You are here: HomeBusiness2014 08 16Article 321458

Yale Professor calls for scrapping of Cedi as legal tender

Read Comments Comments (130)

• Angel 9 years ago

Too many economy experts in Ghana but most are clueless in dealing with the economic problems. It took an outsider to tell us the root of our problems.

• forget that! 9 years ago

WE NEED BRILLIANT MANAGERS OF THE ECONOMY. NOT CURRENCY ADOPTION GAMES. WE HAVE ENOUGH RESOURCES IN GHANA TO BE SELF-SUFFICIENT. CFA COUNTRIES STILL SUCK!

• The 9 years ago

You these NDC made so much noise about Prez Kuffour's NPP government and Ghanaians voted for you. Now you have mismanaged Ghana's economy to the extent that look at the heart breaking comments being made about Ghana's cedi. Y ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

is worth zilch. Do we hear that loud and clear?

Vikram Mansharaman is a cross between a Sri Lankan man and a white woman.

Ken

• FELA O FELA : NPP BONESHAKER 9 years ago

There is a conspiracy at work o...there is a conspiracy at work!!!

Me I say!!!!

• Mind 9 years ago

Good comment indeed.

• Free Thinker 9 years ago

You said it all, my brother!

I don't blame Vikram. He is just an agent.

Oh Ghana! How many rivers must we cross?

Donkomi at work! Barima Sydney where are you? Tell am again, oh!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Well, I told you so ooooo, Anyemi, I told you so la....

The reminiscence of the last days of Nkrumah is a vivid and all too familiar in this episode 6 movie coming straight from Kukurudu warehouse and it show with all it ...

• dick 9 years ago

it is simple. ghana should join the dollar or pounds zone to stabilize the economy

So, when did you realise this feat?

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

WO MAAME TW3...WHO IS ENTERTAINING THIS SON OF A BITCH IN GH? TAKE UR CURENCY CHANGE SUGGESTION TO BANGLADESH U PIECE OF SHIT. U WANNA COMPARE HONG KONG TO GH? GH FOUGHT FOR INDEPENDENCE, HONG KONG DIDNT. HK IS A CITY, GH IS ...

• Stephens 9 years ago

really the most less desirable person to ever have come on earth. you speak in public domain with such useless words and expect your suggestions to be taken into consideration. Arrant nonsense. Who ever is entertaining him in ...

• ekow 9 years ago

easy, easy man...

• Kalahariman 9 years ago

The man is from bangladesh - HE SHOULD GO AND FIX THEIR CURRENCY THERE

• kwaku new york 9 years ago

You right he's from Bangladesh fortunate enough to be a lecturer in Yale. As much as he thinks can dissect the currency of Ghana, why does his country remains one of the most poverty sriken country in the world and yet canno ...

..THEN ADD THE RATE OF INFLATION ON A YEARLY BASIS. MINUS NPP, NDC POLITICAL CORRUPTION, STEALING BRIGADIERS AND PROPAGANDA. IN 5 YRS, HOW MUCH WILL ABALL OFKENKEY BE?...I SAY $3.50 IF NOT MORE....A BALL OF KENKEY WILL COST M ...

• Tim 9 years ago

The Prof. is entitled to his views;when there is total lack of confidence in any currency... substitution is called for...but when inflation is causing a weak currency then anti-inflationary measures are called for..Anyway,wh ...

Thank you sir. Yet of course, we have an acclaimed professor from Yale preaching otherwise in here. What a dishonest soul to his academia of a profession and to his prominent university as well!

OFFICIAL DOLLARIZATION OF THE GH ECONOMY WILL DESTROY THE NOTION OF BURGERS IN GH. NO BURGER IN EUROPE OR N AMERICA WILL COME TO GH AND SPLURGE LIKE WE KNOW THEY ARE USED TO DOING. THE BURGERS WONT EVEN COME TO GH. WEN THEY C ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 9 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you latest pictures of yellow n white wedding n engagement gold rings to choose from.....can also search samo jewellery on facebook,instagram,twitter for more pictures to choose from. ...

• Mind 9 years ago

You've got your eye on the ball. All we have to do is stop listening to these sinister foreigners. We must not even give them airtime or any time of the day.

• TO THE POWERS THAT BE 9 years ago

Here they come again. Let the powers that be know that Ghana is now alert on their manipulations. Where was this guy just befor the economic downturn that hit the USA first. Oburoni e, di wofie as3m. Leave Africa alone, pleas ...

• Kwadjo, London 9 years ago

I agree with you perfectly. The cedis had been mismanaged for a very long time.BoG is clueless about what is happening to the cedis.It can be done, the right people at the right places.

• Ostutus 9 years ago

waa bon paa-who said he pointed the root of the currency crisis

• Barima 9 years ago

Just becos an outsider says something does not mean it is right. The depreciation of the cedi is becos of supply and demand. Ghana wants everything from outside and has to pay using foreig currencies. Meanwhile, what we get( ...

• Adams 9 years ago

I completely agree with you brother.
    The basic economic law of supply and demand explains partly the problem Ghana is facing today and Ghana doent have a strong economy to adopt the US dollar as it's currency.

• Mind 9 years ago

Why do chaps like you always think the ramblings of a foreigner is truth? Your kind of ignorance is part of the reason why African has problems. Foreigners have been meddling in Ghana since Don Diego D'Azambuja and the other ...

• Mind 9 years ago

Since the independence of the USA, the dollar has been devalued more than the Cedi.....should we hazard a guess of 999.9%. We really first need to scrap the dollar and introduce the Cedi to the USA. Every country is trying to ...

• Kofai 9 years ago

Interesting point

• Jacob 9 years ago

This guy sounds like an economist from NSAMANPOM university.Doesn't he know that CFA is backed by the French Franc.

• jk Atta 9 years ago

Adopt the Chinese currency

• Kofi cedi 9 years ago

One of the best ways to win an argument is to appeal to Knowledge. In this case get a so called expert to spout rubbish you want to hear. I once met a consultant who called himself 'A bull shitter'.
    Have we verified this 'ex ...

• jj 9 years ago

Stupid Prof,if Ghana has buoyant economic activities and sound financial management we can even use "leaves" as our legal tender if we choose to.

• jj 9 years ago

You neo colonist, cedi is only a legal tender the strength of which depends on ghana's vibrant economic policies supported by sound financial management so go to hell with your short sighted analysis. Ghana needs to develop a ...

• Humanity 9 years ago

I disagree, Ghana should keep the cedi. I haven't watched the interview, bu I haven't read enough fundamentals/basis as to why the currency should be scrapped.
    Sri Lanka has its own currency and plagued by the same problems ...

• nubian 9 years ago

spare us the patronage and stop singing the song of your paymasters.We all know what makes a currency depreciate.Lets fix that. ironically part of the blame can be laid sqaurely at the doorsteps of your payma ...

• Substitute Teacher 9 years ago

Why do we result to insults when somebody is asked a question and he answers the best way he knows how? The man realizes how incompetent our economic managers are that is why he is making that suggestion. Can he go to say "US ...

• WILL ACCRA 9 years ago

MR YELE IS RIGHT WHEN MAHAMA TELL US TO USE OUR LOCAL CEDI IN TEMA PORT THEY CHARGE YOU DOLLAR,HOTELS EVERY WHERE DOLLAR THIS USELESS MAHAMA HAVE KNOW SOLUTION FOR OUR ENCONOMY THE CEDIS HAS BECOM VERY USELESS THE ANY CURRE ...

• Mind 9 years ago

What does an USA classroom so-called doctor know about Ghanaian problems? Will Ghanaians ever stop being so gullible?

• KOFI USA 9 years ago

Panama has being using US dollar for ages but have they develop? They are still the same. US dollar is not the solution to Ghanas problem. Until we stop the corruption nothing will work. The civil servants are more corrupt th ...

• Jo 9 years ago

The Yale professor is right. However, I agree also with your comments: let's stop corruption and stealing of government money and things will get better!! May be we can employ this prof. to come and help us. There is no shame ...

• Sankofa-Gye Nyame 9 years ago

OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!

WHAT THE FCUK IS WRONG WITH MY BELOVED PEOPLE?

Why are Ghanaians so retarded and gullible? These kinds of people have been meddling in Ghana and running Ghana for the past 600 years and you want to em ...

• Michael, Accra 9 years ago

You will be backward for another 600 years if we do not bring in experts from abroad to help us. After all we borrow money from them and majority of Ghanaians including you would like to go and live abroad.

You have appoi ...

• Mind 9 years ago

This idiotic foreigner is not answering the question the best way he can. He has an agenda to promote with the propaganda he is introducing. Some stupid Ghanaians will think he is right because he is of lighter hue and will r ...

• jj 9 years ago

So sad!!

• Mind 9 years ago

I agree with you. The idiot is high on the legalised pot in the USA. They will soon start the campaign to legalise all forms of shit soon. There is nothing wrong with the Cedis. Just the beginning of their propaganda. It will ...

• jj 9 years ago

Love your reasoning

• Asiwome 9 years ago

Why not the British Pound or the Canadian Dollar, after all Ghana is still part of the British "common-wealth" of States. Have a good day.

• blackstar 9 years ago

Then why won't they give us visa?

• mocking _blacks 9 years ago

but who is this man professor.i think this man must be an arab or persian. Avery very stupid man to tell we Ghanaians what to do.

Who is this white man with a jet-black hair. He is not even a pure white. He is a shit.

• Wiseone 9 years ago

Childish rant! You can disagree with someone without hurling insult at them.

• Citizen 9 years ago

Thanks a lot. These are the sort of people we have in the country.

• TIJANI 9 years ago

its because of people like you the country is for granted. I am not violent, but there should be someone bold enough to turn him off. his comment and suggestion is irritating. he sounds like he is mocking the country

• A Benyin 9 years ago

Mocking, you are an ass hole. What has black hair got to do with the above? If you have nothing sensible to contribute, leave mature people alone to make thought provoking analysis without interjecting in your infantile crap. ...

Fellow brothers and sisters. Go onto the great YOUTUBE and research. Just type in "USA AND THE DOLLAR" as a starting point and knowledge will start coming to you. See how useful the dollar is to these educated people in the U ...

• kk 9 years ago

You won't even be quiet for someone to pump some sense into your small brain?

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

I want to hear it then I can make a decision.

• truth 9 years ago

will do that for them. serious business.

• kofi 9 years ago

There are fundamental issues we need to address as a Nation. Why is it that nothing works since independence?
    1. The nation's fortunes are paralyzed.
    2. Our education system is not working to the extent that a Head of State ...

• ABEIKU 9 years ago

Kofi,
    I'm with you 100%

• koffi 9 years ago

What makes a currency to be strong is what reserve of mineral you have, with Gold at your deposit you can print money against it, but unfortunate the Gold mining in Ghana, is sucks, ask me, do Government have Gold reserve, mi ...

• AdwenKwame 9 years ago

the cedi has depreciated by something like 35000 percent, not 99 percent. Clearly shows that the man does not know shit!

• Ostutus 9 years ago

from January through the end of July the cedis has fallen more than 99% visa vis the dollar- how could it have fallen 99% since 1950 something. Did the Professor depreciate some of the devaluation.

It would be hopeless to ...

• DDKT 9 years ago

Check ur facts

The foreign vulture did not state anything about aggregate depreciation according to the article. Why try to cover-up his deficiency and incompetence?

Fellow brothers and sisters. Go onto the great YOUTUBE and research. Ju ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

It is impossible for something to depreciate by more than 100%. Depreciation is a measure of reduction value so if a currency is completely worthless it has depreciated 100%. What you are referring to is percentage increase ...

• Monroe 9 years ago

Vikram should conduct much research on adaption of currency especially on Liberia which used the dollar as legal tender since formation of Liberia until early 1990s when the Military gov't headed by Samuel Doe changed the dol ...

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

Ghana at stage can not survive alone because of the CFA currency ,option now to join west africa countries with common destiny and that will be the ecowas money.

• CALM 9 years ago

the dollar easily exposes the incompetence and criminality of the NDC government so they hate it big time.....

• The mask 9 years ago

This Professor does not understand macroeconomics. This is the most stupid advice thus far.

Ghana has a market economy. Ghana is not an OECD country. Prices of goods and services in Ghana must be determined by demand and s ...

• Ostutus 9 years ago

hmm masa you be pure textbook ---from a practical standpoint who in Ghana wanna buy the Chinese (which is pegged against the dollar at 6.1475 Yuan per dollar) -isn't it more convenient to get the dollar than any other currenc ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Competence is what we need which we lack in this country. When you entrust the governance of a nation to SCHOOL BOYS without experience that is what you get.

• Ostutus 9 years ago

I'm sure the professor could've juxtaposed Ghana situation to Turkey the only difference is that Turkey phased out 6 zeroes while Ghana only removed 4 zeroes-

one million Turkish lira became 1 New Lira.

• nanaba 9 years ago

I agree with the professor. Ghana should adopt either the pound or dollar. Our cedi is dieing from suffocation

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

Even adopting the almighty pound sterling will not help matters when we import tooth picks, coffins, nkatie buggar and all manner of things. We import almost everything and export few.Take the example of these oil sharks who ...

• adu 9 years ago

infact prez Mahama throw away cedi.

• Ostutus 9 years ago

professors tell us every now and then that no one can become richer just by exchanging money due to PPP (Purchasing Power Parity)and the exchange rate differential- I'd would be more than three times richer by now if I had st ...

• guy guy 9 years ago

My brother you said it all, buying foreign exchange especially the euro has been my strategy for time value analyses for my income in this current Mahama driven crisis... u mind is sharp like mine, cn we link up tru sum mediu ...

• HBA 9 years ago

He said a country like Hong Kong is doing well currently because it abandoned its local currency for the US Dollar,
    =======================================
    Hong Kong Has it's own currency the Hong Kong dollar. It is exchang ...

• Georgee 9 years ago

Our problem has been created by the massive looting that has taken place by the current government. There is nothing wrong with the Cedi.

• Naija boy 9 years ago

The cedi is shit!

• Magani 9 years ago

Nonesense,what a bogus Analysis.What about the Dollar(US)?How many percent has it lost its value?The Doullar is only surviving,b`cos it is being used as International Trade Currency,imposed upon Countries.Anyone who tries not ...

• Mr. Mensah 9 years ago

The value of Ghana money it is not because it is called cedi but directly related to structure and health of the economy. I am ashamed if professional of his statutes give such an unpractical suggestions. Can he tell us the ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

The professor is the latest to confirm that classroom earned degrees is not synonymous with wisdom. The value of Ghana's cedi depreciates because of a whole host of factors the least of which is our credit worthiness. The pr ...

Mr Yale investor and Lecturer - adopting a new currency is not the answer - have you been speaking with Kufour? He made it 90 pesewas to $1:00 today it is almost 4 cedis to a dollar. The problem is productivity - the country ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

I have always asked this question, why the CFA is always stable even though we produce and export more than many of these Francophone African countries.This is pure geopolitics and geostrategy that we seldom look at.Thank you ...

Dr Kwame Nkrumah will turn in his grave to hear this nonesense

CFA is acceptable among the Francophone countries - one thing for sure Ivory Coast exports more cocoa than Ghana

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

There are many coutries in Africa who do not produce or export cocoa but their currency is not depreciating so fast like the Cedi.Do we have to depend on foreign currency to survive or not? That is the question.Thank you.

You will have to if you import more than than you export - it is called balance of trade.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The question here is are we going to keep the cedi that keeps depreciating everyday or should we abandon it and depend on foreign reserve like the Francophone countries who depend on Banque de France for CFA? Thank you.

Before you two Amigo go a wild goose chase by lecturing over the comfort zone accolade to the CFA before the media, do well to seek a detailed information about the currency you're both forcefully preaching to ascertain its p ...

SO FRANCE ACTS AS AN IMF TO THESE CFA USING AFRICAN NATIONS. FRANCE DETERMINES HOW MUCH OF THE CURRENCY IS USED BY EACH COUNTRY AND UNDER WHAT CONDIOTIONS ETC.....UNLIKE GH. THE BANK OF GH CAN PRINT AND FLOOD THE COUNTRY WITH ...

• Vernon 9 years ago

Other bodies can manage the cedi better than we are doing now

• KOKI 9 years ago

...Not at all! The problem is leadership! Second corruption and not the cedi as legal tender!

• NATIONAL DEMONS COMPANY (NDC) 9 years ago

GHANA PAA NI ? Square pegs on Round Hole

• nonsense corrector 9 years ago

Ghana's problem is it's commodity base industrially deficient economic structure structure - not it's nominal currency - I went to Grad School in New Haven Connecticut - where Yale is - the professor should address the povert ...

• nonsense corrector 9 years ago

Ghana's problem is it's commodity based industrially deficient economic structure - not it's nominal currency - I went to Grad School in New Haven Connecticut - where Yale is - the professor should address the poverty in New ...

• Joe 9 years ago

It's funny how we are willingly adopting others but never ours. From brainwashing us from our traditional religion to now adopting a white man currency. Yale is no better than Legon. What makes this guy special to lecture us ...

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

Even though I do not agree with the Lecturer, I do not agree with you either on the qualities of Yale and Legon.

By every standards, Yale is 90% better than Legon (of today): most Legon students cannot construct basic se ...

• Federation 9 years ago

You're ABSOLUTELY right. Thank you

• wang 9 years ago

shut up okay. professor indeed.

• ROBERT 9 years ago

We do not have to wait. Otabil has said it. The Cedi has its own mind. Mahama must be bold. Adopt the Dollar now. You will be the best in the region. You are fighting with your small country

• A. Martin K. Battor 9 years ago

The use of Cedi as a legal tender is not the woe of Ghana economy. Togo adopts Francophone CFA but Ghana is better than Togo.

Ghana ailing economy is as a result of lack visionary leaders in the various sectors, more impor ...

• Africa 9 years ago

The cedi MUST REMAIN. All nations have to struggle with their currency until the learn to maintain its value. Ghana like many other great nations should struggle and eventually we will learn to maintain the value of the Ced ...

• blackstar 9 years ago

We need to stand om our own feet. Stop corruption clean up our infrastructure. This not the US we only devalue the our money when we use other currency.

• John Musah 9 years ago

The US dollar is on a downward slide, propped up mainly by China. Will you ask Pres Obama to scrap the dollar as well? Why do we entertain such racist crap by empty headed people whose only accolade is because we give them fo ...

• SAM 9 years ago

THIS GUY CLEARLY MEANS THAT GHANA'S LEADERS LACK THE BRAIN POWER TO IDENTIFY AND SOLVE THE PLETHORA OF GHANA'S SOCIO-ECONOMIC PROBLEMS.

EVEN FOLLOWING CHINA'S HANDOUTS TO HOPELESS AFRICAN LEADERS, OBAMA RECENTLY HAD TO ASS ...

• Hypocrites! 9 years ago

Boyapati Srinu with Sivani Guttikonda and 21 others

Real story of American Dollar v/s Indian Rupee
    (Very Interesting Article MUST SHARE)
    An Advice to all who are worrying about fall of Indian Rupee

Throughout the coun ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

NONSENSE, Whatabout Scrapping our Independence ?? Coming from Yale IS NO GARANTEE for nonsense!!

• mr amin 9 years ago

i agree with the prof if it will work for us. the cedi has been weak n falling since time memorial. it is the single problem facing this country n the course of the economic melt down n the in creament in goods and services. ...

• Mr. Mister 9 years ago

So this is what that funny looking prof came to tell us? How much did he get paid for this and by whom?

• DD 9 years ago

Please send to dandzide@yahoo.com

• Nana Yaw Tweneboa Asamoah,, 9 years ago

That's better idea,,as we then hand over the Nation to be Colonized again with being a subject to the country who's currency we will use,,if this is our Pride too,, .,,hahahahahahahahaha,,

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Splendid

• Gyeeda 9 years ago

But we have been doing that already. NPA is paying $63,000 as rent in Ghana every month. Petrol prices are dollar-indexed. We just have not officially declared the cedi abandoned.

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

An Economics Lecturer at Yale University, Dr Vikram Mansharamani, says Ghana scrap its use of the Cedi as legal tender.

That is a dead and hollow solution coming from an Economist. Let alone from Yale connection.

Let us ...

• Osei Mensah 9 years ago

Let us be practical.

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Nonsense! It is not the money itself. It is uue to coruption, mismanagement, etc.

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Are the little dwarfs with sharp teeth going to criticise this Yale professor as well.

• JH New York 9 years ago

The Cedi depreciation is due to many factors like: lack of strict regulations and controls? by the Bank of Ghana,and the Securities and Exchange Commission,aside from Trade imbalance, etc etc
    For instance ,in order to att ...

• kwamla adjei 9 years ago

This man is not on the faculty list of the department of economics at yale university.

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 9 years ago

YALE PROFESSOR CALLS FOR SCRAPPING OF CEDI AS LEGAL TENDER

• jk Atta 9 years ago

What we should be debating really is advantages and disadvantages of adopting a foreign currency vis a vis an economy that imports far more than it exports.

• jk Atta 9 years ago

Whatever you're not capable of doing properly yourself should just be outsourced. Fair enough but are there any guarantees the outside managers will do a better job?. May be we should make a check list of all the factors that ...

• Lawrence 9 years ago

I have just said earlier today and on another media platform that Ghana simply needs a MOSES.
    The stage where we need we have to put all our energy in PRAYING FOR A DELIVERER.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Thats true

BURGERSB3Y3 SOFT PAA...THEY WONT EVEN VISIT GH ANYMORE. WEN THEY COME. U WONT EVEN HEAR/SEE THEM...LOL

• Benji 9 years ago

Same old colonialist mentality. They never give up? Do they?

• akyekyedie 9 years ago

I know this guy.He is a shoe shiner in Bangladesh.