You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2006 10 12Article 112025

Politics of Thursday, 12 October 2006

Source: GNA

Twenty members of Bawku Municipal Assembly lose seats

Bawku(UER), Oct. 12, GNA - Twenty out of the 29 incumbent members of Bawku Municipal Assembly who contested the September 26 District Level Elections lost their seats.

Three candidates were, however, retained unopposed in the 32-member assembly, whilst nine retained their seats.

A woman out of six women who contested the elections won a seat among the 20 new assembly members.

Madam Beatrice Dahamani, a 49-year-old teacher and a Government appointee to the assembly won the Binduri seat with 1,198 votes as against 915 votes obtained by her closest challenger, Mr Abilla Avoka. The other contestants Mr Awuni Lamar had 371 votes and Mr Shagda had 143 votes.

In another keenly contested seat at Manga, Mr Josepgh Akparibo Akologo had 757 votes to beat Ms Abindaw Theresa who obtained 566 votes to retain his seat, Mr Musah Gambo had 375 votes and Mr Elijah Aziesum had 293 votes.

Mr Bosco Azu Bawku Municipal Electoral Officer, speaking to the Ghana News Agency said a total of 37,453 out of 92,271 eligible voters representing 40 per cent cast their votes in the 29 electoral areas during the elections in the three constituencies within the municipality.

He said other results were being compiled and would be released soon.