You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2020 06 14Article 979567

Politics of Sunday, 14 June 2020


Six NPP polling station executives suspended over curse

Some members of the party invoking curses Some members of the party invoking curses

Six (6) polling station executives of the governing New Patriotic Party in Asante Juaben constituency in the Ashanti region have been suspended from the party for 21 days.

They were suspended for violating the party’s constitutional code of conduct, Article 3 & 4 in a protest.

The six were among a group of supposed members of the party who invoked curses on some national executives during a protest at Nabewam against 2nd National Vice Chairman, Fredrick Freduah Antoh.

The protests were held after the disqualification of their preferred parliamentary aspirant, Francis Owusu -Akyaw ahead of the party’s June, 20 parliamentary primaries.

The suspended polling station executives include Ransford Osei (Polling Station Secretary, Juaben Anglican JHS ‘A’), Yaw Owusu Collins (Polling Station Chairman, Juaben Court Yard 1(One), Owusu Tawiah (Polling Station Secretary, Bomfa United Primary School), Collins Obeng Berko (Polling Station Chairman, Bomfa United Primary School), Dickson Amoah (Polling Station Chairman, Nobewam M/A Primary School) and Charles Agyemang Boateng
(Polling Station Organiser, Bomfa United Primary School).

Below is a copy of the suspension letter


I have been directed by the National Executive Council (NEC) to suspend you from the Party and its activities including internal elections with effect from 12th June 2020 – 2nd July 2020.

On Friday, 5th June 2020, you misconducted yourself by invoking curses against the leadership of the party for disqualifying parliamentary aspirant which violate the party’s constitution, article 3 and 4. It is my fervent hope that you will desist from any misconduct behaviour henceforth.

Thank You

Yours faithfully,


Alex Kwabena Sarfo Kantanka


The Ashanti Regional Chairman

Regional party

Juaben Constituency.