You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2006 10 24Article 112699

Politics of Tuesday, 24 October 2006

Source: GNA

Voting in the Offinso South by-election ends

Offinso (Ash), Oct 24, GNA - Voting in the Offinso South parliamentary by-election ended peacefully at 1700 hours. Counting of votes in all the 98 polling stations has begun amidst tight security.

The final declaration of the results would be announced later by the Electoral Commission (EC) after collating all the results from the centres.

The four contestants, Dr Owusu Achaw Duah for the NPP, Miss Barbara Serwaa Asamoah, NDC, Miss Doris Appiah, for DPP and Mr Emmanuel Kwasi Addai, Independent together with their supporters and sympathisers have all gathered at the various polling stations waiting patiently for the outcome of the polls.

Generally, voter turn-out and enthusiasm was very high in all the polling stations.

Meanwhile, Mr. Nii Narh Moaley, NDC Member of Parliament (MP) for Dadekotopon who was earlier arrested by the police at Amoawi Methodist primary polling station for disrupting the rapid voting process by checking photographs of voters' for impersonation was released at 1400 hours.