You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2011 05 03Article 207978

Politics of Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Source: GNA

Incumbent NPP MP for Abetifi wins constituency parliamentary primary

Aduamoa (E/R), May 03, GNA - Mr Peter Wiafe Peprah, New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament for Abetifi, on Saturday won the party's constituency parliamentary primary held at Aduamoa. He polled 321 votes out of the 533 votes cast to defeat his only challenger, Mr Daniel Ntim Boateng, who had 212 votes. Three ballot papers were rejected in an election conducted by the Kwahu West Electoral Officer, Ms Stella Sarpong. Mr Peprah congratulated his challenger for the courageous fight and urged party supporters to bury their differences and unite for victory in the Parliamentary and Presidential Elections in 2012. In a related development, Mr Seth Kwame Acheampong, incumbent MP for Mpraeso, obtained 233 votes to defeat two other opponents to win the primary.

Ms Susana Mensah, a former Deputy Eastern Regional Minister, had 204 votes and Mr Joseph Kwaku Gyimah, a Lawyer, got 40 votes. 03 May 11