You are here: HomeBusiness2014 03 04Article 302404

'Food importation is worrying gov’t'

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 10 years ago

India is self sufficient in food production to a large degree partly because the minister for agriculture under Indira Gandhi went into farming, he turned his cricket ground into a farm. Once he understood what the green revo ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

If we know the problems then why do we have to be showing off some fake intellectualism on the subject?
    Forty four years ago, General Kutu Acheampong and Brig. Bannasko prompted us into Operation Feed Your Self, but what did ...

• Bibini 10 years ago

We are keeping thousands of strong men and women in prisons for nothing when we could let them farm thousands of acres with the right support and implement. Waste of human resource.

There are many highly skilled ones among ...

• Jack 10 years ago

Food importation should worry every intelligent Ghanaian. It's very sickening when you think about it. It's the bane of our national and personal difficulties.

• Jack 10 years ago

Look at this visionary so-called leaders; they woke up this morning to realize this fundamental problem? Tweea!!

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

All these ministers are ewes and Northners. When did this turtle realize this? Before he was given the job or a week ago? He looks like a a ninja turtle...

• onipanua 10 years ago

there has never been import tax or customs duty on agric equipment since independent. Talk to John Mahama who start discouraging investors into the sector. What a smart gov does is to encourage or subsidize agriculture but no ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

A MASSIVE EDUCATIION SYSTEM SHOULD BE PROMULGATED TO ALL GHANAIANS. TO EDUCATE GHANAIANS IN SUSTAINABILITY AND SELF SUFFICIENCY AND FINALLY EXPORT.
    GHANAIANS MUST BE TAUGHT EXPORT CAPABILITIES AND OTHER BUSINESS STRATEGIES.

• dan 10 years ago

FROM THEM, RECENTLY JOHNATAN GOOLUCK OF NIGERIA VIST ISRAEL AND SECURE MANY ISRAELI AGRA COMPANYS TO COME TO NIGERIA, WE MUST DO THE SAME STICK TO THE ISRAELIS LEARN THE KNOW HOW AND WE WILL MAKE IT BIG

• Kman 10 years ago

We always want ready cooked. It will not be the israelies the Americans but Ghanaians, Acheampong managed to get us there with operation feed yourself. We did it then. Lets cut our the political crap. Acheampong's policy was ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

Well said Kwaku Boateng, all this people know is to sit in their air condition office, with no proactive ideas. This NDC party is a shame to Ghanaians, very disappointed gov't of all time. Maybe they should go back and pick u ...

• WALT 10 years ago

LET'S TRY OPERATION FEED YOURSELF PLS

• The Israelites 10 years ago

Kweku Boateng Jr, God bless you. The chickens have come home to roast. 75 million given to Subah can turn the Agric sector around but bcos we are influenced by demons we prefer to do what is wrong, forgetting that no amount o ...

• KWAKU SEI 10 years ago

AND JUST WEST AFRICA,IN NIGERIA OBASANJO'S GARGANTUAN INVESTMENT IS WHAT IS DISCOURAGING MASSIVE IMPORTATION OF POULTRY MEAT INTO THE COUNTRY. MAY GOD SAVE GHANA FOR ALL OUR LEADRES WHO HAVE HAD NO EXPERIENCE IN THE AREA THEY ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 10 years ago

Kwaku, thank you. Obasanjo is in Western Liberia producing eggs, the second commercial chicken producer in Mama Ellen's country. He is making clean money.
    B/A alone can produce enough eggs and chicken to feed Ghana if only ...

• ABI NAKAKU 10 years ago

where is our US$10 million from GYEEDA? A thief like you!

• Meman Nti 10 years ago

Our leaders talk too much without action. They know the right thing but they will never do.They prefer buying big cars, building mansion putting their self interest first to that of national interest. If our leaders follow w ...

• mahama 10 years ago

Akonfem farm to loot the country is what mahama know

• JH New York 10 years ago

What the Ghana leadership/executives does is; whenever there's such forums,they find a nice topic to talk about and it ended there at the forum.That has been the trend in the Country for the past several decades.
    Therefore ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

They have always irrational excuses for the ignorance in the country:

The agricultural and Fisheris sectors are still not properly structured and contained:

The whole nation, most especially the so called educated agric ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

MINISTER FARMERS & FISHERMEN NEED ONLY INPUTS TO GO TO FARM & FISH.GOV TO HELP THEM WITH LOANS, INPUTS & GEARS.THAT IS ALL.TALKING WILL NOT SOLVE THE PRO BLAMES.HELP THEM TO FORM MORE COOPERATIVE AND TO BE REGISTERED UNDER TH ...

• de 10 years ago

Instead of a continued attitude of lamenting the prevailing situation, the Minister and the gov't will need to have a second look at the trade liberalisation policy of the country, gov't's own policies on boosting agriculture ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

IT INDEED A PITY THAT, WE DO STILL REMAIN ''UNCONVINCED'' OF THE IMPORTANCE OF ARTISAN TRAINED FARMERS AND SCIENTI SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION IN CREATING AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT AND ECONOMIC GROWTH IN GHANA.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHAT is your CONCRETE plan?? Giving lectures is NOT ENOUGH. Leave the lecture section to the Agric Faculty at Legon! Come out with an ACTION PLAN,Minister Lazy !!!

• de 10 years ago

The entire gov't is at its wits' ends. Undoubtedly, our gov't has no focus, has lost vision, if it has practical one at all, for the nation. The leadership has proven by its incompetence that it's not up to the task for which ...

• WALT 10 years ago

RELAUNCH OPERATION FEED YOURSELF PLEASE
    IT WORKED AND IT CAN WORK AGAIN.

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

Shame on our government always begging for help.Ghana has more fertile lands and minerals than Israel 100 times yet we are asking them to invest in Ghana.

• seeMe 10 years ago

Invest more in mechanized agriculture to stop importing at least a third of our food!!!

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

Govt must encourage farming and not just talk about it.it takes land labor and capital to go into commercial farming.
    People dont have these, so they grow what they need and only sell the surplus.

• Ahinasi 10 years ago

Please don't blame climate change and stop asking foreigners to invest in the agric sector when your own government won't invest. It appears like this is another "talk show". Take pragmatic steps towards solving the nations f ...

• Ntim- Holland 10 years ago

Kwasea, now NDC is short of dollars remittance. You lot will not get us to rob - for £5000 car duty at Tema, money for funerals, etc. Nkwaseafour (twi meaning idiots)

• Vima 10 years ago

you and your corrupt president mahama are our problem. thieves

• Addei 10 years ago

You are all thieves in the ministries. Armed robbery are angel compared with politicians. At least they rob the rich while you Foolish politicians steal from the needy - hospital patients, old farmers ,disable people, childre ...

• Nana Phillip-Quarque 10 years ago

Operation Feed Yourself!

• Nana Phillip-Quarque 10 years ago

Kutu

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE LAZY HOW CAN YOU OCCUPIED GREEN LAND AND BE IMPORTING FOOD.IT SOUNDS VERY SILLY.ACHEAMPONG SAID YEN TUIA AND DECLARED OPERATION FEED YOUR SELF WHICH WORK BETTER FOR GHANA.FOR GET ABOUT FOREIGN GOODS/FOOD EAT ORG ...

• Pat 10 years ago

GHANAINS ARE NOT LAZY JUST PUT SOME INCENTIVES IN PLACE, MODERN METHOD FARMING) TO ENCOURAGE THEM.
    ALSO, DONT FORGET OUR LAND TENURE SYSTEM.

• CATAPULT 10 years ago

It is interesting to hear the NDC gov't led by John Mahama and Amissah Arthur bemoan the dwindling fortunes of the agricultural sector in terms of the increasing food importation into the country.
    Can the NDC gov't give us t ...

• abba 10 years ago

GHANA IS IN A BIG TROUBLE BECAUSE WE HAVE A PRESIDENT WHO DOESN'T KNOW EVEN ELEMENTARY ECONOMICS TO MANAGE THE AFFAIRS OF THE NATION.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Humado is perfect example of a ministerial misfits. You put this man in the Agric sector and his belief is that people from the faraway land of Israel should rather come in an support the agric sector when there are battalion ...

• Bank Consultant 10 years ago

We know where you are all hiding your bank accounts Mahama $25 million, Lordina $17m , Duffour $53m, Gen Mosquito $6m, Okudzato Ablakwa $3m, Fiifi Kwetey $2m, Dzifa Attivor $0.5m, Dauda $3m, etc

• Nii 10 years ago

We have to get the money back

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

DR Nkrumah established GIHOC without help from outside.He established Builders Brigade/Workers Brigade to boost Agric production,etc.Why can't subsequent Governments learn from him.?

• pk 10 years ago

What role are the tertiary agric faculties/institutes playing?

• mahama 10 years ago

Poor development of agriculture of ndc government. So no sector is well managed by mahama. Yahunu amane paa.

• dan 10 years ago

THE ISRAELIS ARE ALREADY HERE HELPING US IN AGRACULTORE ALL OVER GHANA

• mahama 10 years ago

And so?

• dan 10 years ago

the know how and establish more close ties with them untill we know how to do the job ourselfs

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

Our late Gen.Acheampong said "operation Feed Yourself" and in the 80's one of the Popular Nigerian commerials on radio was "commot hand for oyingbo food our mumu don do".According to CBC News Ghana imported 157,000 tonnes of ...

• KING OF KING 10 years ago

we that now

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

So I wonder why you can't see any sensible person in NDC government, even NDC as the whole party ?

• KANAWU. 10 years ago

NDC GOVT. = A WHOLE LOT OF MESS, CORRUPTION, CHAOS AND BAD GHANA AGENDA.

• kk 10 years ago

Farmers just need little assistance from the government for more production.

• Balderash 10 years ago

Who is the editor? SMH

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

It is no surprise to me anymore, that Mahama's government is filled with incompetent people who are fond of saying stupid things to the public at any chance they get.
    Two days ago, it was the Minister of Energy and Petroleu ...

• Ataankpa Apuma 10 years ago

This man was appointed to reform and move things at the Ministry of Agriculture. He was not appointed to be Jeremiah of the ministry. If he cant cut the mustard let him get the hell out of there. People like him will never gr ...

• KANE 10 years ago

GHANA LEADERS ONLY KNOW HOW TO TALK.

BEING THE MINISTER OF AGRIC., YOU'VE SUPERVISED HIGH IMPORTS OF FOOD AND YOU KNOW IT'S NOT GOOD FOR THE ECONOMY.

WHAT PROACTIVE HELP HAVE YOU GIVEN TO FARMERS AND OTHER STAKEHOLDERS ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

PUUUUULSHIT,ASS HOLE MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY,AND IS VERY VERY SAD,

• kosoko 10 years ago

“The way forward to arresting the situation therefore is to build appropriate infrastructure that can sustain our current productions and also buy into our export market".

What does the above vague statement mean? How d ...

• Niibi 10 years ago

YES, I called this absolute nonsence. Since when did we realize this problem? At least basing it off from my age I came to conceptually witness Acheampong's era of "OPERATION FEED YOURSELF" and since then (the 70s) we haven't ...

• kwench 10 years ago

Am delighted by this news.so it has taken us 57 yrs to start tynkn abt basics.ooooo what a country.Thx Israel for offering help.

• BRAIN MAN,. 10 years ago

WE ARE BEING RULED BY AZONTO GOVERNMENT. THEY ARE JUST GROUP OF J0KERS WHO ARE ONLY TO LOOT AND SHARE AND PLAY JOKES... FOOLS