You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2018 09 22Article 686828

Politics of Saturday, 22 September 2018


Nana Addo storms NPP office for appointment of new officers

President Akufo-Addo arriving at the NPP head office at Asylum Down President Akufo-Addo arriving at the NPP head office at Asylum Down

The National Executives Committee (NEC) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), in consultation with the party’s National Council, on Wednesday appointed deputy national officers and directors to head the various directorates of the party.

After a meeting of the two bodies at the party’s headquarters at Asylum Down in Accra, seven officers were appointed to head key directorates of the party while 10 others were appointed to serve as deputy national officers.

The meeting was attended by President Akufo-Addo and Vice-President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia and other high-ranking party officials.

Yaw Boaben Asamoah, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Adentan, would head the Communications Directorate of the party.

There has been anxiety over the announcement, which eventually came with a release authored by the party’s General Secretary John Boadu.

Evans Nimako, Collins Nuamah and Eric Ntori were named Directors of Research and Elections, Finance and Administration and Information Technology (IT) respectively while Emmanuel Attafuah-Danso was appointed as the Director of International Affairs for the party.

Former NPP Press Secretary, Kwadwo Afari, was appointed Director of Protocols while Kwadwo Antwi Agyei was appointed as Senior Political Advisor of the party.

A total of 10 persons were appointed as deputy communication directors.

They are Kamal-Deen Abdulai, Kofi Agyapong, Haruna Mohammed, Yaw Preko and Akbar Yussif Rohullah Khomeini.

The rest are Jennifer Oforiwaa Queen, Richard Asante Yeboah, Maame Yaa Aboagye, Joyce Zempare and Richard Nyamah.

The Deputy General Secretaries of the party are Daniel Patrick Nii Laryea Squire and Nana Obiri Boahen.

Maxwel Lugodor Cofie and Elvis Botah would assist Sammy Awuku, the National Organizer, while Kate Gyamfua, National Women’s Organizer of the party, would have Justina Awo Banahene and Hajia Sawudatu as deputies.

The Deputy National Youth Organizers are Perpetual Lomokie Akwada and Joseph Nyaniba Kwayaja while Haruna Futa, Nasara Coordinator of the NPP, would be deputized by Ayishetu Yusif and Abdallah Toric.

Addressing the press after the meeting, Mr Boadu said during the meeting, the President discussed key policies such as ‘one district, one factory’ and free senior high school (FSHS), among others.