You are here: HomeBusiness2013 02 09Article 264558

Illegal Chinese, Indian miners take over Minti

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Torgbigah 11 years ago

Ghana has failed. Our judiciary,and the constitution failed to protect our motherland. Citizens and natural resources are at the mercy of foreign invaders Ö the Chinese, our leaders,chiefs,ministers,assemblymen and women l ...

• Ganaba 11 years ago

You are wrong if you blame the judiciary which have nothing to do with legislation.
    This is why we need a strong and an unwavering president to protect Ghana from foreign domination.

• kofi 11 years ago

SO WHAT THIS USELESS GOV AND HIS SOO CALL USELESS MINISTRY OF LAND NATURAL RESOURSES ARE DOING ABT THIS, ASHANTI KINGDOM HAS COME TO AN END, THIS IDIOT CHINESE HMMMMMMMMMM. THEY SHULD WAIT.

• DIOS MIO! 11 years ago

I CAN´T UNDERSTAND ANYTHING. BY THE WAY, WHAT TYPE OF PERMIT IS THAT? BY THE WAY HAS THOSE IN THE GOVERNMENT BEEN DONE SOME JUJU OR WHAT? HOW THE HELL CAN A CHINESE, OR INDIAN JUST HAVE THE GUTS TO GO AND PAY I,000 OR 2,000 ...

• Torgbigah 11 years ago

Over here in abroad, we face all sort of humiliation and derogatory remarks, Chinese have no respect for blacks,yet they are doing all sort of illegal businesses in my beloved Ghana.when you hold ghana passport, you have to g ...

• KK 11 years ago

Torgbigah, you are right Chinese people do not like blacks at all - i just don't want to use the hash words but i am sure you know what i am saying. It is very difficult to live with them.I am a victim to all the issues you h ...

• Torgbigah 11 years ago

I was scrutinized more than 10 times at the capital airport Beijing when i was exiting for tour.I even had some of my items i even bought in china,seized,it happened to me in xian when i was traveling to yantai by air from xi ...

• AMARIYA 11 years ago

This is an indication of how the slave trade begun. Chiefs selling resources, human and materials. They think of the profits and in self-deny of the consequences that would follow.

Ghana is bleeding. The warnings are bei ...

• gerker 11 years ago

How true! How true! Without the blackman's help, there would have been no slave trade. Of course, it is easiest to blame only whites.

• Akans United 11 years ago

Before the white man came, we were mining our own gold. The met us dressed in Gold. 500+ years later, after slavery and colonialism, we are told we can't mine gold and we are to allow all kinds of people to exploit our gold w ...

• gerker 11 years ago

The Yellow Peril, hand in hand with Ghanaian corruption and greed.
    Ordinary ghanaians get nothing out of these deals.

• PROF -- THOMAS KUBI -- McA INT MAR 11 years ago

ARE WE BRIBING DICTATORS OVER MINERAL
    RIGHTS ? IN RETURN FOR DOOMED INFRACTURE PROJECTS ? BAN TRADE UNIONS? OPEN FIRE & CODONING WITH THE LEGETIMATE ELECTED POLITICAINS ? WHERE ARE THE SKILLS WHEN AFRICANS ONLY GIVEN T ...

• PROF -- THOMAS KUBI -- McA INT MAR 11 years ago

WE ARE CALLING OUR POLITICIANS TO ESTABLISH === PROACTIVE & INTERVENTIONS
    AUTHORITY==TROUBLE SHOOTERS==
    POWER IS ABOUT TELLING LIES
    SHOW POWER LIES !!!==POWER IS LIES
    POWER IS FULL OF POLITICAL ...

• AWUDU 11 years ago

DR.NKRUMAH DID A LOT FOR GHANA AND TODAY GHANA IS FREE BUT I ECONONIC SENSE. BUT SEEMS TO GHANA LACK ALL RIGHTS FOR GHANA IS SOLD TO FORIEGN INVESTORS.BECAREFUL AND AMEN.

• KK 11 years ago

It quite interesting our government/leaders have continuously kept mute on this issue of Chinese illegal miners all over the country. Ghana is now considered by these Chinese as a free zoon. In fact, the Chinese are really in ...

• GRACE DIVINE JESSON(AMMA BOATENMA) 11 years ago

OK THEN, WHERE ARE THE SOILDERS? WHITE WANTED DEMOCRACY FOR AFRICA, WAS IT ANOTHER CUNNING WAY TO DESTROY OUR FUTURE? WHITE DO NOT WANT AFRICA TO PROGRESS. PLEASE SOILDERS WHERE ARE YOU? DEMOCRACY IS NOT FOR GHANAIANS. TAKE T ...

• Agyaba 11 years ago

This is so sad and this is why Ghanaians continue to struggle and even have to travel out of the country to suffer for nothing. Block minded Leaders who have no worry for their children and chidrens children. They want to l ...

• kwame 11 years ago

So true, so sad.

• concerned citizen 11 years ago

where is the present government on this issue.how low can we be.do you think the chinese will allow us to do such act in their country? please act now for we only have one ghana

• KK 11 years ago

Never will a Ghana act like that in China. Who are you? In our dream. Our leaders are not bold. They need to stand up and act with the power we have invested in them. How can a Chinese own a gun in Ghana? Can a Ghanaian own a ...

• Eko 11 years ago

It is interesting that the only thing our chiefs can feel passionate about is fighting a blind minister from taking care of their interests because dealing with the disabled is against their so-called traditions. And yet thes ...

• Eko 11 years ago

Look at Black Civil Rights in America, the recent case of protest against the rape of the girl in India, Occupy Wall Street...these movements have all born fruit. So if Ghanaians want to be serious we need to protest peaceful ...

I DO NOT KNOW, BUT IF ANYONE DOES IT, IAM IN IT. TO PROTECT OUR LANDS AND THE FUTURE FOR OUR CHILDREN AND OUR GENERATION TO COME.

• freedom 11 years ago

we do not have to protest abt these chines and indian. what we need to do is to go there with cutlasses and axes and start cutting them off our property as concern citizens. is black continent, black folks rule the black land ...

• read y 2 dye 11 years ago

how many ghanaians live in that village...and how many chinese n indians live there. am sure some of the villagers own guns cuz some r hunters...now what will happen if the whole village march to each illegal mining businesse ...

• Eko 11 years ago

Violent protest is not the answer; for those of you who think so then you are lower than the person that you seek to harm in every sense. Why use an unjust and evil form of expression to protest against the unjust and the evi ...

• Kwasi Addo 11 years ago

gET RID OF ALL THOSE chinese AND iNDIANS. tHEY WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO DO THIS IN THEIR cOUNTRY. aRREST ALL OF THEM ALL YOU ARE TAKING bribes

MR PRESIDENT,I MEAN MAHAMA, IN THE NAME OF ALMIGHTY GOD, ALLA, YOU HAVE THE POWER, TELL THE CHINESE TO LEAVE GHANA, IN FIVE TO TEN YEARS TIME, THE POVERTY IN GHANA WILL BE WORSE.
    THE ARMED ROBBERS WILL BE IN THE HIGHEST ...

• freedom 11 years ago

fuck ghanaian leaders.500+ years later and still in slavery. who are chines and indians to dig on our mother land? uneducated chiefs and elders.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

So we ARE even NOT ABLE to control who digs where in Ghana for WHAT !!
    Ghanaians SHOULD GO ON DEMONSTRATION AGAINST WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH THIS GALAMSEY MINING!!!!!!
    WHY should the Chinese have this PERMIT AT ALL ???????

• Paa Kofi Sam 11 years ago

This problem can easily be solved if our government is competent! We claim to have government institutions charged with running various sectors of our country, yet these institutions are not doing their job and are paid by ou ...

• KK 11 years ago

Enough is Enough indeed. In China, all lands are the responsibility of the governement. If you neeed to buy a land, you need to go to the land commission or something like. In Ghana, if this happens to, we are in serious prob ...

• Mankind 11 years ago

Hey Citizens! Begin to defend the land of your birth. This corrupt government will never do anything for you. Pick up your guns,cutlasses and bows and arrows and save the land of your ancestors.
    Be blesses, Defend yourselve ...

• JOYCE 11 years ago

WHY GHANA IS SO WEAK IN THE THINGS THAT NEED TO PROCET THE YOUTH ARE NOT LIEING I WACTH IT ON THE TV AND IS I NEVER HEARD ANY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD THAT ALLOW ANYONE TO COME TO THIER COUNTRY TO TAKE THE MOST VALUABLE THINGS L ...

• American 11 years ago

The time has long come for that degraded social institution to meet its end.

• KANAWU 11 years ago

Can any Ghanaian go to China or India and start mining GOLD ILLEGALLY? Why is the Government allowing these COCROACHES to come and LOOT our RICHES. Ghanaians are arrested while these Chinese and Indian COCROACHES have the wil ...

• ESELFIE 11 years ago

what permission does these people have to mine in Ghana, vice versa can Ghanaian go to china n mine? it is a shame that the government has these foreigners to degrade our lands.

• RR 11 years ago

INTERESTING LEADERS IN GHANA CONTINUE TO BE CORRUPT, IGNORANCE, GREED, LACK OF VISION AND AS RESULT INFLUX OF ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES ON GOING WITH IMMIGRATION, POLICE, ARMY ARE MOST USELESS LEAVING GHANAIANS HOLDING THE BAG EVERY ...

• Canada 11 years ago

Fuck them they don't care about the land they should be killed and others would think twice about coming.

• yd 11 years ago

please,mr. president do something about these illegal chinese miners before they distroy our lands for us.what they doing is evil.

• yd 11 years ago

people of minti kill all chinese and indians you see in town and kill the chiefs who collected bribes from them as well.evils.

• JOE 11 years ago

wHERE IS THE GOVERMENT,IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBLE TO PROTECT THE COUNTRY'S RESOURCES,THESE GUYS ARE MESSING UP OUR WATERS. THEY USE MECURY IN THE PROCESS OF EXTRACTING THEIR PRODUCTS, AND DAMP THEM INTO OUR WATERS.

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

The Ashanti useless king can't protect his own people. Crook king in power. What is he going to do about it. If the King is not doing noting about it, what do you expect the Gov't should do. Now the Kingdom is kissing chinese ...

• DAN 11 years ago

do they have work or resident permit??

• kwame 11 years ago

So the peasants in Ghana have to become beggers?! and the fertile country a desert...? because of the corruption!

• odeneho Ababio 11 years ago

Which Nsuaem this reporter is talk about? Is it Tarkwa Nsuaem in Western Region which is also noted for notorious activities of Galamesey activities?

• OH GHANA 11 years ago

No black man can go to China or India to engage in these acts. You may not accept it but Ghana has lost her sovereignty.

• Diana 11 years ago

OOh Ghana! where are our leaders? we are selling our natural capital. Our natural resources are being tapped away due to ignorance and illiteracy. the vice versa would never happen in China. What I worry about is our future g ...