You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2019 07 15Article 763580

Politics of Monday, 15 July 2019


I’ll leave Parliament in 2024 - Mensah-Bonsu

The Majority Leader in Parliament and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu has revealed that he may not seek another term in Parliament after 2024 elections.

“By God’s grace if I have the strength and if I have life I will continue but secondly I have stated it that I will not go beyond 2024, God willing,” the Suame Member of Parliament told Starr News’ Ibrahim Alhassan in an interview.

His comments come after Ghana’s Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban Bagbin, decided to quit Parliament after his current term expires in January 2021.

The 62-year-old had not picked nomination forms to contest the Nadowli-Kaleo parliamentary seat at the close of nomination today, Friday.

Bagbin has been occupying the Nadowli-Kaleo parliamentary seat since 1992.

Known in the local parlance as “Nadowli Mugabe,” Bagbin’s exit will pave way for a new candidate for the first time in 28 years.

The legislator is yet to give reasons for his exit but it will be recalled that a youth group in his constituency mounted pressure on him earlier this year to give way for a new person to take over.

But Mr Bagbin is not the only serving NDC MP who failed to pick the forms.

Four others in the Volta Region also did not. They are Mr Richard Quashiegah, MP for Keta; Mr Clement Kofi Humado, MP for Anlo; Mr Fiifi Fiavi Kwetey, MP for Ketu South; and Dr Mrs Bernice Adiku Heloo, MP for Hohoe.