You are here: HomeBusiness2016 07 21Article 457074

Economy in crisis: Borrowing spree must stop - CEPA

Read Comments Comments (27)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

AUTHOR : DR TRUTH --------WAS THE WALL AT THE SMALL GHANA MISSION COMPOUND LIKE 'THE WALL OF JERICHO? WAS IT BUILT WITH GOLD AND ADORN WITH DAIMONDS OR WHAT ? NOT EVEN WALL BUILT FOR UNITED STATES MISSIONS IN GHANA AND BURKIN ...

• CJ 7 years ago

Only a mismanaged country or an individual will borrow money at 24.5% interest rate.

In the financial markets it is called a junk bond.

A junk bond refers to high-yield or noninvestment-grade bonds. Junk bonds are fixed ...

• OKO ABGEYEGAH -Mamprobi 7 years ago

HE EC-REGISTRATION IS GOING ON NOW
    FRIENDS TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND SISITERS TO GO AND REGISTER OR CHECK NAMES.EC BOSS HAD DELIBERATELY DELETED NON NHIS VOTERS. THIS IS NOT FAIR..GO OUT THERE AND CHECK YOUR NAMES AND TELL YOUR ...

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

Interest rate 35%,inflation rate 19.2%,exchange rate GHC4:$1,debt to GDP ratio 72.4% and rising fast,youth unemployment 48%,unending dumsor,high cost of living....one can go on and on.The litany is endless yet this buffoon wa ...

• kokonte 7 years ago

Don't worry, Europe and Japan are having the same problem; just borrow your way into prosperity like they are doing!

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

Yes indeed, borrow your way out of poverty. Even the great USA borrow while they sit comfortably on richest country prestige. Your neighbor Ivory Coast is developing, so they say, because they are not afraid to borrow. People ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

Mahama have been warned several times by these technocrats but he seems intransigient because of his corruption. He is a gambler and so cannot stop disgracing ghana. His economist advisers from Terpker are always missing the ...

• BAWUMIA LOOK ALIKE 7 years ago

MAHAMA FOR A SECOND TERM ...MAY GOD FORBID..AMEN

• Frimpong 7 years ago

The fake denture smelling Akufo Addo said, Malaysia is his role model. How sad! If this good for nothing useless old man is current with world affairs, he never would have made such nonsense comments. The government of thst ...

• AKPAKPA. 7 years ago

KWASEA,IS THIS ALL YOU CAN SAY?.ONLY FOOLS LIKE YOURSELF WILL STILL BELIEVE MAHAMAH CAN SAVE THIS COUNTRY FROM IT'S FALLING OUT.IF IT WERE BORROWING THEN MY TEN YEARS OLD BOY NUHU CAN LEAD THIS COUNTRY.WHERE IS THE GOOD WORK? ...

• AMA GHANA 7 years ago

This is the legacy Mahama is going to leave Ghana debt upon DEBT. I noticed from the piece that there was no representation from the governing party NDC (funny).
    GHANA WISE-UP AND VOTE THIS THIEVING MAHAMA LED GOVERNMENT OUT ...

• Luze 7 years ago

Idiots, Ghana started borrowing money from Kwame Nkrumah's time what sort of analysis are you making? criminals.

• KOO 7 years ago

The economy is in complete shambles.With people who think that borrowing will help solve all problems at the helm, suggesting anything otherwise is met with insults and insinuations.Using others monies to do your projects is ...

• abba 7 years ago

VOTE NDC OUT BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC IS A DISGRACE TO JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION. EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• Prime Minister of Sekondi-Takoradi 7 years ago

as for these incompetent dead goat John Ford mahama and his ndc create loot and shares doesn't think about the box but always thinks about borrowing and taking taxes from the citizens. ndc IDIOTS BAMMM!!!
    #STILL THE BATTLE I ...

• Jay 7 years ago

Nobody thinks outside of the box in building the country, always borrowing. Twea

• Charles 7 years ago

Financial feasibility is not a concept applied by this government to any of it's projects. Mainly it is done because it looks good and it's an avenue to pilfer. Ghanaians and succeeding governments will be burdened with the d ...

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

That is the legacy of this dumb president.But incomprehensibly,with such huge amount borrowed we still live in dumsor.So where the money go dey,folks?Some visible projects here and there to deceive the gullible.But the econom ...

• t.t 7 years ago

We are busily branding NEW metro buses and we expect economic growth ? How can u be borrowing just to repay loans and when u are advised u say u are a dead goat ?

• Atsu London 7 years ago

Incompetent John Ford Mahama graduated in thievery. All his appointees are midiocre.they are best in lies and thievery.

• John Adams Tamale 7 years ago

Will this vision less leadership stop?Again what was the position of the country before power was given to this wicked and blood thirty party.They careless about the suffering of the people soon your end will come

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

IT IS A PITY WE STIL HAVE SHALLOW MINDED PEOPLE WHO CLAIM TO BE IN POSSESSION OF UNIVERSITY DEGREES ABD PHD TITLES.

HAVE THESE PEOPLE ASKED THEMSELVES, WHY THE GOIVERNMENT CONTINUES TO BORROW TO SERVICE NATIONAL BUDGETS, ...

• agyeman 7 years ago

DR. ABBEY PLEASE SETH TERKPER AND MAHAMA HAVE NO EARS NEITHER CAN THEY SEE. THESE ARE STACK RECALCITRANT PERSONS WHO LISTEN THEMSELVES.

• Jojo 7 years ago

TOO KNOWN AND NO PRACTICAL ACADEMIC PERFORMANCES AND PRODUCTIVITY.

YOU SHOULD ALL BE A DISGRACE TO YOURSELVES AD THE NATION AS A WHOLE.

TILTLES IN THE MIDST OF ECONOMIC DIFFICULTIES, CHANLLENGES AND EXTREME POVERTY.

• Kwame Nkrumah Tikese3 7 years ago

Kokonte, your soo stupid your talking of Europe and Japan, this country's received unemployment benefits, did you get some in your country? Don't compare your fuckin Ghana to them.

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Economic principles apply irrespective of the country.

To Dr Abbey I would say that you have to look at the big picture. There is nothing wrong with borrowing to invest in our country's infrastructure.

This is exactly w ...

• SETH 7 years ago

Put your people at work by investing heavly in agriculture for export instead of borrowing. In any you have to pay what you borrowed., and where do you get back that money to pay back without putting you your people at work. ...