You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2014 09 01Article 323743

Politics of Monday, 1 September 2014

Source: Daily Guide Network

EC gives parties Sep. 8 on electoral reforms

The Electoral Commission (EC) says political parties have up to September 8, 2014 to submit names of representatives on the Electoral Reforms Committee.

The setting up of the committee is in line with recommendations by the Supreme Court which exactly a year ago, brought closure to the eight-month hearing of the petition challenging the EC’s declaration of John Mahama as winner of the December 7 and 8, 2012 presidential election.

However, Public Relations Officer of the EC, Owusu Parry, told Adom News Friday that his outfit was yet to receive the list of agents from the political parties.

According to Mr. Owusu Parry, the committee, which is expected to be inaugurated after September 8, would be tasked to review the recommendations and submit its report - which would be used as a guide for the 2016 elections.

Each of the registered political parties is expected to present four representatives, while the Electoral Commission and civil society groups would have two representatives each.

The EC has been criticized for failing to lead reforms in the electoral process as recommended by some justices of the Supreme Court.

The reforms were suggested after three petitioners in the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) had challenged the declaration of John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) as winner of the 2012 presidential election.

The three were the party’s 2012 presidential candidate, Nana Akufo- Addo; his running mate, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia and then Nationa Chairman, Jake Obetsebi- Lamptey. They had prayed the court to annul the results which they claimed were fraught with irregularities.

The entire nation came to a standstill on August 29, 2013, earnestly expecting to hear the decision of the nine-member panel of judges who heard the case, led by Justice William Atuguba.

The judges ruled by 5:4 to uphold the Electoral Commission’s declaration of president John Mahama as winner of the election.

Join our Newsletter