You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2015 04 25Article 355887

Politics of Saturday, 25 April 2015

Source: frank owusu obimpeh

Reforms Committee Submmits Report To Afari Gyan

The 10-member committee made up of commission members, political parties and civil society organisations to examine proposals for electoral reforms in the country has submitted its final report to the outgoing head of Electoral Commission ,Afari Gyan in Accra .
The committee, which was chaired by Ms Georgina Opoku Amankwaa, Deputy Chairperson of EC responsible for Finance and Administration, had other members as Mrs Rebecca Kabukie Adjalo, Member of the EC and Mr Christian Owusu-Parry, Director of Public Affairs of the commission.
Members from the political parties were Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketia of the National Democratic Congress, Mr Peter Mac Manu of the New Patriotic Party, Mr James Kwabena Bomfeh (Junior) of the Convention People's Party and Mr Anin-Kofi Addo of the Yes People's Party.
Membership of the civil society organisations (CSOs) included Dr Kwesi Jonah of Institute for Democratic Governance, Dr Ransford Gyampoh, Institute of Economic Affairs and Dr Franklin Oduro of Centre for Democratic Development.
The EC Chairman on receiving the report ,said his outfit will study the report and act in the best interest of the country.
According to the EC chair, it is the sole responsibility of the commission to organize credible election as stated in the constitution of Ghana, and that the supreme court of the land during the election petition only had the power to recommend electoral reforms,emphasizing that courts do not run elections , but are there to resolve electoral conflicts.