You are here: HomeBusiness2015 07 09Article 367373

Mobile Money: BoG gives telcos 6-month ultimatum

Read Comments Comments (15)

• Ofosuhene Clement Amanfo 8 years ago

So you want traders to carry money on them again at the mercy of highway armed robbers? Pls lets try to grow technologically as an emerging economy and reduce such impediments and limitations as quickly as possible.

• Ghanabia 8 years ago

Let us look at the good side of this directive. It is aimed at channeling the money tranfer activities of the telcos. Remember they are not banks or micorfinancial instittuions. If they want to engage in such activities they ...

• wil 8 years ago

Massa fas)) h), what has our leaders been doing with our taxes, Is it mismanagement,stealing our fund?

• ABRAHAM 8 years ago

PAYCODE WHICH ENABLE BUYERS TO PAY THE KEY SELLERS WHEN THEY BUY ON STREET VENDORS, VENDORS SHOULD HAVE BANK ACCOUNTS WITH ASSGNED PURCHASE CODE FOR THEIR BUYERS TO USE WHEN PURCHASING THEIR PRODUCTS ON THE STREET

• patriotic seidu 8 years ago

BOG should rather concentrate on stabilizing the cedis which is the main cause of financial meltdown and causing suffering in the face of citizens.Does the law not require you to manage the economy well? Stop disturbing micro ...

• Buli 8 years ago

well, from the data presented here, has there been any or suspicion of any fallout in the mobile money busines? if no, why the restriction.Look, that business has democratized banking in Ghana and should be made even better.

• Member-Y 8 years ago

the BoG is now waking up from its sleep! the telcos have been reaping billions of cedis all these years and the central bank is just now GETTING ready to get into it! Amazing!! how do you expect the country to develop using i ...

• Mosaic 8 years ago

I hope government will not allow CBN to deny the rural folk who due to unavalability of banks use this service. These are some of the people working to undermine goverment to make it unpopular. Who has complained about lose o ...

• ghanain 8 years ago

is it bcos we are no more going to dis slow' busy for nothing BOG?? masa alow de mobile money to operate in its freedom! trust me i will never keep my money in dat time wasting bank again!

• Ama 8 years ago

Don't kill it if the banks are asking you to do so. Each switch has been killed . We even want credit cards in Ghana

• Fuga 8 years ago

This Bank of Ghana is only interested in destroying any good thing. First, it started with depreciating the cedi against the dollar, then collapsing DKM financial services and now they have seen that mobile money is progressi ...

• Obiba JK 8 years ago

BoG bring back our dkm.
    We will start intercepting their buses soon

• wil 8 years ago

BOG, that is all you know,enemy of progress.Why didnt the BOG come up with that idea of E money/mobile money nd regulate it yourself? What. you hate is to see young institutions,entrepeneurs making bigger money.U onli want to ...

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

Bank of Ghana is a useless institution,you sat down unconcern for this entities to operate all this years and now acting,what's the core mandate of this companies aforementioned?,how can this companies takeover the businesses ...

• kodua 8 years ago

I dey Accra here only mobile Money i can use to send my mother money in Kumawu. so what bank can do what de MM is doing now . Please allow them to do they business. Ghana commercial Bank taking we Ghanaians 50 ghana withou ...