You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2013 10 05Article 287940

Nine years in China but still a pauper

Read Comments Comments (115)

• M.M.H 10 years ago

ONLY A JSS DROPOUT WOULD SAY SUCH A RASCIST AND IGNORANT THING. IT IS FINE IF HE PREFERS TO LIVE IN GHANA BUT BESMERCHING THE NAME OF A NATION WILL NOT DO ANYTHING. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE IN THIS MAN'S PLEA, ONLY COMMENTS WITH ...

• Outraged reader 10 years ago

I am outraged by what this man is claiming. He has built his house on sand instead of rocks! Where is the foundation for his argument, where is the evidence? Well I say to you, you are falling to your grave and have blindly l ...

• OZA 10 years ago

"It’s better to be servants of the whites than Chinese". Dear Anonymous, I can't believe you said that. I was with you until you made that silly utterance. You really think it is better to be the servant of a white man? Oh ...

• Justin Pwavra Teriwajah 10 years ago

When I saw the statement "It’s better to be servants of the whites than Chinese", I began thinking that it is possible that some white bloke wrote this thrash to fool us Africans. However, on second thought, I realized that ...

• Mike NY 10 years ago

SOME GUYS ALSO MADE IT BIG TIME IN CHINA WITHIN 4 YRS.
    HEY U CAN MAKE EASY MONEY IN THAT COUNTRY THAN IN THE USA.PROBABLY U WANTED TO TAKE THAT COUNTRY AS UR HOME.CHINESE R ALWAYS CHINESE AND U CANT PREDICT THEM.U WASTED YOU ...

• China man 10 years ago

my brother contact me on qq 835550442 or 15135999667, im in my 13th year here now. the trick is very easy to live in China. i have been on Z working for all my 13 years, Look, any school i go to teach, white dogs are fired a ...

• Vascopapapaa. CT 10 years ago

China will always be China, with no respect for africans. I made part of my life there and got to know that if u make ur mind to work hard, is easy to make it, but you only need the right people to lead you. I miss China papa ...

• Global Observer 10 years ago

I think you misunderstood him.
    He is just saying being under the Chinese is worse than being under the the Europeans or Americans.
    He is not saying he would like to be under them.

I would rather be suffering in my villag ...

• Kwabena Jones 10 years ago

I am a whiteman who married a Fanti woman and half owned a house in Tema but still I had no right to work or live in Ghana and had to take a visa to stay for only three months at a time. Now she is British and enjoys full rig ...

• samo jewellery 10 years ago

take advantage with the fallen prices of gold at the world market to get your yellow n white gold engagement and wedding rings.gold rings should not cost a fortune....search samo jewellery on facebook or call or whatssapp me ...

• OMANI YE DOM 10 years ago

Why do you not take your time to read this beautiful food of thought, before castigating the writer, Mr. Too
    Known M.M.H.
    If I were to be you, I would have taken my time to read this piece carefully and get the understandin ...

• Biggest king 10 years ago

My dear bull,You better make a better decision to move from china

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Go to Korea or japan. Or go to Ghana n use ur knowledge over there. Mahama, u went to these ppl for a loan? Gyimifuo. They will skin gh ppl alive...lol

• TUTUGYAGU DWENU 10 years ago

Omani ye Dom, your are very smart.Some of our poeple just read somthing and all they can say abouit it is to insult the writer.The guy calling him a JSS DROPOUT is very sad.There is somethig in what the writer is saying, if ...

Omani ye Dom, your are very smart.Some of our poeple just read somthing and all they say abouit it is to insult the writer.The guy calling him a JSS DROPOUT is very sad.There is somethig in what the writer is saying, if this ...

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

stupid comment you put here, don't be hauled up in accra all your life and post idiot here.

• M.M.H 10 years ago

Stupid comment you just posted there. I live in Australia not Accra. Don't pretend you know me, please. And I'm not a dog either. If you believe that dogs can use computers, then you are a JSS dropout.

• Lafia 10 years ago

so when the guy in china talking don't reject what he is saying. i have a brother in china and he told me more worst thing than what the guy is saying

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You live in Brisbane, Australian and you don't know how to spell RACIST, but you are insulting people and telling that they are JSS dropout. Aren't you a JSS dropout yourself?

The spelling is R A C I S T, and not R A S C ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

CHINESE ARE RACIST TO AFRICANS...PERIOD.

They only time they try to be friends with you is when both of you live outside China, and when you are better educated. Most of them living in Europe works as cleaners like most Af ...

• SETH 10 years ago

M.M.H u are a disgrace to the human race . so heartless and like someone just said 'too known '. Jesus Christ i think u have never left the shores of Gh so u have no clue what u talking about . How i wish i can see ur dirty ...

• David Ofei 10 years ago

Sorry, M.M.H you sound a Chinese because your piece has done no proper analysis of the piece only to condemn it. A tactics in attempt to divert readers minds. I really believe the story because I know of worse experiences of ...

• Joe A. Wallace 10 years ago

I sympathise with the experience of this young man, but I do believe that the experience does not only apply to africans in china, but everywhere in the world. Like some the commentators expressed, it is always wise to get pr ...

• the truth 8 years ago

You've made no sense at all. The guy said that nothing is working there. He told you how laws are not working, so wanting him to give you evidence ,it's being stated and those are evidence.

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

my friend, I have been here for 11 good years but nothing to prove.When we tell those at home it's been very horrible here in China, they never believe.But see how chinese flock into our country,taking our country for ride,mi ...

• JJOE 10 years ago

GHANA LEADERS ARE BRAINDEAD, LACK OF VISION, TRANSPARENCY, LACK OF GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE. THE COUNTRY IS SOLDOUT INCLUDING LAND AND NEXT GENERATION WIL CONTINUE TO BE SLAVES

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

my brother yours is better..I am now planning to escape from my wife and the daughter. Anytime my people call me from home asking for money and i tell them truth about china,they never believe. I don't really know what is foo ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Come home to help spread the message to drive away these parasites from our villages and forests.In short our country.Stupid people such as MMH would not understand you hence his nonsense.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

That is why those in Ghana who call themselves socialists and communists will not want to live in China or North Korea. The fact is the Chinese do not trust and respect Africans. Yet our governments and people in high places, ...

• Bobby 10 years ago

You must be a fool. This man is saying the plain truth. I followed a BBC and an RFI programme last week on life for africans in China, and this is it. Africans are nothing but garbage in China. You have never travelled before ...

• M.M.H 10 years ago

Don't pretend that you know things about people you have never met. I have travelled to many countries. I live in Australia.

• Lafia 10 years ago

Do not often doubt any information from china. Chinese people are capable of doing anything.The people are very dangerous and lack common sense.I have a brother in China and we even send him money from Ghana here.

• OBTT 10 years ago

IF YOU'VE BEEN TO MANY COUNTRIES, DID THIS INCLUDE CHINA? IF NOT, THEN KEEP YOUR SMELLY MOUTH SHUT FOR PEOPLE TO EXPRESS THEIR OPINIONS AND THIS IS EVERYBODY'S RIGHT. YOU LIVE IN AUSTRALIA SO WHAT? DO YOU KNOW WHERE OTHER CON ...

• Bin Laden 10 years ago

How on earth do you go and settle in a place like China! Do you guys take time to research about these countries before you set out on your senseless journeys abroad? For your information there is more poverty in China and In ...

• KMZ 10 years ago

Cave men (if they still exist) and the most intellectually bankrupt knows communist China is the most repressive states to ever live in even for their own citizens, let alone the Black man. I totally empathize with the writer ...

• kabobo 10 years ago

you have hit the nail on the head

• m.m hamburg 10 years ago

Oh my brother what do you want from a country of 1.2billion people. As 4me i prefer to stay in village than going to China.even working with them here in Germany is wahala.

• KWESI 10 years ago

WHO ALLOW CHINESE TO COME TO OUR COUNTRY TO RAAPE OUR NATURAL RESOURCES BASBASBA.

TELL THAT TO OUR USELESS LEADERS WHO TOLERATE CHINESE TO ARM THEMSELVES AT ILLEGAL MINING SITES- IMAGINE AN ILLEGAL CHINESE MINER TELLING A ...

• big Mouth 10 years ago

I)f you don,t want the chinese,who do you want.You had the Europeans for 500yrs,and,are you better off?Apart from thier Language ,what did they do for you?From slavery to political asyalum seekers!Yopu bame leadfers when you ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

"The Europeans and the chinese Study,and those whop don,t study also are treated like carbage"

You are wrong. Our fingers do not have equal length. Cleaners and doctors eat at the same restaurants and live in the same comp ...

• Justice 10 years ago

Black people are hated and disliked everywhere in this world. Yes Chinese people are uncivilized and prefer to employ whites than blacks. I had only 150 dollars when I reached China but I can say I am better now.I am now able ...

• Kobi 10 years ago

I do not have an ounce of sympathy for someone with a flawed mentality. Why must you be a servant to another human being.The Chinese do not come to Africa to search for jobs, neither the Europeans nor the Arabs who preceded t ...

• China man 10 years ago

let the writer contact me on qq 835550442 i started business with only 2 phones in china but now im into big business in china and my chinese wife and her families and other chinese people call me EFO. im making 100s of 1000s ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

Especially to other Africans too

• Georgia 10 years ago

What this man has had to endure is terrible but I agree with M.M.H. He should have found out about the country before moving there. He now has to take responsibility for his decision to leave Ghana.

• Ama 10 years ago

I agree with you Georgia. Also, people who are commenting here need to tone it down. No swearing or harsh insults please.

• Koo 10 years ago

Dear MMH, honestly I doubt if you are from Ghana or even from Africa.
    You have travelled far and wide, and you think that is your lincense to delittle others...
    Poor soul like you. If indeed you are in Australia, you have ...

• M.M.H 10 years ago

I am Ghanaian.

• bbc 10 years ago

Dear, brothers,I wrote the article,it is nothing but the truth,do you know currently what's happening now in china these past week?all blacks are hiding,most have been caught,whether you have a valid docs or not you'll be cau ...

• TDA 10 years ago

not just Chinese...Asians in general (Arabs, Indians, CHinese, etc) all hate blacks!! I live in London, and I experience racism from 9 asians for every 1 white. Forget about China being a lawless country, they are the 2nd ric ...

• consciousness 10 years ago

Man, I agree very much with you. What I don't understand is Ghanaian's see Chinese flooding into their country, the question is WHY? One see's somebody fleeing from somewhere and what does the person who see this do, he rathe ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

You said the sad truth

• Ken 10 years ago

Where are your complaints taking you too. I was also in Malaysia in 2005 with the same hopes. When I noticed the racism (believe me, they are very racist too). I parked bag and baggage and returned home. Today, I have my own ...

• Dr. 10 years ago

I'm with u man. I'm in China as well and doing my masters. MMH guy shd stop castigating this innocent man. Australia isn't better of than China. Jux that this guy couldn't find himself at the right side of China and maybe lac ...

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

Yes the Chinees can be racist but if you think the teaching job over there is too competitive, taking into consideration the number of native english speaking teachers in China, or the job isn't lucrative enough, find another ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You did not want to use your name because you did not want the authorities to know your whereabouts, but you are here claiming that you wrote the article. Don't you know that it is easier to trace you, now that you have accep ...

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS ! 10 years ago

Do your research before travel in the near future . South Korea and Japan is better not poor China .

• EGYIR 10 years ago

IF ONLY OUR LEADERS WILL TAKE NOTE AND LISTEN. GOD BLESS YOU

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST go www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Okoe 10 years ago

OUR POLITICIANS WILL TAKE MONEY EVEN FROM THE DEVIL. DR. NKRUMAH SAID IT BETTER THAT GHANA MUST PREFER FREEDOM WITH DANGER THAN SERVITUDE IN TRANQUILITY. PARDON ME IF I MISQUOTE THE PRESIDENT.

• ABEZE 10 years ago

a china girl once told me that a chinese slave their own chinese fellows, and how much more you the foregner

• Kyekyeku 10 years ago

This little thing that we call chiness , they are the most racist people and greedy people in the world, I am in America and have not seen one human being working in their restaurants except those slaves girls from china, I h ...

• kofi 10 years ago

i am in china now guangzhou.i am from ghana,currently chinese police are arresting.they arrested many ghanaians.they are in cells.WE plead with ghana govt to speak against it.
    i learn china is retaliating when ghana caught t ...

• 30 Pieces of Silver 10 years ago

china has Ghana by it's Balls.....they will take from you....like Judas...the government have taken there silver.

• Paa Baah 10 years ago

That to me is the construct of one angry experience immigrant. Join the club.

Your stress of "stay away from China" is a miss-call. One advice though! come back home if there's any opportunity out there for you.

We love ...

• MPATA MPATA 10 years ago

I always wonder why we go to China to be educated what do they have there. Please stop dealing with them. mOST OF THE THINGS THEY MAKE ARE NOT GOOD.
    THEY CAME TO GHANA TO GET OUR MINERAL RESOURCES.
    GHANA PLEASE BE CAREFU ...

• Field Marshall Mosquito 10 years ago

Mpata Mpata is right.I spent eight weeks in China and Hong Kong on an educational tour.Nothing will make me to go to China and Hong Kong ever. I don't want to see the Chinese in Africa!I have written off Asia completely.Broth ...

• babylon man 10 years ago

blame yourself and your ghanaian leaders. that is what they are doing and developing. your country can also do it.

I've heard a lot of stories from China & Korea returnees and no wonder I'll prefer to live all my life in freedom here in Ghana(Africa).

• Concerned Thinker 10 years ago

I am in Asia and I know this is just a tip of the iceberg. Brother! Come home; there is no place like home. Ghana will still accept you even if you insulted her, because she is your motherland. Be proud to be an African no ma ...

• Concerned Thinker 10 years ago

But also never blame the chines. Their leaders are exploiting resources to benefit their people who deserve them. However, you African politicians will not do the same but the other way round.

• God's Child 10 years ago

The story is a very true reflection or the reality on the ground in many parts of China.
    I am blessed by God and have no problems in China, but the stories from my black brothers, especially Africans are horrifying.
    There a ...

• kofii 10 years ago

racism is everyehere, but learn to play your card well, that is the best thing, be focus , but why not he use the language even as a translator it will be coool. you can live in the best place on this world but things can als ...

• CRUSADER 10 years ago

PAP GOD COME AND TAKE US HOME, THE DAVIL HIS CHILDREN CHASING US.I MEAN CHILDREN THEY LABLE AS BLACKS AND CALLED THEMSELVES WHITE.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

You say .."China is more than Hell to me AND it is the worst country in the world"!! The last time I counted, there are 194 countries making up the UN !!
    AT LEAST, YOU HAVE A CHOICE !!!!!!!

• marg 10 years ago

I suspect he teaches English. But they mostly prefer native english speakers so now that America is broke, most of them are here to work. So if they compare how you speak, they will definitely take the native english speaking ...

• maku 10 years ago

No where cool. You think that life is full of roses out there. Why do some of you people prepare other countries to Ghana? We may lack leaders who will transform our resources to money, but at least we enjoy some level of pea ...

• ASTRA 10 years ago

it's sad to say that Africans when we see somebody called 'broni'we think they are better than us.I have never trusted these Chinese people let alone their government and our governments are so stupid and dumb allowing them ...

• KOFI SIKA 10 years ago

What he is saying is true, I have been there for 4 years and if I tell you what the chinese are doing to Africans you will be sorry. But one thing I know about Chinese people is that they are cheat and no human rights. If you ...

• Kuma 10 years ago

You are so right! It's sick seeing how the government in Ghana for some reason allows the Chinese people come and basically do what ever they want in our country.
    To Me the Chinese are like locusts, moving through Africa and ...

• danladi china 10 years ago

WELL BROTHER I REALY DISAGREE WITH YOUR COMMENT BUT IN SOME CASE IT REALY HAPPENED AS I AM ALSO LIVING HERE IN CHINA, FIRST OF ALL CHINA IS OPEN FOR BUSINESS EDUCATION TO ALL NATIONS NOT FOR HUSLERS WHO COME HERE TO MAKE MON ...

• ' and Jesus wept '. 10 years ago

Pack your bags and come back home, for surely thou shall be fed.

• Ato Nyaanom 10 years ago

You claim to have two children with a Chinese wife in China. What happened to their one child policy? Did it stop at your door because you are a black man?

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

I need people with these experiences to come out and share with the general population so that others who are not aware that your home is the best home may know and understand so that with unity we will work together with gr ...

• kofi madingo 10 years ago

I am totally in agreement with what the writer is saying but it is not only China but almost everywhere. Our politicians do not have to travel to China for greener pastures neither do they have to cross the waters to lampedus ...

• black african 10 years ago

There are rats comming in and steal everything we have the street and building there build even dont last long,simply appel to ghanaian gov to chect them well .there are RATS!!stealling and run away!GOD BLESS GHANA.GOD BLESS ...

• Obiba Kwame 10 years ago

Most of the complaints you have about life in China also are made by the Chinese citizens. China is a repressive society where people have very little individual freedoms, where opportunities for self actualisation are limite ...

• wake up ppl 10 years ago

while we dont deserve the right to clean their toilets and while our women only deserve to be prostitutes in thier country, they have the right to own a land and dig for gold in our country, when will africa wake up? when wil ...

After we realise the trickery in Chriatianity or Islam.Christianity makes your God given Brains dormant.Whilst the people who brought you Chriatianity are using their brains to develop, all we do is pray, sing and dance.Inste ...

• Koo the boy 10 years ago

A day overstay in China is day prison term

• ABU 10 years ago

Our leaders without any leadership qualities sold mother Ghana to the Chinese for a pittance.

• NII 10 years ago

GOT YOUR ASS BACK TO GHANA AND YOU WILL BE BETTER OFF. WHAT MAKE YOU THINK CHINA IS A BETTER PLACE TO LIVE. CHINA IS A RED COMMUNIST COUNTRY, THEY DON'T HAVE RESPECT FOR ANYBODY ESPECIALLY AFRICANS. PLEASE GO HOME AND YOU WIL ...

• Dare 10 years ago

The Chinese are very, very racist. They especially look down on blacks.If they see you are as educated as they are, they respect you, but at heart they are still racist. Once in Ghana, you will prosper if you work as hard as ...

• Maa U 10 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• ken 10 years ago

i study and work in china for 4 good years , i don't have problem with Chinese . life in China is even better than Ghana.even US students are not allow to work. food is cheap , transport is cheap than US.exchange of passport ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You are blogging from Turkey, so when did you stop your schooling and moved to Turkey? And why Turkey of all places? Are you on your way to Iraq?

Btw, he did not go there to study but to work. Get the fucck out of there.

• Mike NY 10 years ago

I was studying n working in Bj.just get to be smart,make money and leave.in general life in China is even better than in d USA.my other Ghanaian guys r also ok in China.

• Kumi 10 years ago

Well you guys can insult him but please it will be better if you advice him on what to do that just insult he is not really aware of what is going on in china, more over in china you can only have one child but now you have t ...

• ken 10 years ago

you cant go to U S OR EUROPE with SHS for undergraduate program , u must writ proficiency exams or GRE. MEANS OUR AFRICA ENGLISH IS FAKE.WHO IS MORE RAISES THAN U S ?

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You better shut up. You don't know anything; no one writes GRE to get into undergraduate program in the US.

I fear for you. The way you are going on about this, you might end up joining a terrorist group in Turkey. Pack up ...

• Mallam Tula 10 years ago

WEll Brother the fact is that before you left Ghana in rush to escape the heat in Ghana had somebody told you that the chinnesse are the most discrimatory people on earth ; would you have believed the person beside were you t ...

• Jerry Sodeman 10 years ago

Don't forget that it is RED CHINA

• concerned citizen 10 years ago

why travel and waste 9 whole yrs for nothing whilst even engaging in cassava farming on an acre of land over this same period could have guaranteed you a worthy life in your own country.Take a decision and return home !

• angle man 10 years ago

Travel and see.

• kabobo 10 years ago

The author of this article has had the most viewed article of the week,i think ghanaweb should reward hin.
    china is infact a bad country,US has warned Africa to be caucious of the chinese they planning to exploit africa with ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

You just living in denial , Ghana is worse than any Country I have been in Africa In your sorry you said "I and my wife, my two kids enjoy nothing here .No social security benefits, no healthcare benefits, no right to apply f ...

• Nana 10 years ago

My brother in China could you please send me email? I will like to talk to you privately. send your mail to agyayaw93@gmail.com. Thanks

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

You are welcome back, Prodigal Son. A lesson to those who are still at the Chinese embassy seeking visas.

• Sokumle 10 years ago

Charlie what courses are you teaching? if it's English, forget about it. Africans especially the Nigerians and Ghanaians have thick heavy accent in English language. The Chinese and other Asian countries prefer white man's ac ...

• Victor 10 years ago

If you have been to other countries besides china then you wouldn't be complaining. What about your two kids? Are you taking them home or you want to leave them behind, if there were so much for Ghana to offer then you wouldn ...

• Vascopapapaa. CT 10 years ago

What he is saying is true, I have been there for 4 years and if I tell you what the chinese are doing to Africans you will be sorry. But one thing I know about Chinese people is that they are cheat and no human rights. If you ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

You are alive and have another chnace so come home. China they work like slaves and it is their culture where in Ghana some people are very lazy sit on their bums and expect someone to some from overseas and give them money t ...

• JP 10 years ago

I applaud you for saying what you just said.
    IS said that our country. Your own second cousin thinks and believe you owe them something just because you are in abrokyire.

• Ed 10 years ago

Build up your own country and stop whining, the Chinese owe you nothing.

• bawa 8 years ago

I agree with you. Chinese hate blacks. I experience it when I went for businesses there.
    On a bus, I realised people didn't want to sit by me though there were empty seats. Many stood for 20 minutes whiles there are seats.