You are here: HomeReligion2014 01 13Article 297585

The menace of false prophets and pastors in africa

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Kwasi Poku 10 years ago

Excellent piece. We need more of this. God richly bless you for speaking the truth.

• Prophet Yaw Kusi 10 years ago

This is how we make money. is that your problem? is it your money? We live by the word. That is how we feed ourselves and families. You want us to starve? You want us to be poor lie you. This is our business. the church is ho ...

• atheist 10 years ago

As an atheist, I can say that you won't get my money!

• Rev Simpson 10 years ago

I know you are in big trouble now for touching the tithe taboo.i know pastors who know what you know but would not talk about it. There would be powerful people against you. They would kill you if they have to. Their financi ...

• Brother Amartey 10 years ago

A thousand will fall at your side and ten thousand will fall at your right hand but it shall not come near you. Only with your eyes shall you behold and see the reward of the wicked! Psalm 91:7-8.

• atheist 10 years ago

As an atheist, I can say that you won't get my money!

• Church business-pastor 10 years ago

Why will the so call churches not allow people to give collection from their hearts- give what ever you can? why should they pay tithes to the church? They collect from the poor and refuse to be poor themselves. They live in ...

• TITHER 10 years ago

Bro Edmund Amartey is selling his book on tithing on the website for $4.99 contrary to what he has been saying that it was for free

• Pastor Ampiaw 10 years ago

i got one in the mail for free, and others have too. I am wondering how his book can reach many if it is free. Just postage from the USA to Ghana is a lot.

It makes sense that he should sell some.

• TITHER 10 years ago

Does it make sense to give money out of my income to support my church? to take care of care homes, build schools and distribute gospel tracts? I thought Amartey n Co were against all these, I now see your hypocrisy, What is ...

• TITHER 10 years ago

You want his deceptive book to reach far, but you dont want the Gospel of Jesus Christ to reach far hence condeming all pastors for taking tithes. may God help u guys

• Fiifi Koomson 10 years ago

My wife received a free copy in the mail. I read the copy. it is a great book. I LOVE it. God bless you. My advice to you is to sel the book. You cant give it for free to all unless I would you are a millionaire. I would send ...

• Rev Simpson 10 years ago

I have read your book. A friend recommended it and I like it a lot. You will come under a lot of attack. Be ready for you are speaking the truth but this is about money.

The pastors whose lavish livelihood depends on tithe ...

• Dr Yemoh, Canada 10 years ago

Bro Amartey, I think you should contact the Ghana/Africa TV stations for interviews. You should debate the tithers on the air. You have many avenues to spread your message.

I will gladly challenge anyone, but who is the challenger? Do you want them to be disgraced? And by the way, do you have a copy of the book yet? If not, just write to me for a copy.

• shey-Gelege 10 years ago

Someone told me Duncan Williams lost his fingers to robbery, he was caught in the act and the fingers was cut as punishment. I don't know if it is true anyway. But see how the priesthood has turned him into a billionaire. so ...

• joe 10 years ago

Tell the person who told u abt duncan williams that it is not true nd jesus said what ever we sow we will reap nd every idle word we speak we will give acct.It is dangerous for him to destroy people's lives

• Kponyo 10 years ago

If that story about Duncan-Williams is not true, I would have thought that in denying it, you would explained to truth to all of us. Your failure to do so smacks of suspicion.

So the question still remains that what is the ...

• *** 10 years ago

Nobody owes you any explanation to release you of your arrogance hidden in a cloak full of daggers.For your information,you are JUST a mere physical intellectual gaint emboldened through modern technology and shadow boxing a ...

• Di Asem Pa. 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians in France, UK,and other parts of Europe are ready to spospor you to come and preach the truth to Ghanaians. We would like to know if you will accept our call? We will not like you to contact Ghanaian embassi ...

Please write to me privately.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

IT IS TRUE. DUNCAN-WILLIAMS LOST HIS FINGERS AS A RESULT OF ROBBERY HE PERPETUATED AT THE ACCRA AIRPORT. HIS FATHER'S HOUSE IN CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT AND HE USED THE PLACE AS HIS HUNT TO PLAY ON TRAVELLERS.

• *** 10 years ago

SURELY you need a complete healing of your intellect and a massive scrubbing to cleanse your envious and devious heart.Be TRUE to self and REPENT!!!It's not too late!!!

• Atta Kakra 10 years ago

how did he make all his money? By conning and robbing the poor. he is worse than an armed robber. Atmed robbers steal from the rich, Duncan Williams stealfrom the sick and troubled.
    He is worse than an armed robber.

• *** 10 years ago

REPENT and be HEALED.You think this is a forum for jokers???If you want to keep coming here behave from NOW!!!

• Sey 10 years ago

DUNCAN-WILLIAMS HAS CONNED HIS WAY ITO GREAT WEALTH.

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

I think you the so-called PROPHET YAW KUSI you need to find another work to accomodate your senseless desire as opposed to using God's name to deceive gullible and innocent people to fulfil your heartfelt desire. Mark my word ...

• Kwasea Na Wuo 10 years ago

We will even fuck your pregnant wives. There is no job like being a pastor.

• Bishop 10 years ago

Hmmmm, sadly most so called pastors reason like this, so sad most ppl especially gullible easy to deceive women continue to fall for them. Gods time is coming when they will all be called to account for their sins.

But wh ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

SATAN THE LORD REBUKE YOU.....HERE IS THE TRICKS THESE SO CALLED PROPHETS USE
    WATCH THIS. AND TRULY YOU ARE NO PROPHET. THE CHURCH IS YOUR BUSINESS?
    HEAVEN HELP YOU! AS A TRUE PROPHET YOU WOULD NOT EVEN HAVE ANSWERED THIS. ...

• Descerner 7 years ago

Watch Prophet Bushiri's, Major 1's video on how to be a millionaire in 2 months.

The thieving politicians is a much bigger problem.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

The charlatans are doing far more damage in terms of causing deaths, spreading ignorance, scamming everyone, noise pollution, health pollution, teaching lies and lying to people, spreading laziness and quick ways to solve pro ...

Amartey is just jealous. I have two big cars and three mansions. God has blessed me. Poor pastors like Amartey are just jealous. You can live as a poor man. God wants his prophets to be prosperous, to drive the best cars, wea ...

• Church business-pastor 10 years ago

you are one of the selewa so call men of God. Why do you need 3 cars? How many cars do your congregations have? Do they each have one car? You ought to be ashamed pf yourself. You must not even let your followers hear you spe ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

My friend why are you even bothering with this bush-boy who calls himself a Pastor? For them God has become a convenient excuse and a conduit to exploit the poor.

It is because of people like him and Duncan Williams who o ...

• Descerner 7 years ago

Wow, your boasring is uncanny. What about spiritual prosperity as opposed to material wealth. God prospers His people in many ways. If the tithe is only for you than I am afraid you are a bad steward of "God's" money. I will ...

• owusu Ankomah paul 10 years ago

god bless u my dear

Any poor pastor like Amartey is not blessed by God. God hates poverty. God wants his people to be rich and blessed. if you are poor, Amartey, then you are not praying well. stop the jealousy and preach peosperity, not poverty ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

Self ordained prophet, find a better job to do. If you live on collection from hard working people then it is parasiticism. Find a job that brings dignity to your conscience. What do you produce or contribute to the nation ot ...

• Gbeseman 10 years ago

Seems to me you do lack basic comprehension skills. Please read the article again before you post another ignorant comment.

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

Gbeseman, my comment is in response to Prophet Yaw Kusi's comment and not to the general article. Are you new here? Are you one of his disciples?

• post 10 years ago

You have said it all Mr. Amartey, but will our people learn? Indeed "lack of knowledge my people perish"

• Kponyo 10 years ago

The full expression is that " FOR THE lack of knowledge my people perish"

• Akua 10 years ago

I really enjoyed this piece. Thank you so much. We need to open our eyes to false prophets. Mark 10:45. "For even the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many."
    Jesus was ...

• Sunsum 10 years ago

The false prophets are thriving because the church of Christ isn't doing anything to help Christians solve their spiritual problems. Here in Ghana, the Bishops of the Roman Catholic Church, the leaders of the Presbyterian Chu ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There's this old priest who got sick of all the people in his parish who kept confessing to adultery. One Sunday, in the pulpit, he said, "if I hear one more person confess to adultery, I'll quit!" Well, everyone liked him, s ...

• Gbeseman 10 years ago

Hahahahahahaha.......this is funny but unrelated to the article.....hmmmmmm

• Smake 10 years ago

I don't understand our women of today. They are the most vulnerable and fall prey to this bastards. Most women are greedy and coveteous and do not appreciate whatever effort their husbands are making for them. Instead of appr ...

• FALSE POLITICIAN-PROPHECTS 10 years ago

CAN WE HAVE ACCESS TO A HOTLINE FOR REPORTING THESE 'DEVINE CRIMINALS' MANY VICTIMS AND WOULD BE VICTIMS CAN REPORT ANONYMOUSLY ?

We're not accepting anonymous reports, please. Each report must be verified before we go public, so please make sure you have your facts.

Bro Amartey, you are fighting against the prophets of the most high God. You will fail badly. Pray for the men of God that make mistakes. God is the judge. You cant judge the men of God. Bible says touch not my anointed.

• Kponyo 10 years ago

If God has anointed an earthly crank like you, Yaw Kusi, then you must be dealing with the wrong God. It is inconceivable that a person like you could ever possibly be anointed by the true Holy God that we all know.

Go ye ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

God will punish you for using his name to deceiving innocent and gullible Ghanaians for material wealth

• johmiller 10 years ago

This is what we want, folks let us be very careful because they will come onto us in sheep skin but rather they are wolves. shine your eyes,,,,,,,,,,, amen

• Tintin 10 years ago

What is a menace to Africa is religion itself, not the pastors who are just a by-product of a perverted religion. Let us scrap religion altogether and Africa will progress

come to church and faithfully pay your tithe and see the financial miracle in your life. You will have no problems. Riches would come your way.

• joe 10 years ago

What you are saying is true but i want to add that jesus said he is building his church-mat16:18,he gave prophets,pastors,evangelists,apostles,teachers to the church(eph4:11-13)for this purpose and he is coming for this spotl ...

• nii 10 years ago

do you need a malaysia visa.waste no time call 0245886343 now.

• GIDEON ATONGO 10 years ago

The prophetic ministry is real, One of the gifts of the Holy Spirit is the gift of prophecy. However, Satan has planted his weeds among God's crop. Jesus said in the harvest, the wheat would be separated from the weed, and th ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

All the so-called prophets are prophets of SATAN! You would know them by their deeds

• nkwaseasem 10 years ago

Your lies are coming to fore. The anti false-prophets movement is fast gathering momentum. The endangered people in Ghana now are: corrupt politicians, Pentecostal, charismatic, and spiritual churches' pastors, as well as tra ...

• Kofitse 10 years ago

The Ghanaian is a proverbial attitudinal character. We live in the world of fantasy and fashion. We cherish the untruths and rely on lies to promote social statuses. The Ghanaian is a pretender clothe in piety. In earlier tim ...

• Isaac 10 years ago

Very great article. I think loopholes in the Pentecostal and Charismatic Movement are partially responsible for the increased the maniac of false prophets in our society. They over emphasized the gifts of the Spirits with too ...

• mas ieso 10 years ago

The Presbyterian Church of Ghana has helped a lot with the socio-economic development of Ghana. They have built schools, trained teachers, built hospitals and clinics all over the country. It is in the light of this that thos ...

• Adamado Rene 10 years ago

We are not talking of presby church here we all know those churches being operated as a business boko hara is coming soon if we don't deal with them as Christian soldiers its a prediction not a prophecy mark my words see how ...

• Ato Wright 10 years ago

The kingdom of God is not about eating and drinking, is about righteousness ,peace and holy spirit. We have been called to serve the people and not the people serving us.A true man of God worship the father in truth and in s ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Great statement Ato Wright. Right bang on the truth and the substance of the matter under discussion. Come again. People like you are the true apostles of God whether you like it or not.

• Benjamin 10 years ago

It is time the government does something about this. These men are feeding on the gullibility of Ghanaians who come to God for what they can receive in terms of material things. There is no hunger and thirst for righteousness ...

• dzakpata 10 years ago

unadulterated truth

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

If God, the creator of Heaven and Earth does not expose such ills in society who else would?
    Why is that it is always men who speak for God and not the other way round?
    Leave men out of this God equation and there would be ...

• eric asempah 10 years ago

great piece

• Brotherman 10 years ago

One of the most powerful, truthful and spiritual (christianity) articles I have ever read in my life and I'm almost 60 years old. Brother Amartey, may the Good Lord bless you - through Christ our Lord.

• TITHER 10 years ago

AMARTEY SAID HIS TITHE BOOK WAS FOR FREE , BUT CHECK HIS WEBSITE, HE S SELLING THE BOOK FOR $4.99. CROOK AMARTEY

Some have already received the books for free, so what's your problem or are you one of the false prophets? REPENT!!!

• TITHER 10 years ago

I BELIEVE YOU HAVE A DEEP HATRED FOR ANY OTHER MAN OF GOD BUT YOURSELF, PRAY FOR GOD TO HEAL YOU COMPLETELY FROM HURTS, I WAS ONLY POINTING OUT YOUR LIE AND HYPOCRISY, SINCE YOU MADE US ALL BELIEVE THAT YOUR APOSTATE BOOK WAS ...

• Jacob Mensah, NYC 10 years ago

Thnaks bro Amartey for a free copy. My advice to you is that you have to make people pay for shipping of the book. Thanks for the copy. it is a well-researched book.

My only problem is that you keep calling tithe receiving ...

• *** 10 years ago

You came here SCREAMING that IT WAS FOR FREE for everyone(LIAR).Just as it was for "SOME",so is it for "SOME" who believe in the principle of paying their tithes to advance the TRUE GOSPEL OF CHRIST and NOT that of your anti- ...

Brother Amartey, how can I send you a payment for a copy of your book? Thank you and God bless you.

• Esi Tawiah- canada 10 years ago

bro Amartey, how can you sell the book for just $5 ? You have to spread the word. There is nothing wrong from selling the book. All pastors sell their books. the problem is when they lie about tithe to steal and enrich themse ...

You're one of the few sensible Christian ladies in Ghana and I pray that others learn from you. I don't think any of those false prophets can come near you. Bravo!

• Efua 10 years ago

You have said it all GOD bless you I hope people who are being decieived by these charlatans will be wise and come forward .They are causing havoc in homes where did Jesus Christ gave blessed handkerchiefs toffees and other i ...

• Efua 10 years ago

Prophet Yaw Kusi indeed you are one of them no anointed man of GOD will respond like this making money at the expense of vonurable people continue one day your cap will be full as some of them their cap are already ful

• YAW MENDS 10 years ago

TELL THEM POLITICAL PROPHETS AND PASTORS.FOOTBALL PROPHETS AND PASTOR ., THEY CAN NEVER PREACH THE VERY LEGACY OF GOSPEL THAT THE APOSTLES LEFT BEHIND,HALFBAKED TRUTH PASTORS AND PROPHETS. THIEFS ,THEY ROBB PETER TO PAY PAUL. ...

• Dick Dreamhands 10 years ago

for the power of the greatness prophecy comes from lord on high., god christ one love

"And now this admonition is for you O priests. If you do not listen, and if you do not set your heart to honor my name," says the Lord Almighty, " I will send a curse upon you, and I will curse your blessings. Yes, I have alr ...

• Becemniiba(France,Paris) 10 years ago

Their Days Are Numbered and very soon Kikri kikri no begyae.Most Ghanaian women are depressed now in Europe as a result of these faise prophets.A ghanaian woman told me she always feel happy when shefalls into trance and the ...

My God, Ghanaians must hear this! Who is that fake pastor? Please send further details by writing to me privately. It is time to deal with these ROGUES!!!!

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

May fire from heaven consume these prophets.

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

WOW HALLELUIAH!!!!
    HERE IS A VIDEO ON JB LIAR AND THE TRICKS THEY DECEIVE PEOPLE WITH.

• Tim 7 years ago

Ghanaweb could help stem the tide by not reporting on religious matters at all. Starting with feature articles about the scoundrel Creflo Dollar. Shame!

• Dan J. 7 years ago

Thank you for your article. It saddens me to see the trend of False Prophets, Apostles, Shepherds, Pastors...etc. seducing the nation of Africa with the heretical Prosperity Gospel. I know if I was a poor African, the message ...

• Freddie 7 years ago

It signifies the end of the world.