You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2004 03 05Article 53278

Politics of Friday, 5 March 2004

Source: GNA

Three new members of EC sworn into office

Accra, March 5, GNA- Three new appointed members to the Electoral Commission (EC), were on Friday sworn into office at the Supreme Court. Mrs. Paulina Adobea Dadzawa, Administrator, Nana Amba Eyiiba 1, Efutuhemaa and Krontihemaa of the Oguaa Traditional Area, and Madam Eunice Akweley Roberts, an Educationist and Human Resource Practitioner, were appointed by the President on the advice of the Council of State. Administering the Oath of Allegiance and Secrecy and the official oath, Mr Justice George Kingsley Acquah, Chief Justice, reminded them of the great responsibility imposed on them to ensure free and fair elections. He advised the members that they were not to serve the interest of any political party, but the interest of the entire nation.
The Chief Justice urged them to be guided by the virtues of honesty, transparency and integrity in their endeavours, adding, "the slightest error on your part may bring unpleasant consequences on the entire nation."
He said Ghana was determined to live in a constitutional rule but "this would depend on the EC."
Mr Justice Acquah said: "You are women of substance and integrity, I know you would assist the EC to achieve its noble objectives." He asked them to bury their differences, and work collectively to beef up the work of the EC in the forth-coming general elections. Mrs Dadzawa, on behalf of her colleagues, expressed their appreciation for the confidence reposed in them.
She said they were aware of the sensitive nature of their jobs, and urged all stakeholders to assist them in defending Ghana's young democracy.
Meanwhile, President John Agyekum Kufuor in consultation with the Council of State has appointed Mr Ebenezer Aggrey-Fynn, a Management Consultant as a member of the Electoral Commission.
A statement issued in Accra on Friday and signed by Mr Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, President's Press Secretary said Mr Aggrey-Fynn was the last person to be appointed to make up the full complement of the Commission. The statement said On February 20, this year, President Kufuor appointed the three members who were sworn in on Friday to fill up vacancies created on the Commission as a result of the retirement of three officers and the death of another one.
In another development, the statement said President Kufuor has appointed Nana Nkuah Okomdom II, Paramount Chief of the Sefwi-Wiawso Traditional Area as a member of the Forestry Commission.