Takoradi is located in Western Ghana, where cost, distance and lack of education means patients regularly present at with illness or disease that is at a critical stage because of lack of treatment.

• London Sentinel 9 years ago

Google Maps
    Explore Sign in
    Sign upThis is how your name and profile photo will appear on Panoramio if you connect this Google+ account. You cannot switch to a different account later. Learn more.
    Photos by do.ki Change ...

• ABCd 9 years ago

Takoradi is great . Currently lots of prostitution due to the oil rig. It may look a bit like Southampton. Enjoy.

• TO THE GAMERS 9 years ago

How do civil/human rights violations get compensated in the USA, the advocates of such around the globe?
    1) By faith fighting at the courts of mere human laws as Malcom x did? or
    2) By the heart felt convictions of the pe ...