You are here: HomeReligion2013 11 03Article 290842

Tithe, you are cursed if you don’t pay

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Akomfem Maama 10 years ago

This is the surest way for con men turned with the likes of the so called "prophèts" con unsuspecting gullible and vulnérable Ghanains to part with their hard earned cash for these greedy thieves

• Linda 10 years ago

God loves a cheerful giver. You give to the church out of love and what you can afford, not some 10% out of my peanut paycheck. The only people who enjoy these tithes are the con men calling themselves 'men of god'

• Jen 10 years ago

The mosaic laws was tremendous, so, if you want your followers to pay tithes, you also likewise need to follow all the other laws in the Old Testament, not just tithes. That include, sacrificing animals to God when you sin an ...

• Apraku 10 years ago

I don't believe that our heavenly father curses us. That quotation from Malachi might be in this context false, or falsely understood or misinterpreted.That very same God won't asked us to bring our burdens to him because he ...

• Pastor Mensah, USA 10 years ago

Tithes--DEUT 14:22-27
    22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the Lord ...

• Naana 10 years ago

sure, even if you are poor, they still want to rob you. Evil selfish greedy pastors. Money to live lavishly. why should my pastor live beeter than me? did Jesus and Paul live lavishly? The son of man had no roof over his head ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

I don't just get what is going on because somebody wrote an article about something with reference to the bible and others just think they can defend it with intellectual and useless points. No wonder 1 Corinthians 2:4-8 says ...

• Deacon Obeng, Japan 10 years ago

Being poor or having financial problems is no excuse for not paying tithe.

THIS IS A BIG LIE AND A CON GAME. GOD SAID GIVE THE TITHE TO THE POOR. THE POOR DID NOT PAY TITHE IN THE MOSAIC LAW. GOD SAID DO NOT TAKE TITHE FRO ...

• SAMUEL 10 years ago

GODC BLESS YOU MY BOTHER,

• OPPONG 10 years ago

Who is this kejetia trotro preacher.get your facts clear, the bible says we should worship God with wisdom not to allow ourself be fool by STOMUCH preacher and charlatan preachers. Much tithes are offer to the work of God it ...

• nkwaseasem 10 years ago

He is a koteboto asshole preacher looking for easy, taxfree money from agyimifo who gets easily scared by the word 'curse'.

• Inspirer 10 years ago

You never quoted anything from the New testament, do not add nor take away anything from the Holy Bible. Read Hebrew 8:7-10... Please this one, hmmmm; come again.

• agyapa 10 years ago

What is a prophet? Please, check the work or the call of prophet and know your call .lf you into this business for wealth or hungry for your stomach stop your nonsense. Your Malachi quotation has nothing to do with the Jesus ...

• agyapa 10 years ago

God said l love Abraham,or Abraham is my friend ,it was not because he paid tithe,read the scriptures and find your self approved. Paying tithe will never take you to heaven, and every christian 's goal is to go heaven,not ri ...

• Ghana First 10 years ago

Jeremiah 28:15-17.All false prophets who have called and anointed themselves shall die like Hananiah. If their gullible followers would read the bible and free themselves from ignorance, because of which God's people are suff ...

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

Ghanaweb, why do you publish this untruth here. Please this is a forum for serious minded people. If I believe in this so called prophets teaching I will go to his Church. This is how many Ghanaians are being scared into giv ...

• Cyanide 10 years ago

Tithes are for suckers who don't use their brain to reason.

• Captain Canada 10 years ago

Did Paul pay tithe? How about Jesus, the man you claim to follow. You scam artist are scum. You steal from the poor who are already suffering and pretend it's gods wish. The misery of the poor, you rob, shall be visited on yo ...

• Kitty 10 years ago

Mr. Author, we're not under the mosaic laws anymore, so stop disturbing us with this nonsense about paying tithes.

• Kwame Mensah 10 years ago

My salvation does not depend on paying 10% of my earnings to a charlatan like you. Mr. Ansha. you live a higher quality life, drive cars that your congregation cannot afford, dress in expensive clothes, possess more wealth a ...

• Viv 10 years ago

Well said Kwame Mensah!

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Wow! ...."God the giver of all just wants a little portion to take care of the men of God and help spread the gospel"... So, the tithe is to take care of these fake pastors eh? What a false rationalization?

• ROGGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

why did you guys preach and condemn the ten commandment given in the old testerment and yet still interested in tithes which was part of the commandment you are saying is over after the birth of Jesus Christ?

in your own c ...

• Rev. Nii Botwe-Chrysolite 10 years ago

I am a Pastor and want to say even though most of my colleagues teach and believe in the tithe, i say its not a new testament requirement. In the New Testament, all we have belong to God, and a person who loves God speaks to ...

• MUHAMMAD KAAMIL. 10 years ago

Please.where in the ministry of prophet EESSAH(JESUS)PEACE BE UPON HIM.DID HE SAY THAT WORSHIP ME AND MY MOTHER MAR'YAM(MARY)???.ALSO WHERE IN HIS MINISTRY CALLED YOUR BOOK HOLY BIBLE???.WHO INVENTED CHURCH???.

• nana kwaku 10 years ago

Muhammad, all religion including Islam falls under Organized Religion. Why organized? Because it is being controlled from somewhere. Some person or persons definitely had to bring about the reason why Muslims should organize ...

why did you guys preach and condemn the ten commandment given in the old testerment and yet still interested in tithes which was part of the commandment you are saying is over after the birth of Jesus Christ?

in your own c ...

• Michael 10 years ago

It appears those who have oversight of tithes in churches are not doing what is expected. Deuteronomy 26:12 explicitly says all the tithe of the third year should go to the Levites, resident foreigners, orphans and widows. T ...

in your own c ...

• paul 10 years ago

God has blessed in a lot of ways. i wont pay tithe, i did not pay and i am blessed by God.

Please.where in the ministry of prophet EESSAH(JESUS)PEACE BE UPON HIM.DID HE SAY THAT WORSHIP ME AND MY MOTHER MAR'YAM(MARY)???.ALSO WHERE IN HIS MINISTRY CALLED YOUR BOOK HOLY BIBLE???.WHO INVENTED CHURCH???.

in your own c ...

• Pastor Sowah 10 years ago

the Bible asked the tithe to be given to the orphans and widows, not to rich pastors. Pastors have to be truthful and stop going after money. The church needs the support of its members but this kind of greed is sinful.
    We a ...

in your own c ...

• James Ndum, USA 10 years ago

This is exactly what was preached in my former church. I left for a non-tithing church and I feel free and not manipulated and threatened. I give to my church what i can. But I have stopped tithing because it is not Biblical. ...

• paul 10 years ago

they are all sakawa. they care less about ur soul. they only want ur money.

• Joe 10 years ago

getting rich by fleecing the poor. Church has become a business. Lazy evil people. look for a better job and stop the head games. You would never get my tithes.

• Elder Ayepah, USA 10 years ago

ARE PASTORS TOADAY LEVITES?

SOME SAY THAT SINCE PASTORS DO NOT WORK AND DEDICATE THEMSELVES TO THE SERVICE OF THE LORD, THEY ARE THE LEVITES OF TODAY AND MUST BENEFIT FROM TITHES.
    T ...

in your own c ...

• Ayeh 10 years ago

DID JESUS RECEIVE TAKE TITHES

Did Jesus, Mathew and Paul receive tithes?

Jesus was from the line of Judah so could not receive tithes. Only Levites from the line of Levi could receive tithes. Though the twelve apostle ...

in your own c ...

• lucy lucy 10 years ago

this man is saying everything to scare members to give him their money.

in your own c ...

• FFF 10 years ago

Prophet Eessah is a myth to us Christians we don't know him. However Mariam the sister of Aaron and Moses and daughter of Amran was a prophetess who existed more than 500 years before the advent of our Lord and Saviour YESHUA ...

in your own c ...

• Pastor Prah 10 years ago

TITHE NEVER INCOME IN THE BIBLE

Where in the Bible did God ask for 10% of your income? Tell me where income was mentioned regarding tithes in the Bible?

Fishermen in the Bible did not pay tithes. Goldsmiths did not pay ...

in your own c ...

• Edem- London 10 years ago

i wld never give you my money. i wld rather donate it to an orphanage or the beggars on the street. My pastor is a simple man, he lives just like us. we dont give him tithe bcos he works like everybody. he is not rich but we ...

• BOY O BOY 10 years ago

this is what the fake pastors preach all the time. money is their God.i am not cursed. i am bless in the name of Jesus. you cannot scare me that i am cursed. i wont pay tithe and i am blesse

in your own c ...

• Pastor Mensah, USA 10 years ago

Tithes--DEUT 14:22-27
    22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the Lord ...

in your own c ...

• Sam 10 years ago

Tithing is robbing and stealing from god's people !

This is the second and hopefully the concluding part of our discussion on tithing. And let me begin by saying that this article is intended for those who want to kn ...

in your own c ...

• Nipa Nua 10 years ago

STEALING TITHE AND SLEEPING WITH PEOPLE'S WIFES. All they want is your money. they would say anything to rob you. i am not cursed and i dont pay tithe. i give to the poor, i dont give to greedy pastors.

in your own c ...

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

all what you have written is 419 ways to enrich yourself. u use the bible to con gullible people and take their money.

• Yaw Kuma 10 years ago

fake money -grabbing pastors. all what you have written i have hear before. the same sakawa con.

• Kwesi Boat 10 years ago

thru robbery they hav become rich. some have build universities. thieves and criminal robbers. God is watching you.

in your own c ...

• obeng 10 years ago

God loves a cheerful giver. When Christ died, the curtains in the temple were divided into two so that we can all confidently go to God and get what we want without Levites. Levites are now supposed to work. The blood was spi ...

• SETHO 10 years ago

Too many pastors today use Bible threats such as "Touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm" in an effort to silence critics who expose their wrong deeds and doings and non-Biblical teachings. Their claim is that the cr ...

• clarence 10 years ago

It is very good and honourable to ask your congregation to honour their responsibilities and religious commitments to god but how do we see this tithes been used by our so called men of god? Expensive cars, suits, shoes, watc ...

• Kenke Warriors!! 10 years ago

This pastor is a true disciple of lord Kuffour.

• get help quick!!! 10 years ago

this writer needs help with Bible studies. My heart bleeds for such ignorant brothers whose knowledge and understanding is shallow.The evidence available should teach this writer how wrong his views are by linking titihing to ...

• the truth 10 years ago

what you are saying is a lie. pay tithe is a spiritual stealing from God's children.you pay tithe to enrich some individuals in the church.leaving the majority of the congregation very very poor.

• Kwame Ro 10 years ago

Good bless u prof. for this facts,as for that disgruntled false prophet Amartey and his followers,,,the least said about them the better,,they have chosen to be under perpetual CURSE

• don kobby 10 years ago

he who gives to the poor lends to the Lord and the Lord God shall pay him/her back, stop giving your monies to these nincompoops and help the needy they are in your neighborhoods and your family....WISE UP

• kmedes 10 years ago

when everyone thinks he is now a teacher. pride goes before a fall and.....to add....we are closer to Parousia so CONTINUE!!!
    People who have fellowship with Christ should continue in their faith..

• ANGRY ABUSUA ROBERTS 10 years ago

I advise that those who would like to teach must learn well, and not to just write anything at all. Even in the old testament, Tithing was meant for not only the Levites, but Strangers, the Fatherless and the widow. This ti ...

• JDS TORONTO ONTARIO 10 years ago

HOW CAN THE BIBLE BE GOD'S WORD WHEN IT'S FULL OF LIES, DISCREPANCIES AND INCONSISTENCIES.NO WONDER WHY IT'S BECOMING OBSOLETE. THANK GOD FOR THE INTERNET NOW THAT WE CAN ALL SEARCH FOR THE TRUTH. WHICHEVER GOD YOU ARE WORKIN ...

• KK 10 years ago

Did the author read the Bible at all before pouring out these thrash teachings?

• Robert 10 years ago

You lie and your feet stink