You are here: HomeBusiness2014 08 11Article 320640

Ghana Economy is falling down and lesson for Nigeria from 2014

Read Comments Comments (61)

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting workers hard.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, is helping many families across the gl ...

• Conventional Youth 9 years ago

Positive mindset but we must not ignore facts of exploitative aspects of Globalization Neo-colonization'

We must also not under-estimate the issues of shocks, contagion & distractions'

Overconfidence is an outstand ...

• Lady 9 years ago

Africa is a hopeless & failed continent with the exception of Botswana & maybe Mauritius & South Africa. All our problems can be attributed to BAD GOVERNANCE & CORRUPTION.

• Rocket 9 years ago

Botswana is hell on earth. The Prevalence of HIV/AIDS in some parts is as high as 40 percent!!What a hellhole!!

Mauritius is an Island with less people than Tamale! It is a hopeless small country which is a tax haven for r ...

• Rocket 9 years ago

South Africa is a joke!!! There are a few people enjoying but the majority are living in crippling poverty..

• John 9 years ago

Those who believed Ghana was doing well bought the IMF/WB and their academic agents propaganda. A country whose resources are owned and taken for almost free by foreigners cannot be said to be doing well ecept the rhose takin ...

• concernier 9 years ago

YOU SEE HOW ANY BAD NEWS ABOUT GHANA IS A SWEET MUSIC TO NIGERIANS EARS. BOKO HARAM INFESTED MINDSETS

• naija man 9 years ago

this is the Nigerian spirit. we weren't born cowards unlike some Ghanaians. don't worry Michael nnebe , we are blessed with brains like you and that's why we will keep getting stronger and stronger.

our energy are divert ...

• ADANKO 9 years ago

Nigerian president is not so foolish as mahama who uses state money to buy cars for local chiefs. If you have $20.00 in pocket and u buy $5.00 drinks for 8 friends, how much is left? Stupid mahama, answer it.

• KOO 9 years ago

IF WE THE PEOPLE OF GHANA TRY HARD TO FIND ANY MEANS POSSIBLE TO SEND THESE NIGERIANS BACK TO THER SO CALL NIGERIA; GHANA WILL MAKE IT AGAIN. THANKS TO MY FORMER BOSS DR.BUSIA WHO SENT THESE NIGERIANS BACK TO THE SO CALL DI ...

• Ka Ne Wu 9 years ago

Your dark mind and illeterate self-fulfilling soul is what setting Ghana backward. Ghanaians, Nigerians, Liberians, etc... are all Africans and people migrate to other nations to tap into unforeseen opportunities.

This is ...

• Research Man 9 years ago

My brother, just do an internet search of the author, and this might convince you that Ghana must be cautious, though not prohibitive as you rightly advise.
    "The court also found that: (1) Nnebe "knew that the written and or ...

• Tolulope 9 years ago

I'm disappointed to read the comments of many Nigerians to this article and Ghana too and I believe if such malice and envy continues, we will keep on living in this mediocrity... I'm surprised that most people don't grasp th ...

• okofo 9 years ago

"The economy of Lagos and Akwa Ibom combined is greater than that of Ghana", but is that "greatness" reflecting on a better QUALITY of life of the over-streached population of Lagos and Akwa Ibom?

I always hear many Nigeri ...

• Who cares?? 9 years ago

Anyone who has been around these Ofe Manu/Aboki idiots knows how they think!! They are criminals!

• frafra ha 9 years ago

And you are right, we dont need you. What good is a nigerian? Ghana will arise, no doubt, ghana is resilient. We have overcome many challenges, and you nugerians know that well. But ask an ibo, and he will tell you, there not ...

• Who cares?? 9 years ago

This dog is happy Ghana's economy is going down!! What a donkey!! Saying the Economy of Lagos and Aboki(or whatever) is bigger than Ghana shows he does not know much about Economics... If that is the case the economy of Calif ...

• Rocket 9 years ago

Rather than deal with the capture of northern Nigeria by Boko Haram and proven cases of Ebola in your south you are praying for Ghana's downfall... The Black Man is indeed cursed kai!!!

• Tweeaa 9 years ago

How's he praying for our downfall? Why can't some of you accept the truth that ghana is now a banana republic & ungovernable?

• Rocket 9 years ago

Ghana is better than Nigeria. Ghana has peace. Peace is worth 10000 Trillion dollars... Nigeria even if it goes trough a 1000 year Boom will never be better than Ghana. Why? Because they have no peace. Ghana may be going down ...

• Kay 9 years ago

And don't forget Syria was once a peaceful country.

• Dave 9 years ago

in 2010 when i first visited, it was $1-GHc1.43 but today its $1-GHc3.6.Already people have started demonstration including the middle class.And to add salt to injury Ghana govt has gone to seek IMF bailout.For your informati ...

• who cares? 9 years ago

peace sweet peace!! Make sure Al Qaeda/Boko Haram or is it Akoki Haram... don't kill you!! Make sure Mend does not capture you and slit your throat!!

• dot 9 years ago

Ghanians really hate nigerians or shld i call it envy cos u wish u were us and u copy us in everything we do. U can't say a word without mentioning Niger but in Nigeria we don't think abt u.

• Ka Ne Wu 9 years ago

Surely the truth hurts. You guys have dark minds with backward illiterate mentalities.

Which is better, having peace in starving nation with flood of criminals (thieves)like Ghana or having abundant of food in a nation li ...

• Wikileaks. 9 years ago

Peace does not pay school fees in Ghana Peace does not provide Roof over our heads...Peace does not put food on the Table...I don't want NO peace. I Need Good Governance ,Accountability and Free Education..!

• Ken 9 years ago

No sane person, will look good counsel in the backside. Be sensible!

• rita. 9 years ago

I work with so many nigeria people in London they can wait for ghana to go down l don't blame them l blamed joynews and abn TV, l have ever see Africa news so negative about they country expect this channels, You watch it, th ...

• MAXELL OGELEKA 9 years ago

My name is Maxwell and am a Nigerian.no matter what we think Nigeria and Ghana are brother's and we must learn to love each other.when we love and telorate each other there will be love between the two countries and there wil ...

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

Ghana major problem is the appointment of highly inexperienced individuals who have only recently graduated from college. The US and Canada will only appointment seasoned academics, economists, and scientists to run the coun ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

WHO NEEDS NIGERIAN INVESTORS?????? WHEN NIGERIA INVESTORS COME THEY TAKE AWAY MORE THAN THEY INVESTORS AND INTRODUCE MORE NEFARIOUS ACVTIVITIES TO GHANAIANS, TO DAMAGE GHANA.

• WILLSON 9 years ago

MILLIONS OF GHANAIAN ARE DOING WELL IN NIGERIAN. I DO WORK WITH SO MANY GHANAIAN AT CHEVRON OIL COMPANY AND WE ACT LIKE BROTHERS. WHY ALL THIS BAD COMMENT ON NIGERIA ??? SOME GHANAIAN ARE CRIMINAL AS WELL AS NIGERIA

• AJAY SINGH 9 years ago

Excellent Report and based one micro study of international finanace

• GB 9 years ago

NDC criminals will brand you as NPP man. They want everybody to lie about the economy

• Dr P.Tetteh 9 years ago

You a liar or intellectually dishonest. Ghana did not revalue her currency, but rather redenominated the Cedi.

• kraninana 9 years ago

A very informative article, and indeed, a lesson for other countries

• Opia 9 years ago

Congrats on the article, but a few statements are not wholly true. Ghana has not had uninterrupted power supply for 10 years. During the NPP era, power supply was erratic and this has continued under the NDC government. Ghana ...

• Dede London 9 years ago

The whole problem was started by Mahama!!!
    If Victoria Hammah could say that she won't leave politics if she's not made a million dollar then that should inform the whole world that the leaders are making billions of dollar ...

• dot 9 years ago

The bad economy is not really affecting them becos they are used to poverty. If they eat kenkey and fish and Sunday omo tuo, life is good unlike nigerians who enjoy spending money. So i don't pity them

• Naija boy 9 years ago

Really i don't know why ghanaians just be hating for no reason... Nigeria's economy is %75 of west africa's economy and you all still saying poo?? A liberian man brought ebola to Nigeria, saudi arabia same can still happen to ...

• who cares? 9 years ago

Credible Nigerians like Aliko Dangote are welcome... NOT CRIMINALS like the average Yoruba/Igbo/Edo/Ijaw thief who is himself on a 419 budget...

• Naija boy 9 years ago

Silverbird is owned by a Nigerian, Fan milk, glo, TSL(operating BOOST), many banks

• who cares? 9 years ago

Do you think the Average Ghanaian is opposed to Nigerian billionaires investing?? These are the crème de la crème of Nigerian society! Everyone country will welcome these kinds...What we don't want are criminals on a small ...

• kwasipong 9 years ago

My brother there is truth in your comment here. Ghanaians in general hate to be told the truth. Please "peeps", do not descend on me with tons of bricks, just saying the obvious truth - I'm a Ghanaian

• Sarah 9 years ago

Ghana's economy is healthy and vibrant. There is a 7% growth in very recent forecast. With influx of refugees from other countries, what do you expect. Those of us who have eyes see where Ghana is going.

• Abra 9 years ago

Truly? 7% is fine and even great, but is it 7% of 1 or 7% of 100!which will you pick, all things being equal. Sarah, you may have eyes but at the rate we are going in now, its straight down to fallingdown. Dont blame it on re ...

• Abam 9 years ago

Dear Mr Nnebe, there's a Ghanaian saying that goes like this:"When you see your neighbor's beard on fire, better make sure there's a bucket of water next to you". So your article warning Nigeria to also be wary is apt. Howeve ...

• Benji 9 years ago

Most Economist these days adopt 'try your luck' system. What we call economic gambling. When it works, leaders are hailed as smart, but when it fails, all wahala break loose! The secret about African economies or for that mat ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

Rogue leader leading a country to shitpan

• Joe 9 years ago

Very interesting article. Thanks Bros

• JOROMI 9 years ago

A combined Bible, Koran and Mantra for nation leadership.
    But would it be read and much so be practiced?

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Mr. Nnebe this is a mockery of economics any which way you slice it. It was the Wall Street gamesmanship that brought us the late 2007 global financial disasters that we continue to face.
    It is Wall Street folks who have us ...

Just Google his name and you'll know why Ghana was wary about Nigerian "investors" like him

• dot 9 years ago

Ghanians envy nigerians they struggle to marry rich nigerians. There was peace in nigeria before boko haram came and we shall overcome it. Even in ghana u have tribal hatred for each other. Our economy is now d best in Africa ...

• who cares? 9 years ago

We are all happy you rebased your economy above South Africa which is a country that lacks an African spirit... I would much rather have Nigeria on top of Africa than South Africa or one of the Arabian countries all of whom a ...

• Naija boy 9 years ago

Lol how's ghana no top Ghana rebased their GDP too in 2006 still yet it was still very smal, Nigeria is no 1 for FDI in africa we are more than u in GDP/capital and GDP(PPP) so how's ghana no top? Lol

• prince bagnaba 9 years ago

Fantastic and straight to the point. Nigeria is in the position to bail out Ghana taking into cognisance of its investment in Ghana.

Mr N is one Nigerian "investor" Ghana must be wary about welcoming into it's economic sector. The reason is in plain sight on Google, if you never heard about his conviction and imprisonment for fraudulent stock dealings

• stanley 9 years ago

nice write up, for more Nigeria news please click here https://m.facebook.com/NIGERIAnewslive?v=info

• Peaceful foreigner 9 years ago

Welcome to the global economy. Booms and busts are part of life. The West is in a global recession even depression.
    Sad that you seem to celebrating the fall of Ghana. I have every hope that Ghana will recover.