You are here: HomeNewsRegions2003 07 30Article 40184

Regional News of Wednesday, 30 July 2003

Source: GNA

NPP receives nominations for parliamentary candidates

Koforidua, July 28, GNA - The Eastern Regional Deputy Minister, Mr Gustav Narh Dometey was among the 20 members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who filed their nominations in eight constituencies to contest in the primaries to elect the Party's parliamentary candidates for the 2004 general election.

He is the sole candidate for the Upper Manya seat, which is among the constituencies where the party has no sitting Member of Parliament (MP).

The NPP has 18 MPs in the 26 constituencies in the Eastern Region. A press release issued by the Eastern Regional Secretariat of the Party said when the nominations closed on Friday, July 25 the nominees included five District Chief Executives (DCEs) and three Presiding Members.

The DCEs included Mr Benjamin Kwadwo Anokye of the Afram Plains, who stood unopposed for the Afram Plains North Constituency; Dr George K. Siaw of Asuogyaman, Mr Ebenezer Ofoe Ceasar of Fanteakwa, Mr Andrew Kwesi Teye of Manya-Krobo for the Lower Manya and Mr Christian Kofi Tettey of Yilo Krobo.

The Presiding Members included Mr Moses Kwao Tetteh who is contesting his DCE for Yilo Krobo, Mr Anthony Adongo for Afram Plains South and Mr Kwadwo Agyei-Addo for Fanteakwa.

Fanteakwa has five contestants; four each at Asuogyaman and Upper West Akim; two each for Afram Plains South, Yilo Krobo and Lower Manya.

The Regional Chairman of the Party, Nana Adi Ankamah said the primaries would be held by the end of August after the nominees had been vetted by a committee comprising members from the constituencies, the Regional and National Secretariats.