You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 02 02Article 344973

Ghanaian jumps to her death in Manhattan

Read Comments Comments (153)

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Three children, no mention of a husband; that can be stressful in New York. May her soul rest in perfect peace.

• Akos 9 years ago

Maybe she's divorced, sad though, some people just can't deal with today's pressure & stress. My sympathy to the family.

• Ex-serviceman 9 years ago

R.I.P. Let's not judge her. No one knows what she was going through. Let's pray for the family.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Just very sad for her. RIP. Things happen sometimes we and our close associates fail to observe behaviors in attitude and mental state at times. Yes, depression is dangerous. High blood pressure is devastating. Let us all be ...

• Help me 9 years ago

No body is judging her, everyone is sympathizing . You read wrong meanings to the previous posts. I understood the previous posts as raising questions and indicating missing links in the report . The one who said he saw her a ...

• PROPHET 9 years ago

MENTAL ILLNESS COULD MAKE ONE TAKE HER OWN LIFE. MOST MENTALLY ILL PEOPLE LOOK OK TO EVERYBODY. SOMETIMES BECAUSE OF STIGMA PEOPLE DONT SEEK HELP.
    MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE.
    I HOPE THE PENTECOST PEOPLE DONT BLAME SOME INNO ...

• KWADWO A 9 years ago

She could have been pushed on to the tracks which normally happens in New York. If no one is around to see and report it, then the authorities might presumed that she jumped on to the tracks. May She Rest In Peace.

• SAMMY, NEW JERSY 9 years ago

U are very deep-minded person. I being Police Officer also think she might have been accidentally knocked down by the train, and because she is a foreigner and no relative or Ghanaian was around NYPD has concluded in favour o ...

• Ekow 9 years ago

there are cameras on the subways so if there was foul play it would have been announced. this is not the first of such deaths in such circumstances and there are 3 categories - suicide, accidental fall (sometimes due to sudde ...

• Koffi parker 9 years ago

sometimes I wonder how people on this forum read and digest the news,"her disapperance came to a tragic end after Police REVEALED SHE JUMPED IN FRONT OF AN ONCOMING TRAIN" how do you precieve this.

• Koffi parker 9 years ago

The church of Pentecost rather failed her

• Boss 9 years ago

As I read your contributions I am indeed impressed and inclined to say 'Ghanaians know all' but cannot solve their own problems especially, even cleaning their own refuse. My Vision-- When I become the president of the Republ ...

• Bismark Neequaye 9 years ago

Nuclear Reactor My brother. That`s generate enough electricity, but the question is* can we handle it? We can`t. Why because we are too morally corrupt to our core. All comes with a price though.

• Wofa Atta 9 years ago

Though the report might not be the whole truth, I believe it is time the Church sits up to shepherd the flock as Jesus ordained us to do: proclaiming good news to the poor (that life does not consists in the abundant of our w ...

Mr. Wofa Atta, You are my man, Please let open the eyes of Africans. For we are making fools of ourselves for ages.

• BRAIN 9 years ago

They will!

• joe canada 9 years ago

Depression is a very dangerous and equal opportunity illness,it can attack the rich, poor,young or old.Spirituality can not detect but the people around the patient.Our soo call spiritual leaders are not holy enough to diagno ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

Life aint so hopeless, is it? Is this affiliated to some racist experiences she had suffered or was it simply emotionally charged or financially related? Ns3m pii

• KOKU AMEVOR 9 years ago

When did you know "Pentecost people to be blaming innocent old ladies in the village" for mishaps. Your ignorance is your bane.

• Kooofah 9 years ago

Yea is mental illness. But what was church doing?. They were only interested in her services, offerings and tithes. It was mentioned that a church observed that she was unusually quiet and talked to her. I thought he will say ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

MAY SHE REST IN PEACE.

• Brandon 9 years ago

Maybe an ex husband with a girl friend or new wife?

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Why should it b man's problem? Could b bipolar, thought about that? Can go on n on.

• mensah 9 years ago

May her soul Rest In Peace!!!

• Esi 9 years ago

When did this incident happen? Could she have been pushed? Why are we assuming she jumped onto the tracks? This is a tragedy. RIP, ma'am.

• Ageoboyle 9 years ago

May her soul rest in perfect peace. But want to emphasis that piece of information there is distortion about the time. It's not even 9:03 am as am writing now 8:31 am so when did the actual death happen. Poor journalism

• penpenaa-usa 9 years ago

The incident did not happen today.
    We heard abt this,last week Monday and not February 2nd.
    Ghanaweb is now reporting it.

• PROPHET 9 years ago

PENTECOST MEMBERS BLAME EVERY MISFORTUNE ON WITCHES. PLEASE LEAVE OUR INNOCENT GRANDMOTHERS ALONE.

• kofi abas 9 years ago

Pentecost is full of kokonsa and evil people. for me it is a secret society rather than a church. ur comment sounds like witches blaming witches for their woes

• Sec of Witches 9 years ago

As for her death, we -the witches- have no hands in it. Remember that she used to be a founding member and a counsellor at the Church.

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

SO many conspiracy theories, once it is a woman, we assume it is marital problems. We have a lot to learn from such experiences not to think of personal ones.

Why people take solace ONLY in the church baffles me. That pl ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

...telling her we are all from Gh, Bull...t!!!
    Watch it if you can, very distressing.

• Brother Adu-Gyamfi 9 years ago

I guess somebody might have pushed her. It happens in New York a lot.

• Koo Baah 9 years ago

Where are you writing front,? Ghana or New York? It could be the previous week

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Esi, you may have a point here given the kind of hostility shown to some ethnic groups in some communities. I am personally conscious of this so I stand quite away from the end of platforms as the train approaches. The poor g ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

9am, rush hour, was she heard screaming, were there no commuters to help pull her out. It is possible but .......

I heard it on Mon day but wasn't sure which country it was in.
    Let's not beat about the bush but bear eac ...

• ENTWI 9 years ago

very sad oh,

• sami 9 years ago

life in the usa is depressing hard life why fool yourselfs and not come back to Ghana your country you calture
    and your people

• Bomber 9 years ago

Man, you are perfectly right she may have been easily be able to overcome the stress in Ghana than NY. However, to just say come back home is not as simple as that.

• Rude buay!!! 9 years ago

There's got to be a foul play somewhere! Aww! Ewiase! Such a beautiful woman. RIP!!

• Sad Ghanaian 9 years ago

People kill themselves in Ghana and everywhere. Depression sucks, Africans think we are immune and don't seek help and keep to ourselves till they can't take it anymore

• Sad Ghanaian 9 years ago

Life in Ghana is hard too. Personally I'll rather be in the US, it really is individual differences, when you have a great job, yeah you work hard for your money I'll rather have that than Ghana where most of my girlfriends a ...

• Gg 9 years ago

Ghana without electricity and the NDC administration is more frustrating than any other thing on earth, who will want to come back? Only a fool!

• kofi abas 9 years ago

master I live in Europe and the people who always want to make life difficult for me are are not the whites but my fellow Ghanaians frm other tribe. coincidentally most are Pentecostals. they will even celebrate if I shd die. ...

• Osofo 9 years ago

She was mentally ill, probably depression, major depression with some hearing voices, which was not treated, but might be known to the family alone. Because NYPD do not take missing person cases right away unless the person h ...

• Kofi NY 9 years ago

How do you come home when even those in charge of the country are sending their families outside? This shows that even the managers of the country do not have hope in the country.

• jerry 9 years ago

sad, very sad

• Linda 9 years ago

What a beautiful woman. Esi you're right, people should stop judging. This death is senseless and rare for a Ghanaian woman with children to have committed suicide. May as well be foul play.

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Come back to where? Mahamasghana please we prefere dieing in the coldfor them to enjoy their stollen booty

• Help me 9 years ago

Slave mentality. Must of you are not engaged in any decent work. Cleaning , taking care of infirms , car park attendants , security guards etc. well it's because you have no viable qualifications or skills. Think about this, ...

• Koo Baah 9 years ago

You reason just like Asiedu Nketia. How could your,?

• Osei Kwame 9 years ago

'Help me', I read your earlier post and thought this is a sensible person . However , if second post does not fly. Depression and/or committing suicide is everywhere;and it is alarming rise in even Ghana -police officers,pa ...

• Gg 9 years ago

You must be pathetic with this mentality, there is no job on earth that should be looked down on! That's why Ghanaians are suffering, go to Japan where over 99% of the population are literate and you will see university gradu ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Good point!!!!

• cute shay 9 years ago

What I love in America is nobody looks down on you coz you a cleaner and all the things you just said. Hard work is better than stealing. Ghana is 1st world now? In America at least i can get good Healthcare even if I'm a cle ...

• Keturah, Canada 9 years ago

This comment is for Cute Shay, I read your feed back & couldn't agree with you more. You hit the nail right on its head.

• Destiny. 9 years ago

Your comments are too true. It encapsulates all that is said, thought, acted and experienced.
    A FITTING ANSWER TO AN IGNORANT perhaps NAIVE PERSON.
    We done!!!

• Destiny. 9 years ago

Correction-Not funny-Straight to the Point. The reason I say this is due to the circumstances surrounding this case.
    Your response is a fitting rebuttal to any ignorant narrow-minded person
    Once again, well done, and good p ...

• Destiny. 9 years ago

Correction-Not funny-Straight to the Point. The reason I say this is due to the circumstances surrounding this case.

• cute shay 9 years ago

Hahaha, I had to Google it too and am in tears. My friend who is from Kenya unconsciously learned mtchewwww by hanging out with me a lot so she did it somewhere and this other Kenyan told her now you are becoming a Ghanaian,l ...

• Destiny. 9 years ago

• HAHAHAHA@txusa 9 years ago

I have lived outside Ghana for over 30 years and have returned to visit almost yearly. That's what helps lower your overseas depression!! With my honest lower class, non-graduate education employment, I have done this. If I ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Thank you for your comments. Could I suggest that next time you use paragraphs in your write-up? Putting comments in a large block of text makes for incredibly difficult reading. Thanks very much.
    Kwaku

• cute shay 9 years ago

Oh Kwaku, sometimes when you get so angry you don't realize certain important details. I didn't even realize I had typed all that.

Thanks brother, I hope I wouldn't have to repeat something like this again, lol

• the truth 9 years ago

wonderful piece!!!!

Bravo!!!

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

U do have a point. The equity and economic structures to attaining wealth in ghana is not well defined as that of other western nations. How does your posting address this woman's death? I was in nyc in November. People are r ...

• cute shay 9 years ago

I was addressing this dude who calls himself help me or whatever, you scroll up and read what he wrote trying to diss Ghanaians living abroad

• Eric Kwabena 9 years ago

Excellent response!!!

• the truth 9 years ago

This is not true! It is not about viable qualifications or skills, it is about "making a living" and so if making a decent living means being gainfully employed as a park attendant, what is wrong with that? Take a good look ...

• AnfoegaBoy 9 years ago

I live in Canada and I have a great job that I am qualified for. My response to your comments about the jobs Ghanaians do abroad as follows:

Cleaning - It would be great is Ghanaians cleaned their surroundings in Ghana.
    T ...

• Eric Kwabena 9 years ago

Well said!!!

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

There is no subway in Ghana to kill people; so please "burgers" come home and enjoy your own country.

• YOU KNOW MY NAME FOR SURE 9 years ago

The number of death in Ghana about crime,rape,clinics & health centers like government hospital is countless. The energy crisis in Ghana is a death camp. Road accidents? People pray before they travel on each journey because ...

• Proff 9 years ago

Very funny, I like that bro

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

Come home to a country where babies are dying due to this worsening power crisis the stupd NDC can't manage? Come home to a country without reliable water supply, bad roads, criminal policemen in uniform, criminal politicians ...

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH MADE ALL GHANAIAN DIASPORANS AND THE OUTCOME OF IT ALL IS TO BE FRUSTRATED AND COMMIT SUICIDE. WHERE DID GHANA GO WRONG AFTER ALL THE NATURAL RESOURCES THAT SHOULD HAVE MADE GHANA ONE OF THE RICHEST COUNTRY IN A ...

• Vadar 9 years ago

haa! killed by the ALBINOS...whites. nd dis silly excuse is wat they wre able to cook up.
    Every one who has been with dix people noes wat they are capable of....."May here soul rest in peace...nd God punish dose reponsible"

• Trayvon 9 years ago

No doubt those evil people pushed her onto the oncoming train. No crime is too heinous for them la. God sees all and there will be accountability and justice in due time. She is resting perfect peace in God's bosom.

• kusssman@yahoo.com USA 9 years ago

Hummm, speechless

• FOYOOSIS 9 years ago

Looking beautiful and cheerful here in the picture but what happened and why AHO3FE?

May you rest in perfect peace!

• Bobby,Denmark 9 years ago

No,I don't think there is any foul play.Life abroad is full of stress and only a strong hearted sustains.Stress is the main killer here,and I always advise my close guys to get involve with gym,church gatherings,partying,spor ...

• Ekow 9 years ago

You are 100 percent right.Good advice,a typical example is me just go to work and go back home and I have been doing this for the past 20 years so your advice refers to me and will heed your advice thank you.Thanks Bobby Denm ...

• Just Passing By 9 years ago

Did anyone actually see her jump? Some of the youth in the subways can be very wicked and just push people off the platform when a train is coming. I've heard several such stories.

• Baba 9 years ago

They must have watched a camera. There are camera's in most of the subways.

• AKARMA 9 years ago

Thanks very much for your question my brother, who actually saw her jump off the train? In my own opinion, this beautiful woman will never jump off the train, and l quite believe there is a foul play. May her soul rest in pea ...

• W. Addo 9 years ago

I hope the family pleads for thorough investigations. There must be cameras around her path leading to where she was killed. The family must retain a private attorney to get hold of whatever evidence they can find in additio ...

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

Africans don't jump off the platform to the rail tracks in front of an in bound train.

Do yo remember the Asian man who was pushed on the tracks and died from an in bound train?

His attacker was arrested through the h ...

• Abankaba 9 years ago

Hmm! what a waste. I wish we could have known what made her go this way. May her Soul Rest in Peace and my condolences to the family she left behind.

• Ama Mensah 9 years ago

So sad. I hate to think what was going through her mind. This world can be a very unforgiving place. So much unnecessary pain. May her soul rest in eternal peace.

• MAHAMAH BILLY GOAT 9 years ago

THE PENTECOST CHURCH IS A CHURCH OF WITCHCRAFT. GHANAIANS SHOULD DESIST GOING TO A CHURCHES OF THAT REPUTATION
    TOO MUCH ADULTERY AND FORNICATION IN THE PENTECOST CHURCH IN USA, INCLUDING ITS LEADERS.

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

DID ANYBODY FOUND OUT WHY SHE STEPPED DOWN AS A DEACONESS FROM THE CHURCH IT SHOWS THAT THE CHUCRCH PUSH HER AWAY AND AS A RESULT LEADING HER TO COMMIT SUICUIDE THE CHURCHES NOWADAYS DO NOT TAKE CARE OF THEIR MEMBERS WHEN T ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

Hmmmm, we misconstrue Godliness. Some of these churches create the impression they are holier than thou.

I cannot tell you what I heard from a friend who had some mishaps in her family setup. Not to do with her but her c ...

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

Maybe she slipped but all the same the harm has been done. May Good Lord receive her soul.

• Asem 9 years ago

Oh Ghanaweb this story is all lies I live by that same train and the MTA has not announce anything like that ooooo Yehowa never wish death for this woman aaaaaaaa

• Ekow 9 years ago

If you really live in NY you wouldnt make this statement. When has the MTA announced such tragic events? If you havent heard it on the news, dont question the veracity of the information nor insult the sensibilities of the be ...

• Beneta 9 years ago

Perhaps misjudge the speed of the train

• Paa John Mensah 9 years ago

Staten Island woman, 54, leaps in front of train after being reported missing by daughter.

Linda Afriyie, who had a history of psychiatric issues, left her Steuben St. home early Monday and jumped in front of the southboun ...

• Adwoa 9 years ago

Please accept the fact that this woman had mental issues and needed help. Mental sickness is real, Ghanaians get that too, whether in Ghana or abroad.

• Yoofi 9 years ago

Life in Ghana is not that easy. I have two girlfriends who make unreasonable demands on me. In addition my wife is pregnant with our fourth child. Life is very very difficult in Ghana now and I feel very depressed.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

"I have two girlfriends who make unreasonable demands on me. In addition my wife is pregnant with our fourth child. Life is very very difficult in Ghana now and I feel very depressed".

MY TAKE:

KWASIA! THAT'S ALL I CAN ...

• KONONGO CONTRACTOR 9 years ago

Yoofi,blame your penis for your depression. You claim you have two girlfriends,your wife is pregnant with your fourth child,and you blame Ghana been very difficult,and feeling depressing? Have you heard about family planning ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Family members must push for full investigations by the NYPD. There could be recorded camera shots that would help the investigators to authenticate how the lady got unto the tracks.

She could have been pushed. If she com ...

• KWAKU BEE 9 years ago

If anything the daughter and her husband must be investigated. From rumors circulating in the Tri-State, she was maltreated and abandoned by her own daughter and her daughter's husband. If these rumors are true then someone w ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

It was after satanic rawlings and his devilish pndc cult came to power with their of "TEACHING AKANS A LESSON" that made so many of our people and later others begun running out of GHANA.Now mny are also escaping the harsh ...

• De~don 9 years ago

My thoughts and sympathy goes to the entire family, and may God grant her soul a resting place

• Abrante 9 years ago

Depression is unfortunately not well addressed among the African commuity. It is often stigmatized and appropriate care is not sought on time. Please look around you and help your friends and relatives who may be suffering th ...

The Whitehall Subway Station is close
    to my office. One cannot rule out the possibility that she was pushed to the tracks by some maniac or she slipped over since today is snow day in New York City, and in attempt to see if ...

• Jane 9 years ago

As believers we need to care for each other. Being at Church doesn't mean everything is alright. Let's be there for one another. We don't have to wait for something bad to happen. Sis. Rest in peace.

• DI ASEM PA 9 years ago

The church doesn't care about the members any more. They just need your service and your offerings. They no more care about your situations. The members are now going through a lot. Marriage problems. Too much divorce in the ...

• Sankofa. 9 years ago

ladies and ventlemen. trust me in every community there is one vad naught. I will use tbis to congrstlate Former elder Mensah k in NC church for those days ggst I know mr mendah as an elder of thege goese round as far to rale ...

• GOD IS WATCHING 9 years ago

Even common visit to members, church of Pentecost, USA Inc pastors have no time to do. All what Pastors care is offering, offering and offering. The pastors of COP have built big houses in Ghana. What they are doing now is to ...

• GREEDY & SELFISH PASTORS 9 years ago

COP USA,INC Pastors don't think about anybody. It is just themselves. They are pastors because money in Church of Pentecost. Everything is free to them at the expense of their poor congregation.

The Church of pentecost, US ...

• CONCERNED MEMBER 9 years ago

I will add my voice to those two contributors, who are not members of Church of Pentecost. I am a member of Church of Pentecost, USA Inc.

Most of the pastors COP USA Inc. are hiring are pastors who did not attend the churc ...

• WE NEED DECERNING PASTORS 9 years ago

When this lady and her husband arrived from Italy, the husband was given the leadership of presiding elder. Meanwhile, there were a lot of elders in the district.

The pastors who appointed the husband as presiding elder of ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

We misinterpret the Bible and Godliness.

• Save the date 9 years ago

The issue of mental and substance is overlooked in Africa as a whole. Maybe she had mental issues and not addressing the underlying course. Please advocate for mental and substance issues in your community.

• Asiedu aboa Nkatiah 9 years ago

NDC Aseidu aboah nkatia. Is she cleaning toilet?

• Omega 9 years ago

Very often these poeple who are ready to help easily get depressed when others don't care for them. Most people think such people don't have problems so they don't get closer to them and genuiely ask about their welfare and h ...

• THEREALTRUTH 9 years ago

HEAVENLY FATHER OF ALL THAT EXIST. PLEASE PUT YOUR HOLY SPIRIT IN YOUR PEOPLE. GIVE US TRUTH. FORGIVE OUR SHORT COMINGS. HAVE GREAT MERCY ON US. FOR WE ARE ONLY FLESH BATTLING AGAINST SPIRITUAL POWERS OF WICKEDNESS.IMPART AND ...

• kesiwa 9 years ago

This is soo sad

• gloria usa 9 years ago

Coming to church everyday does nt mean there is no problem as believers we have to be there for one another RIP sister

• Nii Addo 9 years ago

My advise to you all out there is to share your problems for solution. For whatever reasons, note that there are so many out there who love you and care to have you around on earth. Very sad.

• 3dem 9 years ago

oh thats sad....was it that bad you could talk to anyone? really sad>

• moses 9 years ago

Is she have problem with any one ?

• MUSLIMS ARE TAKING OVER GHANA 9 years ago

RIP - NOBODY KNOWS EXACT TRUTH .

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

THE TRUTH MUST COME OUT SOON.....!

• Ghana woman 9 years ago

May she RIP.

• Rev. Nana Adjei 9 years ago

So the Church of Pentecost could NOT save this depressed but dedicated Church member?????? What a shame !!!

• Asem Pa Yede 9 years ago

I doubt if you are a pastor? Was Jesus able to save every person when he came to the world? Have you been able to save every person in your family, wife's family, relatives and friends? Did the Church of Pentecost know everyt ...

• Big J 9 years ago

she have being push by someone. the police and the doctors are one. they want a heart for someone and they can see, she is african. why not?

• Kiyaah-USA 9 years ago

Wantham,wantham nor get getham getam nor want.What went wrong,OMG?Have mercy on us.Some want to get there(Abroad) and you are there, What went wrong.

• Adwubi 9 years ago

I believe she was been stressed from the church of Pentecost as the story said she stepped down as a leader and it happened a day after church. Some people from the church can stress you to death the emotional stress in that ...

Why do we deceive ourselves into thinking that going to church will give us peace? Maybe, we've been programmed to believe that, but the truth is that Christianity itself is not the real thing. The whites manufactured all tho ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

Read my previous posts

• Francis Acquah - President 9 years ago

Condolences to the family.
    Our Foundation is available to assist at home and overseas. Mental health issues such as depression can after anyone. Please help the foundation to help others. www.mhfgh.org

• Sexy Tuna 9 years ago

Awww!!! what might have prompted this honourable counsellor to take her life? At least think about your three children. Hmmm...in life,no one is free.

May Linda Afriyie soul rest in peace, she is a warrior, yes, she refused to say NO to Poverty, at 54 she still fought on. Early Monday Morning at 6:20am is too early for an old soldier. I have witness the same incidents here ...

• Araba G 9 years ago

God help her children only God knows

• Osofo 9 years ago

May she Rest in Peace.
    But Mental disorder cannot be ruled out. We africans should realize that seeing a psychiatrist does not mean one is 'mad' or 'crazy'. And should not attribute to 'bayifo'. Depression, schizophrenia and ...

• Mercy Awuah 9 years ago

Very sad as a mother to hear such death, may the good Lord substance her children. Please my sisters and brother this the end time any difficulty we are facing we should, nt feel ashamed to consult some one because death is n ...

• ELDER OF PENTECOST 9 years ago

WHATEVER CAUSE HER TO JUMP TO HER DEATH ONLY GOD KNOWS, MY SYMPATHY TO HER ENTIRE FAMILY REST IN PEACE OBAAPA

• Sir Basi 9 years ago

what will make you kill yourself ?

• Antoinette 9 years ago

May her soul rest in peace. Condolences to her families. "Blessed are those who mourn for they shall be comforted."Matthew 5:4